Lapped by the sea 27 km (16.5 miles) from the mainland, Green Island is one of the most popular island day-trip destinations from Cairns. A true coral cay, the island is covered in rainforest and surrounded by coral reefs for snorkeling adventures. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a fantastic day out a definite highlight of our weekend away, the crew were brilliant, and looked after our every need, snorkeling was excellent and sailing back to Cairns was wonderful under full sail. Had a fabulous day and would say this is the only way to go to green island. Cant recommend highly enough !

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We flew into Cairns at 10:30am, and had time to get to the hotel, have lunch, and walk to the main fleet terminal (where all the boats are docked) for our 1:00pm trip to Green Island.
The crew was very nice and friendly.
Nice beach, clear water, and lots of tropical fish.
IMPORTANT: If you suffer from motion sickness, take Dramamine or something before boarding. The ocean was only mildly choppy, but 10 people got sick, and several threw up.

Doing what: Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Whow! As stated in the details of this package, if you're not an advanced swimmer, then this is the package you should select! On the boat ride to the Island, a large percentage of the passengers actually got sea sick during transit to the Island, which can be expedited if the weather is, as on this day, cloudy or raining. Expect to get or feel sick is the water is rough! Upon arrival at Green Island, I was able to snorkle to the dept of water I felt comfortable in, and, I really enjoyed the view of the corral in the glass bottom boat. Great view of the corral reef/ fishes. I had chosen the package which didn't include the lunch, so I was glad to see that there is a couple of little restuaurants on the Green Island to purchase food. Exciting day in which my only regret was that I didn't have MORE TIME on the Island. This was my 1st time snorkeling, seeing the corral reef, and believe it or not, I actually got to see a Turtle while I was snorkeling. I highly recommend this package and everyone should either rent a underwater camera or, as I did, purchase a waterproof camera, which usually costs around $150-$200 to capture what you will see underwater! Although it rained alittle while I was at Green Island, the view underwater is the same regardless if the sun is shining or if it happens to rain. Great Memory!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

excellent value for money. collected/dropped off at hotel both days, well looked after by staff and got to see some amazing sights at Green island and the rainforest, really enjoyed both days.

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything was lovely. We were picked up on time and the boat left on time. We were lucky that the sea was lovely and calm and the weather perfect. Our time on Green Island was excellent and we could easily have spent more time there but we did have sufficient time to do all we really wanted to do. The semi-submersible and glass bottom boat tours gave us a wonderful overview of the Great Barrier Reef without us having to get wet! Super for people who do not want to snorkel. The included lunch was very good - lots of choices and plenty of it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ride out to Green Island is fairly quick and smooth, now do be aware that there is a deposit ( money,ID, or a room key) required for the snorkel gear. The island itself is lovely as is the beach. Now I have to assume time of year matters but there was a HUGE drop in tide from morning to afternoon. The staff was friendly, the water so clear, and heaps of coral and fish to see and photograph. As a side note the buffet lunch was tasty and plentiful, but you do need to pay for drinks fyi. Overall a very enjoyable way to spend a day and I would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful cruise to the gorgeous Green Island.. Glass bottom boat and semi-sub tours were awesome!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our trip to Green Island Day was fantastic! The island was beautiful, the water was crystal clear and the lunch was nice. We went on the glass bottom boat and semi-sub tour and is was definitely worth while. We saw sea turtles, giant clams, gorgeous corals and lots of different types of fish. I would definitely do this trip again, but maybe next time I would scuba dive to explore the reef further.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Pick up and drop off were easy. The Catamaran was smooth to Green Island. We had a great day and enjoyed the semi-submersible, glass bottom boat and snorkeling. We did pay the extra for the wet suits and my husband wore his primarily not to get sunburned although they were recommended to prevent any jelly fish stings. I simply could not get mine on and had no problems. Don't forget beach towels, sunscreen and whatever else you need for a day at the beach. Just an FYI: bring your own coffee if you are picky and pack a lunch for the same reason as well as the time factor. We definitely recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was worth every dollar, my daughter and I had a wonderful time. I would do Green Island again

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We enjoyed the Green Island Day Trip very much. Friendly staff and nice lunch buffet. Although the glass bottom boat and semi-submarine rides were short, it was a great experience. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great day out on Green Island. Go early to get the food,plenty of it and loads of seating.Just enough time on the island for some time on the beach and a walk around the island.Only drawback is that the boat is slow compared to some of the other boats going out.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a great tour, the Reef is a must!! Had a great time on Green Island!! Altough the boat cruise was a bit crowed for me personally. The food served on board was okay.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Ease of booking was excellent. Boat to Green Island was very comfortable. Snorkelling and glass bottom boat at Green Island were also a fantastic family experience. Unfortunately, Green Island was affected by strong winds and sea swell on the open side of the island, but we still managed to swim with Sea turtles and many colourful reef fish. It was a very enjoyable day for all of the family.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

An amazing time! We felt like children again with a sense of wonder with all the exotic and beautiful things we saw. Snorkeling on Green Island is a must! They outfittted us with everything, including sun protection suits (for a nominal charge). We did both the submarine and glass bottom boat, which I thought might be redundant, but each offered a different perspective and both were worthwhile. The Kuranda Rainforest was gorgeous and the Aboriginal show entertaining. We even got a chance to throw a boomerang and cuddle a Koala (but that cost extra). It poured rain while we were on the gondola, but an attendant provided us with an oversized umbrella so that we could walk in the forest. It was an unbelieveable sensory experience to walk in the rainforest during the downpour. These were 2 days we will remember forever.

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message