Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 146 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour that allows you to experience some of the best that Cairns has to offer! Don't miss the opportunity to cuddle a Koala in Kuranda! The same place will also allow you to feed Kangaroos. Kuranda also has some of the best shops to get souvenirs that you won't find anyplace else. We loved the scenic railway. We also had a delicious outback grill lunch which you can have if you choose that in your options. The food there was really good. The only downside about our tour is that we were on a pretty tight schedule because there was so much to do in one day so we were a little rushed at some points. We would have liked the opportunity to spend a little more time exploring and shopping in Kuranda. Really fun time though. One thing to keep in mind is to plan accordingly because almost all shops in Kuranda close by 4:00pm and the skyrail only runs until about 4:30 or 5:00pm so if you miss it you will most likely be stranded.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The railway and skyrail were good but the helicopter ride out to the North Hastings area of the great barrier reef and snorkeling on the reef were outstanding!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very long day but well worth the effort. Transfers to / from hotels and various places in between were timely, no hanging about. Started the day with train from Cairns to Kuranda village lovely shops there for souvenirs amongst other things, local crafts etc.. We only had a half an hour there which is not long enough. Back to Cairns via the Skyrail over the rainforest, stopping off twice to see the Byron Falls and Red Peak on the way before being whisked off to the airport for the helicopter ride out to Hastings reef. Recommend getting a seat on the left hand side of the helicopter as you see more from that side as you approach the pontoon adjacent to the reef. But this depends on weight per individual as they try and balance everyone's weights evenly so if you're big they won't let you sit up front! Loved the snorkelling and swimming. Change into to swim gear before getting on to the helicopter, this saves a lot of time when you get to the reef. Lunch was so so but didn't spoil the day. Fantastic day out, loved it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The view from the cable car was amazing. The return trip on the railway had fantastic views also. In Kuranda we loved the Butterfly Sanctuary, just beautiful :-)

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Four of us did this tour for my husbands 60th birthday day. We travelled to the top in a Skyway Cable Car, scenery of which was remarkable. We did boomerang throwing, spear throwing, spent time with some aboriginees, rainforest and lunch, which was VERY good (buffet style with plenty of choice). We took the Scenic Railway on the way down and, again, impressive scenery, nice carriages, lots of photo opportunities. Highly recommended this tour and Viator.com whom I booked several tours with from the UKL and not once did I have aproblem with them picking us up or anything whilst in Australia.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We rode the train up to Kuranda and the Skyrail back. It was a wonderful, relaxing trip and so much fun!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved the tour; best day in the 14 I was in Australia. The railway was breathtaking and relaxing. The rail car sky rail back was also breathtaking but more invigorating……although I was a bit nervous at first I soon relaxed and enjoyed the scenery.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We very much enjoyed our day in Kuranda. What we liked most was that after the tour guide drops you off you are on your own for the rest of the day. He gives you all the travel tools you need to feel completely comfortable but we were thrilled to learn we had the day to explore on our own and make the day however we wanted.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I just rated this 5 stars, but I wanna throw in a bonus star because it was that good. Kinda expensive, but definitely worth every single cent.

I called a day ahead to get the time and location of my pickup. The entire day was extremely organized, something I greatly appreciate, but also when you have a full day of activities, it's vital. The railway journey was 2 hrs and very beautiful, but the skyrail was more beautiful. Listening to the exotic bird sounds as I floated over the lush green jungle below and the clear waters off to the side was just so peaceful and relaxing!

The helicopter ride was phenomenal! I was a bit nervous, but they allayed any fears I had and before long, I was soaring over the Great Barrier Reef. It was great fun.

You then are transported to the cruise and either get a lesson snorkeling or are given reminders of safety, you get fitted for fins and can wear a body suit if you want (Large is the largest size that I saw, X small was the smallest). It's required only when there are jellyfish, which there weren't when I was there.

If you do this trip, you can have lunch waiting on you, but if you don't join right away, you get in line for the buffet. It was steak (not so good), fish, potato salad, green salad, fresh fruit and cole slaw. I had my lunch after snorkeling.

I can't say enough about the snorkeling. Of course, you can't snorkel anywhere better than the GBR!! You also can do a submarine or glass bottom boat with a guide explaining some of the things you'll see, or you can keep snorkeling. On the return (1 hr, I think), there's wine and cheese and cheesy entertainment. (Sorry, Elvis!) G

This is definitely the best part of my entire trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a day! Well organised throughout. The train ride to Kuranda was lovely, but arrived late so very little time in Kuranda itself. The cable car back down was awesome! Efficient transfer to the helipad and an amazing flight over the barrier reef landing on a pontoon, from which we were collected by a small boat and transferred to the main boat. I'd never snorkelled before and was a bit nervous but the "snorkel guide" really helped me stay calm and took me out way further than I'd have dared go by myself, which was fantastic. The glass-bottomed boat was even better for viewing the marine life. Unforgettable, well worth the cost.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Angie
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour we took included the Rainforest stop so a lot to do in a day.
Train journey was excellent and well organized, Kuranda had way more to offer than expected and having done the Rainforest option would advise spending your time better by simply exploring Kuranda.
Cable car ride back down was an excellent way to finish the day followed by excellent Scones and T in the cafe at the bottom.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus picked us up from our hotel right on time. All directions were well laid out for us as we boarded the train with pre selected seats. Kuranda was a lovely adventure the highlight being a pic holding Hogan a delightful koala ! The sky rail can be daunting but the views are spectacular !

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely fabulous! Would highly recommend this trip to anyone! My favourite had to be the Great Barrier Reef Cruise, but going to Kuranda and then the beautiful calm beach of Cape Tribulation was wonderful too!!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The views both on the journey up via the Scenic railway and back down via the skyrail were spectacular and were both enjoyable journeys. Rainforeststation was also well worth the visit with a nice little wildlife section, an educational trip into the surrounding area on the army ducks and very interesting displays of aboriginal culture and dance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the highlight of the entire trip. The train to Kuranda was really nice, with a stop at a waterfall. There is very little time to actually spend in Kuranda in order to take the skyrail back down for the helicopter tour. Flying out over the reef with the views from the helicopter, I thought that I had reached the highlight of the trip. However, once I got into the water to snorkel, I realized this was the highlight. I had about an hour and a half to snorkle the reef. The coral and fish were very colorful and so close you could practically touch them. A nice lunch was waiting for me when I got back on the boat for the ride back to Cairns. Don't forget to bring an underwater camera - the reef is amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the most amazing trip. beautiful scenery. Nice way to travel up the hill, with the train and back down going over the trees of the rainforest with the skyrail. Also much to do in Kuranda itself: souvenir shops (beautiful gift shops!), places to eat, butterfly sanctuary, ... the rainforestation was really nice. I would have liked to have had an extra half an hour to an hour to spend in Kuranda itself though (because I did the tour with rainforestation included).

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip. We took the train to Kuranda and returned on the Sky Rail. Despite the rain the whole day was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am not a good swimmer and made the decision not to snorkel even though the crew gave me a lot of encouragement. Jeff dove but felt that the trip was more for snorkelers than divers. That said, we had a great time. We were taken good care of by the crew (who even gave out sea sickness tablets to those that needed them!) The lunch was cooked fresh, and was really good with enough for everyone. Then "Elvis" a crew member sang reggae and other songs on the trip back. We really enjoyed the trip.
The Kuranda Railway was amazing. Everything from the platform to the train etc. is a must see journey. I do not like heights at all so it was a stretch for me to go on the sky rail. I would have preferred to come down again on the train but Jeff really enjoyed the sky rail and felt it was worth it. Cape Tribulation day the heavens opened and everyone got soaked probably within the first 5 minutes of the trip. That said, it really didn't matter as we just went with the flow. When we stopped at the Wild Life Park in Port Douglas I did not know that you could feed the Kangaroo's so when we walked through the park they would come up and tap our pockets for food. We felt so guilty as they are so cute. I would recommend having $2 AUD handy to buy the food on the way in. We went back 2 times after this trip just to feed the "roo's" One of the Mum's had a baby in her pouch. This to me was the highlight of my trip, just feeding the Kangaroo's!! At Cape Tribulation we saw some of the biggest spiders, as usual our tour guides explained and taught us so much about the eco system and the plant and animal life. I would definitely do this tour again, also the lunch at the Cape T was really good. All the tours turned up on time, everything went really smoothly from beginning to end, and we really relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great day. We took this tour to squeeze Kuranda and the skyrail into the day otherwise couldn't get to see them. Glad we did but ideally would do them separately. The rail ride was nice and relaxing and scenic. We didn't have enough time at Kuranda to be honest and it seemed like a nice town to wander through so on reflection, do this separately. The skyrail (and the stops) were very scenic and one of those you have to do at least once things.
But the helicopter tour and reef experience are MUST do's. We were treated like VIP's with a wonderful lunch provided and would do this part over and over if we could afford it.

Highly rate this trip if you want to tick off these things but would suggest spending at least a full day at each separately or if you had to choose - the helicopter tour and reef swimming win and are musts - even for those that don't like swimming,

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoy the holiday stay in Palm Cove. These package of trips is enable us to see the most beautiful nature
in Cairns , Australia. Kuranda Scenic and Skyrail is the best.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did this tour (the opposite way round) 17 years ago. This time going to the Tjapuki centre first, enjoyed throwing spears and boomerangs, and a fantastic dance show. Then walked to the Sky rail which took us to Kuranda. The journey back was spectacular and brought back some good memories.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and we were particularly impressed with the friendliness and the help provided by the staff throughout the day. The trip in the train was very relaxing and the scenery along the way was stunning, particularly the waterfalls. We had a few hours to enjoy Kuranda and managed to pick up a couple of bargains at the markets. Coming down on the cable car was well worth the expense - the views are spectacular and we were able to enjoy some stopovers on the way down. A great day overall.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great trip! Loved the snorkeling! Kuranda Railroad is good but is better for history lovers. Cape Tribulation is beautiful and is worth the long trip.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message