Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an excellent day out. The train was very nostalgic and great fun. The Gold Class was very good too. The village of Kuranda was full of shops and cafes and we enjoyed walking along the trails that surrounded the village. The cable car was enjoyable and gave us a different perspective than the train. The organization of the tour was professionally delivered although being collected over an hour before getting to the train station was a little frustrating as we were not that far away. Overall, a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

yumeihou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The 1st day snorkeling and 3rd day Cape Tribulaion were great. Everything was much better than expected, but 2nd day Kuranda village was not as interesting. We got 3 days to spare in Cairns, so this was perfect for us.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an amazing 3 days for a very reasonable price. The trip to the GBR alone was worth it. The crew could not have been nice. They made sure that we had a great experience. Don't worry about your swimming abilities. They can ensure that you see it even if you are older, a poor swimmer, or not very strong. The outing to Cape Tribulation was a very long but beautiful day. Loved the beaches and lunch at the resort in the forest. We also loved Kuranda. There was lots of shopping and the Skyrail was amazing. Be sure an get off at the stops and walk the boardwalk into the forest.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Angus T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A good tour well organised. An excellent mixture of culture and scenic views. the village of Kuranda was tatty so don't allocate much time to visit the village

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Margarida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The high point was the marvelous day at the reef with lots of opportunities to see it from various aspects from boat, snorkeling, helicopter, etc. The train and cable car at Kuranda were also excellent to get a sense of the rain forest. The Cape Tribulation beach was paradise, but the day trip was more tiring due to the long distance covered by bus and many sites visited, but certainly worth it to see many things in a relatively short time!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nice scenic railway train ride up to Small touristy village of Kuranda, beautiful sky ride back with 2 picturesque syops. Lovely day, especially for train fans. And Kuranda has a hidden Mimi golf spot for those who enjoy that! Rainforest Mimi golf. Fun day for entire family.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Franklin D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gold Class Railway trip up to the Kuranda was great! Comfortable seating, good food and drinks with first-class service.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Pamela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Very exciting and informative, do take the stops on the way up in the cable car as they are very interesting. Loved Kuranda, a couple of amazing galleries and a great lunch.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part was the helicopter ride to the reef and snorkelling on the reef. Good lunch on the boat. Kuranda Scenic railway and sky rail was a great view of the area. I would have liked to have visited Kuranda but that would have made the day too long since I chose such a tour with some much in it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

These three tours were outstanding and should be done by all. The snorkeling on the reef was the best. Our bus did breakdown at Cape Tribulation but we really enjoyed the extra time at the Beach House and we did receive a refund for the part of the tour we did not get to complete. The shopping in Kuranda was good.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

Lorraine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was brilliant from start to finish. Fantastic views from the train going to Kuranda and we had enough time to look around Kuranda and have something to eat and not to rushed before heading to the skyrail for our return journey which was also a really good view despite the rain.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

JB Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable trip travelling on the train to Kuranda, only downside is the windows have bars, so very hard to take photos while the train is moving understand this is for safety reasons, trip took about one and half hours, need to buy/take food as train has nothing on it, unless you travel Gold Class. Visited Barron Falls on way up, stopped for about 10mins to take photos, falls were flowing but not gushing as we visited in the dry season. Kuranda is a lovely little town with plenty of places for lunch. We took the circuit walk into the jungle and around the river, took us about one and half hours as we stopped and took photos. We then returned on one of the glass bottom sky rail cars, there are only a few of these and you need to pay extra, which can be done up at Kuranda. All in all a very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Sandra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This day long excursion was excellent. The Tjapukai Museum offered a variety of programs, then the Skyrail and Kuranda were self-guided, and the final rail trip home was comfortable with excellent narration. It was a great way to see the area and learn about its history, both ancient and more recent.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful views, with a photo stop at Barron Falls. However, start with the museum at the railway station, so you know what went into building this railway. It was all done by hand - an amazing achievement. Pay attention to the dinner party on the tracks back during its construction. The general population rides on crowded wooden benches facing each other in pairs - not the most comfortable, but it's not a long ride. The handicapped car has real armchairs and its own toilet. If anyone in your party has any claim to being handicapped, opt for this! There is an elevator in Kuranda to take you up to the exit level, but it's kept very secret for some reason. It looks like an ordinary white door. We learned about it, and shared it with some mothers with baby strollers, who were delighted - no one had told them.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Brilliant! It's a lit to do in a day, so didn't really get to see much when we got off the railway, but we always knew it was a busy day.mifnyou are an explorer, I'd suggest two separate trips!
Transport was prompt and guides were helpful and knowledgable.
The helicopter ride was amazing. The crew on the boat were fantastic and helped me with my first snorkel.. An experience I was so glad I did!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Scenic railway was fantastic. A great way to see the beautiful gorge and rainforest.
Kuranda is a very touristy place with not much to do other then shopping, art galleries and animal sanctuary. There was enough time for us to do everything we wanted. everything shuts at 3.30/4pm when the tourists leave
The best part of the tour was the sky rail. Beautiful views.
We would recommend when you switch cable cars mid way that you take a short walk to view Barron Falls and hop back on the next car.
Hotel pick up and drop offs were on time and swift. Our bus was delayed on the way back so they put us on a different bus. Very well organised.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Kathleen Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An excellent day out with a range of activities. Great views on the train trip up. Kuranda itself is a little 'touristy' but still enjoyable for a couple of hours or so. Another highlight is the rainforest excursion but the best part is the skyrail trip above the forest canopy. Good value for money and an excellent way to view the countryside in a leisurely manner!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Jamie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a wonderful day!!! Stewart through the tour company picked me up from my hostel, took me to the train station and brought me back after a fun day of exploring. He was so friendly and very informative! It made the trip very comfortable and fun without having to think about the logistics of the day. I would highly suggest to do with scenic railway and skyrail--one of the best experiences and unlike any other train/gondola I've ever taken!!
Definitely worth a 5 star rating!!!

Doing what: Kuranda Village Day Trip from Cairns With Optional Scenic Railway and Skyrail

Bryony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Brilliant. Everything ran very smoothly: courteous and punctual drivers, tickets and itinerary printed for us so no queues. Just the right amount of time in Kuranda and to take the little boat trip on the Barron River to look at freshwater crocs and feed turtles and fish, railway gold class well worth the extra cost, and the drive back to Port Douglas around the coast at sunset a bonus.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything well organised, beautiful scenery, wonderful markets waiting at Kuranda. A lovely day

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Neil D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Sky rail up the mountain and gold class train back down was ideal for us 60 retirees. Many others including families were similar. Time in Kuranda between transfers was ideal for a good look aroung market areas and then nice meal at the pub. Very relaxed, walking was uphill and back for shops and sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

maile b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We booked the train ride up to Kuranda and the sky tram on the way back. We booked gold class and it was very nice to have drinks and nibbles. Big perk to gold class is there were no children in our car just four other couples - not crowded at all. We also had our own dedicated server for our car and so we never lacked anything. The train ride is beautiful and the entire ride is narrated with the history of the area and the building of the railway - so interesting. The shops at Kuranda are really fun and I highly recommend buying the 3 feature pass - Australian wildlife at Birdworld, the Australian Butterfly Sanctuary or Kuranda Koala Gardens all great fun and informational. We took the sky tram back and that was fantastic and a completely different perspective of the rain forest. The tram has several stops on the way back down so you can get out and walk around however long you would like and then just jump back in line to catch the next sky tram. All in all a great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Kuranda Scenic Railway Gold Class and Skyrail Rainforest Cableway

Vito C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour that allows you to experience some of the best that Cairns has to offer! Don't miss the opportunity to cuddle a Koala in Kuranda! The same place will also allow you to feed Kangaroos. Kuranda also has some of the best shops to get souvenirs that you won't find anyplace else. We loved the scenic railway. We also had a delicious outback grill lunch which you can have if you choose that in your options. The food there was really good. The only downside about our tour is that we were on a pretty tight schedule because there was so much to do in one day so we were a little rushed at some points. We would have liked the opportunity to spend a little more time exploring and shopping in Kuranda. Really fun time though. One thing to keep in mind is to plan accordingly because almost all shops in Kuranda close by 4:00pm and the skyrail only runs until about 4:30 or 5:00pm so if you miss it you will most likely be stranded.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Fred J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The railway and skyrail were good but the helicopter ride out to the North Hastings area of the great barrier reef and snorkeling on the reef were outstanding!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

gigigra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A very long day but well worth the effort. Transfers to / from hotels and various places in between were timely, no hanging about. Started the day with train from Cairns to Kuranda village lovely shops there for souvenirs amongst other things, local crafts etc.. We only had a half an hour there which is not long enough. Back to Cairns via the Skyrail over the rainforest, stopping off twice to see the Byron Falls and Red Peak on the way before being whisked off to the airport for the helicopter ride out to Hastings reef. Recommend getting a seat on the left hand side of the helicopter as you see more from that side as you approach the pontoon adjacent to the reef. But this depends on weight per individual as they try and balance everyone's weights evenly so if you're big they won't let you sit up front! Loved the snorkelling and swimming. Change into to swim gear before getting on to the helicopter, this saves a lot of time when you get to the reef. Lunch was so so but didn't spoil the day. Fantastic day out, loved it.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message