Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The view from the cable car was amazing. The return trip on the railway had fantastic views also. In Kuranda we loved the Butterfly Sanctuary, just beautiful :-)

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Four of us did this tour for my husbands 60th birthday day. We travelled to the top in a Skyway Cable Car, scenery of which was remarkable. We did boomerang throwing, spear throwing, spent time with some aboriginees, rainforest and lunch, which was VERY good (buffet style with plenty of choice). We took the Scenic Railway on the way down and, again, impressive scenery, nice carriages, lots of photo opportunities. Highly recommended this tour and Viator.com whom I booked several tours with from the UKL and not once did I have aproblem with them picking us up or anything whilst in Australia.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We rode the train up to Kuranda and the Skyrail back. It was a wonderful, relaxing trip and so much fun!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved the tour; best day in the 14 I was in Australia. The railway was breathtaking and relaxing. The rail car sky rail back was also breathtaking but more invigorating……although I was a bit nervous at first I soon relaxed and enjoyed the scenery.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We very much enjoyed our day in Kuranda. What we liked most was that after the tour guide drops you off you are on your own for the rest of the day. He gives you all the travel tools you need to feel completely comfortable but we were thrilled to learn we had the day to explore on our own and make the day however we wanted.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

I just rated this 5 stars, but I wanna throw in a bonus star because it was that good. Kinda expensive, but definitely worth every single cent.

I called a day ahead to get the time and location of my pickup. The entire day was extremely organized, something I greatly appreciate, but also when you have a full day of activities, it's vital. The railway journey was 2 hrs and very beautiful, but the skyrail was more beautiful. Listening to the exotic bird sounds as I floated over the lush green jungle below and the clear waters off to the side was just so peaceful and relaxing!

The helicopter ride was phenomenal! I was a bit nervous, but they allayed any fears I had and before long, I was soaring over the Great Barrier Reef. It was great fun.

You then are transported to the cruise and either get a lesson snorkeling or are given reminders of safety, you get fitted for fins and can wear a body suit if you want (Large is the largest size that I saw, X small was the smallest). It's required only when there are jellyfish, which there weren't when I was there.

If you do this trip, you can have lunch waiting on you, but if you don't join right away, you get in line for the buffet. It was steak (not so good), fish, potato salad, green salad, fresh fruit and cole slaw. I had my lunch after snorkeling.

I can't say enough about the snorkeling. Of course, you can't snorkel anywhere better than the GBR!! You also can do a submarine or glass bottom boat with a guide explaining some of the things you'll see, or you can keep snorkeling. On the return (1 hr, I think), there's wine and cheese and cheesy entertainment. (Sorry, Elvis!) G

This is definitely the best part of my entire trip.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

What a day! Well organised throughout. The train ride to Kuranda was lovely, but arrived late so very little time in Kuranda itself. The cable car back down was awesome! Efficient transfer to the helipad and an amazing flight over the barrier reef landing on a pontoon, from which we were collected by a small boat and transferred to the main boat. I'd never snorkelled before and was a bit nervous but the "snorkel guide" really helped me stay calm and took me out way further than I'd have dared go by myself, which was fantastic. The glass-bottomed boat was even better for viewing the marine life. Unforgettable, well worth the cost.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

Angie
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour we took included the Rainforest stop so a lot to do in a day.
Train journey was excellent and well organized, Kuranda had way more to offer than expected and having done the Rainforest option would advise spending your time better by simply exploring Kuranda.
Cable car ride back down was an excellent way to finish the day followed by excellent Scones and T in the cafe at the bottom.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus picked us up from our hotel right on time. All directions were well laid out for us as we boarded the train with pre selected seats. Kuranda was a lovely adventure the highlight being a pic holding Hogan a delightful koala ! The sky rail can be daunting but the views are spectacular !

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely fabulous! Would highly recommend this trip to anyone! My favourite had to be the Great Barrier Reef Cruise, but going to Kuranda and then the beautiful calm beach of Cape Tribulation was wonderful too!!

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The views both on the journey up via the Scenic railway and back down via the skyrail were spectacular and were both enjoyable journeys. Rainforeststation was also well worth the visit with a nice little wildlife section, an educational trip into the surrounding area on the army ducks and very interesting displays of aboriginal culture and dance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the highlight of the entire trip. The train to Kuranda was really nice, with a stop at a waterfall. There is very little time to actually spend in Kuranda in order to take the skyrail back down for the helicopter tour. Flying out over the reef with the views from the helicopter, I thought that I had reached the highlight of the trip. However, once I got into the water to snorkel, I realized this was the highlight. I had about an hour and a half to snorkle the reef. The coral and fish were very colorful and so close you could practically touch them. A nice lunch was waiting for me when I got back on the boat for the ride back to Cairns. Don't forget to bring an underwater camera - the reef is amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the most amazing trip. beautiful scenery. Nice way to travel up the hill, with the train and back down going over the trees of the rainforest with the skyrail. Also much to do in Kuranda itself: souvenir shops (beautiful gift shops!), places to eat, butterfly sanctuary, ... the rainforestation was really nice. I would have liked to have had an extra half an hour to an hour to spend in Kuranda itself though (because I did the tour with rainforestation included).

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip. We took the train to Kuranda and returned on the Sky Rail. Despite the rain the whole day was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message