• USD ($)
  • English
Opened in 1891, Kuranda’s Scenic Railway lies some 21 miles of picturesque landscape away from Cairns. This popular attraction passes by the breathtaking Barron Falls and equally impressive Stoney Creek Falls. While some travelers lament the dark ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the highlight of the entire trip. The train to Kuranda was really nice, with a stop at a waterfall. There is very little time to actually spend in Kuranda in order to take the skyrail back down for the helicopter tour. Flying out over the reef with the views from the helicopter, I thought that I had reached the highlight of the trip. However, once I got into the water to snorkel, I realized this was the highlight. I had about an hour and a half to snorkle the reef. The coral and fish were very colorful and so close you could practically touch them. A nice lunch was waiting for me when I got back on the boat for the ride back to Cairns. Don't forget to bring an underwater camera - the reef is amazing.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the most amazing trip. beautiful scenery. Nice way to travel up the hill, with the train and back down going over the trees of the rainforest with the skyrail. Also much to do in Kuranda itself: souvenir shops (beautiful gift shops!), places to eat, butterfly sanctuary, ... the rainforestation was really nice. I would have liked to have had an extra half an hour to an hour to spend in Kuranda itself though (because I did the tour with rainforestation included).

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip. We took the train to Kuranda and returned on the Sky Rail. Despite the rain the whole day was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am not a good swimmer and made the decision not to snorkel even though the crew gave me a lot of encouragement. Jeff dove but felt that the trip was more for snorkelers than divers. That said, we had a great time. We were taken good care of by the crew (who even gave out sea sickness tablets to those that needed them!) The lunch was cooked fresh, and was really good with enough for everyone. Then "Elvis" a crew member sang reggae and other songs on the trip back. We really enjoyed the trip.
The Kuranda Railway was amazing. Everything from the platform to the train etc. is a must see journey. I do not like heights at all so it was a stretch for me to go on the sky rail. I would have preferred to come down again on the train but Jeff really enjoyed the sky rail and felt it was worth it. Cape Tribulation day the heavens opened and everyone got soaked probably within the first 5 minutes of the trip. That said, it really didn't matter as we just went with the flow. When we stopped at the Wild Life Park in Port Douglas I did not know that you could feed the Kangaroo's so when we walked through the park they would come up and tap our pockets for food. We felt so guilty as they are so cute. I would recommend having $2 AUD handy to buy the food on the way in. We went back 2 times after this trip just to feed the "roo's" One of the Mum's had a baby in her pouch. This to me was the highlight of my trip, just feeding the Kangaroo's!! At Cape Tribulation we saw some of the biggest spiders, as usual our tour guides explained and taught us so much about the eco system and the plant and animal life. I would definitely do this tour again, also the lunch at the Cape T was really good. All the tours turned up on time, everything went really smoothly from beginning to end, and we really relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a great day. We took this tour to squeeze Kuranda and the skyrail into the day otherwise couldn't get to see them. Glad we did but ideally would do them separately. The rail ride was nice and relaxing and scenic. We didn't have enough time at Kuranda to be honest and it seemed like a nice town to wander through so on reflection, do this separately. The skyrail (and the stops) were very scenic and one of those you have to do at least once things.
But the helicopter tour and reef experience are MUST do's. We were treated like VIP's with a wonderful lunch provided and would do this part over and over if we could afford it.

Highly rate this trip if you want to tick off these things but would suggest spending at least a full day at each separately or if you had to choose - the helicopter tour and reef swimming win and are musts - even for those that don't like swimming,

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoy the holiday stay in Palm Cove. These package of trips is enable us to see the most beautiful nature
in Cairns , Australia. Kuranda Scenic and Skyrail is the best.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Did this tour (the opposite way round) 17 years ago. This time going to the Tjapuki centre first, enjoyed throwing spears and boomerangs, and a fantastic dance show. Then walked to the Sky rail which took us to Kuranda. The journey back was spectacular and brought back some good memories.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Robert M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Kuranda and we were particularly impressed with the friendliness and the help provided by the staff throughout the day. The trip in the train was very relaxing and the scenery along the way was stunning, particularly the waterfalls. We had a few hours to enjoy Kuranda and managed to pick up a couple of bargains at the markets. Coming down on the cable car was well worth the expense - the views are spectacular and we were able to enjoy some stopovers on the way down. A great day overall.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Great trip! Loved the snorkeling! Kuranda Railroad is good but is better for history lovers. Cape Tribulation is beautiful and is worth the long trip.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My daughter and I travelled up on the train and returned on the Skyway - we had 4 hours in Kuranda which is plenty of time to see the sights and have lunch. We visited the Butterfly Park - well worth a visit. The train journey is great and the Skyway is spectacular, though if afraid of heights can be scary. A very pleasant day out.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A very well organised day as we were picked up from the hotel we were given a detailed itinerary of the day and all our tickets for the train and cable car.The cable car is not for anyone afraid of heights! You are very high up but with fantastic views back down to Cairnes and then over the rainforest. There are 2 stops on route where you can have a walk amongst the trees and see the waterfall. Kuranda has lots of gift shops and cafes to visit.
On the train you are allocated seats and have some views between the trees but not as good as from the cable car.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was an amazing trip, especially scenic railway, which is highly recommended by me and Tjupikai cultural centre was the best. Trip back by train was a bit tiresome and boring especially when you were on skyrail before. Kuranda village ois very nice too and mango wine was so good!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is like three tours in one. It starts with a very scenic journey on the railway up the mountain, then a tour around a small zoo that included involvement in boomerang throwing and trying to play a Didgeridoo, finally a ride down via the Sky rail with a stop off to walk in the rain forest. A brilliant tour with plenty of variation throughout the day.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a trip worth doing, whether or not you have limited time. It is a great way of exploring the hinterland and the reef on the one day. The only problem we had with the day was the bus transport company (they were late, but this has minimal impact). The rail ride up to Kuranda is spectacular. Magnificent views; amazing engineering. Kuranda is worth a short stroll (there is about 45 minutes allotted to this (walk quickle up to the top and come back at a more leisurely pace). The sky-rail back is sensational. Stop at the two break points and look at the rain forest (particularly the Kauri trees). Then helicopter to the reef, snorkel or scuba, then lunch and a quick trip back.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway, Skyrail, Great Barrier Reef Helicopter Tour and Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The Scenic Railway and Skyrail combination is an absolute must when visiting Cairns. Even with some low clouds and rain (well, what do you expect...you're in the rainforest) the sights and colors are amazing. We might have been able to do this agenda without using a tour by catching the railway in Cairns and taking a taxi back from the Skyrail but pickup and dropoff at hotel and makes it easy and convenient, plus we had a bus driver who had us all in stitches with a "sit down" comedy routine on the way back to the hotel. By the time we did a little hiking around Kuranda, had lunch and saw the markets, there wasn't a lot of time to do anything else, so not sure why you would want to plan other activities for Kuranda.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message