Cairns & the Tropical North ATTRACTIONS See all

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Experience the vibrant music, dance, legends and food of Australia's indigenous people at the Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. There’s a choice of full-day and half-day tours, or you can visit at night to enjoy a full buffet dinner and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience! The staff were attentive and helpful, the meal was great, The Aboriginal dancing and storytelling were fantastic and inclusive. I learned lots, only to realise how little I know. I highly recommend this evening.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nice day trip to Kuranda. Aboriginal show was informative and entertaining. Skyrail trip wa s thrilling and Barron Falls were spectacular with all the rain the week before. Take bug spray

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The views both on the journey up via the Scenic railway and back down via the skyrail were spectacular and were both enjoyable journeys. Rainforeststation was also well worth the visit with a nice little wildlife section, an educational trip into the surrounding area on the army ducks and very interesting displays of aboriginal culture and dance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip was well worthwhile as the final attraction when combined with the Tjapukai Cultural Centre and Skyrail trip over the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We learned a lot about the Tjapukai tribe. When we confirmed the tour and were told that we had only 3 hrs I didn't think it would be enough. But it was. They are very organized in a very relaxed way. It was good to find out the stories of the people of Australia and was very interactive. We learned about the didgeridoo and how to play it. We were taught how to throw the spears and the boomerang. Through dance we were told the story of their people. Great way to start our trip.

Doing what: Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. This trip is great fun. Really enjoyed all the Aboriginal stories, music, dance etc. Great meal and a very enjoyable evening. :-)

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a fun experience! Learning about the aboriginal culture, watching them perform and make a fire. I was chosen to go up on stage and help make a fire. It was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Two very interesting places - the aboriginal "village" and Kuranda where there was not enough time to explore because we had to get the train back fairly early - a shame.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very well organized, great explanation of Tjapukai culture, good show (3 parts to it) and very nice buffet dinner with many options to select from.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

C T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had an absolutely excellent day out and were very looked after. The rail journey was amazing, especially when the train stopped so we could see both ends of the train at the same time on the curved track. The rain forestation was brilliant, good food at lunch time and interesting time spent with an aboriginal group. Cable car ride was very impressive and a touch scary!! Very recommendable indeed. Thank you! Christine

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

An excellent trip. The combination of mountain railway, cable sky rail above the tropical rainforest and then the Aboriginal Centre is probably unique in the world.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Well organised very enjoyable day. The visit to the Aboriginal Cultural Centre was a highlight.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a great trip! We loved the cable car through the rainforest and especially enjoyed our time at the aboriginal village. We were thrilled to be able to throw a boomerang, and learned how to throw a spear. The guide we had was first rate.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

A great rail trip! We got a closer look at the forest through the sky rail. We loved the duck tour and the aboriginal dancing! What a great day! I can't believe we packed in so much. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The train and skyrail were wonderful, surprised pleasantly by the 'travelogue' supplied by Queensland rail, and the attentiveness of the the staff on the train. A little disappointed in the village of Kuranda itself - the famous handmade markets now seem to be occupied by some aging hippies, selling imported goods. The Honey shop was good, and the shops selling Aboriginal art were also good.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Palm Cove

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Amazing insight from Aboriginal Heritage Centre. Railway unique and nice! Kuranda village in itself is just a town-wide tourist shop.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a worthwhile tour, and a good way to spend a day. The Skyrail was a thrill (especially since I'm not fond of heights!) Spending time with some aboriginals was also more fun that I thought. We got some nice souvenirs and even had some face painting. Learning about their culture and throwing a boomerang and spear was fun. We visited Bird World at Kuranda and had some fun there. (Extra fee) It would have been nice to spend a little more time at Kuranda village, but overall this was still a worthwhile experience.
Train ride down the mountain was an added bonus.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

HammerDhai
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A fasciated experience with the Kuranda railway. Great scenic view up the hill. On return trip, a gorgeous view of canopy of trees down the hill via sky rail. A new experience on Army Duck, particularly impressed with naturalist Wald who is v knowledgeable with nature and natural inhabitants. Especially feel his great passion for nature. So excited to see the very beautiful shinning blue Ulysses butterfly which flied in such a high speed. Minor comment is the aboriginal dance, kind of so so. Other than that, a very with memorable day trip to Kuranda.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

HammerDhai
Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

a good experience with aboriginal dancing.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The programs at the Tjapukai Cultural Center were the highlight of the day! The only downside of the trip was the knee-to-knee seating on the train - pretty uncomfortable!

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

We enjoyed the day, it was a bit of a slow start waiting around at Tjapukai, but very interesting and informative once we got going. The only bit we were unhappy about was the speed with which we were expected to eat a delicious buffet lunch so that we could get to the sky rail on time, then discovering that the time on the ticket was not really a firm time and we could have had a more relaxing lunch.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Not sure the aboriginal village was worth the time...would have preferred to spend more time up in Kurandu.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The tour was a full day with not much on-your-own time for shopping. There was lots to see and the army duck was definitely worth it. As well as the Aboriginal dancers, boomerang throwing, watching how to play a digeridoo and throwing a spear.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Trevor H
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Lovely 2 way trip, plenty to see and do. Good aboriginal shows.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message