Cairns & the Tropical North ATTRACTIONS See all

Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park

Experience the vibrant music, dance, legends and food of Australia's indigenous people at the Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. There’s a choice of full-day and half-day tours, or you can visit at night to enjoy a full buffet dinner and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The views both on the journey up via the Scenic railway and back down via the skyrail were spectacular and were both enjoyable journeys. Rainforeststation was also well worth the visit with a nice little wildlife section, an educational trip into the surrounding area on the army ducks and very interesting displays of aboriginal culture and dance.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The trip was well worthwhile as the final attraction when combined with the Tjapukai Cultural Centre and Skyrail trip over the rainforest.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We learned a lot about the Tjapukai tribe. When we confirmed the tour and were told that we had only 3 hrs I didn't think it would be enough. But it was. They are very organized in a very relaxed way. It was good to find out the stories of the people of Australia and was very interactive. We learned about the didgeridoo and how to play it. We were taught how to throw the spears and the boomerang. Through dance we were told the story of their people. Great way to start our trip.

Doing what: Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park Entry Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. This trip is great fun. Really enjoyed all the Aboriginal stories, music, dance etc. Great meal and a very enjoyable evening. :-)

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What a wonderful day! The rail trip to Kuranda was so picturesque in the old rail cars and the Skyrail return was a beautiful experience. We are so glad we visited the RainForestation and Wildlife Park and its indigenous animals, holding a koala and feeding the kangaroos and wallabies. Took a ride on an amphibious World War II Army Duck through the rainforest, and experienced Aboriginal culture.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a fun experience! Learning about the aboriginal culture, watching them perform and make a fire. I was chosen to go up on stage and help make a fire. It was a lot of fun!

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Two very interesting places - the aboriginal "village" and Kuranda where there was not enough time to explore because we had to get the train back fairly early - a shame.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Very well organized, great explanation of Tjapukai culture, good show (3 parts to it) and very nice buffet dinner with many options to select from.

Doing what: Aboriginal Cultural Tjapukai by Night Tour including Buffet Dinner

C T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We had an absolutely excellent day out and were very looked after. The rail journey was amazing, especially when the train stopped so we could see both ends of the train at the same time on the curved track. The rain forestation was brilliant, good food at lunch time and interesting time spent with an aboriginal group. Cable car ride was very impressive and a touch scary!! Very recommendable indeed. Thank you! Christine

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

An excellent trip. The combination of mountain railway, cable sky rail above the tropical rainforest and then the Aboriginal Centre is probably unique in the world.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Well organised very enjoyable day. The visit to the Aboriginal Cultural Centre was a highlight.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was a great trip! We loved the cable car through the rainforest and especially enjoyed our time at the aboriginal village. We were thrilled to be able to throw a boomerang, and learned how to throw a spear. The guide we had was first rate.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2007

A great rail trip! We got a closer look at the forest through the sky rail. We loved the duck tour and the aboriginal dancing! What a great day! I can't believe we packed in so much. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Amazing insight from Aboriginal Heritage Centre. Railway unique and nice! Kuranda village in itself is just a town-wide tourist shop.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This was a worthwhile tour, and a good way to spend a day. The Skyrail was a thrill (especially since I'm not fond of heights!) Spending time with some aboriginals was also more fun that I thought. We got some nice souvenirs and even had some face painting. Learning about their culture and throwing a boomerang and spear was fun. We visited Bird World at Kuranda and had some fun there. (Extra fee) It would have been nice to spend a little more time at Kuranda village, but overall this was still a worthwhile experience.
Train ride down the mountain was an added bonus.

Doing what: Kuranda Scenic Railway Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message