• USD ($)
  • English
Cairns – think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef – is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off your time ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was great and went over and above to make sure we saw as many animals as possible. Seeming them at night was really neat too. The dinner was amazing!

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am not a good swimmer and made the decision not to snorkel even though the crew gave me a lot of encouragement. Jeff dove but felt that the trip was more for snorkelers than divers. That said, we had a great time. We were taken good care of by the crew (who even gave out sea sickness tablets to those that needed them!) The lunch was cooked fresh, and was really good with enough for everyone. Then "Elvis" a crew member sang reggae and other songs on the trip back. We really enjoyed the trip.
The Kuranda Railway was amazing. Everything from the platform to the train etc. is a must see journey. I do not like heights at all so it was a stretch for me to go on the sky rail. I would have preferred to come down again on the train but Jeff really enjoyed the sky rail and felt it was worth it. Cape Tribulation day the heavens opened and everyone got soaked probably within the first 5 minutes of the trip. That said, it really didn't matter as we just went with the flow. When we stopped at the Wild Life Park in Port Douglas I did not know that you could feed the Kangaroo's so when we walked through the park they would come up and tap our pockets for food. We felt so guilty as they are so cute. I would recommend having $2 AUD handy to buy the food on the way in. We went back 2 times after this trip just to feed the "roo's" One of the Mum's had a baby in her pouch. This to me was the highlight of my trip, just feeding the Kangaroo's!! At Cape Tribulation we saw some of the biggest spiders, as usual our tour guides explained and taught us so much about the eco system and the plant and animal life. I would definitely do this tour again, also the lunch at the Cape T was really good. All the tours turned up on time, everything went really smoothly from beginning to end, and we really relaxed and fun.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An Excellent little adventure in the middle of Cairns

Doing what: Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Everything is provided. Swim and Snorkel and Kayak as much as you want. Food could have been better but overall a well worth trip. I opted for trip 2

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What an experience! This is definitely a "DO NOT MISS" adventure.
To start with, the Great Barrier Reef is something everyone must have on their bucket list. The sheer beauty of the reef is indescribable. The best way to give you a mental picture is to say the animators of Finding Nemo got it right; it looks like an underwater garden. Whether you are diving (or Scuba-doo’ing) on the outer reef or just snorkeling around the jetty on Green Island, the experience is one you will never forget.
The resort itself is fantastic. The Reef Suite that we stayed in was wonderfully furnished, large, and comfortable. The only drawback was the AC did not work; the staff offered to move us to another room, but we were settled in and decided to just stay where we were. Overall, the staff was very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure we were well taken care of. The food was very good (even if a little bit pricy). They will let you order of the room service menu in the restaurant if you want a simpler meal while saving a few bucks.
My wife particularly enjoyed the hot oil massage (very reasonably priced at $40 for a half hour) while I enjoyed the free drinks at sunset. The resort guests’ only pool was a nice diversion from the crowds during the day and its bathrooms with full shower and dressing areas are made available for use after you check out on the final day.
When snorkeling, I would recommend the area in the elbow of the jetty. This is where they feed the fish in the afternoon so it was teeming with all sorts of sea life; we saw fish of all sizes and colors, rays, turtles, and even a white tipped reef shark. The parrot fish were particularly beautiful. I would also recommend using the stinger suits available at no charge for resort guests, not only do they protect you from the nasty jellyfish you may encounter, the hood let my wife not have to deal with the strap of her mask getting tangled in her hair.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable cruise.

Doing what: Cairns Harbor Cruise with Optional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Beautiful scenery and a great opportunity for photos!

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforestation Nature Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were taken to two sites. Both were excellent with the second being best. Saw many beautiful fish...including Nemo... crew was excellent. All in all this trip is highly recommended.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Was really awesome! Friendly staff , Nice view and fresh picnic lunch!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

A little disappointed not to see the reef but a good day out

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

One of the best days in Cairn, regret we can not stay longer there. Paradise!!!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This is the closest island to Cairns city so if you get seasick but want to snorkel and see the beautiful coral reef then Fiztroy is the place to go to. I strongly recommend snorkeling further away from the boat - or close to the rocky bay (25 min walk from the jetty). Even with the water less than 1 foot (30cm) deep there were corals and fishes from the rocky bay. As I am not a strong swimmer I swan only 15-20 metres from the shore and got to swim beside a huge sea turtle. It was an absolutely amazing experience!
If you need an under water camera Cairns city jetty has a couple of shops that sell Fuji camera at about $25-$30 cameras - takes 27 shots. They also sell iPhone casing if you want to take photos using your phone (not sure how much this costs).

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This is a fun thing to do. there were only about 25 people of varying ages and nationalities. The barbecue was quite nice with sufficient variety of food for all. I liked having a flashlight (torch) while walking around as the ground is not always flat. The zoo is small but we did see some unusual animals. Here you can pay to hold the koala--something that cannot be done elsewhere in Australia--at a cost of $18. Many of the other zoo inhabitants were also touchable except the crocs and the poisonous ones. After the zoo tour there was entertainment where the staff got everyone involved one way or another in the fun. It was a good way to spend a different kind of evening.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Scope for improvement

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message