Cairns -  think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef - is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 421 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Compact rainforest. Aboriginal experience was fab- dancing, didgeridoos, boomerangs and spear throwing! Army DUKW tour with very knowledgeable guide. I CUDDLED A KOALA (which you can only do in Queensland as they are not endangered there). Saw a huge croc and petted a kangaroo. Brilliant day out :).

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforestation Nature Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lunch was delicious, so fresh and filling. A great day to do as little or as much as you like. The snorkeling was amazing. A really fun day.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great way to see the river. The nibbles were great and they restocked them when it was low.

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful day out. Highly recommended for those who love water activities.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great, great experience for me and my son. Never had any issues with any of the 3 tours. The guides are excellent and always eager to help.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent! We did and see more than we expected! The driver was the tour guide who did an excellent job taking us to places to see wild nature. It was almost a full day tour and we loved every secind of it except windy road and I tend to get car sick. However , I was prepared with motion sickness pillss, just one way:
I was able to buy dramamine in the uSA over the counter, but in Australia we were not able to find the same. If you come from another country try to bring your own! The guide provided binoculars and raincoats , we really did not need the raincoats , but it was to have them . The sky at night was so beautiful and we spotted some animals/mammals in the dark. Lots of kangaroos, wallabies, birds, etc.. We stopped at a great italian restaurant for dinner which was included. Vegetarian option was available too upon request.
I really recommend this tour to thise who enjoy wildlife and nature!
I really recommend this tour

Doing what: Best Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I booked this as a suprise for my fiancee and was a bit worried about waking him at 4am for the pre-sunrise pick up. We both agreed though that it was a fantastic experience and more than worth it. The whole experience is well organised and the staff are friendly and helpful, which adds to the overall trip. Watching the sun come up whilst 'floating' in the sky is amazing, we were even lucky enough so see wild kangaroos jumping about down below. We woud recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Best Hot Air Ballooning Tour from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

I was very satisfied with all tours. I was not prepared for the high winds when snorkeling and got very cold. However, for my first time experience I am very pleased to have tried it and I enjoyed the boat experience and the animation provided by the very professional crew. The next two tours were most enjoyable and I learned a lot about the rainforest and the native animals.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This is a mighty long day - but well worth it. Our driver/guide was enthusiastic and full of information. The zipline was a heap of fun - especially the upside down bit.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The sunset cruise was good but went a little long as there was very little to see apart from the mangroves. The commentary was a little boring. Dinner at Dundees was excellent. Service was great and although the restuarant was busy we were served very promptly. An enjoyable evening

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

The reef tour of the 1st day was worthy, pretty by your own on the 2nd day

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

More activities on board and the viewing highlights, at best, okay.

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Overall it was a good experience. Great barrier reef cruise was good but the day was bit too long. Had a good day in kurranda and the train ride was enjoyable. Amazing rainforest experience in Cape tribulation but we had to rush from one point to the other. Felt as if the itinerary was impractical for a day tour given that there were so much to see and drive from one point to the other was rather long.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The email I received from Viator lacked information on which area of the jetty we were to catch the ferry from. We boarded a ferry to Fitzroy Island but it was the wrong ferry, the tour companu rang us to see why we hadnt turned up for the tour and we told them we were already on the island. All was good for the rest of the day thanks to the staff, couldnt praise them enough.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We have sent your review over to our Account Managers to make sure we have the best possible information on our vouchers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the highlight of our time in Cairns. Paul was an excellent guide who is a fount of knowledge and very good at finding animals, both during the day and at night. It was fun to see animals in the wild and not just in the preserves. He showed us an amazing variety of plants and animals. This is an all day adventure that is well worth the time.

Doing what: Best Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This place was the cheapest place we went to in cairns and it was the best. Excellent value for money.the staff were careing and helpful.

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforestation Nature Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience. Doing it in a tour group meant I could watch the scenery and not worry about driving.
Loved Ziplining with a team that really made you enjoy the experience

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Muy buen dia de playa. El sitio esta genial para pasar un gran dia.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Paul is so knowledgable and very passionate- he's awesome and everyone should take this tour to see wildlife in the rainforest. Unlike the massive groups other tour companies run- Paul pays attention to the size of his tours and makes sure everyone is well taken care of

Doing what: Best Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very lovely day w/ this company! Friendly and great sense of humor. Clean boat w/ plenty of seating. Very helpful staff when we inquired about activity pricing. "Out of Order" bathroom on boat...though I didn't need it I would have liked to know that it was option on the 45 minute ride to/from Fitzroy

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message