Cairns -  think islands, beaches, wildlife, rainforests and that reef - is an essential stop on any trans-Australian itinerary. Here's how to cover the best of it in just three days. Day 1: Cuddle Koalas, Walk Through Fire Kick off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 407 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The email I received from Viator lacked information on which area of the jetty we were to catch the ferry from. We boarded a ferry to Fitzroy Island but it was the wrong ferry, the tour companu rang us to see why we hadnt turned up for the tour and we told them we were already on the island. All was good for the rest of the day thanks to the staff, couldnt praise them enough.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We have sent your review over to our Account Managers to make sure we have the best possible information on our vouchers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was the highlight of our time in Cairns. Paul was an excellent guide who is a fount of knowledge and very good at finding animals, both during the day and at night. It was fun to see animals in the wild and not just in the preserves. He showed us an amazing variety of plants and animals. This is an all day adventure that is well worth the time.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This place was the cheapest place we went to in cairns and it was the best. Excellent value for money.the staff were careing and helpful.

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforestation Nature Park

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a great experience. Doing it in a tour group meant I could watch the scenery and not worry about driving.
Loved Ziplining with a team that really made you enjoy the experience

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Muy buen dia de playa. El sitio esta genial para pasar un gran dia.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Paul is so knowledgable and very passionate- he's awesome and everyone should take this tour to see wildlife in the rainforest. Unlike the massive groups other tour companies run- Paul pays attention to the size of his tours and makes sure everyone is well taken care of

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very lovely day w/ this company! Friendly and great sense of humor. Clean boat w/ plenty of seating. Very helpful staff when we inquired about activity pricing. "Out of Order" bathroom on boat...though I didn't need it I would have liked to know that it was option on the 45 minute ride to/from Fitzroy

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic.. the staff were magnificent..Shaun and Daryl were brilliant..Much better than anticipated.. Best trip ever..my children loved it sooo much. First class,superb !

Doing what: Kuranda Rainforest Night Adventure Tour by Hummer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was exactly what I wanted! I was able to see the rainforest at night and tons of animals. It is definitely for those who seek adventure.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the most amazing tours i have had the pleasure to do. I learnt so much at the wildlife habitat and croc cruise. The young zip line instructors were extremely kind and informative. If any tourists are, at any time, in cairns, do it, I'm 60 and it was easy.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Always wanted to see a Tree Kangaroo, Platypus, Cassowary and Thylacine if they still exist in the wild.
On this tour with Paul I got to see 2 Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroos and 2 Platypus, plus several other mammals, reptiles, birds. The waterfalls, lakes and volcanic craters were great to see, plus the amazing
Cathedral Fig and Curtain Fig trees which are massive. Then there were the 1,000 year old Kauri Pines.
A really nice meal in the largest timber hotel historic in Australia. So glad I did this tour.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tour was super. A high light snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef. We loved Sydney. A vibrant, friendly atmosphere. Everything works and runs to time. Efficient, beautiful shops, clean streets.
Our drivers were friendly and most informative.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Snorkeling was lovely - we saw some incredibly vibrant and well populated areas around the island. There were even two gorgeous turtles, which were my favourite... Also a small shark peacefully swimming around. You can divide the day however you want, with snorkeling, kayaking, the glass-bottom boat tour. This is a good value for money way of seeing part of the reef while you're in Cairns.

We had to take a different boat in, so our departure time wasn't right. Also leaving the island, we had to turn in our snorkeling gear really quickly, as urged by the guys who ran it. But then everyone else stayed in the water and we waited for about half an hour. Felt like we missed out a little bit. Again, just felt like what was communicated wasn't totally accurate.

Bring a camera, and an underwater one if possible. Also, go for a walk around to the lighthouse.

The packed lunch was a sugary juice Pop Top, a chicken salad wrap, a sandwich meat beef? sandwich, an energy bar cranberry and chocolate and an apple. It was actually quite a lot I mean, two sandwiches??? and hit the spot.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A little bit of everything. The reef tour was wonderful, Karanda was impressive, but the Cape Trip was too much for one day. Not enough time to really enjoy the stops.

Doing what: Cairns Super Saver: Great Barrier Reef Cruise plus Kuranda Scenic Railway plus Cape Tribulation Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant. Knowledgable guide and great meal too.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely zoo,fab breakfast..the only problem is the man who bought out the koala didn't say very much and knew little about them as he was a bird specialist

Doing what: Cairns Tropical Zoo Morning Tour including Breakfast

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

A nice relaxing evening. We did not choose the restaurant option offered as we preferred to walk along the Esplanade to choose from many lovely restaurants.

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour was not at all worth the money. There was nothing really to see and all that could be seen was the reflection of passengers and interior in the windows. Would've been better with lights off in the cabin, but even so, not scenic at all. The highlight was some unscheduled fireworks!

Doing what: Cairns Sunset Cruise and Optional Dinner

Sherri M
Papua New Guinea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed the wildlife habitat but could have stayed longer. Loved the ziplining. The staff were helpful and patient. We were not to excited about the river cruise but overall a great day.

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest Zipline and Wildlife Habitat Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an awesome experience. Paul who led the Tour was incredibly knowledgeable about the plants, creatures, the history and the geography of the area. The tour after dark was mystical with several animals spotted and the view of the many stars in the moonless night sky. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message