Tropical North Queensland proves itself as a thrill-seeker’s hotspot with this list of adrenaline-pumping activities. The adventure activities near Cairns include skydiving and jungle surfing among many others, and the best part is that these are ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was the highlight of my trip to Cairns. Our guide Paul was passionate and knowledgeable about the Tablelands rainforest and provided very personalised glimpses into the wildlife of the forest. Our twilight experience viewing a platypus in a forest pool was magical. Dinner at Nick's cafe was delicious and this was followed by a unique experience spotlighting nocturnal mammals. We were lucky to see several varieties of possums and bandicoots and experience the beauty of the forest after dark. Would recommend this ecotour to all who value the wonders of the rainforest.

Doing what: Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Located on the top floor of the Cairns Reef Casino is the ZOOm and Wildlife Tour. ALOT of fun! The inside climb/ zipline was some times challenging; however, you are allowed to do the climb at your own pace. You are totally safe in that you are wearing a full body harness with "tie-off" at all times during this experience. Very good workout! I aslo did the outside climb (of the building) in which the view of Cairns was awesome. I'm alittle afraid of heights; however, I enjoyed this experience and the staff at the Dome were very friendly/ awesome! You also get to see a very large crocodile, birds, snakes, etc. as part of the Zoo part of this package. Highly recommend this package for anyone wanting to have fun, a workout, an adventure alittle outside the norm!

Doing what: Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Having been wanting to do a night zoo since arriving in Australia we left it to the last few days of our three week trip and went to the Cairns zoo. We arrived around 6.45 pm for drinks and sat at our table chatting to some of the guys who worked there. At 7pm the food was ready.........a BBQ type meal (in door) with plenty of meat for the meat eaters and good veggie alternative for the others. Lots of salad and all excellent. The food was accompanied by the resident singer, very nice! After lots of food and drinks we set off on the night tour. This was fantastic. Seeing lots of animals at close quarters including a rare sooty owl. Afterwards we went through the reptile house which was far more active than you see in the day time. On then to see the crocs! Look out for the very large one, about 5m in length!! Then our favourite part, walking into a paddock with fire burning away and bush tea and cake! All this a the most impressive line up of kangaroos! All waiting for us to feed them including one with a joey in the pouch. Great fun, they're really friendly and love being stroked. After a while here we headed off to another area for more drinks, music and dancing.
This evening was the highlight of our trip. Great fun, very informative and very friendly staff who make sure you have a great time even if it is pouring with rain!! Can't recommend it enough.

Doing what: Cairns Night Zoo Safari and Barbecue Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The most amazing experience of my life. I want to do this again!
I did feel scared beforehand but the tandem guys were brilliant.
The adrenalin rush was unbelievable. And the view!!!
If you do one thing in Cairns - do the skydive.
The most memorable experience of my Aus travels.

Doing what: Reef and Rainforest Tandem Sky Dive in Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An Excellent little adventure in the middle of Cairns

Doing what: Cairns ZOOm and Wildlife Dome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour is even 10/5 but because off the agency but NOT VIATOR!!!!! Because of viator we almost missed a part of our trip!!! So Cairns is awesome but I won't recommend Viator to my friends!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

These two days present very different sides of Cairns and were excellent. The train trip up was very interesting and relaxing. I saw the rain forest in the rain plus all the animals including roos, crocs and koalas. I would have liked to had more time to browse the shops in Kurunda but I know everything cannot be done in a day. The wait for the trip down was a bit long but that was because the Skyrail had been shut down due to thunder storms. The driver was patiently waiting when I finally arrived to go back to my hotel. The reef trip the next day was very well organized. The highlight was the helicopter trip back to the airport. Absolutely fantastic!!! I also enjoyed the glass bottom boat trip and the lunch. If you only have two days in Cairns, this is how to spend the two days.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful day from start to finish under the expert guidance of our rafter Eoin. We will definitely recommend this day as a "must do" to friends and relatives while visiting Cairns. We are still talking about it months after our visit and reliving the photos. A big THANK YOU to all involved at Raging Thunder involved in our day.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This is a must do when in Cairns !! Our tour leader, Shane, was pleasant, knowledgeable and engaging - a really nice guy. The scenery is spectacular and beautiful (especially Mossman Gorge). The drive through the rainforest with the canopy overhead and along the Capt. Cook highway is breathtaking. We enjoyed seeing cassowaries close up and looking for crocodiles on Daintree river. Lunch was a steak, chips, salad and fruit at Cape Trib. Beach House - much more than I expected ! This is truly a great day out and not to be missed !!

Doing what: Daintree Rainforest, Cape Tribulation and Rainforest Habitat Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Everything about this experience was first rate. Anyone visiting Cairns must go rafting on the Tully.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a wonderful 2 day tour. We were able to visit the highlights of Cairns plus we spent one day on the Barrier Reef with a helicopter return from the Barrier Reef to Cairns. The helicopter ride allowed us to see a bird's eye view of a larger area of the Barrier Reef. We snorkeled 2 different locations. It was just as beautiful as expected. The tour offered persons without much snorkeling experience the opportunity to have a tour person guide them while holding onto a safety ring. The second day was a trip up to Kuranda - a charming small town in a rain forest, then a visit to an aboriginal cultural center plus a ride over the top of the rainforest. This tour is a perfect 2 day tour when visiting Cairns. It was very well organized and the staff did a great job.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

rails
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Nice drive from Cairns especially when a rainstorm is around( spectacular) Free birdshow at zoo well run,the different species of birds performing quite clever tricks and well trained by the handlers.

Doing what: Cairns Tropical Zoo Morning Tour including Breakfast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Great experience in Cairns. Karunda park was absolutely wonderful as well as thre great barrier reef.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

My family has just come back from Cairns last weekend. It's a fantastic adventure. Our leader Jesse explains carefully how we cope with the rapids. My family had a very enjoyable and safe journey and will definitely go to the Tully River next time.

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Best tour package I've ever purchased. Enjoyed every minute of it! Highly recommend this package to anyone visiting the Cairns, AU area.

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message