Tropical Cairns puts you in the ideal position to enjoy the splendor and beauty of Australia's Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef on the planet, covering an amazing 2,900 reefs, 900 islands and 2,600km (1,600 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 220 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time snorkelling then taking the chopper down the reef and back to Cairns. A once in a lifetime experience, well maybe will do it again. Great staff, great food and well organized. They cater for everyone and you are not just a long lost number.
Great trip and will definately recommend to others.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything- from the friendliness of the staff to the cleanliness of the facilities and equipment to the food provided- was absolutely top notch. My son and I had the best experience and highly recommend DiveDownUnder .

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic experience. The staff are extremely friendly, great with kids and very professional. Despite the rough seas getting out there we had a great time on two reefs both snorkelling and diving. I would highly recommend this tour company.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip! Water was a bit rough going out to the sites, but the crew was great in dealing with those who were sick due to this. Everyone was very friendly and the whole event was super organized. The food for lunch was good and plentful. Boat was large enough to hold everyone comfortably. Dive sites were great. Sub ride was a lot of fun and had great information!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing trip! Throughly recommended. In this one day trip, they take you to two magnific locations, and provide you with everything you need for snorkelling and diving. The crew make you feel very safe, and there is always one member of the crew watching you as you snorkel / dive in the reef. I also recommend the helicopter trip - it is short, but the view is unbelieavable. I did this trip twice, once in September/2013 and another recently, in June 2015, and both were amazing.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour to the Great Barrier Reef. They take you to two reef locations, including a beach that appears at low tide. They provide you with everything you need for snorkelling / diving. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beyond words. The day was overcast but the reef was clear, warm. I took the guided snorkeling tour and the guide took us to the best spots to see the most amazing part of the reef. Incredible!

Doing what: Best Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frankie is my instructor for this course. He's so kind and outgoing. Lecture class wasn't boring because of him. We done a lot of skills in first two days and enjoy four dives at the reef. Plenty of food on the boat. SUPERB!! DELICIOUS!! and the guy in dreadlock is pretty funny, he keep entertain us until we back to the land. Awesome trip ever. WORTH to do it!! Maybe one day I'll back to Cairns and study Advanced course with them. From: Nitiwat Joe

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was unforgettable!!! The staff was awesome, attentive, and fun! The food was excellent and the entertainment was great!!! I do hope the young female staff who got hurt during the turbulent return is recuperating well. Snorkeling the great barrier reef was an experience we will never forget.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic day. We also added an introductory dive when we got there which was brilliant. Yes it is pricey but it is worth it. The crew are very knowledgeable and friendly and you feel safe throughout the day. I also went on the submersible boat which was also a great opportunity to get close to the fish and coral.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Down Under Cruise dive and snorkel tours is a great way to spend a day on the Great barrier Reef. They take the boat out to two different locations: one in the morning and another after the buffet lunch they serve on board the boat. Both locations were great and the staff is very friendly and helpful for people new to snorkeling and diving. I met other people who took a different tour boat out the same day that got stuck in a heavy rainstorm but Down Under has more locations to choose from and chooses them according to conditions each day, providing the best possible conditions.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Unforgettable. Crew were extremely friendly, snorkeling and helicopter ride was fantastic. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome! All staff were nice and friendly, always smile and helpful. They were funny so enjoy from the first. I got seasick but better for the first place for diving. The dive guide, Yasu,was really great and cute. His instruction was helpful and easy to understand. He also were patient and very professional for my first time diving. Loved the entire day, heli flight was worth the money.        Highly recommended! :

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very helpful crew! Provided great crew led snorkel tours at both locations! He even brought up different things and found us a sea turtle! Absolutely fantastic!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the best purchase of our trip. We did all three tours leaving from Cairns. Each day was different, going to different parts of the reef. I loved the Silver Swift as we were able to do the most snorkeling there. Green Island was nice and we saw several sea turtles there. But snorkeling was not the best. The pontoon was a longer boat ride away that what I like. However I felt the snorkeling there was the best. The coral and fish were so close and so many different kinds.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The staff is very fun, friendly and work on making it the best experience possible. I would recommend doing the intro scuba dive, the view on the reef is even better. Though it is still beautiful if you only want to snorkel.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Dotty
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow wow wow!! Excellently organised trip with the friendliest crew ever, but then they have the best job in the world.. We left on time and after the usual safety briefing we were on our way to the first reef. Most of us lay on the top deck and sunbathed and from here we watched dolphins swim alongside us.. On arriving at Saxon reef we were told that box jelly fish had been seen so we were not allowed to enter the water unless we had our stinger suits on.. Most unflattering but hey better than death!! We had lots of time around this reef, those that wanted to dive did so but I snorkelled and wow the amazing views of the beautifully coloured fish were stunning. There is the option of hiring underwater camera's from the boat too, we did this and the photo's are amazing. When we came back aboard the crew had prepared the most delicious lunch of prawn, fish, steak, pasta and rice dishes, salad, something for everybody. We then made our way to Hastigns reef, were we were picked up by helicopter from a pontoon and given a tour of the reef from above, this was amazing we saw stingrays!! After our 10 minute flight we landed back on the pontoon and were taken back to the boat. This may seem a little excessive but worth every single penny!! Back to the water, where we met the infamous giant Wrasse named 'Wally' and I saw a white tip shark!!! I have to say I was petrified and after calming down realised he wasn't interested in me he was just passing through, thankfully. On our return to shore we were entertained by a crew member with his guitar. Brilliant day! What an experience! Do it..

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Memory to last a lifetime! Easy to find the boarding location. Staff on ship amazingly friendly. Willing to help you with any questions you may have. Large boat to accommodate the group with ease, never felt crowded. I would recommend doing the dive that's offered with the guide. Amazing experience, and almost easier than snorkleing. The guide is with you the entire time. Lunch on the boat was very tasty! Fish, steak, sausages, salad etc..First class tour in all ways. They even provided entertainment for us on our return to Cairns from the Reef. Rest assured, tours don't get better than this!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Staff were very helpful and respectful, had a very bumpy ride, but everyone was a great help. Dive instructors are great, they really love their job, and want you to have a great experience. Seeing a sea turtle was the high light of my trip!!!!!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome experience! J. Wall, our instructor, was very patient with my wife who was struggling with one of the skills that we needed to learn in order to be certified. The company focuses very heavily upon safety and making sure everyone can take care of him/herself when diving. The open water dives were beautiful and amazing things were scene. IF you get seasick, make sure you prepare for that, as it takes at least an hour via boat to get to the different reef sights. My wife and I loved it. Thanks, J!

Doing what: Learn to Scuba Dive on the Great Barrier Reef: 4-Day PADI Open Water Dive Course

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent diving was amazing and if you get the chance ask for extra dives!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was the experience of a lifetime! I am not fond of the water and rarely swim, so this helmet dive was perfect for me! I didn't even get my hair wet! They put this heavy helmet on my head, but when I was under the water, it wasn't heavy at all! There were fish all around me and I even got photo bombed by the resident Parrotfish! It was perfect!!!

Doing what: Best Green Island Day Trip from Cairns Including Seawalker Helmet Dive

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! The Great Barrier Reef is breathtaking and spectacular! This trip was perfect-fast boat, great crew, fabulous lunch and 2 dive spots. The best adventure of my life!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Superb and definitely a five star tour. I've never snorkeled before and the preparation and instruction were most helpful. For first timers, I recommended beginning with the "tour". Then you'll have the confidence to ease out on your own. An unforgettable experience

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing, guides were great especially when I needed calmed down for the scuba dive! Loved the entire day, helicopter ride was worth the money, will never forget it!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message