Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Tropical Cairns puts you in the ideal position to enjoy the splendor and beauty of Australia's Great Barrier Reef. The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef on the planet, covering an amazing 2,900 reefs, 900 islands and 2,600km (1,600 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 256 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeeyoon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Had a great time, the boat wasn't super big so it felt more intimate. The food was excellent and we had plenty of time to dive and snorkel. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Jessica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best experiences of our lives! The crew was fun and friendly. Plenty of food offered throughout the day to keep you from getting too hungry. Staff gets into the water with you and will show you interesting things along the reef. Plenty of time in both locations. The snorkel gear was in great condition and high quality. This is a small I believe family run company, and they do an amazing job. Go see the reef with them! You won't regret it, I promise!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Zhanna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

excellent. very organized and a great value. staff was professional and informative. boat was very nice with plenty of room. 3 dives for the price of one or two with others. don't bother looking any further. this is the one to book period.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Zhanna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

this is by far the best value for the money. staff was outstanding. Marco was patient and just a pleasure to dive with. I cant thank him enough for ensuring us a great dive experience. We are planning another trip and will book with these guys in a second. don't waste your time looking. just go with these folks. you will be happy you did.

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A diversity of the crew in nationality and languages spoken was impressive.
Picture souvenirs were a bit pricey! Reasonable cost for lycra/wet suit rental!
A variety of food selection of different nationality tourists was excellent!

Doing what: Best Great Barrier Reef Cruise from Cairns

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The crew were very professional and organized! I loved the cubby where we placed
our snorkelling eqpts! The cost for lycra/wet suit rental was a bit pricey for AUD10, could
be cut in half. Hidden cost of AUD20 for reef fees paid at check-in, should have been
included in the price of the tour. However the reefs we visited namely Saxon and Hastings
Reef were UNBELIEVABLY BEAUTIFUL!!!! A MUST SEE and EXPERIENCE!!!
Also, THANK YOU for the free motion sickness organic tablets!!!
Food selection was great but the STEAK was a bit tough.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Siobhaan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great day out - well organised very friendly staff - even if you don't want to dive you are left to your own devices. Husband loved it and got 3 dives in. Food was great. Be warned though you could have a very choppy ride out as we did with a lot of people being sea sick!! Beautiful clear waters and amazing views of the fish and the coral

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Kelly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a great time on this trip. It was great to see the Reef and all the amazing critters that live there. My only complaint is that the crew did nothing to educate people about not touching the coral and damaging the coral. This is a fragile eco-system and it takes a long time for coral to grow. Some coral cannot come back from being stood on. Please educate all the snorkelers and scuba divers so we can have this great place for a LONG time.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Kari J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a Great Tour! The crew was very helpful and informative. We had a great trip out to the reef. When we arrived I was surprised that we were the only boat there! We had plenty of time on the glass bottom boat as well as snorkeling. Barry the Barracuda was a bit unnerving but once I was in the water and saw that he wanted nothing to do with us humans I was ok. We saw sting rays, eels, and all kinds of beautiful fish. More colorful than I have seen in Hawaii and Tahiti. My favorite was the purple star fish. They were Beautiful! What a Great Time! I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Gjermund Å

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great trip out to the Great Barrier Reef.
Personally I liked the last reef best. Clearer water and more to see.
Fun to dive. However, as a certified diver, I would rather spend several days here. Next time I'm in Cairns maybe.
Personally I thought the snorkeling was nicer than diving. Mostly because this reef was much nicer to look at.
But advise everyone to try diving in any case. It's fun, and opens a whole new world.
Very good lunch.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

MaryJo A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our guides were fantastic! This was very well organized and informative. They give you wet suites to wear and supply all the dive and snorkel equipment. Lots of food and beverages. We saw so many fish and coral on our 3 reef experiences. Loved it!

Doing what: Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from Cairns

Vicki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The staff was tremendous! It was my first time diving and our guide, Scotty gave lots of 1 on 1 attention and made us feel comfortable and safe which lead to a fantastic experience. Also, the food was excellent and plentiful. They even provide 50spf sunscreen for the people who forgot to bring it!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

zorro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

These tours were just amazing. Viator picked the best tour companies in Port Douglas and Cairns. We did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Dive and Snorkel Cruise from both Cairns and Port Douglas. We liked the trip from Port Douglas better, but both were amazing and included a great lunch.
We also did the Outer Great Barrier Reef Snorkel Cruise from Port Douglas which visits the Agincourt Reef platform and includes an amazing semi-submersible submarine with spectacular views of the reef.
All three tours were great and are highly recommended

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An excellent tour by a great team. I highly recommend the optional diving experience.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Marky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time on this cruise, snorkeling was so much fun, diving was awesome, food was good, and the crew were great!!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Jack L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Most bang for the buck! All of these tours were super and about half the price......loved them all, especially the last that included 3 separate reefs to dive/snorkel. Best deal ever!

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The experience was greater than I expected it to be. I am new to diving and the crew were exceptional in helping me understand and experience diving safely. I also enjoyed snorkeling on the reef. The locations we were at were amazing and full of life and color. The food was excellent with a good selection. The crew was personable and memorable. I strongly recommend this to anyone visiting the area who wants lifetime memories and experience the great barrier reef!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

1viaje

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

THE BEST!!! Since We check in at the counter James make us feel very Welcome, the whole staff Was IMPRESIVE, NICE, AMAZING,HELPFUL, Shakira, Elvis, Matt walk the extra mile, Thanks They do really make the whole excursion worth ,the food excellent, the afternoon entretainment Happy ocation after experienced the Great Barried Reef! , snorckling, scuba diving,immersible boat for the ones that where not able to swim, helicopter ride to see from above the 7th Marvel of the World!!! Thanks I really recomend this activity.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

richardgravells

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a fantastic tour, it was a relaxing cruise out to one of the reefs. I did one dive which was enough for me, there were options to do more at a heavily reduced rate. Snorkling was amazing along with the great tasting BBQ. The semi submergeable boat was an excellent upgrade of 5 Aus dollars, it was a 25 minute tour of the reef in the dry with an expert guide. At the end there was free wine as we made our way back to Cairns.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both the train trip and the gondola through the tropical forest were great. I also really enjoyed snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef although the weather wasn't the best the reef was still something.A big thanks to the crew of our boat for looking after my other half she had bad sea sickness and couldn't get on the helicopter back quick enough, which was a great ride

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Catrin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing experience. Great day, great staff, great snorkelling and great food.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

dpgabarron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Snorkeling in open water was much easier than from shore of a nearby island. This activity is definitely recommended.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

lindsaceto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Crew were amazing and we had a blast! Snorkeling was such an amazing time, highly recommend it!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Diving and Snorkeling Cruise from Cairns

Milts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Diving in the reef was a great experience and seeing the aerial view of the reef thru the helicopter back to Cairns was really just jaw-dropping! Will definitely come back and dive in the Great Barrier Reef!

Doing what: 2-Day Best of Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef

Timothy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Outstanding trip! The crew is phenomenal. I had never dove before but after a good lesson from the dive instructors had no problem with the first time dive. Surprisingly the food was some of the best I have ever had on a trip booked on Viator. You can't go wrong with this one for a trip to the Great Barrier Reef.

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message