• USD ($)
  • English
Tropical North Queensland is famed for being, well, tropical. And what better to do in a tropical paradise than go to the beach? Luckily we’ve pulled together the best beaches in Cairns and the Tropical North to tempt you: Starting your tour of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant!! Pleasant ferry crossing an amazing island, swam with the fish in the barrier reef in warm waters. Excellent beaches and good food supplied as part of the deal. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Loved it! Did the glass bottom boat ride and got to see all the wildlife. The glass in the boat isn't that great but good enough to see the fish (definitely get in the water and snorkel to see the fish up close).

Take the walk to the nude beach and see the white sand. A bit quiet on that side of the island and no one really does skivvy down but some pretty cool white sand to see.

There's a few hiking trails on the way to the nude beach which we tried to followed for about 20 minutes before turning back because we had to catch the boat back to Cairns. Yet, if we had more time, we would have followed the trail a lot longer as it was quite pleasant with all the birds chirping and the lizards running around.

And of course, you must snorkel! The water is a bit murky in some areas but you do get to see fish swim right in front of your face. If you miss seeing any fish, just look around the dock - there are tons there! You definitely can't miss them on the way in and out from Fitzroy Island.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We absolutely loved this excursion! The ride to the island was very enjoyable. We took advantage of both the semi-submersible as well as the glass-bottomed boats since neither of us are snorkeling or diving fans. There was enough time to enjoy a visit to the island and spend some time enjoying the beach areas.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip offers a lovely, quiet, relaxing day out. Whilst staying in Cairns we also visited Green Island whereas this has more sandy beaches it doesn't have the fabulous snorkelling that Fitzroy does. The reef and the fish are absolutely stunning. I loved Fraser Island for the fact that there is not much there at all whereas Green Island is very commercialised. If you are looking for total relaxation, walks in the tropical rain forest up to the summit, a day on the beach or snorkelling this is definitely the place for you. Unfortunately, we weren't able to do the walks as the Forestry Commission were doing controlled burning that day but we still had a great time on the beach. Water sports equipment can be hired from the beach hut and there is also glass bottom boats on offer. On the island there is a dive centre but you might have to contact them direct before your visit should you want a dive here. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ride out to Green Island is fairly quick and smooth, now do be aware that there is a deposit ( money,ID, or a room key) required for the snorkel gear. The island itself is lovely as is the beach. Now I have to assume time of year matters but there was a HUGE drop in tide from morning to afternoon. The staff was friendly, the water so clear, and heaps of coral and fish to see and photograph. As a side note the buffet lunch was tasty and plentiful, but you do need to pay for drinks fyi. Overall a very enjoyable way to spend a day and I would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Stunning day. Loved the snorkelling and paddle-boarding and lazing on the beach. Lovely relaxed atmosphere away from it all. Great value for money too. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Pick up and drop off were easy. The Catamaran was smooth to Green Island. We had a great day and enjoyed the semi-submersible, glass bottom boat and snorkeling. We did pay the extra for the wet suits and my husband wore his primarily not to get sunburned although they were recommended to prevent any jelly fish stings. I simply could not get mine on and had no problems. Don't forget beach towels, sunscreen and whatever else you need for a day at the beach. Just an FYI: bring your own coffee if you are picky and pack a lunch for the same reason as well as the time factor. We definitely recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great day out on Green Island. Go early to get the food,plenty of it and loads of seating.Just enough time on the island for some time on the beach and a walk around the island.Only drawback is that the boat is slow compared to some of the other boats going out.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Meggy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Lovely island, snorkelled and swam with a large green turtle. Went for a nice rainforest and beach walk. The weather was superb and the boat trip very pleasant.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Great trip! All went really smooth. Not much time on the island with lunch on the boat, the semi sub tour and glass boat tour however. Just enough time to walk around the island and rest by beach or pool for a bit before heading home

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Benjamin N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Had a very nice day. Trips up and back were fine on the cat, a bit bumpy but we took ginger tablets which helped a lot. Had a great lunch and the submarine was also worth it. Snorkeled and sat on the beach for most of the day.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

Fun day at Green Island. Waves were a bit choppy due to the cyclone, but the trip was worth it. Sea turtles were swimming around the island, and the reef was a quick swim away from the beach. The beach was also a great place to relax. Lifeguards were on duty, which was a great peace of mind.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Very lovely island. Lots of fun. We found a beach that had very few people and swam in warm and beautiful sea.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Sarah A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Boat was quite busy, but it only took about 45 minutes to get to Green Island and once there you could walk anywhere on the island and not bump into many people! We snorkelled and saw loads of amazing fish, a stingray and a reef shark! Coral was beautiful. We also walked around the island and had the lunch on board the boat. If you want to rent equipment on the island it was very expensive.. even a sunlounger and umbrella cost an arm and leg! But if you are going to enjoy the island and coral it is well worth it. If you want water sports and to lounge on the beach I think you could find somewhere a lot cheaper.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Thoroughly recommend this short day trip. Boat trip over was good but we were given our snorkelling gear on board which meant carrying them around all day, so make sure you take a large carry bag with you. Plenty of places on green island to buy lunch or you can take your own and picnic on the beach.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message