A hop, skip and a jump east of Cairns, Green Island is a coral cay covered in rainforest. The tiny island is less than 1 km across, but is part of the much larger Great Barrier Reef that runs just off the coast of Queensland. The island is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the best purchase of our trip. We did all three tours leaving from Cairns. Each day was different, going to different parts of the reef. I loved the Silver Swift as we were able to do the most snorkeling there. Green Island was nice and we saw several sea turtles there. But snorkeling was not the best. The pontoon was a longer boat ride away that what I like. However I felt the snorkeling there was the best. The coral and fish were so close and so many different kinds.

Doing what: Ultimate 3-Day Great Barrier Reef Cruise Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Green Island,what a beautiful island especially the reef,it was amazing and so many fish.We booked the submarine and also the glass bottom boat,both of which were fantastic because the water was so clear and
the tour guide was throwing food into the water which brought even more fish around the boats,a must do
trip when you visit cairns.Also the skyrail to Kuranda,that was also a must do outing we had a wonderful 4 days.
Geoff and Donna N Brisbane.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Green Island is so beautiful. The boat trip there and back was calm and peaceful (luckily). The snorkelling was great and the semi-submersible was fantastic for those of us who don't fancy snorkelling. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed our day on the Big Cat to Green Island. The crew were very friendly and helpful. Lunch was great. The semi submersible was awesome. Our family really enjoyed the day, thank you!!

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. Half a day on Green Island is enough unless you are into the snorkelling or diving, the glass bottom boat trip gave us the opportunity to see some magnificent reef fish and turtles and the Cairns City tour was much better than we expected. Not just a quick trip around town, but out of the city to see the sights and Eric, our driver and guide was full of information and anecdotes about the places we visited.

Doing what: Small-Group Cairns City Tour with Optional Green Island Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a fantastic day out a definite highlight of our weekend away, the crew were brilliant, and looked after our every need, snorkeling was excellent and sailing back to Cairns was wonderful under full sail. Had a fabulous day and would say this is the only way to go to green island. Cant recommend highly enough !

Doing what: Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absoluty AMAZING! Fitzroy is beautiful and everything on the tour went smooth and nice. Fitzroy _is_ actually better than Green Island if you wish for less crowd and a great place. Also, amazing rainforest walk. Unforgettable!

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We flew into Cairns at 10:30am, and had time to get to the hotel, have lunch, and walk to the main fleet terminal (where all the boats are docked) for our 1:00pm trip to Green Island.
The crew was very nice and friendly.
Nice beach, clear water, and lots of tropical fish.
IMPORTANT: If you suffer from motion sickness, take Dramamine or something before boarding. The ocean was only mildly choppy, but 10 people got sick, and several threw up.

Doing what: Green Island Half Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Whow! As stated in the details of this package, if you're not an advanced swimmer, then this is the package you should select! On the boat ride to the Island, a large percentage of the passengers actually got sea sick during transit to the Island, which can be expedited if the weather is, as on this day, cloudy or raining. Expect to get or feel sick is the water is rough! Upon arrival at Green Island, I was able to snorkle to the dept of water I felt comfortable in, and, I really enjoyed the view of the corral in the glass bottom boat. Great view of the corral reef/ fishes. I had chosen the package which didn't include the lunch, so I was glad to see that there is a couple of little restuaurants on the Green Island to purchase food. Exciting day in which my only regret was that I didn't have MORE TIME on the Island. This was my 1st time snorkeling, seeing the corral reef, and believe it or not, I actually got to see a Turtle while I was snorkeling. I highly recommend this package and everyone should either rent a underwater camera or, as I did, purchase a waterproof camera, which usually costs around $150-$200 to capture what you will see underwater! Although it rained alittle while I was at Green Island, the view underwater is the same regardless if the sun is shining or if it happens to rain. Great Memory!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

excellent value for money. collected/dropped off at hotel both days, well looked after by staff and got to see some amazing sights at Green island and the rainforest, really enjoyed both days.

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Everything was lovely. We were picked up on time and the boat left on time. We were lucky that the sea was lovely and calm and the weather perfect. Our time on Green Island was excellent and we could easily have spent more time there but we did have sufficient time to do all we really wanted to do. The semi-submersible and glass bottom boat tours gave us a wonderful overview of the Great Barrier Reef without us having to get wet! Super for people who do not want to snorkel. The included lunch was very good - lots of choices and plenty of it. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This trip offers a lovely, quiet, relaxing day out. Whilst staying in Cairns we also visited Green Island whereas this has more sandy beaches it doesn't have the fabulous snorkelling that Fitzroy does. The reef and the fish are absolutely stunning. I loved Fraser Island for the fact that there is not much there at all whereas Green Island is very commercialised. If you are looking for total relaxation, walks in the tropical rain forest up to the summit, a day on the beach or snorkelling this is definitely the place for you. Unfortunately, we weren't able to do the walks as the Forestry Commission were doing controlled burning that day but we still had a great time on the beach. Water sports equipment can be hired from the beach hut and there is also glass bottom boats on offer. On the island there is a dive centre but you might have to contact them direct before your visit should you want a dive here. All in all a great day out.

Doing what: Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

The ride out to Green Island is fairly quick and smooth, now do be aware that there is a deposit ( money,ID, or a room key) required for the snorkel gear. The island itself is lovely as is the beach. Now I have to assume time of year matters but there was a HUGE drop in tide from morning to afternoon. The staff was friendly, the water so clear, and heaps of coral and fish to see and photograph. As a side note the buffet lunch was tasty and plentiful, but you do need to pay for drinks fyi. Overall a very enjoyable way to spend a day and I would absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Beautiful cruise to the gorgeous Green Island.. Glass bottom boat and semi-sub tours were awesome!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our trip to Green Island Day was fantastic! The island was beautiful, the water was crystal clear and the lunch was nice. We went on the glass bottom boat and semi-sub tour and is was definitely worth while. We saw sea turtles, giant clams, gorgeous corals and lots of different types of fish. I would definitely do this trip again, but maybe next time I would scuba dive to explore the reef further.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

Ashleigh H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour was fantastic. From the moment we checked in, the fabulous crew made sure that we had the best day we possibly could. There were only 49 pax on the trip, so plenty of room on the boat. Everything was explained , and nothing was a trouble, you only had to ask. We were even persuaded into doing the introductory dive, and it was amazing. Our instructor Kelly, ensured we understood and were capable of doing the dive. Then she went that extra step to take food with her so that we could hand feed the fish on the dive. We saw Nemo, held huge sea cucumbers, blue star fish, and even had a sting ray settle on the sea bed just in front of us. The one on one time with all of the instructors was so good - pretty sure you would not get this sort of attention elsewhere. Whether is was snorkelling, diving or the glass bottom boat, the instructors were always on hand to help and were very informative. The food was good too, plenty of it if you wanted seconds. I would recommend this tour to anyone, fantastic value for money. Next time we will do the sailing trip to Green Island - cannot wait!!
Thanks Perry, Leila, Kelly, Johnny and crew - sensational!

Doing what: Great Barrier Reef Luxury Snorkel and Dive Cruise from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Pick up and drop off were easy. The Catamaran was smooth to Green Island. We had a great day and enjoyed the semi-submersible, glass bottom boat and snorkeling. We did pay the extra for the wet suits and my husband wore his primarily not to get sunburned although they were recommended to prevent any jelly fish stings. I simply could not get mine on and had no problems. Don't forget beach towels, sunscreen and whatever else you need for a day at the beach. Just an FYI: bring your own coffee if you are picky and pack a lunch for the same reason as well as the time factor. We definitely recommend this day tour.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was worth every dollar, my daughter and I had a wonderful time. I would do Green Island again

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

We enjoyed the Green Island Day Trip very much. Friendly staff and nice lunch buffet. Although the glass bottom boat and semi-submarine rides were short, it was a great experience. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great day out on Green Island. Go early to get the food,plenty of it and loads of seating.Just enough time on the island for some time on the beach and a walk around the island.Only drawback is that the boat is slow compared to some of the other boats going out.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a great tour, the Reef is a must!! Had a great time on Green Island!! Altough the boat cruise was a bit crowed for me personally. The food served on board was okay.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Ease of booking was excellent. Boat to Green Island was very comfortable. Snorkelling and glass bottom boat at Green Island were also a fantastic family experience. Unfortunately, Green Island was affected by strong winds and sea swell on the open side of the island, but we still managed to swim with Sea turtles and many colourful reef fish. It was a very enjoyable day for all of the family.

Doing what: Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

An amazing time! We felt like children again with a sense of wonder with all the exotic and beautiful things we saw. Snorkeling on Green Island is a must! They outfittted us with everything, including sun protection suits (for a nominal charge). We did both the submarine and glass bottom boat, which I thought might be redundant, but each offered a different perspective and both were worthwhile. The Kuranda Rainforest was gorgeous and the Aboriginal show entertaining. We even got a chance to throw a boomerang and cuddle a Koala (but that cost extra). It poured rain while we were on the gondola, but an attendant provided us with an oversized umbrella so that we could walk in the forest. It was an unbelieveable sensory experience to walk in the rainforest during the downpour. These were 2 days we will remember forever.

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

Bea
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

This 2 day package was ideal for our short stay in Cairns.
Day 1. Barrier Reef - Excellent organisation, the staff were friendly and helpful especially Kylie Davies from the Cruise service desk. My daughter and I got our days mixed up, so, on this day we were dressed for the Rainforest, she quickly made arrangements for us to be taken back to our hotel to change into our beach wear. Thanks to Kylie we were able to fulfil our main reason for the trip - to snorkel in the reef and face our fears of the sea. Everything about the day was brilliant, could have done with at least one more hour on the Island.
Day 2. Kuranda, Rainforest – Be prepared for a very full day, also note this package does not include lunch – therefore either purchase something in the short time you have in Kuranda market or take a picnic and eat it in the tranquil Tropical Fruit Orchard of the Rain Forest Station. The train ride up to Kuranda and Skyrail down to Cairns was brilliant and the vista is breathtaking. The rainforest tour guide was very informative; my favourite plant was Hairy Mary. The Zoo keeper was also knowledgeable about the Wildlife. After the Panagirri Aboriginal dancer’s performance, make sure you have a go at the boomerang throwing.
One suggestion I would make to the tour company is for each of the tours to be extended by 1 hour so that there is a little more time on the Green Island and in Kuranda Market.

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

An amazing 2-day package and we thought it was great value for money. Would have cost much more to do all we did in such a short space of time if we had booked everything separately. We were in Melbourne visiting family and although it was a long way to travel up to Cairns after just making such a long trip from England. But we just knew we couldn't be in Australia and not go and see the Great Barrier Reef! So glad we made the effort - and glad we found this trip. Hadn't used Viator before so had no idea what we were going to get for our money. As it happened - everything was just great! Great organisation and lovely helpful staff to take all of the hassle out of the arrangements. Green Island was just beautiful and the trip was really well organised. We loved the semi submersible and the glass bottom boat trips. A brilliant day - although if you are not a great sailor I would recommend you take the free travel sickness tablets they offer onboard the boat as the waters can get a bit choppy! We thought Green Island was as good as it got - but Kuranda was just amazing! The train ride, the rainforest tour and the skyrail back to Cairns was just brilliant. Kuranda Rainforest is surely one of the most beautiful places on earth. Would recommend the train up and the skyrail down rather than the other way around as it was magical to sit so quietly in the cable car at the end of such an exciting day and just listen to the sounds of the forest below. Most definitely a day to remember!

Doing what: 2-Day Reef and Rainforest Package Combo: Green Island Cruise and Kuranda Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message