Insider's Guide to Cairns & the Tropical North

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Calling all adrenaline junkies! In the mood for some white water rafting? Conditions are great in North Queensland! Rafting in North Queensland has the added advantages of departures all year round, tropical water temperatures, ease of access ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gezkeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

MY daughter's favorite of ALL the things she did in Sydney and Cairns!
She climbed the Sydney Harbor Bridge, toured the Opera House, did a private tour
of Sydney Taronga Zoo, joined the Blue Mountains and Featherdale Wildlife Park/Zoo,
BUNGY JUMPED and did the MINGY SWING at Cairns, snorkeled the Great BArrier
Reef and guess what, The TULLY RIVER WHITE WATER RAFTING WAS HER
MOST FAVORITE!!! She didn't want it to end!!! FUN FUN FUN!!! A MUST DO!!!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

from the hotel pick up to drop off the whole day was very organised, we had so much fun rafting, the guides were great and very safety conscious. Would definately recommend this to anybody looking for fun and thrills, not necessary to be a good swimmer, we had two non swimmers in our group

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Gjermund Å

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome rafting trip.
Rafting through the rainforest, and with comfortable temperatures in the water.
Absolutely incredible. I loved every second.
The waterfalls are fine for beginners, but also fun for those who have some experience.
Good lunch halfway on the trip.
Wish rafting trip was even longer. But it just means that I have to go back to do it again.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

What a great day. Had a fab trip with a great host Angelo who kept us amused and informed about the beautiful area we were rafting through. I bought pictures that their photographer took. A great reminder of our fun day. I would do again if I am in the area a must do while in cairns

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Viv C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was so much fun! We had an absolute ball. Wish it went for longer!

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day!! Great guide to take us down the Tully ! Thanks Paul! Very professional and operated as a team with everyone. Always took care of the customers!! I would come back and do it again for sure!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wow! Fab day, one of the best things we've ever done. Brilliant guide who made the day so much fun, a real adrenaline rush - my fiance is now trying to find somewhere in the UK to do it for his stag do as he loved it so much! Only downside is the photos are expensive, but all around great day out!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

tammienz1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

White water rafting was fantastic and the staff very competent and knowledgeable. Had an absolute blast and wished it had gone for longer!

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Stacy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My first time whitewater rafting and it was amazing! They let you hop off the boat and float the river a bit which was really fun. Guides were very knowledgable and fun! Would definatelyits reccomend.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

When you get there, there is an Extreme option. Don't book the extreme. It's exactly like the full day tour except you jump off a couple more rocks. Anyway, we had an AWESOME time!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

sarah h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fantastic day out, highlight of our holiday, we laughed all day. Tim was great, we certainly had the best guide. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Lesley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lots of fun - greatly appreciated having a river guide on the raft who didn't talk to us as if we were 8 years old. Thanks Al.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Stephanie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The absolute best day of my life. Was terrified beforehand but it was an amazing experience is recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Heejae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

It was freaking fun experience I ever done! Tully National park was really real nature!
And Fun and friendly guide and staff! I never forget this Tour!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Jeremiah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A great, safe and exciting experience. Our guide Mez did a great job. We were ready for more rapids, but the trip was a great intro for new rafters and an excellent afternoon trip.

Doing what: Barron River Half-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns

Cherry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolutely adrenalin pumping experience

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Randi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our instructor Sean was patient with us and taught us the basic skills. It helped that I had a really good team as well. Enjoyable day and the surroundings were fantastic. It was very surreal.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

sirius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic to say the least. Great experience and a thrill. Not too taxing at all as little paddling required. A Definite "do again" tour for us. Cal our guide was brilliant too!

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful day from start to finish under the expert guidance of our rafter Eoin. We will definitely recommend this day as a "must do" to friends and relatives while visiting Cairns. We are still talking about it months after our visit and reliving the photos. A big THANK YOU to all involved at Raging Thunder involved in our day.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Stefan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely fantastic day, staff were brilliant, enjoyed every minute

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Yuji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Probably this is not for experienced rafters out there, but really enjoyable for beginners like me. Our guide was from Chile, and he was exceptionally friendly!! The lunch was good as well. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Awesome trip - its was so fab and I would do it again.

Only disappointment was that the place to meet was not at the Tully Self-Drive option - Meet at Rafters Café, 59 Butler Street, Tully - next to Bendigo Bank but lucky called up and I was able to meet at the correct place.

Doing what: Tully River Full-Day White Water Rafting from Cairns including BBQ Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message