Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Alabaster Mosque (Mohammad Ali Mosque)

The citadel of Saladin - and indeed, the Cairo skyline - is dominated by the Alabaster Mosque, or Mosque of Mohammed Ali. Modelled along classic Turkish lines, it took 18 years to build (1830 - 1848) although later the domes had to be rebuilt. It ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was over priced but worth a shot. Henry (tour guide) was co operative and knowledgable as well. For the same price, Viator should include Al Azhar mosque as part of it. The lunch was nice and cozy.
Henry took me to a nice perfume shop that was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Egyptian museum was excellent especially Tutankamuns gold mask- awesome, mosque was beautiful but did not like the bazaar, lots of hassle, you could not even glance at anything, I wanted out of there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very interesting mosque, and the Sultan Hassan was outstanding. Beautiful sites in a fabulous city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

Our tour guide barely had anything to say and was in a hurry to go through the entire tour. After the mosque, he forced us to go to the market place where we didn't care to go. There were more than enough markets around our hotel, but he insisted that we stop by for 30 minutes. Really, he just wanted to drink coffee and read a paper. It's better to go on your own than with a tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great tour. We had Hani as our guide and Zeku as our driver. Both extremely friendly and courteous. Hani is very knowledgable and willing to go outside the tour itinerary to personalize our tour. It was sad that the museum was so desolate (given the low tourism in Egypt right now) but I have to say that it was really nice to have the place pretty much to ourselves. Breathtaking to see King Tut's posessions. Khan el-Khalili was fun but be prepared for very pushy vendors. The mosque is gorgeous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2011

The mosque is impressive, but we didn't consider this tour good value. The visit was very short. If it was supposed to have been combined with something else, we didn't see it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Quite interesting tour, but following must be taken into account:
You must demand all 8 hours, as 6 will not be enough. Everything depends on Cairo traffic, which can be worse than traffic in UK.
At Egyptian Museum, the Mummies exhibition is the MUST, very interesting but requires at least one extra hour and additional ticket at extra cost.
You probably want to spend as little time as possible at the Mosque, as there isn't that much to see there.
The most interesting part of the tour was the market, so much to see... Loved the antiques shops that you will find quite a few. I would say minimum 2 hours or more needed at he Khan el-Khalili.
I wouldn't go with lunch option as this counted as part of your tour, and takes another 1.5 hours or so of your sightseeing, if possible grab yourself a sandwich there will be plenty of time to eat whilst in the car in between viewpoints.
Otherwise thumbs up for Viator, quite efficient and organized.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2010

The Alabaster Mosque and the Egyptian Museum were musts and very much worth visiting however Khan el-Khalili bazaar was essentially a collection of a hundred plus vendors selling mostly the same exact 'made in China' souvenirs. The tour stated 6-8 hours however our tour only lasted about 4 from pickup to dropoff. Our guide was very well educated and at times we were very impressed. At other times however, he seemed lazy. We had two days in a row with this guide and at the end of our first day, our driver dropped him off before we returned to our hotel. The next morning the driver picked us up while our guide met us at the museum. Later that day, the driver dropped us off at Khan el-Khalili at which point our guide said good bye and got a ride home with the driver though the driver did return an hour later to give us a ride home. This wasn't necessarily a problem as had we know we'd likely have encouraged him to do that, though it did make us feel the guide was more concerned with his agenda than ours seeing as how he made this decision on his own. Another example is when he spent 20 minutes with us in the museum and then said "ok, go visit the rest on your own and you can meet me outside in an hour". The guide was accomodating and allowed us to stop places not on the schedule which was nice but overall I'd rate him a 6 or 7 out of 10. My feedback for Viator is to update this itinerary to include more or shorten the duration to a half day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The mosque was very interesting, but more thought provoking was the explanation our tour guide, ahmed, gave us about his muslim faith. we were very intrigued and appreciated his candid manner.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I have to see the King Tut gold mask if you go to Cairo. A new museum is opening in 2011. My guide, Walaa, told me. It is going to be in Gaza by the pyramids. Alabaster Mosque is beautiful. Khan el-Khalili is not the best place to shop but great place to take photos. Be ready to be harased!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Catherine S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

On one of the hottest days of the year our guide arrived absolutely on time at 0800 hrs and whisked us away to enjoy a memorable visit to the city of Cairo. Each stop was carefully guided, questions answered and information given in a clear, informative and entertaining way. Nothing was too much trouble and our only regret was that we did not have time available to soak up even more of the culture and atmosphere - from the glories of the Alabaster Mosque to the challenges of haggling in the Bazaar we were thrilled with our guide and driver both of whom proved to be excellent. Great value for money!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Margaret J
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We were suprised at being able to enter a Mosque and take photographs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Audrey-Ann K
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The mosques were a great start to our holiday in Cairo. They were a BEAUTIFUL sight and there was so much to learn and be inquisitive about. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, flexible and accommodating and we were able to swop a few things to make our days there more enjoyable. We had a lovley driver and they were both ON TIME. Great and efficient pick-up drop-off service.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Would have liked to see other parts of the citadel in addition to the mosque. Would have liked more time at the Egyptian Museum, but that place could eat up a week easily!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Same guide as for the pyramids, so that was spectacular. We also changed part of our itinerary on the day and this was accommodated with no problems whatsoever, which was impressive. The museum was disappointing, but that is an Egypt problem not the tour as such. The Citadel and the Mosque were outstanding and we went to the hanging church and Koptic area rather than the souks. It was fascinating and the guide handled the change with no problems whatsoever. On both tours, the guide really contributed towards making the experience a memorable one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message