• USD ($)
  • English

Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Antiquities Museum

With so much to see in the Egyptian Museum, trying to get around everything in one go is liable to induce chronic 'Pharaonic fatigue'. The best strategy is to make at least two visits, maybe tackling one floor at a time. Unfortunately, there's no ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were pleased with our Viator tour in Cairo. We were met by a "meet and greet" representative who helped us through the VISA process and immigration. On our way to the Giza pyramids he switched with our Egyptologist guide, who had an extensive knowledge of the pyramids and architecture of other buildings in the area. He also was extremely knowledgeable about the exhibits in the Egyptian museum. Both of these guides had good English. Our driver negotiated the horrendous Cairo traffic without incident! Our only disappointment was the remnants of a sand storm made for less than ideal photographic opportunities!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guide and driver where both very professional and where great. very happy and will select viatour again.

Thanks
Lorenzo and Michael

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Awesome! Aladdin our guide was a encyclopaedia of information. He explained so much to us not only about what we were seeing but about the culture and life of Egyptians. He was very easy to understand. We had a fantastic day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour was absolutely wonderful. We visited the most famous tourist sites and a few shops when you can buy traditional essential oil and papyrus. The tour guide was very understandable and very wise, he could answer all my questions and I learn a lot from him about egyptian history. He also gave me advices about dealing with street vendors around the city and the pyramids.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the best museums I have ever scene with a one of the best guides. A must!! I would have done this a few times if I had more time there. My Egyptoligist(Nader) was full of passion for history!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Would have liked more time at the museum but the help of the guide was appreciated.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is a good choice for a day excursion as it includes the main sites. Our guide was very informative and spoke clear and concise English. As the tour was private, you weren't corralled around like livestock.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Overall, this is really a great one day tour. My tour guide Karam was really knowledgable and given I was alone with him all day, I felt really safe and comfortable. He was also a great photographer. I was taken to the perfume factory and the papyrus institute ad hoc and since I was alone I felt a little obliged to buy something. The perfume place wasn't worth it but the papyrus place was. The only advice I would give is to try to find a small group tour. Being alone seemed like the only option, but it just would have been more fun to share it with others. For example, I went into the pyramid alone, the camel ride alone, the perfume place, lunch, etc. So if you can find a group, join in. The museum was the only part where I really appreciated the private tour because it was just so interesting and I had so many questions. Brilliant part of the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Guide was great. Professional, punctual, and had great knowledge about Egyptian history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Lucy G
Romania

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Interesting artefacts inside the museum. The guide (Aladin) was funny but remain focused on the purpose (explanation)

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this tour if you have limited time in Cairo. I had a brilliant guide, Ahmed, and he guided me around the museum and showed, and explained, all the major artefacts. There was plenty of time to ask questions and learn more about what you were looking at. Another great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Egyptian museum was excellent especially Tutankamuns gold mask- awesome, mosque was beautiful but did not like the bazaar, lots of hassle, you could not even glance at anything, I wanted out of there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The private touur is the way to go. Hasan was a most knowledgeable guide, especially at the Egyptian Museum. He knew a great place to get the cartouche my wife wanted. A totally enjoyable day with door-to-door service that eliminated all our worries.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour with a fabulous guide. Well done again

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message