Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Antiquities Museum

With so much to see in the Egyptian Museum, trying to get around everything in one go is liable to induce chronic 'Pharaonic fatigue'. The best strategy is to make at least two visits, maybe tackling one floor at a time. Unfortunately, there's no ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 288 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was well organised and the guide was very knowledgeable of The history of the pyramids and museum. The museum is definitely worth seeing with a guide, as there's lots to see, but difficult to know where to go! The bazaar was also worthwhile to see, as getting to know the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice. Important to mention that Cairo feels stable and under control if you are a tourist. Just think of going with a well organize company like this one.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip. Our guide was very good. His name was Fuhet.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

outstanding. Patient and flexible in showing us only the highlights of more than 200,000 pieces.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our Egyptologist guide Ahmed, was great! We are so glad he was with us explaining the history and showing us artifacts that we would have overlooked.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic experience. Our Egyptologist catered to the group and adapted the tour to suit us. He was so knowledgeable and responded to all of our questions. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone staying in Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable and flexible. Be ready to possibly be picked up by someone who does not speak English, which was okay with us, but could be a concern to others. Additionally, the pyramids are about 30 min away from the museum so you are also in for a rough transit on the Cairo freeways between the two locations (this applies regardless of which company you use, the Cairo streets and freeways are full of insane drivers). This was freaking amazing and I have waited the vast majority of my adult life for this trip and this tour helped me achieve this dream to perfection. Make sure you pay to go inside one of the pyramids (40 or 200 LE depending on pyramid - we did second pyramid for 40 LE and it was great!) and the mummy rooms at the museum (100 LE) - well worth the price! Enjoy!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. The museum was not crowded the day of our tour and Fouod was again very knowledgeable about Egyptian history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our Egyptologist Khaled Lotfy did a remarkable job of taking us on this tour. Khaled was more like a blend between Indiana Jones and the Godfather. He was very adventurous and everyone respected him. The tour was amazing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing! our Guide was very well spoken and gave us excellent information about every place we visited, definitely would recommend it to all my friends.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Good tour guide and the tour pretty much covers everything you want to see in Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Ms Nevine was very friendly and kind!
I enjoyed it a lot !!

Notre guide Mme Nevine était très aimable et attentionné !
J'ai beaucoup apprécié le tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. He was friendly, well-informed, spoke very well. He was flexible and accommodated special needs of a baby.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I assume that if you are going to Egypt, you like or are at least interested in learning more about the history and culture. Well, in order to make the most of your time and really learn as much as you can, you've got to have a guide. It's REALLY worth it! I loved my day and even made a new friend. The museum for me was the most exciting bit and the amount of knowledge my guide had just blew me away!!

Nice day. Memorable trip. Great, great guide!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was over priced but worth a shot. Henry (tour guide) was co operative and knowledgable as well. For the same price, Viator should include Al Azhar mosque as part of it. The lunch was nice and cozy.
Henry took me to a nice perfume shop that was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

Over all Tour with your company was not worth as we paid more than 180 USD for less than 5 hrs fast tour.Your Guide pick up at 08:30 am and drop near by our hotel at 1 PM. While other day we hire a taxi driver with 2014 Honda Civic Car who spent more than 14hrs with us and at the end drop us at Airport at 00 hrs.He took us to Alexandria and showed every thing over there and was not hurry.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Really informative tour around the main exhibits of the Egyptian Museum, with the obvious highlight being the treasures of King Tut. Would have liked to have spent more free time to look round as sometimes it felt a bit rushed. All in all though, well worth a visit

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Pyramids were the highlight however the tour was a bit long.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

A good experience with some security concerns for tourists. After our guide negotiated our entry into the museum we had to pass many tanks, soldiers and police. My daughter who is a pretty blonde girl who dress appropriately for Egypt was leered at by all security personnel which made her very uncomfortable. Once inside the Museum we had the place virtually to ourselves so much so that we were the only two in the Tutankhamen mask room. The guide was very knowledgeable to the extent we had to ask for free time to take things in by ourselves. You must pay extra for the Mummy rooms. I don't know if its really worth the money as we found it a bit creepy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour, our guide was really knowledgeable about Egyptian history, he spoke very good Spanish, gave us tips about dealing with vendors, took us to nice shops (papyrus, cotton). We enjoyed every minute of this trip, highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message