Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashleyida6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Sakkara step pyramid was incredible! It's really close to Giza. Memphis didn't have as much, but it was still great to see. Our tour guide Tito was so informative! I highly recommend asking for him!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Julie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two unknown gems that people should really see on their trip to Cairo. Travel was easy and Ahmad was the best guide and very knowledgeable. Thank you Ahmad for taking such good care of us!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Sione Sonata T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Step back in time and walk through one of the ancient capitals of Egypt. Truly an amazing opportunity plus a great young Egyptologist who have gave us great insight into the history of this wonderful place. I would highly recommend friends and colleagues to visit this place along with this tour company that have taken us on this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Lorna R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour with a wonderful guide and exactly what we needed upon arrival in Cairo. We had the bonus of driving through some local areas on the way to get a little local flavor!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Kathryn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fascinating look at the early pyramids and some of the finest art from ancient Egypt and the reign of King Ramses. Highly recommended. Request Mahmoud as your guide he's very personable, knowledgable, and takes wonderful photographs if you're in a group!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Paul R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Surprisingly I found this the most interesting of trips whie visiting Cairo. Thoroughly recommend this tour. Guide was very open minded on religion and its continued influence in modern Eygpt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Catisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide was informative, energetic and catering!

Doing what: Private Tour: Pharaonic Village

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Again another highly experienced guide who added so much to our trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Jocelin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a fantastic tour of Coptic Cairo with our excellent guide, Amgad. He was very well informed, and able to answer all of our questions. Amgad's english was perfect, and he was very passionate about his work. It was an amazing experience - one that we won't forget.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tarek was knowledgable, patient and still as enchanted by the rich history as I was seeing it for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Alexis B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The missing star has nothing to do with the tour company (South Sinai Tours), which was fantastic, and more to do with the fact that Memphis can probably be skipped (other than a few statues of Ramses II, there's really nothing there but souvenir stands and an alabaster sphinx surrounded by scaffolding). Saqqara is wonderful, and the tour guide taught me all about the history, and pointed out his favorite frescoes. (I also added Dahshur, which I would highly recommend - the pyramids are amazing, and the lack of crowds are even better!)

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Carol Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Elaine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience was wonderful and the guide made the tour. Not enough finger time to describe. All of Egypt was magnificent and the people!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeanette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour. We had the same tour guide Fouad Salah and driver Husam with us everywhere. They were very friendly and helpful very knowledgeable. Loved the first pyramid in Sakkara and the Mamphis with statue of Ramses owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Jeanette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour! We had a great guide Fouad Salah. Very knowledgeable. I was overwhelmed standing at the entrance to the cave where The Holy Family lived for 3 months. Love it all Coptic Caire, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. Owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Gregory J Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Again, great tour guide mixed with some must see sights. The first pyramid (step pyramid by Imhotep) built almost 5000 years ago to be so well preserved, also got to go into the pyramid of Tite in Saqarra. Then memphis, with the statue of Ramses (worth the price alone) With your own Egyptoligist. (was alone and it became a private tour) Heaven for a man or woman that loves history!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

john paul m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Guide was quite informative. He didn't just 'leave' you and do your own thing, but was there 90% of the time

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

RE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeannie C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An absolutely wonderful tour. Chaly was a fantastic tour guide. My friend and I were picked up to the hotel and taken to Memphis. The tour guide spoke English very well and explained everything very in-depth. I highly recommend that you do this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time. I went with my husband, 9 and 11 year old and my 2 month old. We travelled in a private van so I could take breaks to feed the baby. We had a fantastic time! The Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

STEPHEN m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

good value for money and a great guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message