Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

El Mu'ayyad Mosque

The red-and-white-striped Mosque of al-Mu'ayyad (the Red Mosque), built on the site where its patron Mamluk Sultan al-Mu'ayyad had earlier been imprisoned, displays a particularly grand entrance portal, dripping with stalactite vaulting; the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 118 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour. We had the same tour guide Fouad Salah and driver Husam with us everywhere. They were very friendly and helpful very knowledgeable. Loved the first pyramid in Sakkara and the Mamphis with statue of Ramses owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Again, great tour guide mixed with some must see sights. The first pyramid (step pyramid by Imhotep) built almost 5000 years ago to be so well preserved, also got to go into the pyramid of Tite in Saqarra. Then memphis, with the statue of Ramses (worth the price alone) With your own Egyptoligist. (was alone and it became a private tour) Heaven for a man or woman that loves history!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

Guide was quite informative. He didn't just 'leave' you and do your own thing, but was there 90% of the time

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An absolutely wonderful tour. Chaly was a fantastic tour guide. My friend and I were picked up to the hotel and taken to Memphis. The tour guide spoke English very well and explained everything very in-depth. I highly recommend that you do this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We had a great time. I went with my husband, 9 and 11 year old and my 2 month old. We travelled in a private van so I could take breaks to feed the baby. We had a fantastic time! The Guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

good value for money and a great guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Our destination was wonderful but unfortunately our guide spoiled the experience. I didn't get time to take photos or footage. Our guide forged ahead, only 1 of the 3 of us could keep up. Consequently I missed lots of information and eventually had to ask him to slow down. I felt very angry with him.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Interesting tour. Punctual guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This trip was awesome. I wish for the life of me that I could remember my tour guides name, as he was incredible and even told me I shouldn't tip him (I did anyway) as they have guides at the village that explain things. My boss told me to make sure I stopped here and I am so glad that I did, as you get a glimpse of how things were made during the pharaonic times.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pharaonic Village

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A bit disappointing! The tour guide spent more time bragging about his knowledge and talking politics with friends along the way than telling me info. about the sites. He also took me to a lot of places to buy stuff ( no obligation to buy of course but....!)He seemed to discourage any activities that required being out in the sun any longer than the minimum. I would advise checking out the guides you arrange a bit more thoroughly!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We took this tour on our first full day in Cairo, and it was the perfect way to kick start our trip to Egypt. Our guide was terrific, providing us with historical and current information about Egypt which helped lay the foundation for other not-to-be-missed ancient sites. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This tour was wondeful. The guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely well informed about the history of the times, area, activites, and the items in the museum. Would recommend this tour and guide to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message