Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Giza Pyramids

The sole survivor of the Seven Wonders of the World, the Pyramids of Giza still live up to more than 4,000 years of hype. Their extraordinary shape, geometry and age render them somehow alien constructions; they seem to rise out of the desert and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 792 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The show lasted an hour and the history of ancient Egypt was told throughout. This wasn't just lighted pyramids but with images displayed on the pyramids whilst the story unfolded. Excellent night. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Pyramids were awesome. The Sphinx was mind blowing. Paid extra to go inside the pyramid. Not much to see inside but glad we went. The tour guide K was the best. Extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Paid extra for camel rides. Keep in mind to have some small notes as the young boys that walk the camels insist on a tip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Mohammad B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and found the tour guide to be informative and helpful.

Starting with the Egyptian Museum, there really is so much to see and there wouldn't be enough time in the tour to cover even half of it. I was walked through the story of Tutankhamen and saw a lot of his belongings and other antiquities found in his tomb. I'd highly recommend reading up or watching a documentary on Ancient Egypt to fully appreciate what's to see here.

The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar was somewhat underwhelming. It hasn't much to offer but it is worth a visit. Do be ready to haggle, the vendors speak perfect English and will use all kinds of Sales tactics to oversell their products.

The entry to the Funerary Complex and the Sphinx were beautiful. Though the guide would tell you much of the history of these places, it would really help to know a little prior to visiting.

The Pyramids were simply the best thing about visiting Cairo. They are every bit as grand as people say. Putting my hand on the warm yet soft stone for the first time will be something I never forget. Being with the tour guide in this area really has it's advantages and I would highly advise it.

The tour guide himself was very friendly and informative. He was happy to answer any questions and the way he told some of the stories of Ancient Egypt especially in the Solar Boat Museum was truly captivating. I very shamefully forgot to tip him before I left as there isn't much of a tip culture where I come from so please be sure to give tip the drivers and the guides as you see fit.

Overall, this tour was great for people visiting for a short time and really gives a strong feel of what Cairo has to offer.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

gregabutler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Invaluable Top notch service. Flexible schedule to meet our preferences. Private means private. Using this tour provided us the opportunity to see so much in one day. Couldn and #39;t have done it othersiwe. Egyptologist was great. Separate car with driver allowed us to be dropped off at the front door

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. Mohamed was an above-and-beyond professional throughout the journey, keeping the pace fresh and exciting as we moved from sight to sight. I was also extremely interested in local culture and current events, and we were able to have some fantastic discussions during the drives in between sites that gave me a more robust knowledge of the area and customs. As a solo traveler, I almost opted to cobble together a self-guided version of this tour - so glad that I opted to go with Mohamed instead. Can't recommend highly enough. Book it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Felipe B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Incredibly honored to have stepped in this 5000 years old site. The pyramids are just as mythical as they are great. We went inside up to the tomb and it's just an unique feeling to be there. The Khan el-Khalili Bazaar is a true culture immersion and full of beautiful Egyptian tokens/gifts. Our guide Ossama Sharaf was very knowledgeable and guided us through every step. We ended with a traditional mint tea in a cafe by Khan el-Khalili after going over the sites of the tour plus a few n surprises on the way I would definitely do this again and if you can, ask for this guide, he was awesome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Think we were given the very best guide in Egypt for this trip! His English was excellent, his knowledge was extensive and he was so personable He will not be forgotten!! My husband now has a heart that is lighter than a feather,K, and I thank you for that!! Wherever people choose to visit in this beautiful world, choose Viator as your trip advisor!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Jeffrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip went very well. Ahmed, my tour guide, was very knowledgeable and respectful. He took care of all of the negotiating for the camel ride and attractions. Everything was great since this was my first trip to Cairo and wasn't sure what to expect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A different and wonderful way to appreciate the pyramids!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

czarina c

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing once in your life. The only thing I don't recommend is the lunch. It cost me 20 U.S. Dollars for less than mediocre. I could've had the same thing for much less and I was highly disappointed that I got ripped off. NOT WORTH IT! Get lunch as take away and save your money. Aside from that, I did enjoy myself. I couldn't have asked for a better day to be outdoors and take photos. DO be careful as the guide will take you places to get you to spend money that is not a part of the trip that you agreed to and paid for. It was a good getaway but I've seen what I needed to see and I have no intention of ever coming back to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Sergio H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent times, guiding and fun!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

osvaldo andrade z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

was so great and the tour guy did it good

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Magnus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with both an excellent guide and driver. I can highly recommend this tour! But remember to bring water :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

sasha p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip was amazing. From the moment we were collected from our hotel our very professional guide Muhammad and the driver were amazing. We were treated so well and our guide was friendly and extremely knowledgeable with fantastic stories that were captivating and sparked our imagination.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our day tour of the Pyramids and surrounds with Fouad. He was flexible with our itinerary on what we wanted to do or not do and had a good sense of fun, humour as well as having plenty of knowledge in the area. Was a very pleasurable day out and a great way to start our Egypt trip. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide and driver were over the top exceptional !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fouad was an excellent guide who filled my day with amazing sights and stories on Cairo's history. This day was a memory I will never forget thanks to him and this amazing place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

mohamed.hammad.reply

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! The tour guide was so friendly, knowledgable and an absolute delight around us.

I command myself on making the decision of booking this tour! Great driver and great tour guide!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

Mindy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a good experience with Viator and our private tour guide, no suprises and no hassles. The day included a good mix of activities and history. Lunch was good too.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message