Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hanging Church (El Muallaqa, Sitt Mariam, St Mary)

Dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the Hanging Church, which is still in use, is called the Hanging or Suspended Church as it is built on top of the Water Gate of Roman Babylon. Steep stairs lead from the forecourt to a 19th -century façade topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience was wonderful and the guide made the tour. Not enough finger time to describe. All of Egypt was magnificent and the people!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour! We had a great guide Fouad Salah. Very knowledgeable. I was overwhelmed standing at the entrance to the cave where The Holy Family lived for 3 months. Love it all Coptic Caire, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. Owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Interesting tour. Punctual guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A bit disappointing! The tour guide spent more time bragging about his knowledge and talking politics with friends along the way than telling me info. about the sites. He also took me to a lot of places to buy stuff ( no obligation to buy of course but....!)He seemed to discourage any activities that required being out in the sun any longer than the minimum. I would advise checking out the guides you arrange a bit more thoroughly!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This tour was wondeful. The guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely well informed about the history of the times, area, activites, and the items in the museum. Would recommend this tour and guide to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The guide was kind and helpful. The best of the tour was the visit to the Coptic Museum.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Henry our guide is a Coptic Christian and so he brought an extra dimension to our tour. The tour was excellent, uncrowded and easily walked. The churches steeped in early christian history. Bravo Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

An extremely interesting and valuable tour to gain an insight into the history of this part of Cairo. Excellent guide and service, would highly recommend this to all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Tour guide Ans was very knowledgable, good tour, very happy .

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Many thanks to our guide Shereif for making this segment of the trip both educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The tour company's Khaled Lofty is the most expert and friendly Egyptologist in Cairo and the driver was superb, a must for Cairo traffic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Good tour, just a shame that the guide was distracted and spent most of the time on his phone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Well guarded area, takes a few hours to go through the four or five areas (church, museum, original street- 18 feet below, another church). Well worth it to see that there are Christians still in Cairo (about 10% called Coptics) and that this area had great importance in history. Ties Cairo as the crossroads of the middle east. You will enjoy this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message