Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Hanging Church (El Muallaqa, Sitt Mariam, St Mary)

Dedicated to the Virgin Mary, the Hanging Church, which is still in use, is called the Hanging or Suspended Church as it is built on top of the Water Gate of Roman Babylon. Steep stairs lead from the forecourt to a 19th -century façade topped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nancy B

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I enjoyed my day tour Discover Coptic and Islamic Cairo, although the itinerary was different from was advertised. We did not visit the Abu Serga Church as it was closed for renovation. I was very much looking forward to seeing this church and it was the primary reasons I booked this tour. I think the fact that this church was closed should have been disclosed at the time of booking as, had I known that, I would likely have selected another tour. We also did not visit the Saint George Church for no stated reason. We did visit the Ben Ezra Synagogue which has an interesting history and an additional mosque.

The guide was knowledgeable and shared the history of each place we visited. He was also willing to answer my general questions about Egypt.

The entire tour lasted approximately six hours, including lunch and travel time. Lunch was delicious koshari and a nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Private Day Tour: Discover Coptic and Islamic Cairo

Elizabeth T

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

The guide spoke excellent English, was very knowledgable, and tried to tailor the tour to my specific interests.

Doing what: Full Day Tour Visiting Coptic and Islamic Cairo

Allan Kenneth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A fabulous guide Bassam. He showed us everything and always looked after us. We also used him on another day to take us to Alexandria. I would recommend that people ask for him specifically as he was the best guide that we have had.

Doing what: Day-Tour of Cairo Highlights and Giza Pyramids from Cairo

Dana Valentina G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting experience but a bit in a hurry.

Doing what: Holy Day Tour: Coptic Cairo and Saint Simon Church

Lorna R

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great tour with a wonderful guide and exactly what we needed upon arrival in Cairo. We had the bonus of driving through some local areas on the way to get a little local flavor!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Paul R M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Surprisingly I found this the most interesting of trips whie visiting Cairo. Thoroughly recommend this tour. Guide was very open minded on religion and its continued influence in modern Eygpt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jocelin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a fantastic tour of Coptic Cairo with our excellent guide, Amgad. He was very well informed, and able to answer all of our questions. Amgad's english was perfect, and he was very passionate about his work. It was an amazing experience - one that we won't forget.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tarek was knowledgable, patient and still as enchanted by the rich history as I was seeing it for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carol Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Elaine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience was wonderful and the guide made the tour. Not enough finger time to describe. All of Egypt was magnificent and the people!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeanette S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour! We had a great guide Fouad Salah. Very knowledgeable. I was overwhelmed standing at the entrance to the cave where The Holy Family lived for 3 months. Love it all Coptic Caire, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. Owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

RE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Jeannie C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Chris

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Interesting tour. Punctual guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carolyn F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

A bit disappointing! The tour guide spent more time bragging about his knowledge and talking politics with friends along the way than telling me info. about the sites. He also took me to a lot of places to buy stuff ( no obligation to buy of course but....!)He seemed to discourage any activities that required being out in the sun any longer than the minimum. I would advise checking out the guides you arrange a bit more thoroughly!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Kay P T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This tour was wondeful. The guide was very friendly, helpful and extremely well informed about the history of the times, area, activites, and the items in the museum. Would recommend this tour and guide to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Luiz R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The guide was kind and helpful. The best of the tour was the visit to the Coptic Museum.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

PETER B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Henry our guide is a Coptic Christian and so he brought an extra dimension to our tour. The tour was excellent, uncrowded and easily walked. The churches steeped in early christian history. Bravo Viator

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Gregory B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

An extremely interesting and valuable tour to gain an insight into the history of this part of Cairo. Excellent guide and service, would highly recommend this to all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Tour guide Ans was very knowledgable, good tour, very happy .

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Athelstan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Many thanks to our guide Shereif for making this segment of the trip both educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

John g K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

The tour company's Khaled Lofty is the most expert and friendly Egyptologist in Cairo and the driver was superb, a must for Cairo traffic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Carol P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Good tour, just a shame that the guide was distracted and spent most of the time on his phone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

William Y

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Well guarded area, takes a few hours to go through the four or five areas (church, museum, original street- 18 feet below, another church). Well worth it to see that there are Christians still in Cairo (about 10% called Coptics) and that this area had great importance in history. Ties Cairo as the crossroads of the middle east. You will enjoy this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message