Jaundiced travelers often dismiss the Khan al-Khalili as a tourist trap; there's no ignoring the fact that it's a favored stop of tour buses and has all the associated annoyances (touts and tat) that come with them. But it's worth remembering ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was over priced but worth a shot. Henry (tour guide) was co operative and knowledgable as well. For the same price, Viator should include Al Azhar mosque as part of it. The lunch was nice and cozy.
Henry took me to a nice perfume shop that was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour enriched my experience and expanded my knowledge of the local culture.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

All the places were fantastic! Our guide Ramon was so knowledgable and enthusiastic about everything! Don't go to the museum without a guide-there's too much, you'll be lost!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Egyptian museum was excellent especially Tutankamuns gold mask- awesome, mosque was beautiful but did not like the bazaar, lots of hassle, you could not even glance at anything, I wanted out of there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Nader was an excellent guide. Knew the fine details of each area and exactly where to go. Would recommend his expertise to anyone heading to Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Very interesting mosque, and the Sultan Hassan was outstanding. Beautiful sites in a fabulous city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a wonderful tour. We were extremely fortunate to have Henry Ayoub as our guide for two days in Cairo. Because of the elections we had to modify our original itinerary, but Henry's recommendations meant that we did not miss anything. Next time in Egypt we will use South Sinai Travel and especially Henry Ayoub.

Marion Brew

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Henry Ayoub is an incredible guide, and we feel extremely lucky to have had his expertise while we were in Cairo. South Sinai Travel is excellent and we shall make sure to use them next time we go to Egypt. Thank you all.

Marion Brew

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2012

Our tour guide barely had anything to say and was in a hurry to go through the entire tour. After the mosque, he forced us to go to the market place where we didn't care to go. There were more than enough markets around our hotel, but he insisted that we stop by for 30 minutes. Really, he just wanted to drink coffee and read a paper. It's better to go on your own than with a tour guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Enjoyed every minute of it. The Museum has so much to see you will want to return. The bazaar was fun and colourfull. Let the guide do the haggling if you buy anything you will save a few dollars.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This tour provides an excellent taste of Cairo. The driver was very professional and the tour guide was friendly, knowledgable and seemed genuinely interested in sharing his knowledge of Cairo. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alabaster Mosque, Sultan Hassan, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Our guide Fayod was unbelievable, he was knowledgable, fun, funny and relaxed, he didn't force us to do anything, took us to some great places and even gave hell to some store owners who were quoting us ridiculous prices on Scarves. It was great, he just started giving these guys crap in Arabic and they gave us killer prices after. If booking in Cairo only ask for this man as he is the best.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great tour. We had Hani as our guide and Zeku as our driver. Both extremely friendly and courteous. Hani is very knowledgable and willing to go outside the tour itinerary to personalize our tour. It was sad that the museum was so desolate (given the low tourism in Egypt right now) but I have to say that it was really nice to have the place pretty much to ourselves. Breathtaking to see King Tut's posessions. Khan el-Khalili was fun but be prepared for very pushy vendors. The mosque is gorgeous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message