• USD ($)
  • English
Old Cairo is a relatively small area but it is rich with history. Also known as Coptic Cairo, Fustat (in reference to the first Muslim city established there), and Masr al-Qadima to the locals, it has been inhabited since the 6th century BC. It has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was exceptional. Our tour guide, Khaled, and our driver were amazing. We felt safe and secure the entire day and had so much fun learning the history behind each location as well meeting and talking with the locals. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone. I can't wait to go back to Cairo, Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing!!

My day began by meeting Mohammed who manages the tour agency in Cairo, Ahmed my tour guide for the day and Steve the driver who was absolutely one of the best drivers I've ever seen.

I was alone on this trip and Ahmed guarded me safely and made great recommendations on how to deal with street hustlers. He had great knowledge of Egyptian history and always asking me if i had any additional questions. I saw everything I paid for. Please ask for him if you can in the request box.

Two things I disliked- first it was Memphis- it is such a waste of time to go this places. Secondly, the awkwardly recommendations to buy things from the two-three shops we visited. Also a waste of time. If you get the feeling that you're going to a place that sells items, please and do please tell them if you're interested. Be honest and upfront and say no- they'll listen. For example, I hate rugs and hated cologne and perfumes, so going to shops that sells them wasn't what I was looking for. However, we stopped at this art store and even though stuff was overpriced I bought a few things.

Make sure to tell your guide, that you're not interested so that you don't waste your time driving in the crazy traffic filled streets of Cairo to get to these places. I paid for a sight seeing Tour NOT a shopping tour. So I could have lived without it.

Overall my experience was great and highly recommend using viator next time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! Our guide was the best one I ever have had the pleasure of being with and he gave us far more than expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good! Our guide was very friendly, he made the trip fun for our entire family. He was so knowledgeable, we could ask any question and he knew the answers. I would recommend using this company, we had a great experience and plan to go back.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A dream of a life time to come to see the pyramids. It was fantastic even better because there were no hordes of tourists. The guide was knowledgable as you would expect an Egyptologist to be. Though it was difficult to ask spontaneous questions and get answers - he had his script and wasn't really able to deviate. That wasn't a big deal though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Both the driver and Egyptologist were highly professional and had a high amount of knowledge regarding everything on the trip. They did not pressure me for any tips or to make any unnecessary purchases. He actually recommended a way for me to get away from all the people trying to sell me stuff...politely say no and walk away. He also told me the hustles people try to do to tourists, which for me is a big thing. In the end, I loved the tour because I had a much better understanding of, not just the Pyramids and Sphinx, but the culture of Egypt. We talked about the ongoing current events and how things are improving (or not improving). That is just regular conversation, which is a good thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a fabulous guide called Tarik who had so much knowledge which he happily shared with us. It was so nice just having my family and Tarik on the trip it made it easy to ask questions and take our time at the various venues as we wished ,we never felt that the clock was being watched and the trip finished when we wanted it to. When booking this trip ask for Tarik.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. Pickup and drop-off were punctual and the tour stops covered very well. The sights were far less crowded than many other Cairo tours. Thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Egyptian museum was excellent especially Tutankamuns gold mask- awesome, mosque was beautiful but did not like the bazaar, lots of hassle, you could not even glance at anything, I wanted out of there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. I enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour! Giza was amazing and our guide was great. Pick-up was on time. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I had a great time. My guide Mohammed was very informative and answered all my questions. He was a very knowledgeable man with an excellent grasp of his country. The pyramids were awesome. I have been all around the world but this place left me speechless. I have been with Viator for many years and once again you never let me down. Thanks

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Nader was an excellent guide. Knew the fine details of each area and exactly where to go. Would recommend his expertise to anyone heading to Cairo.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message