Old Cairo is a relatively small area but it is rich with history. Also known as Coptic Cairo, Fustat (in reference to the first Muslim city established there), and Masr al-Qadima to the locals, it has been inhabited since the 6th century BC. It has ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 372 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was awesome. Absolutely worth the money. Tito was our guide and now our new friend lol seriously it was fantastic. You get to see everything you could possibly want to and avoid all the bs vendors, buying tickets, having to arrange travel, it's all done for you! If you want to go somewhere not on the prescribed list, just let your guide know and he will make it happen. Best tour guide I have had in years. Egyptians love Americans and will treat you very respectfully.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our 8-hour private tour with Mr Abdul was fantastic. We visited several different sites, and avoided the traffic and crowds for the most part. The colossal statue in Memphis, amazing frescoes at Sakkara, and the camel ride around the pyramids (extra) were our favorites. The optional visits to carpet-weaving school, and papyrus institute were fun as well (we did our best to keep these short). This was the first time ever that 2 of us had a scholar guide and a driver all to ourselves, and the tour was worth every penny! We would probably spend 2-3 times the time and money had we tried to see the sites on our own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a fantastic tour of Coptic Cairo with our excellent guide, Amgad. He was very well informed, and able to answer all of our questions. Amgad's english was perfect, and he was very passionate about his work. It was an amazing experience - one that we won't forget.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tarek was knowledgable, patient and still as enchanted by the rich history as I was seeing it for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Unbelievable! Tarek is the perfect guide, and Saeed is the best driver I've ever had in any country (including India and China). Gold standard tour -- illuminating, not rushed and awe-inspiring.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip. Our guide was very good. His name was Fuhet.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is a must do and the failure to engage in this exercise will be truly sad. Our guide Fuad is a rock star....not only was he charming, knowledgeable and inspiring but he is well respected among his people and is genuine and gracious. When he dons his Indiana Jones hat you're sure to know you're dealing with a true character. The sites were awesome, the vistas unforgettable and the history will leave an indelible mark on your memory of your trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best experience ever! It was amazing to see these ancient structures with my own eyes and touch them! Our Egyptologist guide Ahmed Kamal made sure we were taken care of the entire time. We were able to customize our tour and we were extremely impressed with his wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Everything was great, but definitely the guide did the difference. He was honest, smart and make me feel secure during my trip. I totally recommend this agency.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our trip was wonderful and our guide Fouad was outstanding.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Only thing the guide on the camel stopped the camels to get a tip then asked for more at the end and got annoyed when we said no

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

An experience of a lifetime! Definitely one of the most surreal moments in my life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour guide Fouod and driver Mohammed. Fouod was very knowledgeable about Egyptian history and Mohammed was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Tour guide was very knowledgable and went at a good pace.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was one of the most amazing tours yet! Viator turns out to be a lot more expensive though but in this age of planning everything online, Viator is absolutely the best option. If you are willing to go through the hassle of contacting the locals, you can plan the same trip through your hotel by yourself for literally half the price. We did 2 tours on 2 different days. The first day we did it with Vaitor. The tour was well-organized, private (just the two of us) and the tour guide was knowledgeable (I believe he was a Professor of Egyptology @ some university, which was great!). Our second day tour ended up being a lot more cheaper which we directly planned with the locals there. All in all, definitely recommend this tour ! Egypt is the one and only place that will amaze you at levels you can't imagine yourself. Me and my wife started from Egypt and did 7 other countries in 1 month but by far, Egypt won our hearts (very close second will be Eiffel Tower).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The experience was wonderful and the guide made the tour. Not enough finger time to describe. All of Egypt was magnificent and the people!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and well worth the price. The lunch could have been offered at a better place. It could have been better if I had some time on my own to explore the pyramids.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was my favorite speciall tiro our tour guide he shore did explain everything to the dot planing to go back 110%

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

O tour foi excelente, muito bem organizado e o guia extremamente simpático. Muito bom!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Tour! We had a great guide Fouad Salah. Very knowledgeable. I was overwhelmed standing at the entrance to the cave where The Holy Family lived for 3 months. Love it all Coptic Caire, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra. Owsome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was over priced but worth a shot. Henry (tour guide) was co operative and knowledgable as well. For the same price, Viator should include Al Azhar mosque as part of it. The lunch was nice and cozy.
Henry took me to a nice perfume shop that was incredible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum, Alabaster Mosque, Khan el-Khalili

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was well run and on-time, and our guide was very knowledgeable. Memphis is a let-down and probably not worth it, but the rest of the stops are fantastic. The only issue was that you get to "tour" a papyrus shop, a clothing shop, and a perfume shop along the way. Also, be ready for extremely aggressive peddlers, especially at Giza. Our guide was great in regards to ignoring them and warning us in advance as to what to expect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A good, comprehensive tour of the three main pyramids on the Giza plateau but also of the lesser known stepped pyramid at Saqqara and the ones you can see in the distance from this sight. Not a great deal to see in Memphis but the sphinx and colossal statue of Rameses II (lying on its back) is well worth a look

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Once more....no trouble in Cairo, security is every were with check points, a good thing. Stayed in Fairmont Nile, brilliant service and secure. Wow the pyramids, camel ride a must. The shop keepers are a bit over the top, watch out for everyone wanting to guide you and take photo's they all expect tips, carry plenty of small change. Our guide was excellent and again do anything for you. Cairo and around the city is pretty dirty but part of he character. Over all worth the trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My guide was really good. He provided a lot of interesting information about not only the sights that we were seeing but ancient Egyptian history and modern Egypt as well. Our driver did a great job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message