Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Ramses II Statue

Ramses II was a the longest serving pharaoh in Ancient Egypt, reigning from 1279 BC to 1213 BC, a total of 66 years and 2 months. This made him a very powerful and significant man in history and it's not surprising he left behind so many huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 306 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Alex D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Osama was an incredible guide! What a tour... I would do it all over again. Customized the tour to my interests, showed all the great spots for photos and cool hidden sights.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Zipporah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Osama was amazing. I recommend him as a tour guide for this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

leggylass

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Dahsur and Saqqara pyramids are worth a visit. My tourist guide and the driver were both very polite and professional. I and #39;m glad that I visited these places.

Doing what: Half-Day Tour from Cairo: Dahshur Pyramids Sakkara and Memphis City

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

JOEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is an awesome tour. Our guide Samara Mostafa was very knowledgeable with her culture and heritage. She was very accommodating and timely with our tour. The team including the driver was very honorable. I do respect highly their professionalism and making your first Egypt trip a memorable one.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My tour guide Ahmed Zakaria is the best. He knew a lot about the sites and made me feel very safe and he was very professional and really tailored the tour to my needs as far as where I wanted to spend more time at. I travelled solo to Egypt and would highly recommend this tour and guide Ahmed he made me feel like a VIP guest and made sure I really experienced and learned about the culture of ancient Egypt.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Brian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My tour guide Shimma was great. Not only did she bring an excellent knowledge of the sites, but also a unique aspect of Egyptians. She is a proud Egyptian and knows her stuff. She will tour you though the sites, enlighten you on the historical facts, and bring a fun aspect to the trip. Definitely worth the adventure.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

czarina c

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing once in your life. The only thing I don't recommend is the lunch. It cost me 20 U.S. Dollars for less than mediocre. I could've had the same thing for much less and I was highly disappointed that I got ripped off. NOT WORTH IT! Get lunch as take away and save your money. Aside from that, I did enjoy myself. I couldn't have asked for a better day to be outdoors and take photos. DO be careful as the guide will take you places to get you to spend money that is not a part of the trip that you agreed to and paid for. It was a good getaway but I've seen what I needed to see and I have no intention of ever coming back to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Magnus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with both an excellent guide and driver. I can highly recommend this tour! But remember to bring water :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our day tour of the Pyramids and surrounds with Fouad. He was flexible with our itinerary on what we wanted to do or not do and had a good sense of fun, humour as well as having plenty of knowledge in the area. Was a very pleasurable day out and a great way to start our Egypt trip. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Tina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had booked a private tour to Sakkara and Memphis and was lucky enough to get Michael as my guide. I have truly learned so much from him. His knowledge and way of explaining things was refreshing and always had me wanting to learn more. I had such an amazing time seeing the Step Pyramid and Imotep's Museum!

Doing what: Half-Day Private Guided Tour to Saqqara and Memphis from Cairo

Gemma G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Had an amazing day, the pyramids definitely lived up to my expectations. Our driver and guide were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our guide Osama was very informative. We felt perfectly safe travelling around Egypt.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Steffane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Going and visiting Cairo and Giza has never been more easy! As a solo traveler, Ahmed Fayed did a fantastic guided tour from Memphis to the Great Pyramids. He was very knowledgable and passionate about his job and showed care and appreciation for the history behind Egypt. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Full-Day Tour Visiting Giza Pyramids, Transfers and Lunch Included

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide and driver were over the top exceptional !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

DMia W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was outstanding!!! We had the best time on our vacation!! Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and customer service focused. Osama went out of his way to make sure we had a memorable experience. He pointed out most important aspects of the tour and spent the entire day teaching us the history of all places and each of the pyramids, sites and the different Spynx's. I would definitely recommend this Tour and Osama as the tour guide!!

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fouad was an excellent guide who filled my day with amazing sights and stories on Cairo's history. This day was a memory I will never forget thanks to him and this amazing place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Mindy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a good experience with Viator and our private tour guide, no suprises and no hassles. The day included a good mix of activities and history. Lunch was good too.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Janice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my private tour of the pyramid sites in the Gisa area of Cairo. Galal, my guide is very knowledgeable, professional, courteous and fantastic at explaining all the historical details in fluent English. It was obvious in his presentation that he had a genuine love for his country and a passion for sharing. By the way for all of those interested in Egyptian history and culture please don't let recent world incidents deter you the people are as friendly, ingratiating and accommodating as can be. I look forward to another trip next week.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

robertthomas252

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Outstanding trip. My tour guide was Ahmed and I would highly recommend him as he's courteous, knowledgeable and very dependable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Matthew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Osama and Hazim were great I couldn't have asked for a better driver and guide. Osama is very knowledgeable and has a great sense of humour. I had a fantastic day visiting these historic sites

Doing what: Full-Day Tour from Cairo: Giza Pyramids Sphinx Memphis and Sakkara

rmezzara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was our second trip to Egypt with out first in 2014. The tour of the pyramids was flawless. Our guide Foud was very knowledgeble, we were able to see the pyramids with a different aspect this time. Also, he customized the tour so that we were able to see a different site not on the itinerary. Excellent time and highly recommend this tour and tour guide to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Chastity D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting the full experience of the pyramids, sphinx, memphis, and sakkara! It was nice to have pick up/drop off service and a private driver to take me to all the sites. My tour guide/Egyptologist was so knowledgable and made the day rich with stories of ancient Egypt and the sites we visited ! Ask for Fouad, he was an attentive, funny and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message