Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Saqqara (Sakkara)

Saqqara (or Sakkara) lies about 18 miles (30 km) south of Cairo and was the burial site for the ancient Egyptian capital Memphis, now in ruins. In the site of 4.4 by 0.9 miles (7 by 1.5 km) there is a sphinx, smaller than that at Giza at only 26ft ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a dream come true! Ask for Ahmed. He is very knowledgeable and courteous. Wow! Wow! Wow! I loved this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

AWESOME! What else more is there to say :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly interesting tour with excellent guide. The driver was also good and driving safely.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you go to Giza, then definitely book through Viator. I can't speak for other guides, but Henry was excellent. He is very knowledgeable, personable, and is able to carry on an intelligent conversation. By the end of our tour, I felt like he was a long lost friend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing! Henry the guide made my time in Egypt wonderful. Not only I discovered the best of the pyramids but I also had so much fun. I travelled as a solo women and I felt safe and comfortable all the time. I will definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

pick up on time, car clean and air conditioned
pyramids are great, lots of people and pushy sellers but amazing to be there
sphinx is amazing to see as well, again-more pushy sales people
memphis and sakkara amazing to see as well, and you guessed it, pushy sales people.
just smile and say no thank you. they will ask you were you're from and try to engage you in convo but just keep walking. it's just like any other major tourist area.
the company and tours itself were awesome!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Achmed was great! Best way to see the sights of Egypt. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

My guide was very knowledgeable and we left early enough that the sites were empty. I was very disappointed that I had paid extra to go to the Khufu boat museum, but it was closed for conservation and I was not told this beforehand nor was allowed to see it. This was not the fault of the guide, but of the booking tour company and this option should not have been offered when I paid.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Again another highly experienced guide who added so much to our trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was amazing! liked itso muchh . had lot of fun . guide was amazing . Ahmed Kamal elbistawy is amazing guy .. very knowledgabale , at d same time funny as well . had great time in Cairo .. defenitely recomended !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was awesome. Absolutely worth the money. Tito was our guide and now our new friend lol seriously it was fantastic. You get to see everything you could possibly want to and avoid all the bs vendors, buying tickets, having to arrange travel, it's all done for you! If you want to go somewhere not on the prescribed list, just let your guide know and he will make it happen. Best tour guide I have had in years. Egyptians love Americans and will treat you very respectfully.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our 8-hour private tour with Mr Abdul was fantastic. We visited several different sites, and avoided the traffic and crowds for the most part. The colossal statue in Memphis, amazing frescoes at Sakkara, and the camel ride around the pyramids (extra) were our favorites. The optional visits to carpet-weaving school, and papyrus institute were fun as well (we did our best to keep these short). This was the first time ever that 2 of us had a scholar guide and a driver all to ourselves, and the tour was worth every penny! We would probably spend 2-3 times the time and money had we tried to see the sites on our own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Unbelievable! Tarek is the perfect guide, and Saeed is the best driver I've ever had in any country (including India and China). Gold standard tour -- illuminating, not rushed and awe-inspiring.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is a must do and the failure to engage in this exercise will be truly sad. Our guide Fuad is a rock star....not only was he charming, knowledgeable and inspiring but he is well respected among his people and is genuine and gracious. When he dons his Indiana Jones hat you're sure to know you're dealing with a true character. The sites were awesome, the vistas unforgettable and the history will leave an indelible mark on your memory of your trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best experience ever! It was amazing to see these ancient structures with my own eyes and touch them! Our Egyptologist guide Ahmed Kamal made sure we were taken care of the entire time. We were able to customize our tour and we were extremely impressed with his wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The missing star has nothing to do with the tour company (South Sinai Tours), which was fantastic, and more to do with the fact that Memphis can probably be skipped (other than a few statues of Ramses II, there's really nothing there but souvenir stands and an alabaster sphinx surrounded by scaffolding). Saqqara is wonderful, and the tour guide taught me all about the history, and pointed out his favorite frescoes. (I also added Dahshur, which I would highly recommend - the pyramids are amazing, and the lack of crowds are even better!)

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Everything was great, but definitely the guide did the difference. He was honest, smart and make me feel secure during my trip. I totally recommend this agency.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our trip was wonderful and our guide Fouad was outstanding.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Only thing the guide on the camel stopped the camels to get a tip then asked for more at the end and got annoyed when we said no

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

An experience of a lifetime! Definitely one of the most surreal moments in my life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour guide Fouod and driver Mohammed. Fouod was very knowledgeable about Egyptian history and Mohammed was an excellent driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

It was one of the most amazing tours yet! Viator turns out to be a lot more expensive though but in this age of planning everything online, Viator is absolutely the best option. If you are willing to go through the hassle of contacting the locals, you can plan the same trip through your hotel by yourself for literally half the price. We did 2 tours on 2 different days. The first day we did it with Vaitor. The tour was well-organized, private (just the two of us) and the tour guide was knowledgeable (I believe he was a Professor of Egyptology @ some university, which was great!). Our second day tour ended up being a lot more cheaper which we directly planned with the locals there. All in all, definitely recommend this tour ! Egypt is the one and only place that will amaze you at levels you can't imagine yourself. Me and my wife started from Egypt and did 7 other countries in 1 month but by far, Egypt won our hearts (very close second will be Eiffel Tower).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and well worth the price. The lunch could have been offered at a better place. It could have been better if I had some time on my own to explore the pyramids.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message