Cairo ATTRACTIONS See all

Saqqara (Sakkara)

Saqqara (or Sakkara) lies about 18 miles (30 km) south of Cairo and was the burial site for the ancient Egyptian capital Memphis, now in ruins. In the site of 4.4 by 0.9 miles (7 by 1.5 km) there is a sphinx, smaller than that at Giza at only 26ft ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My guide was really good. He provided a lot of interesting information about not only the sights that we were seeing but ancient Egyptian history and modern Egypt as well. Our driver did a great job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour!! totally recommended and it is great that it is private, as you take it at your own pace. Tito, our Egyptologist was just amazing!. We were given the choice to go to Giza and change Menphis and Sakara for the egipcian museum as we would not spend do many days in Cairo... totally worth it!!! and they also took us to a parfume lab! totally recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Trip was ok but not great value at all:
1- Was very hard reaching the company on the phone numbers included in the confirmation so we were never able to get to them.
2- They picked up ontime.
3- This quite expensive tour did not include entry to the great pyramid and did not even include a bottle of water.
4- We specified to the guide that we had a hard deadline (1 hour earlier than official tour) but he still stretched some unnecessary parts of the trip (made us go to a papyrus store, slowed down or stopped at places unnecessarily) which ended up costing us a visit to the final destination (memphis)
5- The guide was nice and had memorized his script but it was very hard to ask him questions outside of the standard script, he would either not answer or use parts of his canned script.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

On time pickup (early actually) with a great tour guide that provided an indepth history about Egypt, the Pharaohs, and the sites. The driver was great to avoid traffic and traffic jams. A delight in any foreign country with as much traffic as Cairo, Memphis, and Sakkara. Awesome job all around. Thanks again for great holiday (Apr 2014).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great! They brought us to the highlights and a bit more, and the guide was very knowledgable. My only regret is that I wish I had gone inside the main pyramid (this was our choice).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My guide was very knowledgeable as well as helpful in navigating the large archeology sites. I could not have done it without a guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was the highlight of our two week stay in Egypt. We visited lots of places and did many tours. Well worth paying the extra for inside the great pyramid! Such a thrill!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was exceptional. Our tour guide, Khaled, and our driver were amazing. We felt safe and secure the entire day and had so much fun learning the history behind each location as well meeting and talking with the locals. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone. I can't wait to go back to Cairo, Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing!!

My day began by meeting Mohammed who manages the tour agency in Cairo, Ahmed my tour guide for the day and Steve the driver who was absolutely one of the best drivers I've ever seen.

I was alone on this trip and Ahmed guarded me safely and made great recommendations on how to deal with street hustlers. He had great knowledge of Egyptian history and always asking me if i had any additional questions. I saw everything I paid for. Please ask for him if you can in the request box.

Two things I disliked- first it was Memphis- it is such a waste of time to go this places. Secondly, the awkwardly recommendations to buy things from the two-three shops we visited. Also a waste of time. If you get the feeling that you're going to a place that sells items, please and do please tell them if you're interested. Be honest and upfront and say no- they'll listen. For example, I hate rugs and hated cologne and perfumes, so going to shops that sells them wasn't what I was looking for. However, we stopped at this art store and even though stuff was overpriced I bought a few things.

Make sure to tell your guide, that you're not interested so that you don't waste your time driving in the crazy traffic filled streets of Cairo to get to these places. I paid for a sight seeing Tour NOT a shopping tour. So I could have lived without it.

Overall my experience was great and highly recommend using viator next time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! Our guide was the best one I ever have had the pleasure of being with and he gave us far more than expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good! Our guide was very friendly, he made the trip fun for our entire family. He was so knowledgeable, we could ask any question and he knew the answers. I would recommend using this company, we had a great experience and plan to go back.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A dream of a life time to come to see the pyramids. It was fantastic even better because there were no hordes of tourists. The guide was knowledgable as you would expect an Egyptologist to be. Though it was difficult to ask spontaneous questions and get answers - he had his script and wasn't really able to deviate. That wasn't a big deal though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Both the driver and Egyptologist were highly professional and had a high amount of knowledge regarding everything on the trip. They did not pressure me for any tips or to make any unnecessary purchases. He actually recommended a way for me to get away from all the people trying to sell me stuff...politely say no and walk away. He also told me the hustles people try to do to tourists, which for me is a big thing. In the end, I loved the tour because I had a much better understanding of, not just the Pyramids and Sphinx, but the culture of Egypt. We talked about the ongoing current events and how things are improving (or not improving). That is just regular conversation, which is a good thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message