• USD ($)
  • English
The Great Sphinx of Giza is the greatest monumental sculpture of the ancient world and measures a massive 240 ft (73 m) long by 66 ft (20 m) high. It is generally believed to have been built around 2,550 BC but may well be even older. Legends and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

The tour guide and driver were wonderful and very knowledgeable. The pyramids and the sphinx were amazing, too. The only big complaint is the sellers around the pyramids, hassling tourists to the point of us shouting at them to back off and leave us alone , even the tour guide had to berate them. They even followed us onto the one pyramid, pulling my husband's cap off and forxing an atab headress onto his head, and then hassling him for payment. Most annoying and unpleasant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Henry was incredible. His deep knowledge of Egyptian history, combined with his near-flawless English and witty sense of humor made our experience at the pyramids/sphinx one for the family scrapbooks. Henry went above and beyond the call of duty to make the tour as smooth as possible (especially when it came to shooing away the local vendors) and I can say with utter sincerity that my girlfriend and I left the tour more enlightened human beings; at least when it comes to Egyptian history :). Thank you Henry for being so awesome! To all would be Egyptian adventurers out there, book Henry as your tour guide when you decide to go to Egypt on your next vacation! YOU WONT REGRET IT!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Both the driver and Egyptologist were highly professional and had a high amount of knowledge regarding everything on the trip. They did not pressure me for any tips or to make any unnecessary purchases. He actually recommended a way for me to get away from all the people trying to sell me stuff...politely say no and walk away. He also told me the hustles people try to do to tourists, which for me is a big thing. In the end, I loved the tour because I had a much better understanding of, not just the Pyramids and Sphinx, but the culture of Egypt. We talked about the ongoing current events and how things are improving (or not improving). That is just regular conversation, which is a good thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

A very long, fulfilling day. Fuad did a good job laying out our trip and giving us ample time at each venue. Having a private tour really helped gain the most out of each place. Was very surreal to be standing at the base of the red and bent pyramids with my wife and nobody else was around. What a moment. Giza and the Sphinx of course were much more crowded but we were still able to walk, talk and learn. Fuad certainly didn't oversell the prize of the stop in Memphis - the statue of Ramses. One cannot fathom how big the statue is until you see it. Also a nice touch of the trip - a stop at a family restaurant in Sakkara where a mom and her daughter were baking bread for our lunch right in front of us. Just a very enjoyable, educational day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Dahshur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Transport arrived promptly and the minibus was comfortable and air-conditione. The driver was excellent and the tour guide was very interesting and informative. We really enjoyed the trip to the Pyramids and Sphinx and then enjoyed an excellent but in-expensive lunch with out guide (Ams) - Thank you for a fantastic day !! I will definitely book again for another excursion

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I had heard about Viator on Twitter and this was the first opportunity to book a tour. I only had 2 days in Cairo and was travelling by myself, so I really wanted an insightful tour where I would not only see the sights, but also learn about them as well. I wasn't disappointed! The tour was perfect and Ahmed was a brilliant guide. I was lucky enough to have him as my guide for both tours I booked and I got an amazing appreciation of what I was experiencing. This tour was excellent - Pyramids and Sphinx with Ahmed sharing as much knowledge as he could. I would highly recommend this tour - well organised and well guided.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Our trip was amazing........ from pick up right to the very end... Our guide and driver were full of fun and expert information about the Pyramids and Sphinx... Well worth the $97 we paid. Thank you so much for making the last day of my holiday one to remember. When we return and we are planning to we will definitely be booking with you again not to mention recommending you to friends. Thanks you so very much

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We truly enjoyed the light show at night after seeing the pyramids and Sphinx the previous day. Transportation for the four of us was very comfortable and the door-to-door service from our hotel was just great.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Yoga B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Getting around the busy city of Cairo is a pain but this Pyramids Sound and Light Show definitely made it all worth while for my son and I. The lighting of the Great Sphinx of Giza was especially good and took us back in time to appreciate the awe and majesty of this great monolith.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

Very poor - our guide called himself Aladdin but when I asked for his card his name was Alaa - he seemed bored and tired the whole way - worse he told lies in order to get cuts and commissions all the way - he us to the most expensive and poor quality cafe so he got a cut - we paid 5* hotel price (the price of a meal at Sofitel) for a white roll hot dog, he insisted we used his friend for a camel ride and paid exactly 10 times the price - 100LE as opposed to 10LE that we were offered by another camel guy. He kept asking us what he wanted us to tell him and told us not to bother going inside the period as it was not worth it. Luckily we had read reviews here so insisted. He did not take us around the sphinx but told us from the edge and we hired another guide to tell us about it and take photos when we got in there. We didn't want to go to the bizarre but he insisted by telling us it was authentic Islamic Cairo and "not for shopping" - as soon as we got there he sent us off with his friend so we could get ripped off in what is a very tacky over priced market. We finished at the museum and looked in awe at other guides explaining to tourists with passion and interest about the museum - our guide looked very bored, was barely understandable, asked if we wanted and hour or half an hour explanantion - we said an hour - we got half an hour anyway - he then went to the cafe and didn't even take us back to the hotel but sent us with the driver on our own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This tour provided safe and convenient transportation to and from the Pyramids and Sphinx. The guide gave us pointers on dealing with the sellers hawking trinkets and camel rides. The narrative was okay, but not more than what could be found in the guidebooks. I recommend this tour if you are hesitant about making the journey on your own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Pyramids and sphinx are wonderful pieces and are definitely wonders to see. The sphinx unfortunately was getting work done to it so couldn't get up close to it. The guide was good however, on this tour they want you to buy all sorts of souvenirs. When we did not do this, the guides attitude changed and he got really moody. The tour should be about the wonderful pieces of artistry not buying souvenirs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids and Sphinx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

The most AMAZING tour I have ever been on. We had Hani as our guide and he was phenomenal. Extremely knowledgeable and overly willing to go outside the basic tour itinerary to personalize this tour. It was fantastic to have a one-on-one guide with us at all times. Never once felt concerned for our safety. Both Hani and our drive Zeku, were extremely friendly and courteous. The bus that we drove around in was comfortable and clean. We were able to go inside the great pyramid in addition to King Titi's pyramid at Sakkara. The Sphinx is really amazing. Definitely recommend one ride on the camels but trust the guide's recommendation for the vendor, as you will be inundated with camel owners trying to rally your business.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Great tour, especially the safety precautions that were taken on our behalf! Our guide today, Khalid, was very knowledgeable about the history of Egypt. While one could not possibly learn a lot about the ancient Egypt in such a short time, he covered all highlights at the museum. Then lunch, and a quick tour of the Bazaar. He correctly held back our temptation of buying anything here. Then he took us to the "Papyrus Institute" to view the art of making and painting papyrus where we purchased genuine papyrus paintings. The last stop was the Pyramids and the Sphinx, where we had wonderful sightseeing, camel and horse-cart rides, picture taking and shopping. Khalid even helped us with bargaining process. We were then taken back to our hotel. Surprising part of this tour was the presence of a suit-and tie-clad man who stayed close to us for most of the tour. Only when he was leaving, did we find out that he was actually a security man provided by the tour company for our protection during crowded parts of the tour! How considerate! We did not even had an opportunity to know his name. Overall, Khalid, and Suleiman were great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Egyptian Museum, Khan el-Khalili Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

a must see. about 45 minutes long. outside at night with lights on the Sphinx and pyramids and a narration. check language days. you can also get language head sets. it is about 45 minutes outside of downtown Cairo; you can taxi it but it is better to take the tour as they will promptly pick you up at your hotel and the price difference is minimal, it is safer and you ride in comfort.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message