Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 628 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Once more....no trouble in Cairo, security is every were with check points, a good thing. Stayed in Fairmont Nile, brilliant service and secure. Wow the pyramids, camel ride a must. The shop keepers are a bit over the top, watch out for everyone wanting to guide you and take photo's they all expect tips, carry plenty of small change. Our guide was excellent and again do anything for you. Cairo and around the city is pretty dirty but part of he character. Over all worth the trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The cruise itself was nice. When we hired the cruise, we were offered a set menu that we never saw. It was only arab food in a buffet. The belly dancer never showed up, so at the end I felt cheated. A pity.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My guide was really good. He provided a lot of interesting information about not only the sights that we were seeing but ancient Egyptian history and modern Egypt as well. Our driver did a great job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Gregory J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

A pretty experience that is too melodramatic. A simple explanation of the building and history without all the fluff I think would be a better way to go.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

A good experience with some security concerns for tourists. After our guide negotiated our entry into the museum we had to pass many tanks, soldiers and police. My daughter who is a pretty blonde girl who dress appropriately for Egypt was leered at by all security personnel which made her very uncomfortable. Once inside the Museum we had the place virtually to ourselves so much so that we were the only two in the Tutankhamen mask room. The guide was very knowledgeable to the extent we had to ask for free time to take things in by ourselves. You must pay extra for the Mummy rooms. I don't know if its really worth the money as we found it a bit creepy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Gregory J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

Sakkara worth seeing with a good guide. Memphis is not worth seeing its basically a field with a couple of nice statues in it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour!! totally recommended and it is great that it is private, as you take it at your own pace. Tito, our Egyptologist was just amazing!. We were given the choice to go to Giza and change Menphis and Sakara for the egipcian museum as we would not spend do many days in Cairo... totally worth it!!! and they also took us to a parfume lab! totally recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great experience! nice food and very good entertainment. The cruise in the Nile makes you see a different side of the city!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great experience! nice food and very good entertainment. The cruise in the Nile makes you see a different side of the city!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised. The food could be better quality but overall we had a nice time.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The crew was nice, the views were amazing, the entertainment was great, and the food was delicious. I would recommend this to anybody visiting Egypt. Our tour guide picked us up from the lobby of our hotel (a few minutes late, but he took ownership), took us to the ship, introduced us to the staff, sat us down and gave us the 411 for the evening. He then said he'll be on-board if we needed anything from him and for now he'll give us our privacy. This dinner cruise really enhanced our experience in Egypt. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

Trip was ok but not great value at all:
1- Was very hard reaching the company on the phone numbers included in the confirmation so we were never able to get to them.
2- They picked up ontime.
3- This quite expensive tour did not include entry to the great pyramid and did not even include a bottle of water.
4- We specified to the guide that we had a hard deadline (1 hour earlier than official tour) but he still stretched some unnecessary parts of the trip (made us go to a papyrus store, slowed down or stopped at places unnecessarily) which ended up costing us a visit to the final destination (memphis)
5- The guide was nice and had memorized his script but it was very hard to ask him questions outside of the standard script, he would either not answer or use parts of his canned script.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

On time pickup (early actually) with a great tour guide that provided an indepth history about Egypt, the Pharaohs, and the sites. The driver was great to avoid traffic and traffic jams. A delight in any foreign country with as much traffic as Cairo, Memphis, and Sakkara. Awesome job all around. Thanks again for great holiday (Apr 2014).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great! They brought us to the highlights and a bit more, and the guide was very knowledgable. My only regret is that I wish I had gone inside the main pyramid (this was our choice).

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good, great value for money and I'd definitely recommend it to families and couples.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message