Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 753 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Krista M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To begin with, let me say how very safe we felt while we were in Egypt. It is lamentable that tourism, which accounts for 30 of Egypt's industry, has taken such a beating so that sensationalist media can sell 'news'. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful and seemed genuinely happy to welcome us to their country. Of course you need to be alert in Cairo - as you would in any large city - and keep your wits about you while you are out - as anywhere - that's just common sense.
Go on an organized tour like this with a guide. They know the language and the culture and can navigate both the streets and the process far better than you could on your own. Qualified guides are exceptionally knowledgable about Egyptian history - it is an extensive training program with exams - and can open doors to a richer experience.
We had a excellent day with Ahmed our guide and Syed our driver. Ahmed's English was impeccable - I was sure he had been educated in an English speaking country, but that was not the case. He was knowledgeable, interesting to listen to - not just reciting a history book, but more like storytelling - and had good advice for interacting with locals. We never felt rushed and were given opportunities to explore where we wished and move on when we were ready.
Great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Abigail C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Viator booked us with South Sanai Travel and we had a FABULOUS day! The tour guide was amazing and was also our photographer throughout the day. He took some amazing photos of us! Giza is very busy whereas Sakkara is much more secluded. Great day overall!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Karen Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The show lasted an hour and the history of ancient Egypt was told throughout. This wasn't just lighted pyramids but with images displayed on the pyramids whilst the story unfolded. Excellent night. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Rudy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip!! Guide went out of his way to assist and was very professional. I recommend this trip to anyone and everyone!!
Excellent tour!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Jeffrey E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an awesome guide and driver. The tour was really good and I greatly appreciated all the guide's help. Really a good experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding. Absolutely outstanding. Mohamed was an above-and-beyond professional throughout the journey, keeping the pace fresh and exciting as we moved from sight to sight. I was also extremely interested in local culture and current events, and we were able to have some fantastic discussions during the drives in between sites that gave me a more robust knowledge of the area and customs. As a solo traveler, I almost opted to cobble together a self-guided version of this tour - so glad that I opted to go with Mohamed instead. Can't recommend highly enough. Book it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

leggylass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I did this tour today and I am glad I did. My tour guide Ahmed was very polite and professional. He gave me good insight about the ancient Egypt. He spoke fairly good English. The driver named Ahmed also was very polite and professional. Even as a lone woman traveler I felt safe everywhere as there are police armed with guns at every tourist place and they keep checking on you to ensure your safety and security. I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is fascinated by ancient Egypt.

Doing what: Half-Day Saqqara Pyramids and Memphis Tour from Cairo

Steve T Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were picked up from our hotel and driven to the boat, ushered onto it and seated for the dinner show cruise. A couple of tips would be to ask for a seat at a table as close as possible to the dance floor, as it will give you the best view of the show you can always walk out to the balcony to get a better view of the city, and the other tip would be to give yourself plenty of time to get there as the traffic in the evening is at it's very worst.
The meals was pretty good, with a large selection of sides, and the wine selection too.
The show started with some Arabic music by the house band, then the amazing belly dancer came on and performed a great show. This was followed by the guy performing the Whirling Dervish dance. He was outstanding. Have you cameras charged and ready.
Overall, it was a great night of food, wine and dancing. Recommended

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Karen Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Good for a half day tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Xuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a wonderful experience. During my years of solo travelling, I had the best tour guide ever. Special thanks to Ahmet who really made my day. He is professional, knowledgeable and of great help to everything. On an academic level, Ahmet is not only good at assessing the client's knowledge base and readiness to learn but also knows when and where to provide certain important information appropriately. As a guide for the day, Ahmet is very clear of the time schedule as well as being adaptable of lunch breaks etc. The super bonus is Ahmet is a very talented photographer who knows how to operate DSLR to have taken brilliant pics for me. The tour is very organized and highly educational. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous tour! The entertainment was unbelievable! Especially enjoyed the Whirling Dervish

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

Travis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had an amazing day in Alexandra, the guide was very well-informed and made sure I was comfortable with pace at which we were going, opting to spend more or less time as needed. Learned a lot about the city in-between sites we say, the education never stopped!

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

Stephannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had an excellent guide for our half day tour of Coptic Cairo. We saw all of the sites listed and we were given lots of information about each from our guide. This tour shows you this part of the city in a snap shot.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The dinner cruise was exactly as described. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

CYNTHIA L. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A different and wonderful way to appreciate the pyramids!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

Nida T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fun experience! The entertainment was great! The food was okay. I didn't feel the need to have a guide on-board with us though. A simple pick up from the hotel and drop off outside the boarding area would have been sufficient. Overall, great experience!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

czarina c

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The tour is worth doing once in your life. The only thing I don't recommend is the lunch. It cost me 20 U.S. Dollars for less than mediocre. I could've had the same thing for much less and I was highly disappointed that I got ripped off. NOT WORTH IT! Get lunch as take away and save your money. Aside from that, I did enjoy myself. I couldn't have asked for a better day to be outdoors and take photos. DO be careful as the guide will take you places to get you to spend money that is not a part of the trip that you agreed to and paid for. It was a good getaway but I've seen what I needed to see and I have no intention of ever coming back to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Nida T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was a good, short tour. The sights are not very huge or grand, but it gives you a good idea of the area of Coptic Cairo. I wasn't sure about all the facts and stories that our guide was telling us. He did talk a lot, and mostly we wanted to look around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

Magnus B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour with both an excellent guide and driver. I can highly recommend this tour! But remember to bring water :-

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our family of 4 really enjoyed our day tour of the Pyramids and surrounds with Fouad. He was flexible with our itinerary on what we wanted to do or not do and had a good sense of fun, humour as well as having plenty of knowledge in the area. Was a very pleasurable day out and a great way to start our Egypt trip. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thankfully, traffic from Cairo to Alexandria was light due to a holiday. The drive is quite doable for a day trip.
My guide, Hend, was extremely thoughtful, knowledgeable and accommodating.
Each of the tour stops especially the catacombs and library was worth it.

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

Heath P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My experience with this tour was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel on time and taken to the Cairo Museum. My guide was knowledgable and professional and allowed time to look through the museum at my own pace. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide and driver were over the top exceptional !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fouad was an excellent guide who filled my day with amazing sights and stories on Cairo's history. This day was a memory I will never forget thanks to him and this amazing place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message