Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 670 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our 8-hour private tour with Mr Abdul was fantastic. We visited several different sites, and avoided the traffic and crowds for the most part. The colossal statue in Memphis, amazing frescoes at Sakkara, and the camel ride around the pyramids (extra) were our favorites. The optional visits to carpet-weaving school, and papyrus institute were fun as well (we did our best to keep these short). This was the first time ever that 2 of us had a scholar guide and a driver all to ourselves, and the tour was worth every penny! We would probably spend 2-3 times the time and money had we tried to see the sites on our own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved cruising the Nile on the Maxim. Our host Mohamed secured for the 2 of us one of the best tables on the floor, right next to the stage, and helped us make our food and drink selections. We enjoyed the dinner, 2-hour live entertainment program was great (live "Western" and Arabic bands, a whirling dancer, a belly dancer), and the night Cairo looked amazing from the boat. Hotel pick up and drop off were included in the package. Worth every penny! A great night out in Cairo.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a fantastic tour of Coptic Cairo with our excellent guide, Amgad. He was very well informed, and able to answer all of our questions. Amgad's english was perfect, and he was very passionate about his work. It was an amazing experience - one that we won't forget.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour! Tarek was knowledgable, patient and still as enchanted by the rich history as I was seeing it for the first time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coptic Cairo, The Hanging Church, Abu Serga, Ben Ezra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Unbelievable! Tarek is the perfect guide, and Saeed is the best driver I've ever had in any country (including India and China). Gold standard tour -- illuminating, not rushed and awe-inspiring.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lonely Planet says this is the best river cruise, and I have no reason to doubt that based on my experience. Very elegant, good food, great band and amazing dancers. Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Food excellent. Entertainment excellent.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is a must do and the failure to engage in this exercise will be truly sad. Our guide Fuad is a rock star....not only was he charming, knowledgeable and inspiring but he is well respected among his people and is genuine and gracious. When he dons his Indiana Jones hat you're sure to know you're dealing with a true character. The sites were awesome, the vistas unforgettable and the history will leave an indelible mark on your memory of your trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide (Hind) was friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating. Some of us had to be back in Cairo for train rides to Luxor and Aswan and she was able to get us to all of the fascinating sites and back in time for our departures. The day before the tour, my ATM card was swallowed by the ATM machine and she even contacted the bank to have them hold the card for me until I returned. 5 stars for Hind.

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

outstanding. Patient and flexible in showing us only the highlights of more than 200,000 pieces.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our Egyptologist guide Ahmed, was great! We are so glad he was with us explaining the history and showing us artifacts that we would have overlooked.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best experience ever! It was amazing to see these ancient structures with my own eyes and touch them! Our Egyptologist guide Ahmed Kamal made sure we were taken care of the entire time. We were able to customize our tour and we were extremely impressed with his wealth of knowledge.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Akram, was awesome! He even gave us a tour of downtown Cairo on the way to the cruise pier. Just being on the Nile was breathtaking. The live band, belly dancer and skirt twirler made it unforgettable!

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This trip to Alexandria was great, the travel agency could not have done a better job. Dalia was a great guide and Farrak an excellent driver, kind and cool people. I was the only guest and they made a few changes to the plans for the day, no hassle. The Alexandria library is worth the trip, it is incredible.

It is however a VERY long trip (4 hours from Alexandria to Cairo...), on a very busy road, be ready for that!

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The missing star has nothing to do with the tour company (South Sinai Tours), which was fantastic, and more to do with the fact that Memphis can probably be skipped (other than a few statues of Ramses II, there's really nothing there but souvenir stands and an alabaster sphinx surrounded by scaffolding). Saqqara is wonderful, and the tour guide taught me all about the history, and pointed out his favorite frescoes. (I also added Dahshur, which I would highly recommend - the pyramids are amazing, and the lack of crowds are even better!)

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message