Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 661 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our 8-hour private tour with Mr Abdul was fantastic. We visited several different sites, and avoided the traffic and crowds for the most part. The colossal statue in Memphis, amazing frescoes at Sakkara, and the camel ride around the pyramids (extra) were our favorites. The optional visits to carpet-weaving school, and papyrus institute were fun as well (we did our best to keep these short). This was the first time ever that 2 of us had a scholar guide and a driver all to ourselves, and the tour was worth every penny! We would probably spend 2-3 times the time and money had we tried to see the sites on our own. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved cruising the Nile on the Maxim. Our host Mohamed secured for the 2 of us one of the best tables on the floor, right next to the stage, and helped us make our food and drink selections. We enjoyed the dinner, 2-hour live entertainment program was great (live "Western" and Arabic bands, a whirling dancer, a belly dancer), and the night Cairo looked amazing from the boat. Hotel pick up and drop off were included in the package. Worth every penny! A great night out in Cairo.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Food excellent. Entertainment excellent.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour is a must do and the failure to engage in this exercise will be truly sad. Our guide Fuad is a rock star....not only was he charming, knowledgeable and inspiring but he is well respected among his people and is genuine and gracious. When he dons his Indiana Jones hat you're sure to know you're dealing with a true character. The sites were awesome, the vistas unforgettable and the history will leave an indelible mark on your memory of your trip to Egypt.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This trip to Alexandria was great, the travel agency could not have done a better job. Dalia was a great guide and Farrak an excellent driver, kind and cool people. I was the only guest and they made a few changes to the plans for the day, no hassle. The Alexandria library is worth the trip, it is incredible.

It is however a VERY long trip (4 hours from Alexandria to Cairo...), on a very busy road, be ready for that!

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The missing star has nothing to do with the tour company (South Sinai Tours), which was fantastic, and more to do with the fact that Memphis can probably be skipped (other than a few statues of Ramses II, there's really nothing there but souvenir stands and an alabaster sphinx surrounded by scaffolding). Saqqara is wonderful, and the tour guide taught me all about the history, and pointed out his favorite frescoes. (I also added Dahshur, which I would highly recommend - the pyramids are amazing, and the lack of crowds are even better!)

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Pick up on time. Negotiation of traffic, efficient. Performance somewhat dated. There were elements that were romantic- light show at night, cool breezes and night vista of the pyramids and sphinx while one cozies up to one's husband. But the script and music was reminiscent of a 1950's Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio epic drama.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Everything was great, but definitely the guide did the difference. He was honest, smart and make me feel secure during my trip. I totally recommend this agency.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our trip was wonderful and our guide Fouad was outstanding.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hoda from Urban Adventures is as her name foretells, an excellent guide. An Egyptologist, her history, knowledge and insight were not only entertaining but enlightening. We felt secure and empowered to tackle Cairo on our own since the city is safe, tourist friendly and ready for adventures.

Doing what: Downtown Cairo Half-Day Tour with Egyptian Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Only thing the guide on the camel stopped the camels to get a tip then asked for more at the end and got annoyed when we said no

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

An experience of a lifetime! Definitely one of the most surreal moments in my life.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

They were very late picking us up, but we did arrive just in time. The food was pretty good, the singer was ok, the dervisher was amazing, and the belly dancer was good. All in all, it was ok and I would recommend this for anyone going to cairo.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Interesting connection to the Greek and Roman rule, along with being beautiful along the Mediterranean. The round trip time in transport takes a while, so please be prepare to spend the majority of the day in transit.

Doing what: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. The museum was not crowded the day of our tour and Fouod was again very knowledgeable about Egyptian history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message