• USD ($)
  • English
Cairo - the very name conjures up visions of ancient monuments, exotic souks and eons of history. Almost as a backdrop to the Great Pyramids of Giza, the city rises from the surrounding sandy plains like some kind of desert mirage, albeit cloaked ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 611 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was exceptional. Our tour guide, Khaled, and our driver were amazing. We felt safe and secure the entire day and had so much fun learning the history behind each location as well meeting and talking with the locals. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone. I can't wait to go back to Cairo, Egypt!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was absolutely amazing!!

My day began by meeting Mohammed who manages the tour agency in Cairo, Ahmed my tour guide for the day and Steve the driver who was absolutely one of the best drivers I've ever seen.

I was alone on this trip and Ahmed guarded me safely and made great recommendations on how to deal with street hustlers. He had great knowledge of Egyptian history and always asking me if i had any additional questions. I saw everything I paid for. Please ask for him if you can in the request box.

Two things I disliked- first it was Memphis- it is such a waste of time to go this places. Secondly, the awkwardly recommendations to buy things from the two-three shops we visited. Also a waste of time. If you get the feeling that you're going to a place that sells items, please and do please tell them if you're interested. Be honest and upfront and say no- they'll listen. For example, I hate rugs and hated cologne and perfumes, so going to shops that sells them wasn't what I was looking for. However, we stopped at this art store and even though stuff was overpriced I bought a few things.

Make sure to tell your guide, that you're not interested so that you don't waste your time driving in the crazy traffic filled streets of Cairo to get to these places. I paid for a sight seeing Tour NOT a shopping tour. So I could have lived without it.

Overall my experience was great and highly recommend using viator next time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent! Our guide was the best one I ever have had the pleasure of being with and he gave us far more than expected.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very good! Our guide was very friendly, he made the trip fun for our entire family. He was so knowledgeable, we could ask any question and he knew the answers. I would recommend using this company, we had a great experience and plan to go back.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A dream of a life time to come to see the pyramids. It was fantastic even better because there were no hordes of tourists. The guide was knowledgable as you would expect an Egyptologist to be. Though it was difficult to ask spontaneous questions and get answers - he had his script and wasn't really able to deviate. That wasn't a big deal though.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I booked the Sound and Light Show at Giza with pickup from and return to our hotel. Mohammed arrived promptly at the arranged time, took us right to the entrance gate, told us the best place to be seated and was waiting for us at an arranged point after the show. Both he and the driver were really friendly, prompty and helpful, therefore I wouldn't hesitate to refer people to Viator.

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day great guide great tour!

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great night out with good food.

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Well it was a bad bad time in Cairo and felt pressured to go to the river Nile cruise there was a lot of tension in the air problem is it wasn't what we expected there was hardly anyone on board and we did not enjoy it

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Both the driver and Egyptologist were highly professional and had a high amount of knowledge regarding everything on the trip. They did not pressure me for any tips or to make any unnecessary purchases. He actually recommended a way for me to get away from all the people trying to sell me stuff...politely say no and walk away. He also told me the hustles people try to do to tourists, which for me is a big thing. In the end, I loved the tour because I had a much better understanding of, not just the Pyramids and Sphinx, but the culture of Egypt. We talked about the ongoing current events and how things are improving (or not improving). That is just regular conversation, which is a good thing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Giza Pyramids, Sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Light show was awesome but having a guide was a waste if money. Show is in English so no need for guide at all (they don't come in with you anyway) If was to go again I would just get a taxi. Pretty poor communication from viator -in fact I never did get a response from viator and ended up ringing the local guide directly.
Light show was wicked though!!

Doing what: Pyramids Sound and Light Show with Private Transport

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A fun change of pace. So scenic to be on the Nile at sunset. Also has the traditional Egyptian entertainment mixed in with some more modern dinner music. All around good time

Doing what: Nile River Dinner Cruise in Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

One of the best museums I have ever scene with a one of the best guides. A must!! I would have done this a few times if I had more time there. My Egyptoligist(Nader) was full of passion for history!

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Again, great tour guide mixed with some must see sights. The first pyramid (step pyramid by Imhotep) built almost 5000 years ago to be so well preserved, also got to go into the pyramid of Tite in Saqarra. Then memphis, with the statue of Ramses (worth the price alone) With your own Egyptoligist. (was alone and it became a private tour) Heaven for a man or woman that loves history!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Memphis and Sakkara

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Would have liked more time at the museum but the help of the guide was appreciated.

Doing what: Private Tour: Egyptian Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message