Most journeys to Egypt begin and end in chaotic Cairo, but a mere three-hour drive from the capital will bring you to Egypt’s Second City — Alexandria, the seaside metropolis that could not feel more different from the nation’s capital. Though it ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Some people don't get a guide in Cairo. That's a mistake. If you have a private guide with you, like we did, your days (and I mean, every single day) will be just amazing. Firstly, our guide spoke great english. Secondly, he is a fun, approachable, professional and extremely knowledgeable guy!!! Our guide was very proud of their history so it was just very exciting to listen to everything he had to say. The guide was also very flexible!! We had a day trip to Alexandria that we decided not to do anymore, as we felt there was still quite a lot to learn and see in Cairo. So, our guide asked us what we wanted to see and we managed to change our plans and have a great day. He quickly realised we didn't want to, for instance, do the cruises and all the super touristic stuff so he took us to a restaurant he goes to very often and likes very much. We tried a very traditional meal called 'Kushari' and it's delicious, really worth trying! Anyway, definitely take a guide. It's worth the money, you feel safer, less 'uncomfortable with the guys staring at you etc.

A guide is essential for you to have a great time and learn a lot!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A wonderful trip. I required a Chinese speaking guide trially, they did that! Surprised me! I have to say that it was perfect trip. Generally we visit four attractions and a restuarant in Alexandria. Not too many people there and the food was really good. An amazing city. Driver and guide are highly recommended. The guide name is Mahmoud Mohamed Fayed, If you are a Chinese visitor, he will be the right person for you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Nice drive to Alexandria. Interesting tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Again Khlaed Lotfy our Egyptogist and our driver were superb.We were able to modify our standard agenda and skip some of the planned sights and have a wonderful pinic on the Alexandria coast with our tour group providing a pinic lunch and allowing us to see the lovely Egyptian families at play on the beach.Definitely the best group of tour personnel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

The tour guide (Amr) was INCREDIBLE!! as soon as we landed he was there to greet us and assist in obtaining our visa quickly and transport us to Alexandria. They were very professional and were very informative on local attractions we passed by! HIGHLY RECOMMEND *****

Doing what: Private Transfer between Cairo and Alexandria

MILIND
Kuwait

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

My experience was excellent. The guide and tour manager were very polite and took very good care of myself and family. NO COMPLAINTS.

Doing what: Private Transfer between Cairo and Alexandria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Our guide, Mahmoud, was amazing. We would highly recommend him to anyone. He was friendly, kind and knowledgeable. He was also very flexible when we wanted to change our schedule. We don't think we could have had a better guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

Genesis A
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

The tour overall was amazing! You have an exclusive and very comfortable ride all throughout the tour. The tour-guide was very friendly, accomodating, and informative. All the sites visited were magnificent and awe-inspiring especially the Library of Alexandria. And most of all, you are in control of your time for the whole duration of the tour! I highly recommend this tour especially for group of friends!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

It was unbelievable to have our own personal guide. He was so knowledgeable, he not only explained the history of the sites but was also willing to answer questions we had about society and the Egyptian way of life. The van was clean, comfortable and air conditioned with a driver that made you feel safe. Highly recommended, and prices were comparable to vendors in town.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

Jim B
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The tour was a small group - myself and one other person. The guide was very knowledgeable, and added some extra stops that weren't on the main itinerary, based on what both of us wanted to see.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

A fascinating city with a rich relationship with the sea. A story we'll told by your guides.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Very good overall. On time and safe driver. Could not have ask for more

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Our tour guide was excellent. Be ready for a long drive but a fun day. The agency picked us up at our hotel and were on time and very accommodating.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Our Egyptian guide was superb. He was cordial and very knowledgeable. We had a great time!

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

We had a fantastic day & could not have asked for a better guide or driver. Even though there was quite a drive from Cairo to Alexandria, it is a great way to see some of the countryside & to have a rest before all the sightseeing. We loved seeing a different aspect of Egyptian history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Alexandria Day Trip from Cairo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message