Canada ATTRACTIONS See all

Butchart Gardens

The Butchart Gardens put on a sensational floral show year-round, in some of the most magnificent landscaped gardens on the planet. Gardeners and lovers of beauty alike will be inspired and enchanted by these gardens, first established in 1904.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 218 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The bus was awful - no suspension system whatever. I left with back pain! The driver was great. Butchart Gardens was just lovely. There isn't enough in the Victoria part of the tour to warrant the amount of time spent there. The tour is too long. I'd prefer less time in Victoria, less time overall.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

My whole family truly enjoyed Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus. The guide was amazing, friendly, informative, punctual and funny! He was losing his voice but still did a fantastic job! His driving was excellent and he was on point with his timing. Wished we toured Butchart Gardens when it was in full bloom, but still amazing!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Sheldon, is a very enthusiastic guide who appears to be sincerely enjoying what he does.
The Butchart Gardens tour is captivating and we wish that more time is spent there.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great! It was raining and being from the central coast of California we are not used to rain. Navigating the ferry and the rainy roads was better left to the Viatour guide/driver. He was excellent and also informative, accommodating and shared his good sense of humor. We enjoyed the tour of the beautiful Butchart Gardens and the charming city of Victoria albeit a quick look which means we will have to return. Thank you.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We thought the tour was an exceptional value. Guide was very knowledgeable, shared incredible detail on all parts of the trip, and was careful to give specific easily understood instructions about important issues; i.e., details about the ferry and how to relocate the bus when it was time to board, etc. The city of Victoria and Butchart Gardens speak for themselves--simply spectacular beauty. We chose this tour because it offered a packaged single day opportunity to experience Victoria during a longer stay in Vancouver. We were well pleased in every aspect.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Butchart Gardens are stunningly beautiful. The tour was very well organized with great communication on pick up timing and location.
The tour guide Graham was entertaining, informative and very helpful.
We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We found the Driver of the Coach punctual, very approachable and friendly and very good at describing the areas that we visited, in Vancouver and in Victoria.

The Coach was very comfortable and roomy and the awesome trip was all we expected and more. We were thrilled with the amazing Butchart Gardens and enjoyed the many other places which we saw in Victoria. Also, we were very lucky to have had a lovely hot sunny day and the Ferry crossing to Victoria was calm and very clear, for photographs.

Sorry, I do not know how to attach and send photos by email.

Many thanks to our capable, knowledgeable and helpful Driver.

Jen and Rod C.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was one of the best tours we've ever been on. Our guide, Lisa, was superb--she made the long day a lot of fun. We had enough free time at each stop to do our own thing; this is not always a feature of other tours. The ferry ride, the tour of Victoria, and the Butchart Gardens visit were wonderful experiences. We would recommend this tour to anyone planning to visit the Vancouver area, especially if they have Lisa as their guide.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved the tour! We were picked up at our hotel right on time. Our driver, Maryl, was absolutely terrific. She was fun and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the ferry ride, and really liked walking around Victoria. We had time for a nice lunch, shopping, and sitting by the waterfront. We loved Butchart Gardens. They were truly amazing. It was a long, full day but well worth it. We would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Comfortable, relaxing ferry ride. Butchart Gardens is glorious. The James bay Inn where we stayed overnight was quaint, and served very good food. The transportation to and from Butchart made it very convenient, and we learned a lot on the way there and back. Very worthwhile,enjoyable, and enlightening trip!

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely spectacular. The one day tour could not possibly be enough to see all Victoria has to offer. A lovely drive to catch the ferry to Vancouver Island. Mike, our guide, was brilliant giving us non stop information and history of the area without ever sounding dry or tedious! Saw seals and a whale from the ferry. We had a good 2hrs at Butchart Gardens then on to Victoria. Accommodation at Laurel Point was centrally located and comfortable. Flew out of Victoria Harbour at 6pm next day on a twin engine float plane. Smooth flight. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 2-Day Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour with Overnight at the Inn at Laurel Point

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and the guide, Richard was excellent. He made the entire trip very memorable and informative. Would highly recommend to others who want to visit Victoria and Butchart Gardens.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thought that our tour guide/driver was great. Very friendly and knowledgeable. We would have preferred less time in Victoria and more time at Butchart gardens---didn't get there until almost 4 pm and that was the main purpose of the trip.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I was picked up right on time at my hotel, and didn't have to do anything else the rest of the day except enjoy myself. Our driver/guide was Sheldon, and he kept two dozen of us going over quite a long day. With the two ferry trips and two major stops, there was no reason for the group to be stuck together--we could ramble off on our own as we pleased. My only complaint is that as lovely as Butchart Gardens are, I'd have liked a little more time in Victoria itself. When I was brought back to my hotel safe and sound fourteen hours after I'd left it, I knew I'd made a good tour choice.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful trip, but long. Great guide with plenty of local history; pleasant company; great weather; wonderful scenery. Would have preferred more time at Butchart Gardens and about an hour less in the town of Victoria.

Otherwise, a very special day. Great to be picked up at the hotel and returned there after a long day!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

While this is probably the best way to see Victoria and Butchart Gardens if you are in Vancouver without other transport we found that for us it was too much time on ferries and buses. We enjoyed our free time in Victoria but didn't really need all of the time. Butchart Gardens were very nice but would have been much nicer I'm sure earlier in the year (we were there in late September). It also was somewhat smaller than we expected and again we did not need all of the time allowed. Overall it was an okay tour but we certainly would not do it again.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Victoria and Butchart gardens lived up to their reputation it was a wonderful days excursion

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The bus tour from Victoria to Butchart Gardens was one of the best. Buses were comfortable, air conditioned. While driving safely, the drivers entertained us with interesting, humorous dialogue pertaining to what we were passing along the road. Before we knew it, we were there (or back). Mostly, I liked the choice of times we could pick to go and to return. That sense of independence meant a lot. Price was reasonable too.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Everything went off without a hitch. Our guide was at the hotel exactly on time for pick-up. It was a beautiful day. Each activity, from the ferry crossing, to Victoria and on to Butchart Gardens was wonderful. We had plenty of free time at each place. Couldn't have asked for anything more.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Had a wonderful time. The Butchart Gardens were magnificent. Met some lovely people. Craigdarroch Castle was amazing. Everything was so well organised. Thank you.

Doing what: 2-Day Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour with Overnight at the Inn at Laurel Point

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Loved Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Our tour guide Lisa was very fun and knowledgeable. Especially enjoyed the gardens, so beautiful! If you are taking this tour please be prompt! We had one couple on our trip who were late at pick up, and also delayed us while leaving Butchard Gardens, Lisa had to go looking for them! This tour is timed perfectly to make the most of your time, but with a ferry to catch one late passenger can disrupt the whole day, so please be prompt and considerate both to your tour guide and also your fellow passengers!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gorgeous! You have to see this in person. The ferry ride was beautiful and the Butchart gardens is phenomenal. I give the tour guide A++++++

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tour guide was very entertaining and the whole day wonderful.
Loved Victoria and Butchart gardens.
I highly recommend this to anyone.10/10

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour guide was the best (Jeff) and we took a lot of great pictures at Butchart Gardens. What a beautiful place that is. I'd go there again definitely.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Long day, but the pickup and drop off at our hotel made it an easy trip. Enjoyed the free time in Victoria where we had afternoon tea at the Empress Hotel and still had time to do a bit of exploring of the city. The Butchart Gardens were amazingly beautiful. We had already enjoyed the gardens in Stanley Park in Vancouver as well as the Chinese gardens, but these were stunning. Good tour and our tour guide was informative and charming.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message