Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 245 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Spent lots of time watching orcas and humpback whales. Exceeded expectations!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic day. The crew are brilliant and very informative. We saw lots of whales on the trip out and on our return which was an added bonus. Victoria and Butchart Gardens are very beautiful places which made the day even more memorable.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We really e joyed our trip. It took a few hours to find the whales. It was well worth the wait. Amazing once in a lifetime experience. I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour. We made new friends on the boat and shared dinner a few nights later. Great staff who were friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long day but well worth it, we got to see 3 different type of whales . Our driver Yves was superb

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Let me tell you, just getting to go on this tour was an adventure in itself. Knowing what I know now I would not book this through Viator but would instead go directly to Prince of Whales to book this tour. We arrived on Friday morning and planned to take this on Saturday morning, not being familiar with the area we decided to walk to the hotel mentioned in the brochure to see how long it would take us to get there from where we stayed. Glad we did. We had booked through Viator a good 4 months prior because we really wanted to do this tour, we even received daily reminders as the trip got closer that we need to remember our voucher. Yet we got to the place only to discover that Viator never made the reservations and the tour that day was full. This could've totally destroyed the Vancouver part of the trip as we were looking forward to the whale watching and seeing the gardens which was why we booked so far in advance. The staff of Prince of Whales was very apologetic and helpful and at least fortunately were able to get us on a boat the following day which still worked out okay for us. We saw a lot of Orcas and got some great pictures, the gardens were beautiful, my recommendation would be that as soon as you are done with the whales go directly to the gardens as there is a lot to see and you really won't want to miss it. The people on Prince of Whales were outstanding and showed us a great time. We ran into a problem at the end as the boat meant to take us back to Vancouver had mechanical problems and was too damaged to take us back, but the owner of the company came out to meet us and ensure us that he would take care of us. He got us on a bus which then got on the ferry to Vancouver. He even paid for all of us to have the dinner buffet on him for the trouble we had gone through. It is nice to see someone back up their company. Wish Viator would've have done that. Highly, highly recommend doing this tour.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Whale watching with Prince of Whales was awesome. Great crew, knowledgeable and fun. It was super exciting to get up close and personal to the whales and the crew was just as excited To see them as we were. Butchard gardens was gorgeous. It is a long, tiring day but what a day
Well with the money!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had our 6 year old with us and went in the open cruise. Just that in itself was exhilarating, my son saying it was the best ride he's ever been on and giggled the whole way. Then seeing the beautiful Orcas was totally amazing. We also saw an eagle, some turkey vultures and some seals too.

Doing what: Best Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Incredible experience....We were late getting to the plane but were able to take the next flight and meet our whale watch group on time. The whales were out and about and our guide Brad was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely use this site to book in the future.

Doing what: Best Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It's a great tour even if you don't get to see the whales. Our driver/guide Yves told us so much about country and landscape and wheles, and his sense of humor is fenomenal. But we also got to see lots of whelesBeluga, Minkie, Fin and whole colony of grey Seals.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour. Lots of whales. Gardens awesome . Great value for the price.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an amazing adventure with an expert guide who knew all about the wildlife we saw. From the bald eagles, sea lions, seals and orcas our guide offered detailed explanation about everything. The captain maintained his appropriate distance from the whales while other whale watching boats chased or maintained less than an appropriate distance from them. Within 27 minutes the whales were in sight. Amazing. The captain and guide Rob and Ryan I think could not have been better. Would do it again.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely perfect ... staff, boat, whale watching ... cannot recommend highly enough!

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Tour guide/driver was very knowledgeable and provided some great insights into the history of Vancouver and Victoria. The BC ferry ride was excellent and we even saw whales during the ride

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Absolutely beautiful place to visit in Victoria. Do not miss this place when you visit Vancouver. The bus ride was long. The ferry ride to Victoria is 1.5 hrs to and from Vancouver, but was wonderful. Saw several whales!

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved it - all went seamlessly , just make sure you contact Harbour air early and carry a photo ID ...

But overall 5 Star, would recommend to anyone who wants to go whale watching and if you do get the chance grab the co-pilots seat often offered to passengers on full flights

Doing what: Best Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing day and stunning experience... The 3 hours drive on the bus to get there was not boring at all thanks to the driver who shared a lot of fun facts and the trip on the zodiac itself was just perfect: we saw a lot of whales very closely! 10/10 would recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent trip. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable and LOTS of whales. A beautiful day. The local tour company and their employees seems to genuinely care about planet stewardship and promotes this in many ways. The new covered catamaran is awesome.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding tour experience from scheduling to actual trip. Professionally done all the way through the hole experience. Will highly recommend to friends and family members.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I surprised my wife with a Journey that upheld everything and more.
Firstly the Staff at the seaplane terminal were impeccable and they also allowed us earlier flight due to availability. The flight over to Victoria faultless. Victoria Spectacular only wish we had of organised an overnight stay.
Whale watching Breath taking and the staff again were The Best. Thank you Corey for the passion of your job it is infectious.
Thank you again for a wonderful memory never to be forgotten.
Helen and Rod

Doing what: Best Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This trip was wonderful, and the captain of the boat took us to the place where we would see lots of whales... and we did

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent boat and tour guide. Captain worked hard to get us to sightings. A little pricey and unfortunately few whales but that is always a gamble.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic day. Pleasant bus ride with knowledgeable driver. Very efficient system to transfer to boat. Great guide on boat, terrific commentary on whale habitat, environment, climate, etc.. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was great. The food was great. There were many whales to be seen, however I did not see any more than their fins and sometimes their tales when they dove. This boat does not take you very close to the whales. I would recommend this trip for your first time whale watching. It was a great experience and definitely worth the five hour drive!

Doing what: Rivière-du-Loup Day Trip and Whale-Watching Cruise from Montreal

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour planned and areas visited on the day to ensure that we got to see whales - this did involve some travel further out. Although the day was cold we got to see whales and other wildlife along the way.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Beautiful historic building for hotel, no air conditioning, famous tea and wiifii not included, garden was ok, loved the sea plane, lots of tourist type shopping, ferry ride was nice, but no whales seen.

Doing what: Best Viator Exclusive: 2-day Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour with Overnight at The Fairmont Empress

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message