Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 293 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Couldn't be better! Viewed many whales at a close range as well as seals, sea lions and a lonely sea otter. The 50 passenger boat was very comfortable with great viewing. Extra warm clothing was also provided. Staff was knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Pat P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Professional staff and very accommodating. The boat was top notch and they tried everything to make the whales appear this day but no luck. We did see amazing wildlife in birds,seals, and otter. The naturalist on board gave a very interesting talk on the whales, birds and other wildlife. Came away with a greater appreciation of shore animals.

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

Debby P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a nice tour with Five Star Whale watching. They were professional and I liked the boat, because when it gets cold you can sit inside. Also at end of trip you might be tired and you can rest. Was not a great sightings day, but we did see three Killer Whales one was a baby. We saw one meinke whale far off. No guarantees with nature, but I had a very good trip with them. Highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

ayledramos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I'm giving this tour a 5 star rating, because of the effort and the dedication of the staff, right from the beginning. We took the shuttle option. The shuttle was right on time, just remember to confirm with the company. Our Shuttle driver, Trevor, was fun and kept us awake with trivia questions. Did not know that the location of this place is just in front of the Set of 'Storybrook' of the TV Show Once Upon a Time. This was a super plus for me, being a huge fan of the show. This tour was so well organized. They offer jackets, should you need it. The vessel was super clean and comfortable, with huge windows. They give you a granola bar, and all the bottled water you wish. We got to see sea lions, and bald eagles. This was the frustrating part: We did not see Orcas in this journey. The staff did their best to find them, and we understood that this is not their fault. At first we did not get to see any whales at all, and we were heading back to base and they were going to hand us a rain-check voucher that did not expire. I was so frustrated, because its very likely that I was not visiting Vancouver for a long time. But then, out of NOWHERE, the vessel made a U-Turn. They received information that they saw Humpbacks Whales. Yay!! We saw two, and followed them for around 45 minutes. We saw them really close. We were in our journey for about 5-6 hours. The ride itself is fun. So, A for the staff!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great company and got to see a mother and baby whale breaching water together. Recommend bridge camera or better to get the shots in

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Marsha D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Good value for the money. Couldn't have asked for better tour guides than Alain and also the naturalist on the boat. And the whales put on quite a show!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience, highly recommend it while in Victoria, definitely the highlight of our trip, we got to see a humpback whale the only down size is we were a bit sore the next day but it was well worth the few aches and pains! we did sit in the front row of the boat which is the most bumpy but the ocean conditions were a bit rougher than normal the day we went, regardless we would do it again!

Doing what: Zodiac Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Ioi Kuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We saw two different types of whales, the humpback and the killer whale, the tour guide was friendly and told us a lot about whales and also the area. Very nice experience!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Heather T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding devotion from this group. We had to travel further than usual to see the whales and that's exactly what this group did. The boat was very comfortable and the scenery was beautiful. The crew was more than happy to answer any questions and willing to go the extra distance. We saw numerous whales and as the crew quickly identified them we got to hear great stories about these amazing whales, including a whale that was 105 years old! It was a chilly day so I definitely recommend dressing in layers. They have places to store bags or extra coats if you don't end up needing them.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

kate.belec

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My bad for choosing the first day of the cruise...very few whales to watch! My friends were delighted....novices. Every thing else very good-bus,boat, and interesting observations on bus and boat.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Denise G

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour guide, ride in the countryside and we were able to see whales. Overall a great tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Jackiemcg United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I enjoyed this tour. The crew was very knowledgeable and friendly. The boat was very clean and comfortable. We saw puffins, one humpback whale, otters, and eagles. My only disappointment was not seeing an orca. The crew said that there had been sightings the day before but we were out of luck today. I was glad that I knew ahead of time that this was a possibility so I was not entirely disappointed.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

susan j

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Unfortunately the weather was rainy and very cold on June 8th. After 4 hours we saw a couple of seals ,a glimpse of a hump back whale and an eagle in the far distance.Most passengers were far to cold despite the blankets to make this an enjoyable experience . The guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

TravellingSolo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ian, the zodiac pilot was fab, very knowledgeable. We saw loads of whale action from Mum and her calf. Excellent trip. Ian also played around in the wake of another boat on the way out to see the whales so a bit of a thrill ride too, if only we could have done more of that too. If I'm in the area again I would definitely go out again in a Zodiac with SpringTide. Thanks

Doing what: Victoria Whale-Watching Tour by Zodiac

Laura H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Some of the drivers were not as friendly but for the most part, they were interesting, funny and friendly. The information was interesting and the trolleys came at good intervals. The Aquarium was fun, I really loved the snakes! The Beluga whale program was very fun to watch. The lookout deck was an excellent view of the city.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour, Lookout Observation Deck and Vancouver Aquarium Combo

Debbie K

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Unfortunately we were out on the boat for greater than 6 hours but we did get to see some whales :
Overall a good trip but the seats on the boat are not made for long trips :

Doing what: Steveston Whale-Watching Adventure

glowlite

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was April 10th and unfortunately we did not see whales. We did see many bald eagles, sea lions, and seals. The tour lasted too long as the futile search lingered. They did offer a future tour and perhaps we will return some day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an fantastic tour. We were on the last tour of the season and the weather was not co-operating but our captain and crew did an outstanding job. We did see multiple whales and got some great pictures. We would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Winifred D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a bucket list dream. We saw tons of whales and the captain and crew made the trip extremely interesting and fun

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Aiman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely with friendly staff and great Whale watching. The weather was excellent and the tour was done very professionally.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great experience for us and enjoyed being able to see so many different whales, seals, etc.
We would do it again.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message