Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

i would highly recomend this company trip. the water in the morgning was to rough to go out, but they rebooked us for the aftenoon trip. our guide anna was very imformative through out the outing. she went around asking if nayone had questions and was very informed about whales as she was studying in this field. ouyr captain took us to spots were there were other sealife after seeing whales. we spent a good period of time with the whales always keeping our distance to respect the whales comfort zone. i would highly recomend this trip. mrs jean kathleen rioux hammond

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We saw whales after going out about 30-45 minutes. Suddenly there they were! Swimming, playing! Beautiful! We watched for about an hour. Our captain called to other ships to let them know we were seeing them, and they came too. I tho't it was nice that he shared that info. He went somewhat out of his way to show us another big male that was further away, and we watched him too. We saw sea lions, bald eagles, cormorants, seals. It was so enjoyable, it is a highlight.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent trip! Water was perfect - saw blue whales, belugas, porpoises, seals and minke whales. Very professional and felt very safe. Would definitely do it again!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I wish this tour either returned to Vancouver earlier to included more to do in Victoria. They have you there eight hours, but the whale watching is only three of that.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a must do. Go early so you can spend the day on Vancouver Island. What an experience watching the boats in and out of the harbour and even the whales as they come up for air. Landing on water is such an incredible experience thanks for arranging things for us well worth the money spent

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Door to Door Service from your Hotel. A local taxi (shuttle bus) will pick you up and drive you to Chateau Frontenac to board a picturesque coach tour from Chateau Frontenac (Musee du Fort) along the picturesque St-Lawrence Northern coast line directly to your destination of Baie Sainte-Catherine. The coach driver (Yves) provides a humourous informative monologue along the way with a 20 minute stop for "weewee-wawa" and an opportunity to grab a fresh snack from a cheese factory. Boarding the "GRANDE FLEUVE" boat in Baie-Sainte Catherine for a three hour whale watching cruise a Naturalist-Guide will provide commentary on the variety of whales (along with their personalised names such as "tic-tac-toe" and "Snowhite") including Minke, Fin, Humpback and Beluga which we saw on our tour. Before returning to shore we also were provided a tour of the Tadoussac Fjord where we saw Belugas exiting the bay. Viator made the full day tour a ballanced blend of relaxing and very exciting. I highly recommend this tour with Viator.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great experience from start to finish. Enjoyed the guided tour during the scenic bus trip. Despite some rainy weather the whale watching experience in the zodiac was fantastic!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour to Victoria was a complete success! Everything went smoothly from the early morning hotel pick-up to the BC ferry ride (such a huge ship with all the cars and trucks!) to our next day pick-up from our Victoria hotel to Butchart Gardens. We had the afternoon for lunch, the waterfront sights and still time to ride the get-on-get-off bus ( good for 24 hours so our tickets were valid from 2pm that day until 2pm the next! actually 2 days for the price of one!) We were able to see ALL of Victoria and then the next morning to ride the little yellow water taxi in the harbour for a waterfront perspective.We had enough time that afternoon in the fabulous gardens and were easily directed to the dock where the "Prince of Whales" was waiting. On our trip back to Vancouver, we actually got to see 4 orcas. Because they swam around the boat for quite a while, it seemed like there were many more! We were very happy to have the experience, The guide promised to send email photos and she did! They were much closer than what I was able to take. All in all, a fine trip to a beautiful city! Did I mention the flower baskets everywhere???

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a wonderful trip and want to do it again on a nice day!! The fog was kind of thick and we couldn't see much, but the pilot of the boat and the people on it made it fun anyways. We did see whales which was great. The bus trip to the boat was great. The driver knows customer service, was funny and entertaining.

I gave this a 5 star as the Viator is the way to go. Really enjoyed this.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The whales were incredible and our guides were lovely--charming and knowledgeable. The only downside was being so rushed in both Victoria and Buchart Gardens. For the price, during the summer when the days are long, I think we should have had at least another hour in each spot. If we'd headed back to Vancouver at 7 instead of 9 it would have made all the difference in my abitlity to really relax and enjoy both locations.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The pick up was on time and good information. The boat tour guide did not know English so only spoke in French . He did not care to explain to English speaking people. He steered the boat on ione side. Our side never got a chance to stand up and take pictures. It was easily possible to turn the boat. Whales were great without any comentatry we felt lost.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved every minute and can't wait to come back.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Joan
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great crew and spectacular whale sighting. Could have spent more time watching them

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Although it was cold and a bit rainy well worth the adventure. The excursion started with a 3 yr transport ride in a small bus. The driver, Yves, was excellent. Great personality and brimming with information. Because we had a limited number of passengers he was able to take some side trips along the way, including a stop at a diary farm to purchase organic cheeses and meats which we had onboard for lunch. Delicious! The scenery was great and I would have paid for just the bus ride. The boat was comfortable and plenty of narration by onboard staff who pointed out a number of whales. We saw plenty of whales that day so no worries on spotting whales. Highly recommend this excursion. Viator made it easy to book and answered all my questions.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Excellent--pick up times and Guide (also friendly and informative)
Moderate--I had expected from your adverts that we would visit more sites and spend whole day travelling--instead we were dumped in Whistler for 5 hours and because it was a Bank Holiday were overwhelmed by people (not your problem) and so gondola was not running for general public. Since we had but one spare day in Vancouver I feel that we could have had a more rewarding trip Whale watching or similar. I suggest that you tailor the trip to visit as many as possible locations during the day to cater for short period visitors. That said the scenery was fantastic. Cheers

Doing what: Whistler Small Group Day Trip from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message