Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We saw over 30 whales from J and K pods!!! Crew was very knowledgeable and friendly... agreat combination.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommend this tour company. The captain goes out of his way to find the whales, and the wildlife guide will explain and answer any of your questions. Great trip!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved it!!! We were very lucky our driver was actually a naturalist ,who had previously worked on the whale tours himself. He was able to take the whale tour with us , which was great since he was much better at spotting whales than us!! It was a long day ,but it went by very fast .We saw beluga, minke and fin whales. Also a few harp seals. We felt lucky that we saw so many ,since it is not a guarantee to see any at all really. The big boat was comfortable and the weather was good ,a little cool but tolerable. Next time maybe we'll try a zodiac!! The staff and naturalist on the boat were all very friendly and knowledgeable . It did add
to the day to have a driver who was as excited and enthusiastic for the whale watch as we were . The drive to and from the marine park was scenic , we stopped half way there for breaks and the bus was relatively comfortable. It was a great a day, we really enjoyed both of our tours while in Quebec. Our drivers/tour guides were both knowledgeable and witty ,they added to the fun. Definitely would do it again!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY,WE SAW PODS OF KILLER WHALES AND TWO HUMPBACKS,

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour itself was very exciting. We saw about 20 whale and 3 different species. A very unique experience!What I was very disappointed in was the bus driver who put our lives in danger by making a cell phone call while driving a large coach bus and what made it worse was that it was in rainy and foggy conditions. Shame on him!!!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great day! Our tour guide and driver Yves was knowledgeable and friendly, making a long bus ride there and back far more enjoyable. We had booked this trip in advance and ended up with rain and fog, so worried we might not get to see much. We were pleasantly surprised to spot 6 minke whales and scores of seals. Also a lovely surprise was the fjord tour, a beautiful landscape. We would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Entire trip was excellent. Naturalist on board was very informative. We DID see whales as we were approaching Victoria. So majestic - so beautiful. Besides choppy seas of which we were forewarned it was an excellent trip. We will have to go back to the Butchart Gardens - too much to see - needed more time. The entire layout was well planned except for needing more time to see all the lovely locations. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day, well run and organised. Spent an adequate amount of time observing the whales and their behaviours. Good information provided by our guide Joan.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very cold but very enjoyable. Crew took time to find whales and make the trip interesting. They shared a lot of their knowledge about the whales and the families of whales in the area. Kudos to them

Doing what: Victoria Wildlife Historic Sunset Cruise

sharon
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the ferry ride from Victoria to Seattle. It was comfortable sitting at the tables and being served a morning snack at very reasonable prices. As a bonus we saw orca whales in the distance while we were speeding along to Seattle. The trip went very quickly and I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: High-Speed Passenger Ferry From Victoria, British Columbia to Seattle, Washington

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Good tour, seen plenty of mInky whales, fin whale and beluga whales

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I wish we left at earlier and get some more time in Victoria. It's a place worth visiting.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our group of six had a great day on this tour. Saw whales breaching from the ferry. Walk around Victoria was delightful. Great museum. We took the early shuttle to the gardens and were so thankful that we did as we were able to meander slowly and soak it all in. Others who took the later bus had to rush too quickly around Butchart. Gelato at the end was a welcome treat. Bus driver was friendly and informative.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really amazing. We saw 7 whales and the tour was supposed to be foe 3 to 5 hours but the captain of the boat gave enough time when a whale was spotted and we came back after five and half hours. It was real worth the money spent.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience to spend around an hour cruising alongside the whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time we had! Our captain and our host were fantastic. We got to see several Orcas and a Humpback Whale. Was well worth it. We want to do it again! They even included a parking pass!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We definitely saw lots of whales!!! It was a cold, rainy day and our tour guide recommended switching from the zodiac tour to the large boat. We were so happy he did!!! It was even freezing on the deck of the large ship and after an hour we had seen enough whales and went inside to the warmth and hot chocolate.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AWESOME!! Well worth the cost of the tour. Although the boat ride out was cold not their fault, they offered us warm raincoats and blankets and inside seating we chose to sit on the back deck and watch the scenery. We saw seals and whales on our way to Victoria, and otters and seals when they picked us up from the Gardens to return to Vancouver. We enjoyed seeing and shopping in Victoria and had a nice lunch there at a restaurant the naturalist suggested to us. At the end of the day we were tired, but very happy.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour! Starting off in the gorgeous Steveston Village was great, it's such a gorgeous part of Vancouver. Our tour guides got us so close to over a dozen orcas, and let us spend over an hour with them. It was the experience of a lifetime! I've been on another whale watching tour out of Vancouver and this was so much better!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant system - tours have good level of information and easy booking system.
Trip was fantastic - briefly saw two hump back whales but also saw for nearly an hour a pod of orca between 60-70 orca including babies! Tour guide and captain both charming and informative - one surprising aspect was that they hung a sonar device over the side of the boat so we could hear the orca calling to each other .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour with a very experienced, entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Saw many whales, belugas and minkies. The fjords were spectacular. Not to miss.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip on the clipper was interesting. Some smoldering of the wires caused the crew to alert the coast guard and have the passengers wear safety vests most of the voyage. We were met in Seattle by apologetic staff and given a letter to use for a 50 reduction in the cost of our next trip. It was all very professional and geared to safety.
The return trip was similar. High winds changed the clipper route to a long voyage, which was problematic in that i needed to alert my ride that we would be late. This is costly due to international cel phone charges, but, thankfully, possible. When a pod of Orcas almost swam up to the vessel. all was forgotten. Especially when I noticed a baby among the great spirited whales. I appreciated being treated safely.

Doing what: High-Speed Passenger Ferry From Victoria, British Columbia to Seattle, Washington

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Not bad, crews are friendly and responsible, they would not stop searching until we find anything interesting. but the fact is we didn't see too much whales except two humpback, I means that's the point of the trip right? maybe the timing is wrong, maybe it's just unlucky, but I just can't give 5 stars. participate in may 30, 2015

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Bus driver Yves was excellent!! Whale watching was hindered by bad weather.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message