Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed being on the water on a gorgeous Honolulu day. The staff was very friendly and walked around talking to everyone. We only had about 12 people on the boat with us which was real nice. I only give it four stars because we didn't see any whales but we did see a few turtles. They gave us a certificate so that anytime we return we can go on another tour free since we didn't see any whales.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was everything you promised, including brilliant weather. Followed a pod of killer whales for at least 40 minutes. Would highly recommend your tour.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely spectacular. The one day tour could not possibly be enough to see all Victoria has to offer. A lovely drive to catch the ferry to Vancouver Island. Mike, our guide, was brilliant giving us non stop information and history of the area without ever sounding dry or tedious! Saw seals and a whale from the ferry. We had a good 2hrs at Butchart Gardens then on to Victoria. Accommodation at Laurel Point was centrally located and comfortable. Flew out of Victoria Harbour at 6pm next day on a twin engine float plane. Smooth flight. Highly recommended!

Doing what: 2-Day Victoria Tour from Vancouver including Butchart Gardens

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. The naturalist was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable. She made sure to spend time with every guest. The boat got close enough for photos but not so close that it interfered with the wildlife.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely brilliant in every way! As a first time Brit visitor to Canada this completed a wonderful trip and exceeded all my expectations!! From the knowledge of Karl our naturalist and the skill of John our skipper when locating the array of wildlife we saw...... to killer whales diving under our super-fast Zodiac ( JUST EXACTLY like the pics!)....this amazing experience is not to missed........I am carrying the memories still from weeks ago.....and smiling still at the wonderful pictures in my head( and on my I.pad!)

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We went October 3rd. We were afraid it was going to be too late in the season to see whales, but we were wrong! We saw 3 different species, beluga, minke and humpback plus lots of seals. The entire tour was excellent. The bus ride from Quebec City to the boat and back was breathtaking. Driver was great.

We had just left a 10 day cruise and this was the best tour we were had during the whole trip! This was my first Viator excursion and we will definitely be using you again.

Thank you for such a great memory.
Kelly and Richard

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out and well worth the money! The tour guide who picked us up from our respective hotels in the morning and drove us to our destination was funny and informative along the way. The time spent out on the water - 3 hours - absolutely flew past and we were very fortunate to have incredible weather conditions. Clear blue skies, blinding sun and calm waters. During the 3 hours we spotted Beluga, Minke, Humpback and Blue whales. To see a tiny fraction of the biggest mammals on earth in its natural environment was incredible and unforgettable. We also watched in awe and jealousy as a Blue whale unexpectedly surfaced extremely close to one of the other boats. But that's the luck of the draw, and you're watching wild animals. Understand that you may only catch glimpses of the whales, and from a distance. For me, however small a sighting, I felt very fortunate to be there to witness it.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I went on the big boat rather than the zodiac. It was a terrific adventure, and the guide on the boat shared lots of details about whales and sea life - in both English and French.

I saw minke and humpback whales, and a curious seal, but no belugas. Someone I met went on a different day and saw lots of beluga and minke whales but no humpback whales. The fun was in scanning the waters, everyone quiet, everyone searching. There was a burst of excitement when a whale was spotted.

Sadly, I didn't get a photo of a whale, but did get photos of the beautiful scenery. And, I have many happy memories. I saw whales!!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I would have given this a 5 star but there was very little English spoken on the boat. I would say it was ninety percent French. The bus driver spoke a lot of English and French so we learned a lot on the way up. We saw many whales which was very exciting.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the experience! Even though it was a cold and blustery day and we saw only one whale that kept eluding us, we really enjoyed going out on the zodiac and seeing the fjord. We plan on returning to Tadoussac next year and visiting the area. The bus driver Allan was great, he was friendly, spoke both french and english for us, stopped for us to get a few pictures and made sure we had what we needed before our tour and that we were comfortable.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

IAIN M
Ireland

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

On a boat for 5 hours, freezing and wet. No toilet and unfortunately no sighting of whales. Also no offer of a refund from the tour operator.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The trip to the whale watching trip was interesting though the guide, Alian, didn't go back and forth from French to English easily. It seemed like he was saying different details inFrench than in English. The zodiac turned out miserable. We could not hear the guide at all and the protective suits provided no protection. We had had a previous similar trip in another area, the suits were much more waterproof. When the people on the large boat had complains about not hearing and not seeing anything. It was definitely a waste of money and time.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was an excellent experience, well organised and informative, as well as successful. we saw a humpback whale, and two pods of Orcas!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Whale Watching in "Vancouver" was wonderful! But first of all, I've to say that this tour does not depart from Vancouver. They leave from Steveston, Richmond which is about 25 minutes from downtown Vancoucer (by Canada Line). Once you arrive in Richmond you should take a bus to Steveston (about 10 Minutes) and you'll end up in a small, very cute fishing village called Steveston. It is right by the sea and a very interesting place (if you like the tv show "Once Upon A Time" which is filming there). Anyway the office is easy to find and once we registered we got our coats and boarding pass! We left from the harbour and I'm not sure exactly but I think the tour was 3 - 4h long. We cruised toward the island toward the open sea and watched the Orcas from a respectable distance though they sometimes swam close to our boat on its own. It's a little hard to tell where they might surface sometimes! The staff was really friendly and we got lots of information about the wildlife, the orcas and Vancouver and the surrounding area. We had the chance to watch Orcas in their natural habitat. We also watched them fishing for salmon which was great thing to watch!
I enjoyed it a lot and I'd always do it again!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Absolutely brilliant day out! The 3-hour bus ride to St Catherine seemed like a chore initially, but our driver Yves made it very interesting (and funny!). The whale-watching was wonderful - we got to see humpback whales and seals :) I would do this again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message