Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew D

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Sadly, as late in the season we saw no whales, but got a free return trip, which we took, but still no whales, however the captain made certain we got to see turtles swimming, the crew were great fun and very knowledgable, so we still learnt plenty, despite the no show. You can't control nature.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

glowlite

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was April 10th and unfortunately we did not see whales. We did see many bald eagles, sea lions, and seals. The tour lasted too long as the futile search lingered. They did offer a future tour and perhaps we will return some day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

scott m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

GREAT TIME DID NOT SEE ANY WHALES BUT THEY WILL GIVE YOU A VOUCHER TO COME AGAIN THE BOAT GUIDES WERE AWESOME

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Rhonda W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The boat captain and his crew were very nice. We were able to see some humpbacks which was pretty cool!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

bakerbob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our driver was part of the crew and he was very friendly. The whole crew was friendly and helpful. The boat ride was refreshing and we had a great time even though we didn't see any whales. It was a bit late in the season so it was harder to find the whales. The captain saw some whales and tried to catch up to them but was unable to catch them. We were given a voucher for a return trip at out convenience. Overall a good time!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

DSLyles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Nice boat ride, fun crew, but no whales and no information about whales given.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

backwardup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour operators were great. Ship clean and comfortable. Only problem was we saw no whales which was not their fault, however, we did receive a voucher for another trip that is good for several years. Pickup and drop off at hotel was an added bonus. Would definitely do this again!!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Ronald O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This activity was awesome. The crew could not be nicer or more helpful. I will do it again on my next visit to Hawaii. On a negative point, I was over charged for the trip and the time of the trip has changed. Viator needs to contact the company to get updated information.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately, we did get the notification of the schedule change for this tour as a result of your booking. We have sent over the information to our Product Support Department to be updated on our Website. We apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused, but we hope that you otherwise had an excellent time on your trip, and we wish you Happy Travels.

dkschoner

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Nice catamaran, with fully stocked bar downstairs, what a surprise. View of the water, city and diamond head were beautiful. Would have like to have had more communication from crew. Nothing abut the whales, how far out we were, how deep the water is, etc. The crew didn't seem interested in the clients. No notice of when we were nearing time to turn around, would have liked to been on a tour that was at least an hour longer. We saws whales, mostly in the far distance, a couple close up. Enjoyed seeing the majestic whales and be in the see breeze. Nice day.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Dominik F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Friendly staff, great Snacks and perfect whale watching - Thank you!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an fantastic tour. We were on the last tour of the season and the weather was not co-operating but our captain and crew did an outstanding job. We did see multiple whales and got some great pictures. We would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Winifred D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a bucket list dream. We saw tons of whales and the captain and crew made the trip extremely interesting and fun

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Aiman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely with friendly staff and great Whale watching. The weather was excellent and the tour was done very professionally.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great experience for us and enjoyed being able to see so many different whales, seals, etc.
We would do it again.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Amy D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, a great trip! The tour does a good job of doing it's best to find whales although its never a guarantee. We went in August and were fortunate to see many whales and seals! It's a full day and we thoroughly enjoyed the bus ride there. It's a beautiful spot and the tour guide gave a great commentary on the way. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because upon arriving to take the whale tour, there was a lot of waiting around with little to no communication. It was very hot, and we stood around waiting for instruction for at least an hour until boarding the boat. Other than that, great day!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sara S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The bus tour was awesome, the tour guide was very entertaining and fluent in both French and English
The tour guide on the boat only translated a fraction of the information, but it was still interesting and we saw many minkey whales, belugas and seals.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour to see the whales. We saw two pods of orcas and a humpback whale. The boat was very comfortable and the guide was awesome. Glad we brought our lunch because we were out for 6 hours. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Roberta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great bus driver, Yves, who was very knowledgeable about the area we were driving through and what we could expect form our sea loving creatures. He was also able to take us through small towns because we had a small bus so got to see more of the beautiful coastline. We got to see 3 different types of whales and a large pod of sea lions. The water was calm was it was easy going. It was the first whale watching trip I had taken and it was wonderful. I would do it again, next time in the Zodiac boats..

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Stephan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was just perfect! The shuttle was perfectly in time, the driver Levi was sooo nice and gave us a little complimentary sightseeing tour on the way from Vancouver to Steveston.
The trip with the boat took 6 hours, we saw orcas, humpback whales, sea lions, seals, eagles and everything promised.
The included snack is a granola bar, that was really a little snack.
But all in all it was just amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Robeert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic in every way. Saw lots of whales, great guides, great weather. The smaller boat was definitely the way to go.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

ELEFTHERIOS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

IT WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE , NOT TO BE MISSED. EVEN THOUGH THE BOATWAS ON ITS WAY BACK WHEN WE WERE INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A GROUP OF WHALES IT RETURNED AND WE WERE PRESENT CLOSE UP TO A FEW METRES AT THEM WHILE THEY WERE HUNTING.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message