Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

WORTH EVERY PENNY,WE SAW PODS OF KILLER WHALES AND TWO HUMPBACKS,

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was really amazing. We saw 7 whales and the tour was supposed to be foe 3 to 5 hours but the captain of the boat gave enough time when a whale was spotted and we came back after five and half hours. It was real worth the money spent.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing experience to spend around an hour cruising alongside the whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great time we had! Our captain and our host were fantastic. We got to see several Orcas and a Humpback Whale. Was well worth it. We want to do it again! They even included a parking pass!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We definitely saw lots of whales!!! It was a cold, rainy day and our tour guide recommended switching from the zodiac tour to the large boat. We were so happy he did!!! It was even freezing on the deck of the large ship and after an hour we had seen enough whales and went inside to the warmth and hot chocolate.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AWESOME!! Well worth the cost of the tour. Although the boat ride out was cold not their fault, they offered us warm raincoats and blankets and inside seating we chose to sit on the back deck and watch the scenery. We saw seals and whales on our way to Victoria, and otters and seals when they picked us up from the Gardens to return to Vancouver. We enjoyed seeing and shopping in Victoria and had a nice lunch there at a restaurant the naturalist suggested to us. At the end of the day we were tired, but very happy.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing tour! Starting off in the gorgeous Steveston Village was great, it's such a gorgeous part of Vancouver. Our tour guides got us so close to over a dozen orcas, and let us spend over an hour with them. It was the experience of a lifetime! I've been on another whale watching tour out of Vancouver and this was so much better!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant system - tours have good level of information and easy booking system.
Trip was fantastic - briefly saw two hump back whales but also saw for nearly an hour a pod of orca between 60-70 orca including babies! Tour guide and captain both charming and informative - one surprising aspect was that they hung a sonar device over the side of the boat so we could hear the orca calling to each other .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour with a very experienced, entertaining and knowledgeable guide. Saw many whales, belugas and minkies. The fjords were spectacular. Not to miss.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The trip on the clipper was interesting. Some smoldering of the wires caused the crew to alert the coast guard and have the passengers wear safety vests most of the voyage. We were met in Seattle by apologetic staff and given a letter to use for a 50 reduction in the cost of our next trip. It was all very professional and geared to safety.
The return trip was similar. High winds changed the clipper route to a long voyage, which was problematic in that i needed to alert my ride that we would be late. This is costly due to international cel phone charges, but, thankfully, possible. When a pod of Orcas almost swam up to the vessel. all was forgotten. Especially when I noticed a baby among the great spirited whales. I appreciated being treated safely.

Doing what: High-Speed Passenger Ferry From Victoria, British Columbia to Seattle, Washington

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Not bad, crews are friendly and responsible, they would not stop searching until we find anything interesting. but the fact is we didn't see too much whales except two humpback, I means that's the point of the trip right? maybe the timing is wrong, maybe it's just unlucky, but I just can't give 5 stars. participate in may 30, 2015

Doing what: Victoria Whale Watch Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Bus driver Yves was excellent!! Whale watching was hindered by bad weather.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very enjoyable day. Very well organized , we could have done with some info before we got there about the hop on bus and whale watching tours to maximize our day . Never the less we had a lovely day with a super lunch at the Empress.

Doing what: Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We didn't see any whales there, but we did get to see the lone wolf on Chatam Island which was cool. We did see a pod of Orcas which was nice. If you have kids with you, I would advise against this trip as the three and half hours there and same on the way back was too much for our teeenage son. There was one naturalist on board, Wilma, that was fantastic and really made our trip great.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic. We saw 2 pods of orca whales, even saw a breach (I think that's the term). I would definitely go again. I thought we'd be closer to them, but I understand they are wild, not tracked, animals.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

I was nice , but i was expecting see more whales I got the chance to only see 2.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour was great, however we completely missed our scheduled time and had to reorganize the rest of our trip due to viator's egregious error. The email sent to us said 1:45 when in fact the tour left at 1:15. The company (prince of whales) has said this has happened to multiple people with viator

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Victoria and Butchart Gardens Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely loved this whole experience. Everything ran very smoothly and even if we hadn't seen a whale, the zodiac boat ride was fantastic on it's own. Probably would have liked a little longer in Victoria even though we booked the earliest seaplane from Vancouver and the latest one available from Victoria.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Overall the boat was good, and we did see one humpback whale, even though that was not on the chart for the month. So the trip was disappointing. We did see seals and sea lions. Also, due to the duration, we had expected more arrangements on snacks. The website did say snacks would be provided. Some more description that it was only an energy bar would have helped us prepare for it better by getting our own food.
But I should add that the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. I emailed them twice to change the date of my trip. They were ignored. I emailed them to ask what time they were picking me up from my hotel as indicated by my booking. They ignored that email as well. I range them and they told me that they didn't collect from my hotel. Thankfully they came to collect me in the end. The shuttle driver ignored me because he thought I didn't speak England as I'm Spanish. Then he was indulging in quite a xenophobic rethoric while conversing with the British tourists although he was clearly from foreign descent. We went on our trip and we didn't see any whales. They gave us a voucher to go again for free. I most likely won't ever go back to Vancouver. What a waste of time and money!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent crew and tour!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the highlight of our trip. Crew was great and very knowledgeable. Dave, Barry, and Shannon went out of there way to make our afternoon a memorable one. We saw lots of dolphins and about 10 whales. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

They showed up to pick us up at our hotel exactly when they said they would. Staff was light-hearted yet courteous. Several folks on board got seasick, but they handled that well. We saw several whales while we were out.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great crew, a lot of fun on this tour. There were drinks available for purchase and the crew was very friendly and knowledgable. We saw several sightings of humpback whales. Overall a great time.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message