• USD ($)
  • English
Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We saw so many Whales, we could not count them all. Also saw some Dolphins and a monk sea lion (which are going extinct). Our captain and his helper really made us feel comfortable.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

When booking our trip we looked at many different options. We were very excited to find Oahu Whale-Watching Excursions which seemed to be a more intimate setting. Captains Josh and Dan were absolutely fantastic. As soon as we left the harbor we saw whales and dolphins playing in the distance. Josh and Dan were very knowledgeable and just as excited to be there as we were. The smaller boat proved to be a much better experience versus the larger "dinner/whale" boat cruses we have booked in the past. Snacks and drinks were provided. Josh and Dan would get as close as they legally could to the whales and turn the boat off to drift when the whales ventured too close.
This was a very wonderful experience and we would suggest Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion to anyone looking for a more "real" adventure vs the larger cattle call Whale watching tours out there.

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The guys that took on this excursion really knew what they were doing. The weather wasn't great but they could spot the whales and point them out to us in time to see them. What fun we had. Thanks Josh and Dan!

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Expensive for what it was

Doing what: Oahu Whale-Watching Excursion

Richard L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

First time on a seaplane, and what a great experience! Cloudless blue sky, not a breath of wind and sitting next to the pilot - what's not to like? The journey from Vancouver to Victoria was about 40 minutes with superb clear-as-a-bell views over north and west Vancouver, Vancouver Island and the approach into Victoria harbour. I didn't realise that Victoria is the capital of British Colombia, but it is. After spending a few hours in the city, there was a 40 minutes coach drive to the BC Ferries terminal at Sydney, then a 90 minutes boat journey back to south Vancouver. An added bonus was seeing a pod of 6 'killer' whales pass by the ferry boat on the starboard side. This was a great trip and one I would highly recommend, although maybe I wouldn't have said that if the wind had been high or visibility not so good.

Doing what: Victoria by Seaplane and Ferry from Vancouver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed it very well! It was something new and exciting to attend. We'll organized, seen three different types of whales! Highly recommended!!!!! Would return if we had the chance to.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A long day but well worth to get out amongst the whales.Great trip from start to finish.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour. We saw a number of whales. Our guide was excellent. We thoroughtly enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise with Expert Naturalists

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Despite terrible visibility we had a great trip with our coach driver Yves pointing out anything we could see from the window through the mist and amazing us with his linguistic gymnastics - switching from french to english several times in one sentence! The trip on the zodiac was equally full of effort to find a whale somewhere in the fog and the driver seemed as pleased as us when he could finally show us a humpback whale. Excellent!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Easy pick up arrangements, interesting journey to and from Baie St Catherine, excellent driver/tour guide then the piece-de-resistance being the amazing zodiac trip. We did get very wet (tip - avoid the right hand side seat at the rear!!!) but it didn't matter one bit. We saw two pods of Hump Backed whales, in fact they approached us really quite closely - amazing. Then we also saw two blue whales - truly unforgettable. A really good trip, a humbling experience being able to get so close to these beautiful creatures, and very good value. You must try it - brave the zodiac it's worth it!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

That was a great trip!! We had a great tour staff for the whale watching which was very knowledgeable and guided us very well. We saw Orcas, Mink Whales and Porpoises - we well spent day!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A good opportunity to see whales. The zodiac was comfortable and fast. We got to see minke, humpback, seals and even a blue whale from a distance. A 3 hour bus trip there and back which was comfortable with interesting commentary by the driver. Take warm clothing (and gloves). It can get cold on the water.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting!! It gives the opportunity to see places far from Quebec city. I saw a lot of whales during the cruise. One thing disappoint me a little: the guide always talks loud during the cruise and she speaks in French most of the time. Not so relaxing...

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The ferry was very comfortable. We enjoyed the ride and saw several whales. I would have preferred to have seating outside also to be able to see better. The ferry provided free coffee which was a nice plus. Vancouver Island was one our favorite vacations. There is not a location that there isn't beautiful. We would definitely go back.

Doing what: High-Speed Passenger Ferry From Victoria, British Columbia to Seattle, Washington

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was lovely. It was a nice fall day and the drive was pretty. We did see whales and had a pleasant boat ride. I do recommend this, however, I have one serious complaint. Although the driver was friendly and seemed very experienced, he was also the tour guide which meant he held a microphone in one hand and commented as he drove many times using the other hand to point or talk and leaving no hands on the wheel. The first ten minutes of the drive he was preoccupied with his tickets and his telephone as he confirmed his numbers and took care of business. Also, there was a woman in the front seat with him who talked to him while driving and pulled his attention from the road. A commentary should be delivered by someone OTHER than the driver. He has enough on his mind to make a safe trip for his 9 passengers. I was very nervous during the drive there. The drive home was much safer since he didn't comment on the way back.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message