Whales are perhaps the most fascinating creatures on earth, but unfortunately we don't have too many opportunities to get up close to these enormous aquatic animals. That is, unless you take a whale-watching cruise from Victoria, Vancouver Island!  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 277 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

glowlite

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour was April 10th and unfortunately we did not see whales. We did see many bald eagles, sea lions, and seals. The tour lasted too long as the futile search lingered. They did offer a future tour and perhaps we will return some day.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an fantastic tour. We were on the last tour of the season and the weather was not co-operating but our captain and crew did an outstanding job. We did see multiple whales and got some great pictures. We would definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Winifred D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a bucket list dream. We saw tons of whales and the captain and crew made the trip extremely interesting and fun

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Aiman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely with friendly staff and great Whale watching. The weather was excellent and the tour was done very professionally.

Doing what: Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise

Claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great experience for us and enjoyed being able to see so many different whales, seals, etc.
We would do it again.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Amy D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall, a great trip! The tour does a good job of doing it's best to find whales although its never a guarantee. We went in August and were fortunate to see many whales and seals! It's a full day and we thoroughly enjoyed the bus ride there. It's a beautiful spot and the tour guide gave a great commentary on the way. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because upon arriving to take the whale tour, there was a lot of waiting around with little to no communication. It was very hot, and we stood around waiting for instruction for at least an hour until boarding the boat. Other than that, great day!

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Sara S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The bus tour was awesome, the tour guide was very entertaining and fluent in both French and English
The tour guide on the boat only translated a fraction of the information, but it was still interesting and we saw many minkey whales, belugas and seals.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour to see the whales. We saw two pods of orcas and a humpback whale. The boat was very comfortable and the guide was awesome. Glad we brought our lunch because we were out for 6 hours. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Roberta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great bus driver, Yves, who was very knowledgeable about the area we were driving through and what we could expect form our sea loving creatures. He was also able to take us through small towns because we had a small bus so got to see more of the beautiful coastline. We got to see 3 different types of whales and a large pod of sea lions. The water was calm was it was easy going. It was the first whale watching trip I had taken and it was wonderful. I would do it again, next time in the Zodiac boats..

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Stephan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was just perfect! The shuttle was perfectly in time, the driver Levi was sooo nice and gave us a little complimentary sightseeing tour on the way from Vancouver to Steveston.
The trip with the boat took 6 hours, we saw orcas, humpback whales, sea lions, seals, eagles and everything promised.
The included snack is a granola bar, that was really a little snack.
But all in all it was just amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Robeert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic in every way. Saw lots of whales, great guides, great weather. The smaller boat was definitely the way to go.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

ELEFTHERIOS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

IT WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE , NOT TO BE MISSED. EVEN THOUGH THE BOATWAS ON ITS WAY BACK WHEN WE WERE INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A GROUP OF WHALES IT RETURNED AND WE WERE PRESENT CLOSE UP TO A FEW METRES AT THEM WHILE THEY WERE HUNTING.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well this was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at a point very close to our hotel and driven to the departure point. Levi our driver was very good giving us lots of local information and history of the area. The boat trip was very smooth and we saw a large number of whales with the guide on the boat gives us lots of information on the pods that are in the area etc, From start to finish we were out for 4 1/2 hours so I suggest it might be worth you taking some food. The boat provides you with bottled water and a snack bar.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Rita E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was one of the best tours i ever took. It was just amazing to see the whales and the bus ride along the ST Lawrence was very scenic with the upcoming fall colors. I felt the driver was driving too fast most of the time which some more people felt as well.

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Torsten W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The almost 3h drive from Quebec was worth the drive, we saw several whales and seals

Doing what: Full-Day Whale Watching Cruise from Quebec

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Seaplane ride was fantastic. The whale watching was the hit of the day. We saw Orca's from two different pods, and on the way back they showed us over one hundred seals laying in the rocks of one of the bays. The naturalist on the whale cruise was personable and knowledgeable. He answered questions one-on-one, and really knew his subject matter.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Kandis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whale watching trip was incredible. Mine actually got moved because of gale force winds the morning I was supposed to go. They let me know first thing that morning and rescheduled me before my trip was over. It was wonderful. We saw about 6 Orcas while we were out there and they got really close to the boat. We also saw lots of sea lions and seals. The village you take off from is actually the fictional town of Storybrooke from Once Upon a Time so that was excited for me since I am a fan of the show. I have very happy I took this tour it was completely worth the money!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Areeya Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour program is amaziiiiing!!!
We saw 2 killer whales and 2 humpback whales. Then a hundred of seals and sea lions!!! I couldn't expect more from this. Totally the best day in my life. The boat drive was so nice, he always drove the boat closer to the animals for us not too close to interfere them and he also drove the boat to follow them for a bit too.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour - spent about six hours out on the water and around 4 hours with Whales - saw both Humpbacks and Orcas - amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

JOHN M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A very good informative tour, lengthy, chased Whales for ages and finally got to see some, you have to understand it is not like the photographs unless you are extremely lucky, but this is what working with wildlife is like.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Janis H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We had such a great time on our whale watching tour! Andrea made it extra special with all her stories and in depth knowledge of the ocean and the animals living there. We saw 9 whales, and more sea lions than I could count!
I gave 4 stars instead of 5 only because I wish the tour's website would have told us to bring gloves, a hat and a rain resistant jacket. I almost froze to death and got completely soaked on the upper deck. I wish I could have been more prepared for what it was like out there.

Doing what: Ocean Magic Whale-Watching Adventure in Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message