Canberra ATTRACTIONS See all

Australian War Memorial

One of Australia's most popular museums can be found at the Australian War Memorial. A visit to the mosaic Hall of the Memory and Commemorative Courtyard with its Roll of Honor is a moving and poignant experience, enhanced by the huge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christina P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A lot of transport time and not a lot of time in each location. But great guides and the War memorial was really interesting.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great long day excursion and is really a whistle-stop tour introducing the highlights. Canberra was beautiful and just as we imagined. The ANZAC war memorial was fantastic - we really needed a week to view it properly. We also enjoyed the visit to the National Art Gallery but again the visit was brief. The driver/ guide was knowledgeable and informative and organised our tour stops well. The specialist guides at the Memorial, National gallery and Parliment were equally knowledgeable which added a different dimension to their venues.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

McCord

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Our tour guide, John, was wonderful. As a veteran, the visit to the War Museum was very moving and the tour of Parliament was educational. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long bus ride there, company did a nice job when there. Its a very long day . I would recommend taking a helicopter there in the future.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Philip I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day. Coach driver was very knowledgeable on the drive to Canberra and guide at the war memorial / parliament was very good.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Enjoyed seeing Canberra and all it had to offer. Kirsten was a very knowledgeable and enjoyable guide Nice tea and supper stops. Robbie was a great guide and driver.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney Including Parliament House and the Australian War Memorial

Michelle Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour! Michael was a lovely guide - funny, punctuate and a good driver! Such an educational and valuable tour it was. Would recommend to wear comfy clothes :

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Traveling thru the country side to Canberra was breath taking. Once there the visits to the war memorial, Parliament House were interesting. Especially note worthy was seeing the Aboriginal art on display in the museum

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

C Ray M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very nice tour and driver. Enjoyed this tour very much and would recommend to anyone who wants to visit Canberra for the day.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Sukhminder B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was great to see war museum and Capital. Though there was not enough time see most of it. Driver was great. He kept us inform.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Green

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Trip was as advertised but found the drive to and from too long. Not fond of the rest/food stop on the way down, the return one was nicer. Would have liked to spend more time at the ANZAC museum and less at the Art Museum.Had some nice scenery and view stops.
Bernard the facility guide was enthusiastic and brought the tour to life left us hoping we can be half as active and keen when we reach his age.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Swati M United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Driver guide was good.We showing have paid for the kid who is under 5. Even the driver acknowledged that.What is wrong with Viator ? We have been using your services since last 10 years.When did you become so inconsiderate towards kids? Why are you ripping us off ?

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Joshua L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Interesting to see the capital city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Soon-Jin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised - the driver/guide was superb. However one rushed hour at the War Memorial Museum was not really enough.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

richardgravells

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a good day trip from Sydney to see the Capital City of Australia. There are numerous stop offs along the way which is useful. The war monument was fantastic, such a lovely display with the statues and facts of the World Wars. The Art museum was definitely a good shout with very interesting Aboriginal exhibitions on display. Then Parliment House with the Senate and the MPs was interesting, how they form law and the people vote each other in etc.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Ting MN Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. We really enjoy the trip and gain a lot knowledge pertaining to Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the day it rained in Sydney - but we were in Canberra, where the weather was clear. If you have any interest in war museums, allow yourself as much time as possible in the one here. The entry level is for WWI and WWII. The lower floor covers every war and armed conflict Australia has been involved in, from the Boer War to the present day. The museum is incredible - so much to see, so many outstanding displays. From the museum we went to the National Gallery of Art, and then to Parliament, where we sat in on sessions of both House of Representatives and Senate, followed by a drive thru the embassy section. I also have to say that we had one of the world's great bus drivers, Ralph with AATKings. Excellent driver, very knowledgeable and friendly. We stopped in Berrima for a breakfast break excellent food and at Trappers Bakery in Goulburn for dinner - a famous place with very good food. They stayed open for us, as we got there about the time they normally close. I highly recommend this tour as a way to see the capital of the country. The only reason I could see for actually staying in Canberra is if you have to be there for Parliament, or if you want more time for the war museum. It's not a town for tourists. But it's definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Arnold W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Canberra guide was extremely knowledgeable. The bus driver and attendant were friendly and went out of their way to provide a great experience. The entire day was well worth it.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Roberto O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice place. Enjoyed the snow there. Nice tour guide and driver.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

carlosabreurj

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The parliament house is the best part of the tour.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Alessandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

it was very interesting, the bus was comfy, driver and guide very nice.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Kendra K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value....learned alot

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Shu Ting T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was nice, friendly and knowledgeable! But it would have been nice if we could have visited the lake in Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message