Canberra ATTRACTIONS See all

National Gallery of Australia

The National Gallery of Australia has a stunning permanent collection of Australian and international art, and hosts traveling exhibitions.  The permanent collection focuses on four areas: Australian art from colonial to contemporary, Aboriginal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 122 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elsa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour driver Darryl was very knowledgeable and shared lots of stories of Australia. It made the time fly by on our journey. Our guide Bernie was a treasure find - extremely insightful! Bernie showed us the War Memorial Museum, National Art Gallery, and Parliament. Just a great time! This is a must-see. You will value the history!

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Mark D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour of Canberra was excellent. It was a great way to see the capital city.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long bus ride there, company did a nice job when there. Its a very long day . I would recommend taking a helicopter there in the future.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

McCord

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Our tour guide, John, was wonderful. As a veteran, the visit to the War Museum was very moving and the tour of Parliament was educational. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Maz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great long day excursion and is really a whistle-stop tour introducing the highlights. Canberra was beautiful and just as we imagined. The ANZAC war memorial was fantastic - we really needed a week to view it properly. We also enjoyed the visit to the National Art Gallery but again the visit was brief. The driver/ guide was knowledgeable and informative and organised our tour stops well. The specialist guides at the Memorial, National gallery and Parliment were equally knowledgeable which added a different dimension to their venues.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Philip I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day. Coach driver was very knowledgeable on the drive to Canberra and guide at the war memorial / parliament was very good.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Jack G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Traveling thru the country side to Canberra was breath taking. Once there the visits to the war memorial, Parliament House were interesting. Especially note worthy was seeing the Aboriginal art on display in the museum

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Michelle Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fantastic tour! Michael was a lovely guide - funny, punctuate and a good driver! Such an educational and valuable tour it was. Would recommend to wear comfy clothes :

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Soon-Jin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised - the driver/guide was superb. However one rushed hour at the War Memorial Museum was not really enough.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Ting MN Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. We really enjoy the trip and gain a lot knowledge pertaining to Canberra.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the day it rained in Sydney - but we were in Canberra, where the weather was clear. If you have any interest in war museums, allow yourself as much time as possible in the one here. The entry level is for WWI and WWII. The lower floor covers every war and armed conflict Australia has been involved in, from the Boer War to the present day. The museum is incredible - so much to see, so many outstanding displays. From the museum we went to the National Gallery of Art, and then to Parliament, where we sat in on sessions of both House of Representatives and Senate, followed by a drive thru the embassy section. I also have to say that we had one of the world's great bus drivers, Ralph with AATKings. Excellent driver, very knowledgeable and friendly. We stopped in Berrima for a breakfast break excellent food and at Trappers Bakery in Goulburn for dinner - a famous place with very good food. They stayed open for us, as we got there about the time they normally close. I highly recommend this tour as a way to see the capital of the country. The only reason I could see for actually staying in Canberra is if you have to be there for Parliament, or if you want more time for the war museum. It's not a town for tourists. But it's definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Arnold W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our Canberra guide was extremely knowledgeable. The bus driver and attendant were friendly and went out of their way to provide a great experience. The entire day was well worth it.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Alessandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

it was very interesting, the bus was comfy, driver and guide very nice.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Kendra K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value....learned alot

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Rebecca G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Long day but pretty scenery and nice tour of Canberra especially being able to visit th Parliament. You can't do that in the US

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great day out - the guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a lot of information. The time at the War Memorial was too short though - recommend skipping the short trip to the Art Museum and just spending more time at the War Memorial. Overall a really nice trip.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

elizabethmurphy01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed our trip to Canberra, visiting the Museum, the House of Parliament and Senate, etc. Our tour guide was absolutely excellent. We were so pleased that we had decided to do this tour.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Khac Tran L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

02 tour guildes, especially Mrs. Barbara are very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

MARK ANTHONY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was informative, interesting, and amazing! Julian, our driver, was very informative. driving was very good too and good time management. Barbara, our guide was very knowledgeable, passionate and informative. She definitely knows Canberra very well. i would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Lister F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Stuart was firstly a very careful and good driver. He had a good script and an engaging style. Full marks.
The guides were good and worked hard to give us a full experience.
I forgot my glasses on the coach. They were found and I collected them without a problem.
Great service!
Lister Fielding

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very informative. National art gallery has incredible pieces - Monet, Picasso, Jackson Pollack, and aboriginal artists. Loved it!

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Faina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my appreciation for this beautifully organized and very well executed tour. everything from the first to the last minute of it was smooth, pleasant, informative and interesting. thank you.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Daniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was excellent. The tour guide was extremely helpful and informative

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic trip the driver was informative and showed great attention to detail. Spoke to all on board bus with respect. Guides in Canberra were just so informative and knowledgable it made the tours easy. The war memorial is very emotional and parliament house is beautiful. Stunning views everywhere

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

Christopher P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I thought the tour was excellent. It's a long day with the travel time but I found even the transfer time entertaining with informative commentary along the way. As an introduction to Canberra, I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a spare day to get out of Sydney and see the nation's capital.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message