Canberra ATTRACTIONS See all

National Museum of Australia

The National Museum of Australia explores national identity and heritage in a hugely kid-friendly and fun way. Like a big abstract Australian storybook, the museum’s creative exhibits use controversy and humor to get you thinking about ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Barbra was very resorceful and thanks to John our tour driver.

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The bus trip was a really good way of getting to know Canberra. It was difficult to find out timetable information beforehand.

Doing what: Canberra Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my appreciation for this beautifully organized and very well executed tour. everything from the first to the last minute of it was smooth, pleasant, informative and interesting. thank you.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was excellent. The tour guide was extremely helpful and informative

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Urs G
Switzerland

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

At the first stop at a roadside gas station the driver told us to buy a sandwich, as there would be no place to get lunch. The cafe near the war memorial was under construction, but there proved to be a temporary replacement, where we could have gotten better food than a sandwich. Also, we didn't go to the National Museum, as mentioned in the viator description. The national Gallery however was interesting and the 90 years old guide at the houses of parliament was entertaining, to say the least.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic trip the driver was informative and showed great attention to detail. Spoke to all on board bus with respect. Guides in Canberra were just so informative and knowledgable it made the tours easy. The war memorial is very emotional and parliament house is beautiful. Stunning views everywhere

Doing what: Canberra Day Trip from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I thought the tour was excellent. It's a long day with the travel time but I found even the transfer time entertaining with informative commentary along the way. As an introduction to Canberra, I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. I would recommend this tour to anyone who has a spare day to get out of Sydney and see the nation's capital.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was a nice relaxed trip. A bit long, but John our driver stopped both en-route and on the return for a break. The first stop was at the Veteran's Memorial. There we met our local tour guide for the day who was very informative. This is one of the most spectacular monuments we have seen. It was impossible to see the entire facility in the 1.5 hours allotted, but it gave a good insight into the commitment of the men and women who fought for both Australia and in other conflicts around the world. The monument also has a restaurant that was rather expensive and not that good. If you plan on eating lunch that day, the monument is the only stop for food, with the exception of a bakery rest stop en-route to Canberra.
The second stop was the National Gallery of Art. This was a large collection of art from around the world with a nice assortment of Aboriginal contributions.
The third stop was the new Parliament Building. The Australians invested a lot of time and money into planning this large structure that houses both houses of the parliament. Since most legislative centers like Washington DC are housed in the original capitol buildings, it was interesting to see how the Australians have made this facility both modern and in keeping with the styles of the past. Following we drove by most of the embassies located close to the parliament.
The trip does consume one entire day, but well worth it. On the way back we stopped at the number one rated bakery in state. It was deserving of its honors.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The driver/guide was always on a rush.
Not much highlight, boring.
Canberra does not have much, but at least made it more exciting.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We found this trip to be absolutely fantastic although a little rushed. Perhaps on this trip we could suggest that one chooses if one would like to either go to the art museum or the war memorial but not both, just a suggestion as we really enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour! Not only you get to know the city's views, but also get entertained with the coach driver who makes the long trip very entertaining.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

I wanted to see Canberra, since it was the only "state" in Australia that I hadn't been to. My wife thought the whole thing was boring, and in some ways she was right. Long trip (almost 3 hours by bus each way). We stopped at a pretty bad place for lunch (not included, we had to buy our own and the recommended place was really bad). Stops were at an overlook to see the whole city (nice), war museum, art center (pretty bad) and parliament (also boring since it wasn't in session).

On the way back we ate at MacDonald's. We live in the States and never eat at MacDonald's. That tells you what the food options were like. If you take this tour best to bring your own food!

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

it was exciting and interesting.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

It was a very good trip. The driver was very informative. The guide at the Art gallery was very passionate and knowledge about artifacts and made the visit very interesting.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Tour to Canberra was awesome, totally recommend it. Especially the guided tour by local guide Bernard in the National gallery.

Doing what: Canberra Explorer: Australia's Capital City Tour from Sydney

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message