One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Only way to visit an archeological site is with an archeologist and Frank was one. He shared tons of facts on the drive down so when we got there we knew what we should be looking for. It was funny seeing other guides tours face the wrong direction and be in the wrong location doing demos that failed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent world heritage - a must see. Great construction demonstrating the Mayans grasp of Math and Science and Engineering in about thousand year BC. The tour guide from the tour company was excellent in narration and detail. The small van tour was private and personal and the hotel entrance is great. Food was good quality, but can be of more variety. Not enough time to access pool etc at Mayaland hotel. Overall best way of experiencing Chchen Itza

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really good tour! We got started super early though, a 5:15am pick up. Since we were first we drove around and waited around for the other tourists to get to the bus, which took probably another hour and half. After that though was great!! The area was practically empty, we weren't really hassled by vendors and Freddie and Santos made sure the experience was great as well. This is really the only way I would take this tour. As we were leaving the site around 1pm, we passed a ridiculous line to get back into the area. I'm so glad we didn't get stuck in all that!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great tour of Chichen Itza and visit to a Cenote (swimming hole)! During a 5 day vacation in Cancun, my wife and I wanted to visit and explore Chichen Itza. Costs for the tour through operators at our hotel and referred by others were $75-100. We checked Viator on our phone from the beach and found a better price by 30% for the next day!

We had to call the tour operator that night to confirm the pick up time (7:45am). The bus was right on schedule and the tour guide called out our names when it arrived. There were several tour buses arriving at the same time so that was helpful.

The bus ride (2.5-3 hrs each way) was fine and smooth. We first went to the Cenote, a nice natural swimming hole / tourist trap. Then we went to a very cheesy restaurant / tourist trap for lunch. Then on to Chichen Itza. Our tour guide took us around for about 90 minutes to the various sites and we had about an hour on our own to explore. That was definitely enough time for the main attractions and the rest of our group made their way to the bus earlier. Then we made it home by about 8:30pm. A long day but such a cool trip!

The only negative was how much our tour guide talked on the bus ride out in the morning. For the 2.5-3 hr trip, he probably talked and repeated himself for about 1.5 hours. He then repeated everything during the actual tour. There was no reason to talk so much, so loudly, so early in the morning when most of us were trying to sleep or at least rest. The tour itself was fine, but the guide needs to wait until we get there.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Roblyn
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Had a great tour. Our two tour guides were excellent. Very knowledgable on the Mayans. Took the time to answer all questions and told jokes too. We had a great group and time. We highly recommend this tour with our two tour guides.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The early morning 5:30 am was an initial whoa for us. But it was well worth it to beat the crowds and heat. Frank was extremely informative. This is his passion. Would recommend for professionalism and value. Would take this tour again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A must go trip. A long day, but well worth it. Nice lunch

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour bus picked us up at our hotel at around 8:00 am. It then proceeded to pick up more guests at various hotels on the way. The trip to the site was about 1 hour 45 minutes. Our bus has a toilet, by the way. The first stop was at Ik Kil Cenote and this was the biggest surprise of the tour. The view of cenote below was breathtaking. It made you wants to run into it and dive from the steps. Don’t miss the swimming part. It was a different kind of swimming experience and you’ll definitely love it. From there, we had buffet lunch at a nearby restaurant. It was very clean and well maintained. Try out the Yucatan chicken and candied papaya. After lunch, it was time to go to Chichen Itza which was also nearby. There was a heavy traffic going to the main entrance and good thing our bus used the hotel entrance at the back reserved for tour buses. That saves us a lot of time going inside. Our guide, Antonio, gave us a very informative history of the ruins. The main attraction, of course, is the El Castillo, the Mayan pyramid. You’ll also see lots of Maya people selling variety of souvenirs inside the site. We arrived at our hotel at around 8:00 pm. The tour was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

glitter and doom
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Fantastic day out at chichen itza.Early access a godsend and a must.Arrived 9am well before the masses.Heat was not a problem that early.Really fascinating day,driver was great ,guide very knowlegable about Mayan ancient culture.Lunch included in price ,regular bathroom breaks.Overall great day out with great customer service.Would highly recommend this tour and through VIATOR.Will be booking further excursions with them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This trip was fantastic! We got there before anyone else and before the heat, our guide was perfect - informative, friendly, and didn't overload us with information - he gave us just the right amount of interesting facts, showed us around and then provided free time.

Tips: wear sunscreen and a hat, bring water, and if you're really sun sensitive, bring an umbrella.

It got so hot and so crowded that we decided we had enough site seeing and opted for some tacos and cervezas in the surprisingly very good Mayan fusion restaurant on the premises.

We had the restaurant to ourselves, but as we were leaving the ruins for the day and making our way back to the van, we had to fight through herds of people who were arriving to the site. This made us really glad we got up before the sun to take this trip.

We are not the type to get on a big tour bus and we're also not the type to get up at 5 am on our own. So this trip was really the best possible excursion. We highly recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect way to visit Chichen Itza. Been to many ruins of the Americas and still appreciate learning more. Knowledgeable guide and very good driver; felt well taken care of. A map of the grounds with names of the various sites, even just a photocopy, would have been a benefit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect way to visit Chichen Itza. Been to many ruins of the Americas and still appreciate learning more. Knowledgeable guide and very good driver; felt well taken care of. A map of the grounds with names of the various sites, even just a photocopy, would have been a benefit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Perfect way to visit Chichen Itza. Been to many ruins of the Americas and still appreciate learning more. Knowledgeable guide and very good driver; felt well taken care of. A map of the grounds with names of the various sites, even just a photocopy, would have been a benefit.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. Hugo was very well informed and accommodated both English and Spanish equally. It was a long day, but it went pretty fast. I have used Viator many times and will continue to use and recommend your services. Have never been disappointed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

tonerlm
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very interesting. Guide very knowledgable Ruins quite spectacular. Only issue was good was fairly ordinary.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message