One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1347 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Freddie and crew were great. Wife and I really enjoyed our day at Chichen Itza. Highly recommend the early tour to escape the crowds and heat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Frank was very knowledgable and highly entertaining. We had plenty of time at the site to explor. The early access is well worth waking up earlier for, it allowed us to beat the large crowds, avoid the extreme heat in the middle of the day and back at hotel by 3

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth the early rise - felt sorry for the groups arriving as we were leaving, as the heat was getting unbearable by that time and there is very little shade. Freddy and Frank were both excellent guides.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding tour. Early morning a must. Frank was so informative and Oscar was a great driver.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice tour with friendly guides. The cenote was fun to swim in beautiful to photograph. The only downside was that we were the first on the bus at 7:15, which meant it was almost 2 hours before getting on the road. I'm not sure this would be better on any other non-private tour. It may be worth taking a bus to one of their last hotel stops, but otherwise, we had a great time

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a great tour but the tour guide had to go back and forth translating English and Spanish about Chichen Itza. At one point I was so lost if he speaking in English or Spanish and I could not keep up. I wish he just spoke English but we had some travelers that need the Spanish.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Pros - a convenient way to get to Chichen Itza from Cancun
- early arrival before the worst of the crowds and heat
- reasonable price
Cons - I was told to contact Amigo Tours. I emailed them 3 times over 3 days before I received a reply
- the archeologist was a rather standard tour guide. He was only interested in making his presentation and did not want to answer questions. He had his recommended purchases and stores.
- although the bus driver had 3 hours while we were there, we had to stop for gas on the way back
- we had a flat tire and they did not have a spare, so we had to wait until the tire was repaired.
- the box lunch was sitting in the bus all day and was warm. I would not trust eating the sandwich under such conditions.
- could have used more time to see everything

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a long tour but was worth it. Not much choice for vegetarians in the buffet. Prepare to take some snacks from your all-inclusive hotels in Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Glad that we took the early tour to beat the crowds and heat. Our tour guide Frank was a wealth of information, and you could tell that he enjoyed his job.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous trip the driver and guide was excellent - would thoroughly recommend to others

Doing what: Chichen Itza by Night and Day: Archaeologist-Led Tour, Dinner and Light and Sound Show from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well worth the time to do this tour. guide very knowledgeable / helpful. crowds are annoying. being able to re-enter the site on your own is really great and the crowds had decreased making it more pleasant. worth the effort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a great experience for my husband and I. The whole idea of being able to get to this location early - before the crowds, before the intense heat - was just awesome. But what made this trip truly amazing were the archaeologist, Freddy, and our tour driver, Oscar. Both were so warm and receptive to the group, and Freddy's knowledge of Chichen Itza was above par. We were able to ask him as many questions as we could think of - and my husband usually does his homework prior to these things so he definitely had questions - and he was just so enthusiastic about sharing his insight and knowledge of the place. We would not only do a similar tour like this one, but we would absolutely book again with Amigo Tours which is where Freddy and Oscar are a part of as well as through Viator if we were guaranteed another fabulous experience! Thanks so much!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took the early morning tour, and it was a great choice! We beat the crowds and the heat, and got great pictures without anyone else around. Frank was our tour guide, and he was the best! We couldn't have asked for better information about the Mayan culture, and he just went the extra mile to make the trip enjoyable. Thank you, Frank!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message