One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddy was an AMAZING guide. I am so glad we went with him, and we learned a lot. Getting there early was worth it, and we saw everything before it was hot or crowded- you won't regret it.

Freddy made sure there was a nice balance of tour and time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Mary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie and Romano were awesome!!!! I wish we had more time to keep learning about the Mayans. It's a long bus ride but worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

halladaymary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was a great guide with all the information and even Mayan words. Would highly recommend it to get there early and be able to see it. Jacinto was a great driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricardo was our tour guide. He was amazing! He was clear and informative. The driver was great too. And the assistant. We stopped in a Mayan city and met very nice people and got astrology charts. We toured through Chichen Itza and then we also went to a cenote and ate lunch. This was such an amazing trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

sdl80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

it was truly a wonderful trip,my wife and I felt we were literally in PARADISE!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Tom's Vacation ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are still talking about our trip to Chichen Itza. At 60, this was the perfect tour length for us. We were picked up at our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and rode the 2 plus hour trip in an air conditioned bus. We were given a lunch, that was mediocre, but enough to keep us going for the day. Since we had early access to the park we were able to beat the crowds that were lined up as we were leaving. The tour was about an hour and a half with an hour of free time afterwards to shop the vendors or visit other areas of the grounds. Our tour guide, Frank, was amazing. As a Mayan descendant, his passion for his people, his heritage and the history of the Mayans was evident. We learned a lot and came away with a new appreciation for this brilliant people and what they accomplished. He was able to tell us a lot of background of the buildings, the symbolism, the architectural phenomenons and what brought it to an end. It truly is difficult to wrap your mind around. This was a 100 degree day, but we were in and out before the peak of the day and back to our hotel by four to enjoy a relaxing evening. We would highly recommend this tour. Even if you are not a fan of history you will come away with a new understanding, respect and appreciation for these people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Christian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide Frank was very knowledgable, clever, and funny!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic, very informative tour.
Frank, our tour guide had great knowledge and was able to comprehensively answer all of our questions. Our coach driver, Jacinto was friendly and an extremely safe driver.
I would definitely recommend this tour, which was operated through A Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

YYCcat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Perfect length of time - no shopping, no cenote and no lunch stop. Frank was an incredible tour guide. Ice cold water upon return to bus. Early start means way less tourists at site which was perfect. Easy to book online and be confirmed, great price. Negative - lunch was awful one piece ham, one piece plastic wrapped cheese in two slices bread, shuttle to take to the bus was 50 mins late, seats on bus were awfully tight.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Ron G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The buses were comfortable, the tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate about the site and it's people and history. We would recommend this trip to our friends and family.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Debra I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was great. Take a blanket or shawl for morning ride. Youll want to sleep. Very good value and the early morning allows to see the ruins without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Ayse Defne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had the most amazing time with this tour. Frank is a great tour guide, he provides many interesting information about the place and he is very friendly. Early access is crucial for Chichen Itza since it gets really really hot and crowded. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We would highly recommend. Tour guide Freddie and driver Ramon were excellent. Freddie was knowledgeable and took extra time to explain the significance of the different parts of the site. Going early was a plus with smaller crowds and cooler weather.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

srupab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour and I recommend it highly.
I did not know how much to expect of it when I booked on Viator, but the reviews seemed good so I went for it. Travelling with a young child and elderly parents, I was worried. But starting with the pre-tour notifications from Amigo Tours, a prompt pickup at 5:00 am as was promised, to the clean and nicely maintained air-conditioned bus, and of course our jovial and knowledgeable tour guide Freddy and driver Jacinto, everything was perfect.
We reached Chichen Itza around 9, and the heat was tolerable. The crowds were minimal at the time. By the time we were boarding the bus again after 3 hours of guided and free touring, the place was swarming with tourists and was unbearably hot.
Recommend this to everyone interested in avoiding the crowds and the burning sun. To my family, it was worth waking up early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

mfluna USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the small group tour. Our driver was Ricardo and our tour guide was Susana. She really made our day. She was extremely knowledgeable with the Maya history and sites. She was very helpful and fun. We would recommend it to everyone interested in a tour to Chichen Itza.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

aahagroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great very well organized and informative tour.Ricardo was our tour guide,. He was very knowledgeable, amazing and clear.Ricardo made our tour through Chichen Itza and Cenote a memorable one. I would strongly recommend to our friends.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

nadejda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour was awesome! It was about 11 hours long and well worth it! Ricardo was such an energetic and warm guide. Just a warning though - in is VERY HOT - make sure you're in very light clothes and bring sunscreen. At one point we were ecstatic it started raining so we could cool off a bit. The cenote was the highlight for me - it was so beautiful - and make sure to take a dip inside to get the full experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Thais S R G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Chichen Itza is probably the most complex set of pyramids in Mexico and the tour was amazing. We got there early and were able to see the entire site and explore before the tour buses arrived and before it got too hot. Our guides were awesome and we were back in Cancun early enough to still cath some sun on the beach.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

olurotimi o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good trip. The guide was excellent , knowledgeable and well prepared
The journey is very long but the distance and time allows the tourists get an excellent education of the Mayan people and culture. Overall, an excellent experience. Will recommend it and this team

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

iamoli

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our host Frank and driver Jacinto were amazing. Frank is Mayan and was able to provide us w/excellent knowledge about the Mayan culture prior to our arrival. Jacinto is a smooth driver. I was able to nap w/out a care in the world. Belen, our tour guide, was spectacular! He made our trip memoriable!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I must say that I was impressed by Viator from beginning to end. The online booking process was smooth and easy. I even made schedule changes to both of my tours and the amendments were made with no fuss. When I got to Cancun, I realized that a 48-hr window for booking a hotel pickup was recommended. I had less than 24hrs before my tour! I called the local agent's number and they quickly and easily gave me a pickup time. They arrived on schedule in a modern, immaculate tour bus/van. The tour guide Mauricio and driver Benito were dressed very nicely and they were very warm and welcoming. They've done this tour so many times that all the pickups and bathroom stops were perfectly timed to allow us to get to Chichen Itza at an appropriate hour. They gave out bottles of water before the tour began and again for the ride home. FYI, bring bug spray! The walk to the main pyramid was not far. Along the way Mauricio pointed out several structures and he gave us a graphic and dramatic depiction of Mayan life and culture as it related to each spot. My head was spinning with the mathematical significance of these structures and I didn't follow it all. I just know that the Mayans were really smart! After seeing and experiencing the various points of interest, we went to the Hotel for lunch, which is included in the cost of the tour. You must purchase drinks and you are encouraged to tip the Mexican dancers who entertain during the meal. After that, you're free to swim in the pool, lounge at the bar, or go back to the pyramids to take more pictures or shop and bargain with the many, MANY vendors selling various items. And be prepared for the upsale from the tour guide as there are specialty items that they are promoting. Even so, it didn't ruin my enjoyment of the whole day. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Steve G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our excursion to Chi chen Itza was very nice. The bus was on time, clean and we were met welcomed by our guide Frank and driver Jacinto. We were supplied with a bag lunch, we stopped for bathroom breaks and the ride was pleasant. Once we got there Frank was very knowledgeable and informative. It was a very pleasant excursion. I would certainly take another tour with this company.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Carlos P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Frank was great as a tour guide. He was very informative, kept everyone's attention, and was polite and convenient with timing. I would highly recommend this particular tour due to the early access and awesome tour guide. The transportation was comfortable. I only wish I had known in advance about all the vendors that would be there selling items, it would have been great to support the local economy and take home some authentic items. I missed out because I couldn't get it in my luggage!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Gary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Frank our guide was superb,passionate and very informative. He helped us to understand Chichen Itza , the early access your is the way to go as even at 9am the heat was very hot, thanks too to Jacinto our driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message