One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2294 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria Soledad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was awesome! Much better than I expected. Our tour guide Carlos was so knowledgeable. I would definitely go back and recommend this tour without hesitation.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Regina J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guides Frank and Raul were the best. They were do knowledgeable, friendly and gave us a wonderful trip. Please go to the early access to give yourself time to see the Chichen Itza without the crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great tour, we enjoyed it a lot. It was worth getting up early, when we where finished,the crowds where coming in. We had a great guide, he gave us a lot of information.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

craigerp15

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip. Early access got us there with few other people on the grounds. Archaeologist Frank was a fountain of information with a sense of humour as well. I learned a lot about the Mayan people and their ways.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

sonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour itself was fantastic and informative. Our friendly guide explained about many common misconceptions about Mayan people. The local partner tour operator is Amigo tours which had to contacted for reconfirming the pick up time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Antoinette G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Frank from Amigo Tours was not only knowledgeable but entertaining as well. The tour promised and came through. We learned a lot about the Mayan culture and its Heritage. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to ecperience a piece of history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kimberly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had an amazing time on this tour with Frank. I wasn't a fan of having to meet at 5:30am after a night of partying in Cancun, but am SO glad I did so, as the Early Access Tour is the best way to go-- you get there before thousands of other visitors arrive more chances for unobstructed pictures, beat the worst of the heat although it still feels like hell-- water and a hat is beyond necessary, and also beat the vendors before they start harassing you to buy from them although you will still get harassed-- just not as much. Frank was very knowledgeable about the history and it was clear that he was passionate about it. It's great having nice pictures to share of the ruins, but knowing the history behind it gives you an unbeatable experience. Unfortunately with the Early Access tour you won't get to swim in a cenote or visit any of the nearby towns, but I was back at my room by 3pm, giving me the rest of the day to enjoy the beach. Other tours won't have you back until 7pm-ish. I definitely recommend this tour and if it weren't for the oppressive heat, I'd probably visit again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Peter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic does not even begin to say how good this tour was. Frank our guide was great. His knowledge and ability to share that with us was first class. The 'early access' is definitely the way to go to avoid the crowds and heat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Carolyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome! Miguel is the best :

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Abimbola G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Long day the buffet was not the greatest but Richard was great.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Yuan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour! Frank was a great tour guide. :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

waltersja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I were both very happy in taking the early access tour to Chichen Itza and highly recommend this tour. We loved getting to the site before the crowd and enjoyed the slightly cooler temperature. The guide was very informative and we had an wonderful time. We will remember the experience forever!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Ryan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing experience, highly recommend it. Our guide Wilberth spoke great English, was prompt and provided a great ride and tour through the site. No complaints.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Tony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This package is one of the best ways to do Chichen Itza no other way to do it, you get about 3 hours of free time and a small hut that has private bath and changing room and small shared living that you will share with other two people. They pack four to the hut, which is not bad.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Tanee Tony S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very educational and engaging. The tour guideMarcos was very friendly and gave great information about the Mayans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, a very pleasant experience all around. Victor and his team made everything very easy, and he was incredibly informative. We learned a ton of great, interesting information that really made us appreciate what we were seeing. Everything was very punctual, and little things like having breakfast on the bus which was very good made things comfortable and pleasant. Bus was air conditioned and very comfortable. You stop to shop but it is only for 40 minutes so you don't spend long there, allowing you to get the full experience at Chichen Itza. One note, it is very hot at Chichen Itza and you are in the sun for most of the tour there so keep that in mind when thinking about dress / sunscreen. After Chichen Itza and lunch which was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip, you go to a sink hole that is really cool and is a lot of fun. Make sure to bring your bathing suit as we forgot ours and I slightly regret not going into the water. The total tour is 12-13 hours, so keep in mind when booking as it will take all day and you may want a more expedited tour. However, this tour was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to spend a day seeing a bit more of Mexico than just the resort.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

Paula J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

it was a fabulous day ... long, but even our 7-year old kept the pace ... our guide, Ricardo, was great to explain the Mayan history, as he is a Mayan himself ... a highlight was the senote swim ... Viator picked us up and delivered us on time at our hotel, even though our hotel was not a scheduled stop ... would definitely recommend for all ages that are able to spend a few hours on a bus, walk in the hot Mexican sun, and enjoy this beautiful place!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Amanda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour!!! I highly Recommend Franks and Jacinto's Tour! The tour was fun, exciting and you could just see the passion Frank Has for Chichen Itza. Please try their tour, you will not be disappointed!! Thanks Frank Y Jacinto!! - Amanda, Eli, and Josie Tour Date: 5/31/16

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dianna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked this tour for my husband and me as part of our honeymoon experience. It far exceeded our expectations. Our guide, Marco Antonio, was extremely knowledgeable, witty, and engaging in his descriptions of the ruins and Mayan culture. It was worth every penny. Fantastic tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Lorraine P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This visit to Chichen Itza completed my quest to visit all the new Wonders of the World and I was not disappointed.The early access was the only way to do it in a comfortable way, beating both the crowds and the later morning heat. The organization was great, the driver safe and courteous and our guide Frank, a Mayan himself, was superb. He was fun and knowledgeable, but imparted his facts in a unique way that stuck with you. I learned a lot and this legendary Mayan site was incredible. The bus was very big, but comfortable, and when we arrived we were divided into three smaller groups and I was lucky to have Frank as the guide. We were given a packed lunch and after the visit an ice cold bottle of water was waiting - a nice touch. I was back at my hotel by 2:45 pm and after a 5:10 am pick-up that was very welcome, and allowed for some relax time by the pool! Was a great day and the highlight of my trip. Don't hesitate to book this tour run by Amigo Tours, you will not regret it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jakub S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour. I didn't get the pickup date/time email but they have a free number you can call. Our guide Frank did a great job providing the real background story of Maya as well as doing the Chichen Itza tour itself. The morning access is a really good idea considering the amount of people that visit this place every day as well as the temperatures you can expect over there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

ladyu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Tour was fantastic and lasted about 11 hours. We were picked up promptly from our Hotel and proceeded to pick other tourists from different hotels prior to leaving Cancun.We got to Chichen Itza around 12 noon. Our tour was Ricardo, was very entertaining, also our driver and guide helper were also good. The weather was very HOT HOT, make sure wear light clothing, hat and apply sunscreen. If I have to do the tour again, I will definitely go with the early tour with pick around 4 am. Despite the weather, the tour was awesome, no regrets.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message