One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1615 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The fact that you went to Chichen Itza taking photos and selfie videos of it is amazing.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The transportation was very comfortable and Edwin the tour guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour! Our guide Freddy was amazing and so knowledgeable! Oscar was a great bus driver too.. We were a little upset about the pick up time being earlier than promised but overall very worth the trip and wake up time of 4:30am.. If you want to see the ruins go with Freddy!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great way to go. Get to chichen itza when it opens before the crowds arrive. our archeologist was extremely knowledgeable and fun. His name was Freddie. Our driver and other guides oscar and Francisco were also outstanding. Chichen Itza is amazing and this tour gives you the opportunity to enjoy the site before all the vendors set up and the park fills up. Highly recommended.
Loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Our driver was Victor. He was 20 minutes early for us! That was unfortunate for him because we are not an early family lol! But all in all he was helpful, a safe driver, knowledgable and was extremely pleasant to be around. He recommended a guide for us, and the guide - Guillermo was waiting when we arrived. He was prompt in getting tickets etc and from Chichen Itza to the Cenote. Unfortunately due to our time constraints we did not get to spend as long as we would have liked at the Cenote.

It was lovely to learn about Mayan culture, and the guide was exceptional. The weather was extremely hot, and the less clothes you wear, the better, but load up on sunscreen or you will get burnt! Hats can be purchased as you arrive for about 5 USD before you go in to the venue itself.

Just to be clear, what's included in the package I took: 7 persons, 114 USD per person - tickets to Chichen Itza and the Cenote, buffet lunch nothing special, personalized tour times - decide your own start point and end point, as well as transportation to and from the site.

Will highly recommend this tour.

For the Mexican government or whoever is in charge of running Chichen Itza, please please reduce the number of vendors you have lining the walkways around your beautiful ruins. They are cumbersome and definitely take away from the experience.

Will highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun place to visit and relive the old historical times. A well spoken and knowledgeable guide is a must because there a lot going on in here than what meets the eye. Go on a day when the weather is cooler. Take plenty of water. Excellent historical site.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Going in the morning is completely worth it! We were set up with amigo tours and our archaeologists were very knowledgeable. (Freddy and Francisco) We got to skip the crowds and it wasn't as hot. By the time we left the whole place was crowded and hot so we were very glad to skip that!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The whole trip was amazing! Our tour guide was Carlos Moo and he was extremely knowledgeable, funny, and gave us good tips for where and where not to buy certain items. You could tell he loves his job and loves meeting new people. Chichen Itza is a must see, and the cenote we swam in was spectacular as well. Love love loved this trip!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great trip! Very early to get out of bed, but the trip out to Chichen Itza was on a very comfortable tour bus and our gracious hosts turned off the lights and everyone grabbed an extra hour of shut eye on the way out to the site. When we arrived, it was still cool early morning and there were very few people there yet, so we pretty much had the place to ourselves and were able to get great pictures without a lot of people in them. Our main tour guide, Frank, along with his assistant, Jacinto, and Driver, Oscar, were great. Frank is so knowledgeable about Mayan History and Culture and he provided an wonderful bi-lingual tour that was both educational and entertaining. My advice ... take this early access tour ... it is during the cool part of the day, there are couple of elements of the tour that would not work so well with a lot of crowds around no spoilers here and we were back at our resort, drinking margaritas by the pool by 2:30 PM. Whatever you do, don't miss Chichen Itza and I recommend this early access tour ... it is a very well done tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A long day, but well worth it! Takes about 11 hours, with 5 hours of driving. Kids will really like the Cenote stop with bathing, and everyone liked the buffet lunch provided. Chichen Itza was fascinating, and we had a great guide, Hugo, who has perfect English unlike my Spanish.

Money well spent if you want to do something other than the beach.....

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Juan Carlos and Javier were great! Very comfortable van, and great lunch!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Carlos Moo was Wonderful... We have a Great a Time!!!
We highly recomend this tour!!! Espectacular!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Javier was a great tour guide. Loved every minute of the tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour guide and great experience. We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent experience. The bus was comfortable and our tour director was very good at explaining the history and importance of the ancient Maya in a way that was informative yet fun. The brief visit to the cenote was a welcome chance to cool off from the heat of the day and the area around it was beautiful. Lunch was basic but tasty. Be sure to bring plenty of pesos or US to tip the dancers and staff at the restaurant. I wish we could of lingered longer at Chichen Itza but we still had plenty of time to view most of the site before having to return to the bus for the long drive back to Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Chichen itza was a site to definitely see, the tour guide and driver was very good. I love the option to visit the cenote for a little more. The Catamaran sail was great, snorkeling was a lots of fun. They take great care of us on the boat, lots of free drinks.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Freddie is very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent! Pick up on time and knowledgeable tour guide. Comfortable tour bus. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I want to first acknowledge the local tour company who viator works with or who was at least the assigned local tour group. Evelyn was so accommodating and super nice. The email sent from Viator says to contact the local tour group 48 hours in advance. This, in my opinion, was not highlighted very well. We were also traveling on the 48 hour mark. So we did not contact them in time for our Monday tour. The company rescheduled us with no problem. Seeing the ruins is highly recommended. Our tour Cancun Passion was also fantastic. The guides Noe and Fernando were fabulous. Noe cares more about the history and is very knowledgeable. If you just want to take pictures you don't really need a guide. But it was really informative.

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a tour you don't want to miss! Chichen Itza and Ik Kil Cenote were beautiful. Uleses was a great guide - knowledgable, amusing, and professional. Bring water (the bus driver will provide you with 1-2 small bottles each), hats, sunglasses, sunscreen.It was nice being part of a small group too

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Freddie is an excellent guide, he has a lot of insights into mayan culture and makes for an really good experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Despite having to get up at 4am for a 4.30 am pick up, the tour was worth it! As we were leaving, there were a lot of buses arriving and were finished by 11.30.
The tour started around 8.30 am when we arrived at Chichen Itza and you are guided for 1.5 hours and the other 1.5 hours you are left to wander around yourselves.
Our tour guides Freddie, Francisco and the driver Oscar were fantastic. They were friendly, courteous and provided us with in depth knowledge about the Mayan ruins and the history of the Mayan people with a touch of humour which made the tour much more fun. Other tour guides will recommend buying things from the grounds but these guys were honest and only recommended a stall which was 100 hand made and worth the money you pay.
I would like to thank Freddie, Francisco and Oscar for a wonderful tour and recommend anyone visiting Cancun who would like to go on a tour of Chichen Itza to go with the local tour operator and go with Freddie, Francisco and Oscar.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went to Cancun mostly to see the Chichen Itza and it was worth it! I highly recommend that you take the early access tour! We arrived there around 8 a.m. and there was already 1 bus there. You can take pictures without any strangers in it! I liked learning how the Mayans thought and did things, the history is pretty interesting! Our tour guide was Freddie! Our driver was Oscar and he was so nice and acommodating! By the time we left there were over 30 buses and hundreds of cars. The place was packed and there is no way I would have got pictures of the Temple alone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Book this tour! The very early morning pick up is worth it. You will see this magnificent place when it is practically empty and be able to enjoy the peacefulness of the space. We arrived at 8:20 am and the parking lot was empty. Also it was not that hot yet. We left at around 11:20, just as hundreds of people were arriving and it was a total madhouse. Also, it had become extremely hot by that point. Beyond being there at the best time, Our tour guide, Frank, was incredible! We really appreciated how connected he is to his culture and that he wants to share it with and educate others. He spoke for an hour on the bus and then took us on a detailed tour of the main area. It was so informative and wonderful. Our bus driver, Oscar, was also great- very friendly and a safe driver. The bus was very clean and comfortable. Ignore any reviewers comments about he box lunch- it was fine- this is a no-nonsense tour- no hotel pool and restaurant/show- but in my opinion, that is not why you visit Chichen Itza. We got back to our hotel at 2:30 pm and still had the rest of the afternoon to do whatever. I HIGHLY recommend this trip! note- you may want to bring extra snacks/water.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message