One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1028 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Frank was extremely knowledgable and Oscar very considerate. They make the tour! Definitely recommend going to Chichen Itza only with them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! The 6:15 tour is really recommended as we got great pictures and were back in Cancun for the afternoon. Saul ans Freddie were great and realt enjoyed the trip thanks to them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went with 4 other friends. We loved our tour and tour guide. The day was well planned with activities and delicious food. The tour was bilingual, and everyone enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Hugo was very knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the whole tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our experience was fantastic. Freddy Hoit and Saul took us to Chichen Itza. It was a treat from the beginning. We were supposed to meet them at the airport since our hotel was far away and they called and said they would pick us up! Then, Freddy is a Mayan descendant and he knows so much about them. He shared his heritage and knowledge with us. Then we felt very special once on site since we arrived much earlier than most people. We got the Mayan calendar for our birthdays and he even taught us the number system Mayans had. We definitely recommend the local tour operators and next time we get in Mexico we will reach out to them for our local tours. Thanks Freddy and Saul. From Kobus and Claudia :)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing experience I went in mid August and there weren't large groups. It was organzied and we were provided with umbrellas. I wish we had more time to continue to explore, but the tour is very interesting. You see a cenote, but ONLY the sacred one. With this tour cenote swim is NOT included.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itself was quite good, Frank was very knowledgeable but the hotel pickup was very frustrating for a couple of reasons:
1.We were advised by Viator to contact local rep - to confirm hotel pick up time. They promised to send email and call in the night before the tour to confirm the pickup. Neither of these happened. I sent a follow-up email the night before the tour but they did not replied.
2. They picked us up at 630 a.m. at the hotel zone but had to return to the hotel zone to pick up another group after we left the hotel zone.
3. The next pickup location was about 30 mins away outside of Cancun hotel zone.
There were only 3 groups to pick up but we did not start the 2 hour drive to Chichen Itza until 8.15 am. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Archeologist was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was definitely smart to go in the morning. We were so happy to have the place pretty much to ourselves. We had a decent sized group so we were able to take pictures and see quite a bit with little or no interruption. It was pretty humid toward the end of the tour. All in all the long drive from the hotel to the site was worth it. We learned so much about the Mayan and the ruins on the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was ver knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guy Αntonio was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was simply wonderful and we highly recommend this tour to get the most out of Chichen Itza. I can't imagine a better tour than this. A good price as well.

-The early departure meant we arrived at Chichen Itza before the crowd and the hottest time of the day and this also gave us a free afternoon in Cancun.
-Frank(guide) and Oscar(driver) were friendly and it was engaging but also relaxing to be on this tour.
-Frank gave a well outlined and comprehensive description of the Mayans and Chichen Itza. We feel like we know EVERYTHING about the topic now :)
-Our stay at Chichen Itza was 3 hours long: 1.5hrs guided and 1.5hrs free time. A perfect balance for us.
-The ride there and back was comfortable and fast.

We can't say enough about this tour. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If the early bird really catches that worm, then Mayan archeologist/guide Freddies early bird tour of Chichen Itza shows off this World Heritage Site at its best. The downside—you have to get up early! The upside—you get there before the tourist hordes, as you will arrive just as the park opens. On the way there, you will be treated to a two hour interactive lecture about Mayan culture, history, astronomy, social order, writing and math. We learned more about the Mayan people on that trip than all the History Channel programs combined.
Special thanks to driver Oscar for a safe journey and good humor.
We liked this so much that we booked the tour of Tulum with Freddie and driver Saul, and had an equally good experience!
We want to return.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message