One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1490 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great! Wake up at 4.30 am and start a tour at 5.10 am worth it, true story! You avoid crowds, you avoid burning sun, you can make great pictures almost without people, only you and Castillo de Kukulkan! Unforgettable experience! Special thanks to Amigo Tours team: our driver Osacar and our super professional guide Freddi, who not only gives you the information, but makes you a part of the story about the Maya people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pyramids were amazing and there is a lot of history attached to Chichen Itza. The only downfall was that it was very hot and the bus ride roundtrip was almost 6 hours. Other than that, it was a lot of fun

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. He provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Chichen Itza. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome!!!! Tour guy was very nice and very knowledgeable! I would recommend viator to everyone. The food at the restaurant was good also. No complaints at all!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I will be back for more!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. The bus ride was insanely long, a total of 6 hours just on the bus. It was miserably hot at Chichen itza. Hugo said they usually rent umbrellas, but they were all rented by the time we got there. Hugo was great, very informative. The cenote and lunch was my favorite part of the day. All and all definitely worth the money. Don't know why people say bring bug spray, we brought it but didn't use it. Bring sunscreen and a big hat!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The early access was great. At first I was not sure I wanted to get up that early, but so glad I did. I'm from Florida and used to the heat, but I don't think I could have done it if we got there late because of the extreme heat. Very educational and fun time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ursula, Freddy and Oscar were great. Very informative and very knowledgeable. Trust me it's worth waking up so early just to beat the crowds since you get the best pictures. I liked it bc half the time is a tour and the other half you can roam on your own. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing site, and a really fun English-speaking tour. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without one, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. The buffet lunch was pretty good too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was terrific. I wish I remembered his name. Going early was the ticket too. Learned so much. Really awesomene

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very educational and fun excursion. The tour guide was awesome. He shared information in both English and Spanish. The all you can eat and drink buffet was awesome! Swimming at the sink hole was definitively a unique experience. Be sure to bring your beach things. The ride was a bit long 2.5 hours each way, but well worth it. Truly a must do excursion.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was one of the best tours I have ever been on! Although it's not the greatest to get up early, it is worth it to get to Chichen Itza right when it opens - you beat the heat, crowds and vendors. I travel a lot and have been on a lot of tours and Freddy was one of the best tour guides I have ever met! He was very entertaining and informative. He provided a lot of background information on the bus and then spent an hour and a half with taking us through the site. The logistics were also really good - picked up and dropped off at the hotel and the driver Oscar was also excellent. Overall, I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing .

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Best way to visit lichen Itza is to arrive early and leave before the crowds and the heat of the day impacts your experience. We were picked up at our hotel at 5:40am in a small shuttle bus and taken to a meeting point out on the highway to join others on a large air conditioned bus. On the bus trip to the site, Freddy our tour guide and Archeologist gave us a background of the Mayan culture as well as the history of the site. We arrived at 8:30 am and were the first bus to arrive!! Freddy guided us through the site with detailed explanations as well as demonstrations for 11/2 hours. We then had 11/2 hours to walk and peruse the site on our own. We reported back to the bus at 11:30am, received our box lunch, and arrived at our hotel at 3:00pm. Very well organized. We are in awe of the Mayan culture and their accomplishments. Would go again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Early access is only way to go, beat the crowds and the heat. Knowledgeable tour guide, comfortable transportation and well organized. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

iT WAS MUCH MORE THEN I EVER THOUGHT IT WAS AMAZING I WOULD RECOMMEND IT FOR EVERYONE. IT WAS A LONG DAY BUT WELL WORTH IT.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour. Great staff

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was everything we wanted. Our tour guide and bus driver were nice and knowledgeable and picked us up on time. The bus was roomy and comfortable and also had a bathroom. The cenote was gorgeous, the buffet was yummy and Chichen Itza was amazing. You're back to your hotel in time for dinner and beach/pool time. Not a bad way to spend the day and get adventurous! It was a great deal for sure!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really loved this tour! Our tour guide, Freddy, was very knowledgable. It was great to get to the site early - avoiding the crowds and heat. Oscar, our bus driver was great. The bus was very comfortable and the lunch simple ham sandwich, banana, cookies, juice and water was good and filling. When it says early, they mean early - we had to leave our hotel at 5:35am. Also we really enjoyed getting back to our resort around 3/4-ish and we enjoyed lounging by the pool felt like we got two days in one.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Early morning tour is the way to go to beat the heat. Bring your own snacks though because the box lunch isn't that great.
Also bring a lot of water. And pesos because exchange rate at chichen itza isn't that great. Tour guide freddy and driver oscar did a great job

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic tour ! Freddie the archeologist was a great guide. I felt sorry the other groups that they didn't have him. This trip is early had very little crowds . A must ! The highlight of our Yucatan Experience

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message