One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to arrange. PU was on time. The guide was not intrusive and very informative. The vehicle was comfortable. The arranged meal was great and the company dropped us off very close to our accommodation on return which was great as it was a long day.
Good value for the price. Chichen itza should not be missed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour! Our guide Frank was very knowledgable and did a wonderful job. The early access was so worth getting up early on vacation. We literally arrived right as the doors opened. By getting there early it was cooler, there was hardly anyone there, and the vendors aren't set up so they don't bother you. The only thing that was frustrating was that we were told our pickup would be at 5:15 am but it didn't come until almost 6. Not fun to sit for 45 minutes when you're already up early! We legitimately thought they weren't coming and the number that was provided to us went to voicemail. A suggestion to the operator-they should add a tour option for a combo early access and cenote visit. I know it's a long day already but we would have loved to add a cenote stop and still get the early access. It was a wonderful tour though and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Eesha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great trip!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Avery B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

WORTH THE MONEY. You have to get up super early but you can sleep on the bus and it is worth being the first tour bus in line. Freddy is the tour guide and he does a great job of keeping the information interesting and interactive and Ramon the bus driver gets you there as safe as possible. People talk about just going without a tour but honestly all you learn is worth the money. You get pictures without a bunch of people in them. I would bring sunscreen because it can get hot as well as pesos for all the vendors that are there. Overall great time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Alfred W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The archeological tour was very informative and Marcos our guide equipped with an anthropology educational background made the information exciting.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Mitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall this was an awesome experience! Our guide for Chichen Itza, Mauricio, was AMAZING. He was very knowledgable on the Mayan history and culture and made it fun and interesting. We would definitely recommend him as a tour guide. The snorkeling and ziplining adventure was a fun filled day as well. The group was relatively small so we liked that. Swimming with the turtles was spectacular, although the conditions weren't the best so it was wavy and the water wasn't as clear as it could be. We still got some great shots though. The only negative part of the experience was the entrance fee to Chichen Itza. We did not expect it to be as high as it was 20 USD per person so that caught us off guard and made us a bit unhappy. We wish the details of the trip would have told us how much that would cost in advanced. We recommend you bring Pesos instead of other currency because their conversion rates are VERY high. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

Jeanene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was absolutely the best way to see Chichen Itza! Marco was full of wonderful information and had studied the Mayan culture at university. Because we were there before the crowds, we could take unobstructed pictures and hear the amazing sounds from the pyramid and ball court. I will do this next time I go to Tulum, too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was well worth the early morning start and should be one for everyone traveling to the region to contemplate undertaking.

We had Marco as our tour guide and he provided us with so much information out the Mayan's and the site at Chichen Itza that we would not have obtained from any guide book.

Well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Rufusdash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and well worth the money. They picked us up from our hotel at around 5:30am and got everyone to a big coach. At the coach they give you your lunch. I suggest to eat it for breakfast or you will be starving before you even get there! It takes about 2 hours to get there, then our guide, who is an archeologist takes you around and explains everything, he was very entertaining! Because we got there so early we practically had the place to ourselves, and it was still cool too. After the time spent with the guide you have some free time to explore. The vendors there are very aggressive, which I did not like, and a lot of the stuff they are selling is just the same items you will see back in town! There are also some cafes to get food and drinks. It was a great day and well worth the money!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Fangdi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide, Carlos Moo, was fantastic! We learned much more with him around than if we had visited these places on our own. The only complaint we can think of is that the cenote visited by this tour is extremely crowded.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this trip, a definite plus to our time in Cancun. We were the first bus there in the morning so there were very few people at the site. Freddie, our guide, gave us a lot of information while we were still on the bus, then expanded that information about each specific part of the site as we went from site location to site location. His knowledge helped up understand much more about the amazing history of this location. It is hard to believe all that was accomplished when this was built. When we left the location was packed. Everything was on time. The tour was fantastic thanks to our tour guide Freddie. My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos was an amazing guide. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chicen Itza tour led by Irvin and Luis was worth the money and more. Both of them were knowledgeable and well educated on the Itza peoples, history, and culture.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Would highly recommend this tour very well planned and on time

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Satch57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Freddy ,our guide was informative, funny and overall great.going early is the key. Definietly check it out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Victoria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing! Really good customer service and very interesting history

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Rita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We Really liked this tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Nick E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip to Chichen Itza was well worth the time. There were 3 adults and 2 9 year old boys both thought that this was the best tour EVER, one said it was the Best day of his life. We were all very grateful that we selected the early morning tour with the Archeologist as by 10:30 the heat was very bad as there was no breeze that day. Upon arrival we were able to get pictures of the pyramids without any other people in the shots Totally worth getting up early. We are already talking about a return trip in a year or 2 to see the old village as it was closed. I highly recommend the early tour beat the heat and the crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Enriqueta R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is amazing! Everything was organized and we had a great day!

We were picked up at 5:30 at our hotel and went on to pick up other people. We were transferred to a different bus and then made our way to Chichen Itza! The trip there and back lasted about two hours. When we arrived, they tried to get us in as soon as possible to avoid the crowds. It worked. We were with a guide for an hour and a half and then on our own for another hour and a half. It started to get really busy around the time we were leaving, so it was totally worth getting up early. The lunch wasn't great, but I wasn't there for the food. It was a really hot day so make sure you wear sun block!
It was great to have people making sure we had a good experience. Freddy was our guide during the trip and Ramon was a great driver. Incredibly nice people!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Todd T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour, great experience. Freddie is a terrific tour guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip was fantastic and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Robert V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The early morning tour was great to beat the heat and the crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Mike D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Can't say enough good things about this tour! The small size of the group, the excellent tour guide, the Temple, swimming in the Cenote, lunch - everything was perfect. It's a long day by necessity but they made it fun. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message