One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1677 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful! It was everything as advertised and had very knowledgeable guides and a comfortable bus.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A must do when in Mexico, our tour guide Frank was awesome, the knowledge that he has is tremendous, we learnt a lot thanks to him. Chichen Itza is beautiful although very very hot, I'm glad we done the early morning tour, as the heat in the afternoon would be unbearable, with the early morning access we where practically the first there and could get around easily and see everything with our guide. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone, thanks!!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was such an amazing experience! One of the new 7 wonders of the world :). The tour operator, the guide, the transportation, everything was perfect!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

My boyfriend and I did this tour and we had a great time! However, there are a few things that we wished we knew before this tour, so I will list them here:

-It is hot. VERY hot. Bring a small towel, water, a handheld fanwhatever to help yourself keep cool.
-When they say early, they arent kidding. They came to pick us up at our resort at 4am.
-If you are staying anywhere outside of Merida or Cancun, it takes several hours before you actually arrive to Chichen Itza after your pickup. We stayed in Playa del Carmen, and after we were picked up, we drove around for about 2 hours picking up other people staying in the nearby resorts. Then we were dropped off at a tour bus and we rode in the bus for another 2 hours to Chichen Itza. It took roughly the same amount of time to be dropped off back at the resort after the tour. The only nice thing about this is that since the whole process started so early, we made it back to our resort around 3-4pm and still had time to do other stuff that night.
-If you really want to see/swim in a cenote, know that you cant swim in the cenotes at Chichen Itza. There are different Chichen Itza tours that you can book through your resort or online that will take you to a different cenote about 30 mins away after visiting Chichen Itza. I really wanted to swim in a cenote, so I was disappointed by this when I realized that this particular tour did not include it.
-And finally.youll want to bring money for souvenirs at Chichen Itza, but make sure you bring enough money to tip your tour guide!!! They work really hard and make their money off tips. Our tour guide was Frank, and he was awesome!!!

All in all, we had a great time on this tour and felt that it was well worth it. This tour is great because you arrive early before the other crowds of people show up and your guide will let you explore on your own for an hour or so. Our pictures turned out great without other people in them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

When visiting Cancun this is the MUST visit place for pure beauty and nature at its best. We came here as a couple in 2013 and have come back with our best friends along with my daughter and her best friend. Xel Ha is a great all inclusive day out, including hiring of snorkelling equipment and all food and drinks, including all beers and cocktails. We enjoyed a full day and the close up dolphin encounter was worth the visit alone. Viator have never let us down and as usual it was well organised and well delivered. Thank you.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

During the long ride to the site, our guide gave us lots of information about what we were going to see. Getting into the site early was a definite plus because, aside from the heat, the site became very busy as we were finishing up. We liked going early as it left part of the day for other activities. Again, if it had been a bit cooler, we would have explored more. Also, the box lunch was what you would give a 5 year old. We liked our guide and the site was fascinating.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Better than our expectations.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent! Reading the reviews, we were a bit skeptical, but we had an awesome time. Don't pay attention to the negative reviews- if you want to experience Chichen Itza for yourself, do it regardless of what you read. The tour is everything they tell you. Ruben was like an encyclopedia!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide Irving was fantastic and the trip exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend this excursion to others.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A great place very well preserved and with a lot of interesting information. I learn a lot about Mayan civilization that i did not know before... really amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very efficient tour! Highly recommended for people who don't mind wake up early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Reuben was awesome I learned so much!! give this man a raise!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family of 4, including 13-year-old twins, took this tour on July 28, 2015, and would highly recommend it to others. The tour operator, Cancun Passion, provided prompt pick-up at our resort and brought us to a central location to meet the coach. We were served coffee, juice, fruit and pastries, which made for a pleasant trip. We had a restroom/shopping stop for about 30 minutes prior to Chichen Itza, where we purchased some lovely crafts. Chichen Itza was amazing!! Our guide, Tony, provided excellent explanations of sites before we were given free time for pictures and lunch included in the price, aside from drinks. The history and sites are not to be missed!! We had an amazing cenote swim before heading back. This is a long day, but well worth it. The staff was professional and personable from start to finish. Tony taught us so much about Mayan history. This tour is highly recommended. Once again, I have had success in booking an excursion through viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide Freddy was so amazing and knowledgeable that people that weren't on our tour were trying to get in on his explanations! Santiago taught us a few words in Mayan and Oscar kept us safe on our drive. It was hard to get up early, but after feeling the heat that came on later in the day it was SO WORTH IT! I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent service. Our driver was professional and helpful. We also like the flexibility of the tour. We did not want to see a village as suggested by the agency so we wanted to see Ek Balam instead and the driver took us there. Of course, we bought our own ticket entrance since this was not in the original plan but it was okay. We really enjoyed the trip and the service.

Doing what: Best Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very fun tour!! Tour guide was extremely knowledgable and gave lots of great info. This is a long tour. Tips: do not wear any light colored shoes or clothing or any open toe shoes because it is VERY DUSTY over there. You will arrive back at your hotel with a fine layer of dirt on you. I even had dirt in my hair. Make sure you bring sung glasses to keep the dirt and dust out of your eyes. Bring lots of sunscreen and make sure that you reapply because it is very, very sunny and hot out there. There are a lot of vendors selling their wares. Shop around. Most offer the same items for similar prices but you can negotiate a better price especially towards the end of the day.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Tour guides were excellent. They were kind and very knowledgeable. Food was good for a person who has some restrictions. I loved the cenote. When you visit Cancun, it is must tour activity

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I definitely recommend this tour. It was an awesome experience. Carlos Moo tour guide and Javier Driver were excellent. Carlos had so much acknowledge friendly and funny. My husband and myself went for our anniversary and this was the best part from our visit to Cancun. They pick up us at the main lobby from the hotel at 7:30am and we came back around 7:30pm its a all day trip but it was totally worth it. I highly recommend it. I good part about this package is that they provide a lunch buffet style with different kind of food, pasta, rice, chicken, pork, fruit, vegetables, beans, dessert pretty much a huge variety to pick. This is my second time on Cancun, first time we didn't go to Chichen Itza but if i have the chance to go again i will definetely will take this tour again. If you thinking to do it. Just do it. You are no going to regret it. Bring comfortable shoes, sun block, sombrero and glasses. By the way, good place to buy affordable souvenirs cheaper than Cancun. And most of them are handmade. I compare the prices of the kitchen magnets with Chichen Itza and Cancun and the prices are lower in Chicken Itza. My husband bought a cool sombrero for only 5.00 and in Cancun they were asking for 13.00.
Have fun and hopefully you have the good luck to get the same tour guide. Carlos Moo.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic trip. Really interesting hearing about Mayan culture and Chichen Itza itself was spectacular. The tour guides were brilliant. Definitely worth the visit !

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful tour! I would highly recommend this tour company! Freddie is an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable. The tour is very early, but you will appreciate it getting there early before the heat and crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Early morning start but well worth it. It was getting very hot and busy by the time we were leaving. Frank was excellent, he made the trip worthwhile with all of his knowledge.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Worth to get up early. The mini bus arrived earlier to pick us. Our guide Freddie at Amigo Tours was extremely knowledgable about Mayan culture, and well organized too. He also made extra efford to help us book the next tour to Tulum in last minute. Thumbs up! And also thank you to our friendly driver Oscar!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We visited Cancun for our honeymoon and my partner list Chichen Itza as a must see place. We participated in the small group day tour and enjoyed it thoroughly.
The ruins are pretty well preserved and It was an eye opening experience how all those wonderful architectural structures were built centuries ago and the magnificent scale of each of them.
Our tour guide Faustino did an excellent job in explaining the history and the cultural aspect, and demonstrating the acoustic aspect of some of the ruins. The our also include a lunch buffet at the Mayaland Resort which has good food and include the usage of its pool to relax which is nice because it was VERY VERY hot and humid there before the 2 hours trip back to Cancun.
One annoying fact besides the HUGE swath of tourists are the vendors that would just approach you pitching the items and some of them have those wild-animal-sound-making thing that they are trying to sell and they constantly demonstrating it, which is super annoying....

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this was definitely an amazing experience. i was worried that the early access would be too much for my kids but it was so worth it. by the time our tour was done, the lines were huge. we were able to tour chichen itza without a big crowd.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message