One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1513 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The transportation was very comfortable and Edwin the tour guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour! Our guide Freddy was amazing and so knowledgeable! Oscar was a great bus driver too.. We were a little upset about the pick up time being earlier than promised but overall very worth the trip and wake up time of 4:30am.. If you want to see the ruins go with Freddy!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Our driver was Victor. He was 20 minutes early for us! That was unfortunate for him because we are not an early family lol! But all in all he was helpful, a safe driver, knowledgable and was extremely pleasant to be around. He recommended a guide for us, and the guide - Guillermo was waiting when we arrived. He was prompt in getting tickets etc and from Chichen Itza to the Cenote. Unfortunately due to our time constraints we did not get to spend as long as we would have liked at the Cenote.

It was lovely to learn about Mayan culture, and the guide was exceptional. The weather was extremely hot, and the less clothes you wear, the better, but load up on sunscreen or you will get burnt! Hats can be purchased as you arrive for about 5 USD before you go in to the venue itself.

Just to be clear, what's included in the package I took: 7 persons, 114 USD per person - tickets to Chichen Itza and the Cenote, buffet lunch nothing special, personalized tour times - decide your own start point and end point, as well as transportation to and from the site.

Will highly recommend this tour.

For the Mexican government or whoever is in charge of running Chichen Itza, please please reduce the number of vendors you have lining the walkways around your beautiful ruins. They are cumbersome and definitely take away from the experience.

Will highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Private Tour: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun place to visit and relive the old historical times. A well spoken and knowledgeable guide is a must because there a lot going on in here than what meets the eye. Go on a day when the weather is cooler. Take plenty of water. Excellent historical site.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great trip! Very early to get out of bed, but the trip out to Chichen Itza was on a very comfortable tour bus and our gracious hosts turned off the lights and everyone grabbed an extra hour of shut eye on the way out to the site. When we arrived, it was still cool early morning and there were very few people there yet, so we pretty much had the place to ourselves and were able to get great pictures without a lot of people in them. Our main tour guide, Frank, along with his assistant, Jacinto, and Driver, Oscar, were great. Frank is so knowledgeable about Mayan History and Culture and he provided an wonderful bi-lingual tour that was both educational and entertaining. My advice ... take this early access tour ... it is during the cool part of the day, there are couple of elements of the tour that would not work so well with a lot of crowds around no spoilers here and we were back at our resort, drinking margaritas by the pool by 2:30 PM. Whatever you do, don't miss Chichen Itza and I recommend this early access tour ... it is a very well done tour and well worth the money.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day tour. Picked us up from our hotel and we were away from the main hotels.
Antonio, our tour guide for the day was very good and charismatic which made him engaging to listen to. The journey was smooth and comfortable AC was quite cold at times.
Tour was well thought of and planned. Cenotes was a great experience and we didn't feel rushed.
We are vegetarian and the choice of veg food at the restaurant wasn't great aside from salads and refried beans and rice.
Would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

It took us about 2-2 1/2 hrs to get there, but it was WELL worth it! Freddie is extremely knowledgable about the Mayan history and the Chichen Itza was fascinating! To beat the crowds for the best photo ops is a plus! Boxed lunch is basic, but when you are tired and hungry.....anything tastes good! Oscar, our driver, was great and we felt safe and in great hands during the drive to and from! Rich with history and highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide with a ton of info! However the pick up in cancun took 1 hour too long . Perhaps having three main hotel pick up options since taking a taxi or bus anywhere in cancun is very easy. At least one bottle of water should be provided complementary.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The place has now transformed into a big marketplace. it would have been better if they were able to preserve the serenity of this sacred ground.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

What private archeologist? It was just a tour guide. I went to Chichen Itza previously this trip was planned for my partner, and this tour guide or aka private archeologist lacked knowledge or insight. One and half hour guided tour was weak and lacked substance, and he even failed to describe other important sections of the Chichen Itza.

Only positive from this trip was early access.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great! Wake up at 4.30 am and start a tour at 5.10 am worth it, true story! You avoid crowds, you avoid burning sun, you can make great pictures almost without people, only you and Castillo de Kukulkan! Unforgettable experience! Special thanks to Amigo Tours team: our driver Osacar and our super professional guide Freddi, who not only gives you the information, but makes you a part of the story about the Maya people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The pyramids were amazing and there is a lot of history attached to Chichen Itza. The only downfall was that it was very hot and the bus ride roundtrip was almost 6 hours. Other than that, it was a lot of fun

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. He provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Chichen Itza. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Awesome!!!! Tour guy was very nice and very knowledgeable! I would recommend viator to everyone. The food at the restaurant was good also. No complaints at all!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I will be back for more!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great tour. The bus ride was insanely long, a total of 6 hours just on the bus. It was miserably hot at Chichen itza. Hugo said they usually rent umbrellas, but they were all rented by the time we got there. Hugo was great, very informative. The cenote and lunch was my favorite part of the day. All and all definitely worth the money. Don't know why people say bring bug spray, we brought it but didn't use it. Bring sunscreen and a big hat!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The early access was great. At first I was not sure I wanted to get up that early, but so glad I did. I'm from Florida and used to the heat, but I don't think I could have done it if we got there late because of the extreme heat. Very educational and fun time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ursula, Freddy and Oscar were great. Very informative and very knowledgeable. Trust me it's worth waking up so early just to beat the crowds since you get the best pictures. I liked it bc half the time is a tour and the other half you can roam on your own. Very highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing site, and a really fun English-speaking tour. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without one, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. The buffet lunch was pretty good too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was terrific. I wish I remembered his name. Going early was the ticket too. Learned so much. Really awesomene

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a very educational and fun excursion. The tour guide was awesome. He shared information in both English and Spanish. The all you can eat and drink buffet was awesome! Swimming at the sink hole was definitively a unique experience. Be sure to bring your beach things. The ride was a bit long 2.5 hours each way, but well worth it. Truly a must do excursion.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message