One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddy was an AMAZING guide. I am so glad we went with him, and we learned a lot. Getting there early was worth it, and we saw everything before it was hot or crowded- you won't regret it.

Freddy made sure there was a nice balance of tour and time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricardo was our tour guide. He was amazing! He was clear and informative. The driver was great too. And the assistant. We stopped in a Mayan city and met very nice people and got astrology charts. We toured through Chichen Itza and then we also went to a cenote and ate lunch. This was such an amazing trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Nicole W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Early morning start was worth beating the crowds and seeing such amazing structures. Frank our guide was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

William D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour was good once we got there. They overbooked and there was a lot of confusion at the final pick up at the Marriott Courtyard. The guide was a little flustered and he was on the phone for most of the 2 hours to the tour and then most of the way back to Cancun. Freddy gave a great tour once there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kara L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

First off, Chichen Itza was amazing! It was everything we hoped for and more, as we are huge ancient history buffs. But this tour does not include tickets to the ruins so we won't go into details over that. Discussing what we bought, which was round trip travel to Chichen Itza and the hospitality suite it was mediocre at best. We were picked up at our resort on time and headed to pick up a few other groups but had to switch to another bus before making the almost 3 hour trek to Chichen Itza. The added stops plus switching buses easily added another hour to our travel time. On top of that, the bus we rode in did not have working air conditioning in the mid to back half of the bus. The day we traveled was very hot and needless to say the ride was uncomfortable. Once we arrived at the ruins, we did gain special entry and were guided to the Hospitality Suite, that was probably the best aspect of this purchase because since it was so hot outside, it was nice to have a home to come back to and cool off/rest. We were persuaded into purchasing the buffet lunch with our Chichen Itza tickets, which in the long run we regret. The buffet food was not fresh and my husband ended up getting sick! I would avoid the buffet at all costs. We boarded our hot bus back to resort land but noticed that we had picked up 4 additional locals! They were not apart of tour and looked like hitchhikers catching a ride back to Cancun, I can guarantee this was something the drivers had worked out with them! The already crowded and hot bus did not have room for more! This also added onto travel time. Overall, I do not recommend this to anyone as it was easily one of the most stressful days of our trip. The ruins are amazing and we loved being able to explore them on our own as we already knew much of the history but I'd suggest booking a more professional way to get to them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Michael P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to arrange. PU was on time. The guide was not intrusive and very informative. The vehicle was comfortable. The arranged meal was great and the company dropped us off very close to our accommodation on return which was great as it was a long day.
Good value for the price. Chichen itza should not be missed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour! Our guide Frank was very knowledgable and did a wonderful job. The early access was so worth getting up early on vacation. We literally arrived right as the doors opened. By getting there early it was cooler, there was hardly anyone there, and the vendors aren't set up so they don't bother you. The only thing that was frustrating was that we were told our pickup would be at 5:15 am but it didn't come until almost 6. Not fun to sit for 45 minutes when you're already up early! We legitimately thought they weren't coming and the number that was provided to us went to voicemail. A suggestion to the operator-they should add a tour option for a combo early access and cenote visit. I know it's a long day already but we would have loved to add a cenote stop and still get the early access. It was a wonderful tour though and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Eesha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great trip!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Avery B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

WORTH THE MONEY. You have to get up super early but you can sleep on the bus and it is worth being the first tour bus in line. Freddy is the tour guide and he does a great job of keeping the information interesting and interactive and Ramon the bus driver gets you there as safe as possible. People talk about just going without a tour but honestly all you learn is worth the money. You get pictures without a bunch of people in them. I would bring sunscreen because it can get hot as well as pesos for all the vendors that are there. Overall great time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Alfred W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The archeological tour was very informative and Marcos our guide equipped with an anthropology educational background made the information exciting.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Mitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall this was an awesome experience! Our guide for Chichen Itza, Mauricio, was AMAZING. He was very knowledgable on the Mayan history and culture and made it fun and interesting. We would definitely recommend him as a tour guide. The snorkeling and ziplining adventure was a fun filled day as well. The group was relatively small so we liked that. Swimming with the turtles was spectacular, although the conditions weren't the best so it was wavy and the water wasn't as clear as it could be. We still got some great shots though. The only negative part of the experience was the entrance fee to Chichen Itza. We did not expect it to be as high as it was 20 USD per person so that caught us off guard and made us a bit unhappy. We wish the details of the trip would have told us how much that would cost in advanced. We recommend you bring Pesos instead of other currency because their conversion rates are VERY high. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

Jeanene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was absolutely the best way to see Chichen Itza! Marco was full of wonderful information and had studied the Mayan culture at university. Because we were there before the crowds, we could take unobstructed pictures and hear the amazing sounds from the pyramid and ball court. I will do this next time I go to Tulum, too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was well worth the early morning start and should be one for everyone traveling to the region to contemplate undertaking.

We had Marco as our tour guide and he provided us with so much information out the Mayan's and the site at Chichen Itza that we would not have obtained from any guide book.

Well worth it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Rufusdash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and well worth the money. They picked us up from our hotel at around 5:30am and got everyone to a big coach. At the coach they give you your lunch. I suggest to eat it for breakfast or you will be starving before you even get there! It takes about 2 hours to get there, then our guide, who is an archeologist takes you around and explains everything, he was very entertaining! Because we got there so early we practically had the place to ourselves, and it was still cool too. After the time spent with the guide you have some free time to explore. The vendors there are very aggressive, which I did not like, and a lot of the stuff they are selling is just the same items you will see back in town! There are also some cafes to get food and drinks. It was a great day and well worth the money!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Fangdi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour guide, Carlos Moo, was fantastic! We learned much more with him around than if we had visited these places on our own. The only complaint we can think of is that the cenote visited by this tour is extremely crowded.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time on this trip, a definite plus to our time in Cancun. We were the first bus there in the morning so there were very few people at the site. Freddie, our guide, gave us a lot of information while we were still on the bus, then expanded that information about each specific part of the site as we went from site location to site location. His knowledge helped up understand much more about the amazing history of this location. It is hard to believe all that was accomplished when this was built. When we left the location was packed. Everything was on time. The tour was fantastic thanks to our tour guide Freddie. My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos was an amazing guide. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Patrick L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Chicen Itza tour led by Irvin and Luis was worth the money and more. Both of them were knowledgeable and well educated on the Itza peoples, history, and culture.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Mark B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Would highly recommend this tour very well planned and on time

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

Satch57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Freddy ,our guide was informative, funny and overall great.going early is the key. Definietly check it out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Victoria L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing! Really good customer service and very interesting history

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Rita J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We Really liked this tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message