• USD ($)
  • English
One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 945 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Would give this tour 10 stars if possible!!! SUPER organized and easy communication from beginning to end...tour bus was nice and staff were amazing!!! Great tour guide (GREAT), lunch at a super nice restaurant and visit to the Cenote was fun!! Would recommend this tour 110% without hesitation

Doing what: Chichen Itza from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was conducted by Francisco and Oscar. They were organized and punctual, picking us up at our doorstep. Francisco is extremely knowledgeable of Mayan culture and civilization. This is a great tour to get there early, avoid the crowds and take in the history and sites. The price is very reasonable. Please tip the guys as they deserve it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour with the tour provider. The express tour was great. I'm so glad we did it. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a thorough history of the Mayans.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Frank and Oscar are wonderful. We just took this tour last Wed and the whole family enjoyed early visit and Franks commentary. The only gripe I have is they really should not advertise this as a tour with box lunch, what they really provide is a refreshment which at best is a substitute for your breakfast. You should eat before you get back on the bus for the return trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very informative about the Mayan history and the history behind the ruins. The handmade tortillas with pork were amazing. The guide gave all of us a enough free time to do whatever, and we did Mayan planetarium. It was a great experience and I recommend to do chitchen itza before tulum

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was amazing not only for where we were but our guide Frank he was simply the best out there. We will take any tour that he leads in the future. Simply an amazing experience

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My gf and I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Angel was the best! He is not only informative but he is very passionate about sharing his knowledge. The food at the restaurant can be better. I loved the Havanero salsa. One thing I regret is not having enough time to take a dip at the pool inside the restaurant. If you are going to buy at the market inside Chichi itza don’t give in so easily. Set a firm price and don’t fall from it, within a few minutes they will take your offer. Always say I don’t have anymore. Take lots of pictures and don’t forget to tip your guide!
-German

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our experience with Frank was outstanding. He is charismatic, knowledgable and funny. Keeps the drive interesting with tons of Mayan' cultural knowledge and the tour at the site was interesting and unforgettable. The 6 am is the best time so you leave before is too hot and the crowds come in. Definitely worth it! Don't miss it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I just got back from Cancun and WE HAD A BLAST. The early bird to Chichen Itza was the most unforgettable experience and memory. Our tour guy is Frank and the driver is Oscar. Frank is the best tour guy i have ever encountered with. He is very knowledgeable, funny, and friendly. Truly the best tour guy!!!
Oscar is a very kind and nice guy too. Drive us from hotel to the Chichen Itza and back to hotel in a timely manner. I highly recommended the early bird to Chichen Itza before it got too crowded since you don't want any photo bombs by other tours. No doubt I recommend Frank and Oscar for early access to the beautiful Chichen Itza!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The early access is the only way to go by beating the heat and the crowd. The trip was very informative. I would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

fantastic tour. Guides, Freddy and Saul, were top notch. They gave us great info about the Mayan culture, were very passionate about their heritage. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! The tour guides are very nice and knowledgeable! We really enjoyed learning about Mayan history, Mexican history, and seeing the sights.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wow! What a great experience. Freddy (archaeologist) and Oscar (driver) arrived at our hotel right on time...at 6:40 am. The tour bus was a new Mercedes Benz 15-18 passenger that was immaculate inside and out. During a warm greeting we learned that Freddy is not only an archaeologist but he is also a Mayan descendant! The first hour of our two hour drive along a very smooth highway most folks slept, while Freddy shared information in Spanish with a guest from Colombia. During the second hour he explained in English Mayan culture, number system, calendars, history, and his own personal Mayan roots, as well as an introduction to the site Chichen Itza.

We arrived about 9:00 am and were met by an empty parking lot! The temperature and humidity had not yet risen so it was quite pleasant. The ticketing and entry process was well organized and within a few minutes we were in front of the amazing pyramid with no people around...great for photographs. Freddy led us on an informative walk around the site giving detailed information about the royal and common people, religious festivals, sacrificial system, architecture, the Maya region, etc. He was very attentive to questions and has a great sense of humor! We finished up the formal tour about 11:15 and had one hour to visit other places on the site or shop. It was great that the vendors were just setting up on our arrival so we were not pestered by them during the tour. However by 11:15 they were ready for business. Not being much into shopping, my wife and I went back to the tourist center and enjoyed some great nachos and cold drinks. After leaving at 12:15 we had a quiet ride back to Cancun and were at our hotel by 2:30 with much time left in the day.

We highly recommend this tour for folks wanting to listen, learn, and appreciate the Mayan people and their amazing history and culture. We will be calling on Freddy and Oscar to take us to Tulum on our next trip to the Yucatan!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was incredible and the crew amazing!!! They were super friendly and do care about their passanger!! The entire trip was an unforgettable experience!! Food is more than delicious

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message