One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1018 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Archeologist was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. It was definitely smart to go in the morning. We were so happy to have the place pretty much to ourselves. We had a decent sized group so we were able to take pictures and see quite a bit with little or no interruption. It was pretty humid toward the end of the tour. All in all the long drive from the hotel to the site was worth it. We learned so much about the Mayan and the ruins on the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was ver knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was great. Frank was very knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guy Αntonio was amazing!!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was simply wonderful and we highly recommend this tour to get the most out of Chichen Itza. I can't imagine a better tour than this. A good price as well.

-The early departure meant we arrived at Chichen Itza before the crowd and the hottest time of the day and this also gave us a free afternoon in Cancun.
-Frank(guide) and Oscar(driver) were friendly and it was engaging but also relaxing to be on this tour.
-Frank gave a well outlined and comprehensive description of the Mayans and Chichen Itza. We feel like we know EVERYTHING about the topic now :)
-Our stay at Chichen Itza was 3 hours long: 1.5hrs guided and 1.5hrs free time. A perfect balance for us.
-The ride there and back was comfortable and fast.

We can't say enough about this tour. You won't be disappointed!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

If the early bird really catches that worm, then Mayan archeologist/guide Freddies early bird tour of Chichen Itza shows off this World Heritage Site at its best. The downside—you have to get up early! The upside—you get there before the tourist hordes, as you will arrive just as the park opens. On the way there, you will be treated to a two hour interactive lecture about Mayan culture, history, astronomy, social order, writing and math. We learned more about the Mayan people on that trip than all the History Channel programs combined.
Special thanks to driver Oscar for a safe journey and good humor.
We liked this so much that we booked the tour of Tulum with Freddie and driver Saul, and had an equally good experience!
We want to return.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to make a trip out to chichen itza without loosing a whole day. We were picked up on time, given some background on route and had 3 hours to explore, half of which was guided. We beat the crowds and left as the place was just starting to get busy. I recommend bringing water and snacks.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience with a knowledgeable archaeologist. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this tour was great the kids my wife and I enjoyed the wonders of this Mayan pyramid and the other temples I definitely recommended to visit this great place.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We wanted to book a day trip from Cancun to Chichén Itzá. The hotel travel agent was very expensive and lots of other operators in Cancun were too eager to push trips on us. I booked this tour via Viator online and decided on the early morning trip (6.40am collection from hotel). Oscar drove a comfortable Mercedes minibus holding about 20 and Franceso (Frank) was a a wonderful tour guide who gave a very informative one hour talk about the Mayans in both English and Spanish en route. At the site we have a guided tour from 9am for 90 minutes then had a further 90 minutes to explore on our own.

The benefit of this tour is the early start getting to see the Mayan sites before the big coach parties arrive and before the day heats up. Chichén Itzá is hot with very little shade. Light refreshments and cold water provided but do bring more water to drink.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was the best tour during my Cancun vacation. Our tour guide Frank is very knowledgable and informative, and our drive Oscar is very nice as well. To go there early to avoid the heat and the crowd was an excellent choice. And we got back to our hotel at about 3pm, we could enjoy the rest our day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early access was great. It's summer. It's Mexico. It's hot. We got there before it was crowded or too hot. The guide was really knowledgeable about the history of the Mayans and the area.
Very comfortable ride and great time. Recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved this tour. Our Archaeologist was Frank, he was very informative and friendly, as was the driver. You will leave early, but this allows you to beat the crowds and the heat. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with guide Freddy and driver Saul. We were given background information and some basic education on the Mayan number system and meaning of some of the most common glyphs. We had a small group - a total of 5 - 2 couples and myself, plus Freddy's son came along who ended up being a "volunteer" in some of Freddy's demonstrations! Arrived before the bulk of the crowds. Very nice to be able to wander around a bit on our own after the first part of the tour. I would recommend this approach to visiting the ruins. Very personal and direct attention to everyone's questions and always nice to meet new people! Go!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message