One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1361 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Freddie and crew were great. Wife and I really enjoyed our day at Chichen Itza. Highly recommend the early tour to escape the crowds and heat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Frank was very knowledgable and highly entertaining. We had plenty of time at the site to explor. The early access is well worth waking up earlier for, it allowed us to beat the large crowds, avoid the extreme heat in the middle of the day and back at hotel by 3

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Darrell W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth the early rise - felt sorry for the groups arriving as we were leaving, as the heat was getting unbearable by that time and there is very little shade. Freddy and Frank were both excellent guides.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding tour. Early morning a must. Frank was so informative and Oscar was a great driver.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely worth getting up early to avoid the crowds and the hottest part of the day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything from start to finish was very well organized. Freddie, the guide , was informative and funny! It was worth it. To add just one more hour would be great as we felt we really rushed and didn't have much time at the end for just walking around and enjoying the place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour led by Freddie, Oscar and Francesco. Definitely recommend the early start to beat the crowds but more importantly the heat. Everything worked really well from booking to going on the trip. 100% recommended. Thanks boys!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Picked up on time in a fancy bus with a bathroom. Friendly tour guide and driver. Very worth the money. Guide was witty and knowledgeable. Highly recommended

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Everything went very smoothly. Swimming in the cenote was remarkable. Chichen Itza was most impressive and the guide did a good job describing the buildings and how they related to Mayan civilization. We could used an extra hour in Chichen Itza to explore on our own.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome! Freddy, the tour guide, was fantastic. The 5:45 a.m. pickup time from the hotel was painful but it was well worth it to arrive at the gates of Chichen Itza even before they were open, to get pictures of the ruins with no other people in the them and then to leave -- all before the masses of people had overtaken the park. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Suzanne
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Had a brilliant day at Chichen Itza with Antonio our guide.
He was very knowledgable and organised throughout the day, delivering a very informed guided tour of the area, explaining clearly in two languages about the history of the area and the buildings.
We also had plenty of time at the end for individual sightseeing and photographs.
Together with the driver, also Antonio, both were excellent. The sale of ice cold drinks for a very reasonable price 10 pesos for a bottle of water was also very welcome in the heat.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very nice tour with friendly guides. The cenote was fun to swim in beautiful to photograph. The only downside was that we were the first on the bus at 7:15, which meant it was almost 2 hours before getting on the road. I'm not sure this would be better on any other non-private tour. It may be worth taking a bus to one of their last hotel stops, but otherwise, we had a great time

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It's a long day and I never received my e-mail confirmation, but the tour guide was great, the lunch they provided was solid, and the explanation of Chichen Itza's ruins really made the whole experience more worthwhile. You spend an hour at a freezing cold underground pool that I could have skipped but overall I would highly recommend. The bus is comfortable and air conditioned and the driver drove safely the entire time.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a great tour but the tour guide had to go back and forth translating English and Spanish about Chichen Itza. At one point I was so lost if he speaking in English or Spanish and I could not keep up. I wish he just spoke English but we had some travelers that need the Spanish.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was very nice, little hot and a long day! Very interresting. My Fiance' got sick from the lunch we had at the buffet. Did not like the food.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Pros - a convenient way to get to Chichen Itza from Cancun
- early arrival before the worst of the crowds and heat
- reasonable price
Cons - I was told to contact Amigo Tours. I emailed them 3 times over 3 days before I received a reply
- the archeologist was a rather standard tour guide. He was only interested in making his presentation and did not want to answer questions. He had his recommended purchases and stores.
- although the bus driver had 3 hours while we were there, we had to stop for gas on the way back
- we had a flat tire and they did not have a spare, so we had to wait until the tire was repaired.
- the box lunch was sitting in the bus all day and was warm. I would not trust eating the sandwich under such conditions.
- could have used more time to see everything

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I was told this was a private tour with my own guide. I don't consider being on a bus with 25 other people for 3.5 hours each way and with a good, but standard tour guide to be anything special. The best thing about early access is that it got us out of the worst of the heat.

Tour was good, just not as advertised.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour guide/bus driver did not pick me up from my hotel. After contacting them, they asked me to go to another hotel - that trip in a taxi cost me an additional 15 USD. When they finally picked me up, they insisted it was my fault and did not even offer an apology. I started this trip already upset. Throughout the tour, I was being offered to buy all kind of goods. This was supported by the tour guide. I was happy to finally go to Chichen Itza, but next time I will choose another tour company for sure.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

I don't want to recommend to book through this site.Lunch ( only mexican food, no fruits ) was terrible, they charged $5 for small water bottle In restaurants. Also driver sell the water in the car. At the same time, my aunt joined other agent for same tour, she said they provide unlimitted free w

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a long tour but was worth it. Not much choice for vegetarians in the buffet. Prepare to take some snacks from your all-inclusive hotels in Cancun.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Glad that we took the early tour to beat the crowds and heat. Our tour guide Frank was a wealth of information, and you could tell that he enjoyed his job.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fabulous trip the driver and guide was excellent - would thoroughly recommend to others

Doing what: Chichen Itza by Night and Day: Archaeologist-Led Tour, Dinner and Light and Sound Show from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message