One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josh F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddy was an AMAZING guide. I am so glad we went with him, and we learned a lot. Getting there early was worth it, and we saw everything before it was hot or crowded- you won't regret it.

Freddy made sure there was a nice balance of tour and time to explore on your own.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

halladaymary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was a great guide with all the information and even Mayan words. Would highly recommend it to get there early and be able to see it. Jacinto was a great driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ricardo was our tour guide. He was amazing! He was clear and informative. The driver was great too. And the assistant. We stopped in a Mayan city and met very nice people and got astrology charts. We toured through Chichen Itza and then we also went to a cenote and ate lunch. This was such an amazing trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

sdl80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

it was truly a wonderful trip,my wife and I felt we were literally in PARADISE!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Tom's Vacation ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are still talking about our trip to Chichen Itza. At 60, this was the perfect tour length for us. We were picked up at our hotel at 5:30 a.m. and rode the 2 plus hour trip in an air conditioned bus. We were given a lunch, that was mediocre, but enough to keep us going for the day. Since we had early access to the park we were able to beat the crowds that were lined up as we were leaving. The tour was about an hour and a half with an hour of free time afterwards to shop the vendors or visit other areas of the grounds. Our tour guide, Frank, was amazing. As a Mayan descendant, his passion for his people, his heritage and the history of the Mayans was evident. We learned a lot and came away with a new appreciation for this brilliant people and what they accomplished. He was able to tell us a lot of background of the buildings, the symbolism, the architectural phenomenons and what brought it to an end. It truly is difficult to wrap your mind around. This was a 100 degree day, but we were in and out before the peak of the day and back to our hotel by four to enjoy a relaxing evening. We would highly recommend this tour. Even if you are not a fan of history you will come away with a new understanding, respect and appreciation for these people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Mark R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic, very informative tour.
Frank, our tour guide had great knowledge and was able to comprehensively answer all of our questions. Our coach driver, Jacinto was friendly and an extremely safe driver.
I would definitely recommend this tour, which was operated through A Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I cannot stress enough how helpful and informative our guide was, Carlos Moo is an embassador for the Mayan people and was basically like a Mexican Father while we were on the tour, we were lucky enough to get him on our Cancun Tulum and Coba tour so we already had met and that made the day much better as we walked around Chichen Itza. Carlos you are a legend!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Debra I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Freddie was great. Take a blanket or shawl for morning ride. Youll want to sleep. Very good value and the early morning allows to see the ruins without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We would highly recommend. Tour guide Freddie and driver Ramon were excellent. Freddie was knowledgeable and took extra time to explain the significance of the different parts of the site. Going early was a plus with smaller crowds and cooler weather.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

srupab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour and I recommend it highly.
I did not know how much to expect of it when I booked on Viator, but the reviews seemed good so I went for it. Travelling with a young child and elderly parents, I was worried. But starting with the pre-tour notifications from Amigo Tours, a prompt pickup at 5:00 am as was promised, to the clean and nicely maintained air-conditioned bus, and of course our jovial and knowledgeable tour guide Freddy and driver Jacinto, everything was perfect.
We reached Chichen Itza around 9, and the heat was tolerable. The crowds were minimal at the time. By the time we were boarding the bus again after 3 hours of guided and free touring, the place was swarming with tourists and was unbearably hot.
Recommend this to everyone interested in avoiding the crowds and the burning sun. To my family, it was worth waking up early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Samantha L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Long drive from where we were staying - Cancun in the hotel zone - but it was worth it! The site was wonderful and our guide was really passionate about Mayan culture and history. Lots of opportunities to buy souvenirs!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Nicole W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Early morning start was worth beating the crowds and seeing such amazing structures. Frank our guide was great!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Valerie M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Booked using the app, very easy, no hassles and had pickup information emailed in under 45 minutes. I would not recommend drinking so much the night before because you wake up so early for this one. It's totally worth going before the crowds and the heat. The bus was about 20 minutes late, so I was starting to get a little worried, but they were just running a bit behind. Eat breakfast or bring something with you, and water, too. When you get on the bus, they give you a lunch sack, that's what I ate for breakfast. sandwich on white with meat, cheese and mayo, banana, peach drink and cookies It's a three hour ride each way from Cancun, so be prepared for that. Once we got there our tour guide was amazing, and very informative. After he took us around we had about an hour and a half to explore and shop on our own. Our bus left to return back at 12:30, we had some time to kill so we decided to each lunch at the restaurant there, so glad we did. The tacos are amazing.
My only complaint is that it is a long ride each way, other than that it was an amazing trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

William D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Tour was good once we got there. They overbooked and there was a lot of confusion at the final pick up at the Marriott Courtyard. The guide was a little flustered and he was on the phone for most of the 2 hours to the tour and then most of the way back to Cancun. Freddy gave a great tour once there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Guillermo C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was OK. Getting up early to beat the heat and the crowds was a plus. However, they seemed a little unorganized and it was a rather large tour group big bus with around 60 folks. Overall, a good value for your money, but next time I think I would spend more to get a smaller group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Joe

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Bus had an accident going through a small tourist trap town, on the way to Chichen Itza, the town was not even on the itinary. We were put in old hot cabs and the driver thought he was flying instead of driving, we had to ask him to slow down. Our swimming event was cut short and the lunch had no folk show as stated in the brochure. We arrived back to our hotel over an hour late, missing a dinner reservation we had. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and the accident was not the drivers fault, but I still question why we were even in that small town, the only thing there was a very large expensive sourveneer store. Very disappointing.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Kara L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

First off, Chichen Itza was amazing! It was everything we hoped for and more, as we are huge ancient history buffs. But this tour does not include tickets to the ruins so we won't go into details over that. Discussing what we bought, which was round trip travel to Chichen Itza and the hospitality suite it was mediocre at best. We were picked up at our resort on time and headed to pick up a few other groups but had to switch to another bus before making the almost 3 hour trek to Chichen Itza. The added stops plus switching buses easily added another hour to our travel time. On top of that, the bus we rode in did not have working air conditioning in the mid to back half of the bus. The day we traveled was very hot and needless to say the ride was uncomfortable. Once we arrived at the ruins, we did gain special entry and were guided to the Hospitality Suite, that was probably the best aspect of this purchase because since it was so hot outside, it was nice to have a home to come back to and cool off/rest. We were persuaded into purchasing the buffet lunch with our Chichen Itza tickets, which in the long run we regret. The buffet food was not fresh and my husband ended up getting sick! I would avoid the buffet at all costs. We boarded our hot bus back to resort land but noticed that we had picked up 4 additional locals! They were not apart of tour and looked like hitchhikers catching a ride back to Cancun, I can guarantee this was something the drivers had worked out with them! The already crowded and hot bus did not have room for more! This also added onto travel time. Overall, I do not recommend this to anyone as it was easily one of the most stressful days of our trip. The ruins are amazing and we loved being able to explore them on our own as we already knew much of the history but I'd suggest booking a more professional way to get to them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza at Your Own Pace Plus Access to Hospitality Suite

4moon16

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Our trip was a complete disaster. After booking, I emailed to see when we would be picked up and was told we would be emailed the day before our tour the next day w/ an exact time. We never received an email. When we called the morning of the tour for a pick up time we were finally given a time - then the van was over an hour late.

There was to be a 1 hour guided tour followed by 2 hours of free time. After 2 hours w/ the guide w/ no signs of stopping, we gave up and left the tour group. We managed to see more of the city in our 1 hour of exploration than the guide showed us, though we still saw very little of the city.

After returning to Playa Del Carmen, we were put on a van to take us to our hotel. Boarding the van, we specifically asked if our hotel the closest one would be first, and were told it would be. This was NOT the case. We drove well past our hotel area, 45 minutes down the highway to drop off only 2 of the 11 people in the van, followed by a 30 minute trip back up the highway before anyone else was dropped off. We were on this van for 2 hours longer than necessary. If we had not been lied to about what the van would do, we could have easily taken a 5 minute taxi ride to our hotel. Since we purchased this tour for the specific reason that is was to be only 8 hours in length instead of the typical 12 we were EXTREMELY upset about this 2 hour deviation. We were gone for nearly 11 hours.

Additionally, the driver was unable to navigate the van, repeatedly reversing after failing to read road signs. He also often used his phone while driving, causing him to swerve all over the road. He did not speak English despite us booking an English-speaking tour, making us unable to get additional information as to where we were going.

If I wanted to be gone for 11 hours then I would have booked a typical 12 hour tour where I would have gotten much, much more for my money. This was a birthday present to myself, except it more or less ruined my entire day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Elizabeth R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Unfortunately, we did not have a great experience. The hotel pickup was excellent - on time and the van was comfortable. Apparently, we were to meet up with a group coming from Playa del Carmen. That group was running late so our driver proceeded to drive very slowly. We asked at the start of the trip how long it would take to get to Chichen Itza and were told 3 hours. Ours took 4 hours with a detour through a city along the way that we were told was a faster way. Even after arrival - we needed to wait for the other group to arrive so we could join them for the tour. This delay put us in the heat of the day. We would have had a much more pleasant tour had we been able to start at 10:30 am. We wanted to book a small group tour and picked this tour for that reason but we in fact were in a group of 16 which was similar in size to the other tours we saw that day. The tour itself was good, the guide was very knowledgeable. The lunch buffet was enjoyable but was disappointed that drinks were not included in the tour price and had to be purchased separately. We were so hot, we would have paid any asking price for water - and they knew it! On a side note, although I can't verify this - speaking with a couple on the tour with us from Playa del Carmen approximately the same distance from Cancun they only paid 50 for the tour while we paid almost 100. Disappointed!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Michael P L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Easy to arrange. PU was on time. The guide was not intrusive and very informative. The vehicle was comfortable. The arranged meal was great and the company dropped us off very close to our accommodation on return which was great as it was a long day.
Good value for the price. Chichen itza should not be missed.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Katherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great tour! Our guide Frank was very knowledgable and did a wonderful job. The early access was so worth getting up early on vacation. We literally arrived right as the doors opened. By getting there early it was cooler, there was hardly anyone there, and the vendors aren't set up so they don't bother you. The only thing that was frustrating was that we were told our pickup would be at 5:15 am but it didn't come until almost 6. Not fun to sit for 45 minutes when you're already up early! We legitimately thought they weren't coming and the number that was provided to us went to voicemail. A suggestion to the operator-they should add a tour option for a combo early access and cenote visit. I know it's a long day already but we would have loved to add a cenote stop and still get the early access. It was a wonderful tour though and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Eesha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really great trip!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Avery B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

WORTH THE MONEY. You have to get up super early but you can sleep on the bus and it is worth being the first tour bus in line. Freddy is the tour guide and he does a great job of keeping the information interesting and interactive and Ramon the bus driver gets you there as safe as possible. People talk about just going without a tour but honestly all you learn is worth the money. You get pictures without a bunch of people in them. I would bring sunscreen because it can get hot as well as pesos for all the vendors that are there. Overall great time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Alfred W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The archeological tour was very informative and Marcos our guide equipped with an anthropology educational background made the information exciting.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Mitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Overall this was an awesome experience! Our guide for Chichen Itza, Mauricio, was AMAZING. He was very knowledgable on the Mayan history and culture and made it fun and interesting. We would definitely recommend him as a tour guide. The snorkeling and ziplining adventure was a fun filled day as well. The group was relatively small so we liked that. Swimming with the turtles was spectacular, although the conditions weren't the best so it was wavy and the water wasn't as clear as it could be. We still got some great shots though. The only negative part of the experience was the entrance fee to Chichen Itza. We did not expect it to be as high as it was 20 USD per person so that caught us off guard and made us a bit unhappy. We wish the details of the trip would have told us how much that would cost in advanced. We recommend you bring Pesos instead of other currency because their conversion rates are VERY high. Overall great experience!

Doing what: Riviera Maya Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Zipline and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message