One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1934 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Comfortable bus, bilingual tour guide, very comprehensive explanations of sights at the archeological site, lunch was delicious, sufficient time to explore on our own.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Charles P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent - our guides Freddie and Enrique were knowledgable and fun and it was great to be at the site as it opened.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Dean D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was fabulous it was really something to see learned a lot our guide was Ricardo Esquivel he was excellent did a super job the whole trip The swim in the sunken lagoon was really cool ...a must do!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Evo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We booked the trip the day before, it was half the price the hotel were offering the same trip for. We were collected on time our driver was very courteous. Our guide was brilliant speaking fluently in Spanish and English, the tour of the Chichen Itza and the Cenote was brilliant. A Great Day out.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Verner P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Frank is a total pro. His knowledge is extraordinary. He keeps you spellbound the entire journey.. A tour jot to be missed when in Cancun. Two suggestions for Frank: slow down your narrative a bit reduce OK significantly. A most enjoyable and educational adventure!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Dru

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Freddy and Jacinto were absolutely amazing. I highly recommend this tour. Freddy was so incredibly knowledgeable and made sure that everyone had a good amount of time to explore on their own as well as walk us through the city. Jacinto got us back very quickly and smoothly, I slept both on the way there and back and as a light sleeper didn't wake up once!.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Susan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful experience thanks to our guide, Martin!

Learned a great deal about the site and the hidden features of the pyramid you don't learn about anywhere else. The Mayan ice cream in Valladolid was an added bonus at the end!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Myself and two family members took this amazing trip together and made memories to last a lifetime. I was very impressed with the professionalism of our guides, the itinerary, the cleanliness of the bus, and the overall experience. I would have given 5 stars except for the Viator Guarantee on the products purchased at the Mayan village. We ordered a Mayan birth certificate and when it was handed out the name was not spelled correctly on the certificate. Ricardo our guide was wonderful and said he would have the shop fix it and deliver a new corrected certificate to the hotel. He did exactly what he said and dropped the new certificate off, with the exact same misspelling on the second certificate. Viator should drop the guarantee because the shop people are screw ups. Other than the shopping experience, the trip was perfect.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

fssum

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip is excellent if you just want to see Chichen Itza only and be back in Cancun before 4pm the same day. The early start helps to enter the Chichen Itza before the crowd moves in after 9am. The tour guide Freddy was great and funny.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Katherine M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Chichen Itza was very interesting and our tour guide provided fantastic information. We really enjoyed the early arrival as there were very few people and it was peaceful. We were able to take great photos. However, the transportation and lunch aspects of this trip were poor. We were scheduled to be picked up at 5:20 am yet the driver did not arrive until after 6. Then we were taken to a gas station and had to wait 20 minutes for the tour bus and an overflow van to arrive. We were placed on the overflow van, which did not have the tour guide aboard. When we arrived at the ruins, we learned that we had missed out on an hour of information. After the tour, we were given our lunches which consisted of expired sandwiches. I had requested a vegetarian option and saw it listed on the sheet that I signed when the driver picked us up. However, when I asked for it after the tour, I was told there wasn't a vegetarian option for me. Some of the people on the overflow van were staying in Playa del Carmen and were dropped off first. We were stuck in traffic in Playa del Carmen and returned to our resort an hour later than scheduled. We did not have a good experience with the transportation, but would highly recommend an early morning tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Charles G

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Chichen Itza is a must see if visiting the Yucatan Peninsula, however I would advise possibly looking at another Tour Guide. Our guide was SO slow that we spent as much time waiting for him to get started as we did with the actual tour. At times we felt as if the tour was about him, not the ruins. We had three instances where we were at a standstill for a half hour, all this BEFORE we entered the ruins. In the end we had no time to explore Mayaland resort amenities or to visit the cenote as described in the tour description. Our guide also was overtly demanding that we make purchases at vendors that he approved of, and not at the many other indigenous vendors we encountered. I ignored his advice and made some priceless purchases. The buffet at Mayaland was very good!! The actual touring part was also very interesting. I would definitely book a tour with a vendor that would assure a visit to the cenote and a swim if you so choose.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Shan C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

VERY DISAPPOINTED ! When I purchased tickets on the phone , I had clearly indicate that we had 2 kids coming age 4 and 6. The lady told me that we only need to pay for the 6 year old which is half price , the 4 year old can travel free. The day we went to Chichen Itza , by the entrance , the tour guide all the sudden told us that we need to pay for the kids. The 4 year old I can understand Not happy but acceptable but he said I also need to pay for my 6 year old for whom I already purchased the group ticket , half price compare to the adult but should include the entrance fee like the tour description. I mean i had no problem paying for my kids but why does this need to come as a surprise ?!!! there was another family in our group had the same situation, no Viator agent ever told us about additional charges at the door even at confirming ! In order not to hold up the whole group we spent another USD 32 for the kids ! Not to mention that they only accept Mexican currency that took us another half an hour to get it exchanged !!! Horrible experience and I will not to recommend you guys to any of my friends !!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

James B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful and very interesting day. There was not a thing we would have changed. The lunch would have been more interesting if there had been more local cuisine on the buffet.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Peter D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Frank - our Guide - was humorous and informative - A great day trip to get away from the crowds in Cancun.

Have kids bring a small note book - perhaps even a sketchbook to remember and record the day.

Well worth your time AND? worth far more than the cost.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Roland J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

it was amazing, such a good idea to leave early and get there before the crowds and the heat. The tour was very good and knowledgable. very safe. the only downside was the lunch. I would happily pay an extra 10 and get a decent lunch. What was served was a joke and nobody ate it. the cheapest bread and cheese with mayo. But this is really not a reflection on the rest of the tour, but we were all very hungry. there is a restaurant there but we didn't have time to eat there, but great day out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

giovannacasale Italia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Usually we Use to go by ourselves in this type of visit but in this case The idea was winning! The tour was perfecty on time and The guide (Ruben) is passionate and professional and allow you to enter in The mayan world , visiting the site. Chenote as well deserve to be seen!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Andrea H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an easy tour even from our hotel south of Playa del Carmen. Transportation was arranged when I confirmed pick-up with a quick call to Mayaland. Our driver Roberto was a good driver in a large, comfortable van that even showed a movie on the 2-hour trip back. No movie was needed on the way there as Mauricio our tour guide kept the tour lively and educational with the right amount of history, humor, and bathroom breaks with no high pressure vendors at the stops. Mauricio is a well studied Mayan and brought this tour to life for us. We learned a lot, walked a lot, and had good food at the Mayaland restaurant. We definitely recommend Viator and especially this small-group tour with Mauricio. Thanks, Viator!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

Nicole P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you and #39;re looking for a bus to take you to Chichen Itza early, before most of the crowds and the heat, this is perfect. Straight there, straight back. Can and #39;t comment on the tour guide, we didn and #39;t stick with him.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Bernard N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Martin was very knowledgeable about Myan culture and history - many points presented would be hard to find in other sources

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Valerie G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This trip was fantastic! Well worth getting up at o'dark thirty. Freddie was the best!!!! He was very informative on the drive there which was about 2.5 hours and giving us some of the history. Pictures do not do this place justice. Incredible. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This trip was a blast, our tour guide was highly knowledgable. The tour starts early, we were picked up at 4:30am, but being one of the first 5 groups into the park was well worth it. On the bus the tour guides gives an initial build up of Mayan history as well as a fun language lesson. Once there we spent an hour and half on the tour and another hour and half on our own. Overall I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Maria Elvira C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was knowledgeable, very engaging and professional. I only wish we had had more time at the ruins and less time at the first stop, the vendor's site. Swimming at the cenote and the food there was great, as it was the very quick visit to Valladolid on the way back.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

pigine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Just amazing the history behind it.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Jessica F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great day. Loved everything about it. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message