One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1061 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an incredible Mayan site. Alot of the structures are still in place. Our tour guide was very enthuisiastic with his presentation and gave us excellent information. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fascinating trip. Very knowledgable tour guide. Although as we were small there was one tour guide for 3 languages so I think we could have learned more if he did not have to take the time to say everything 3times. But still he was great, knowledgeable and patient. Learned a lot. Highly recommend

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Fantastic! I was so impressed with Freddie and Saul! Very professional, trust worthy and knowledgeable! They arrived at the hotel exactly when they told me. Yes, it was early, but it was a smart choice. Avoiding the crowds, the heat, the heavy traffic. Freddie started his presentation on the way there. Being a Maya descendant, his presentation was from his heart,even more interesting, intelligent and funny. We have time for questions, pictures, shopping. I hope you can choose your guide for the tour, because it makes a big difference! Thank you so much for one of my best experiences of my life.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The early start was very worthwhile as we were able to view the ruins before it became too hot and crowded. The guide, Frank, was excellent. He was very informative and interesting and never boring....well done.
The boxed lunch was not really necessary given the availability of tasty and reasonably priced food at the site, water and a banana would have been sufficient or the "lunch" served on the way to the site as at my hotel breakfast was not available before our departure. A very enjoyable trip, thank you.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We booked our early morning tour of Chichen Itza through Viator before we arrived in Cancun, based on the reviews and we were not disappointed! The pick up was bang on time in a smart air conditioned Mercedes van. We were greated by our guide Freddy and driver Achilles. There were only 5 on our tour (I believe the maximum is 19, so it will always be a small group). Freddy is an archeologist of Mayan dissent with a real passion for his subject. After a short while for a knap the second half of the journey there Freddy explained many areas of the Mayan culture, the hierarchy, Mayan calendar, etc etc which really helps with your understanding once at Chichen Itza.

We arrived at 9am just as it was opening, there were only two other vehicles in the car park (when we left it was packed with huge coaches, mini buses and plenty of cars!) the vendors were only just setting up, so no hassle from them as they were busy, allowing us to get straight out to the main court yard, Freddy gave us 15 minutes to get photos while there were no crowds, then he began the tour which lasted 1.5 hours taking in most of the key sites, after which we then had a further 1.5 hours to explore on our own.

The journey back was smooth and included a packed lunch of sandwich, drink, fruit, biscuit and water. The tour was very good and as a result we decided to book direct with the tour company three days later, for the early morning Tulum tour. We had 14 on this tour but even with the extra pick ups we were there as it opened. This was again with Freddy as the guide but the driver this time was Saul, who like Achilles was very helpful and courteous and did a great job of getting us there and back exactly to the timings set out in the itinerary.

Would definitely recommend both early morning tours to any body wishing to visit Chichen Itza and Tulum, beat the crowds, the heat and get the best pictures and information!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging, he did a great job. Sack lunch could use some improvement but overall it worked. Everyone from my group enjoyed the tour and taking everything into consideration the tour was excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Love the tour. Guide is knowledgable; gave us enough time to explore the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very interesting tour.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very professional service.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour of Chichen Itza we booked the early access so when we arrived there was no crowds of people so got the best photos.Our tour guide Freddy was such a nice guy he made us laugh all day and our driver Oscar was so friendly, an excellent day. We would recommend amigo tours to our friends!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A must see you need to see it to believe it the swim in the sennet was amazing have never done anything like it and chichen itza was a sight to behold your guide was great and knowledgable

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour to Chichen Itza was fantastic and informative. Our tour guide really brought the ruins to life. I would suggest the early access tour, it was a great way to start our day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip. Freddie and Oscar were a perfect team and I highly recommend this specific tour. First, early beats the crowd - this is important whether you think so or not. You get better pictures, smaller group size, can focus more on the tour, and the weather is better.

Next, the tour actually starts on the ride to the site. Freddie reviews history, facts, dispels myths, and it is really fun to listen to. If you weren't interested in the Mayans before the ride out there, you will be. I took the tour just because I like things that are very old and still intact, but now I am a Mayan fanatic. This portion also will prepare you for what you will see at the site. It will all tie together very well and is a great way to conduct a tour.

At the site, Freddie will give you alone time at the end, and a bit at the beginning. He will explain things that you would have never been able to know without an expert revealing them to you. he sink holes are especially interesting to learn about.

Lastly, Freddie and Oscar are approachable, knowledgeable, personable, and genuinely want each person to enjoy themselves because, as they said, it is likely your first and last tie to visit Chitchen Itza.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Freddie and Saul were both amazing. Early access is a must as you miss out on the mid day heat and the bus loads of tourists. All of our pictures of Chichen Itza included just me and my boyfriend or the main pyramid itself, massive bonus. Very informative both on the bus trip and around the site.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message