One of the Seven Wonders of the World, Chichen Itza - meaning "At the mouth of the well of the Itza" - is Mexico's most visited archeological site, a magnificent display of Mayan culture and the ceremonial center of the Yucatán. The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1035 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Frank was extremely knowledgable and Oscar very considerate. They make the tour! Definitely recommend going to Chichen Itza only with them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent experience! The 6:15 tour is really recommended as we got great pictures and were back in Cancun for the afternoon. Saul ans Freddie were great and realt enjoyed the trip thanks to them!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I went with 4 other friends. We loved our tour and tour guide. The day was well planned with activities and delicious food. The tour was bilingual, and everyone enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a terrific day with Freddy, our tour guide, and Oscar, our driver. Chichen Itza is a must-see destination if you are in Cancun, and the experience did not disappoint. Freddy provided a wonderful overview of Mayan culture and is incredibly knowledgeable- as a Mayan and native of the Yucatan Peninsula, he had a terrific connection to the information that made it more personal for us. Another perk to this tour is that you really do beat the crowds- although there weren't a lot of people there while we visited, there were easily three or four times the number of people when our tour finished at 12:30 than when we started at 9:30. We got some incredible photos that would not have been possible later in the day. Also, though it goes without saying, it was much hotter at noon- so a morning visit is absolutely recommended and is worth the early start time. Also, this tour takes a toll road that is shorter and smoother than the longer routes other companies choose, so even though it's a long way from the beach we were still back mid-afternoon with plenty of hours left for laying by the pool.

My only frustration was not due to Freddy or the tour itself, but our fellow tourists- the tour starts early, and two separate groups of passengers made us wait for 15 minutes each while they finished getting ready. I think Freddy and Oscar were generous to wait for them, but if mornings aren't your thing, don't choose this tour and inconvenience other passengers. It's too good an experience to force everyone else to have a delayed start and that many more people at the site before you get there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Hugo was very knowledgeable. Really enjoyed the whole tour

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our experience was fantastic. Freddy Hoit and Saul took us to Chichen Itza. It was a treat from the beginning. We were supposed to meet them at the airport since our hotel was far away and they called and said they would pick us up! Then, Freddy is a Mayan descendant and he knows so much about them. He shared his heritage and knowledge with us. Then we felt very special once on site since we arrived much earlier than most people. We got the Mayan calendar for our birthdays and he even taught us the number system Mayans had. We definitely recommend the local tour operators and next time we get in Mexico we will reach out to them for our local tours. Thanks Freddy and Saul. From Kobus and Claudia :)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An amazing experience I went in mid August and there weren't large groups. It was organzied and we were provided with umbrellas. I wish we had more time to continue to explore, but the tour is very interesting. You see a cenote, but ONLY the sacred one. With this tour cenote swim is NOT included.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Small-Group Tour with Private Entrance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wowzers! We had such an incredible time on our trip to Chichen Itza and learned so much about the Mayans from our tour guide Carlos! He was incredibly knowledgeable and clearly passionate about what he was sharing which brought so much of the history to life.

We would say though that the Viator description is slightly misleading. The cooking class involves cooking pre-prepared food, and the relaxation at the Mayaland resort involves eating and walking amongst the gardens on your way to different elements of the tour, but no use of the pool facilities. This wasn't a problem though as so much of your time is spent experiencing different elements of Mayan culture and of course going to the sight of Chichen Itza with our incredibly knowledgeable tour guide, Carlos, who could answer any questions you had about the sight and the Mayans.

We would highly recommend this tour as it was a huge highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Experience Mayan Culture: Chichen Itza, Cooking Class and Maya Traditions

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was great. You get there early for the best pictures and beat the crowd and vendors. Freddy was a great guide and the facts he told was fascinating. The bus ride was informative and the they picked up on time. They were nice and we loved the place.

The early access was worth it. Tip well

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an incredible day trip. It was certainly worth the very early start to miss the later day crowds.
Our guide, Freddy, was amazing. He was exceptionally knowledgeable, quick to respond, and accommodating. Our driver, Saul, was great. Made the trip out and back quick and relaxing.
Absolutely would recommend this excursion to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Freddy and Saul were great! got a real insight even though I have been to Chichen Itza before. Early trip helps avoid the human traffic as other have mentioned but also beats the heat! Very recommended!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

ST Oz
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The tour was well organised and the archeologist was very accommodating in our requests and well informed. The driver was also fantastic and we all felt very safe with him, in a clean and hygienic bus. The only thing was the packed lunch, which was probably inadequate in hot weather and we really could not eat the sandwiches upon return to the bus in the hot weather. I suggest that they give out the lunches later or advise us to take it with us to eat during the tour itself. Not enough time to look at the stalls for souveniers.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour itself was quite good, Frank was very knowledgeable but the hotel pickup was very frustrating for a couple of reasons:
1.We were advised by Viator to contact local rep - to confirm hotel pick up time. They promised to send email and call in the night before the tour to confirm the pickup. Neither of these happened. I sent a follow-up email the night before the tour but they did not replied.
2. They picked us up at 630 a.m. at the hotel zone but had to return to the hotel zone to pick up another group after we left the hotel zone.
3. The next pickup location was about 30 mins away outside of Cancun hotel zone.
There were only 3 groups to pick up but we did not start the 2 hour drive to Chichen Itza until 8.15 am. Very disappointing!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Chichen Itza with a Private Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message