The Coba Ruins, built long ago—sometime between the years 500 and 900—lie deep in the heart of the Yucatan jungle. Visitors can rent bikes or hire rickshaws to travel among the knobby paths and thick forest that link the groupings of ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour of Coba Ruins. The private, early entry tour was fantastic and well worth the very early morning departure from Cancun. The tour guide Marcos was very knowledgeable and provided a fantastic tour of the ruins at Coba. The added Cenotes pool diving was also well worth the money and was enjoyed by me and my two sons. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

smithjen78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth it. One word of warning- Your first confirmation email will list a 6.30am pick up time. Check your email the day before the tour as they will give you an updated pick up time once they know the locations and number of people in your tour. I didn't realize that, so we waited over an hour in the lobby for pick up. Not the fault of the tour provider at all. There was a driver and a separate tour guide in the van, so he spent a large portion of the drive telling us about Coba, the Mayan civilization and the Yucatan. It was complete with visual aids and very interesting and informative.

We were some of the first people to arrive at Coba, so we enjoyed quiet biking through the jungle on the Mayan roads. The bike rental is included. If you are physically unable to bike, there are people who can transport you via rickshaw. It's quite a way to the pyramids and other ruins.

You only have two stops- the ball court and the big pyramid. They allot you time to climb the pyramid, if you wish. Definitely worth it. By arriving early, there's barely anyone there. At the bike drop off point, there are more ruins and another pyramid to view.

Alberto was very knowledgeable and one of my favorite tour guides I've ever had. It was nice to have an expert scholar on the subject matter.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Adoracion N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed it tremendously. If my knees weren't bothering me that day, I would've enjoyed it even better. Ulysses is a fantastic tour guide. He is knowledgeable, accommodating, courteous, and helpful. The ruins in Tulum, especially in Coba, were amazing. The Cenote swim, even though I didn't swim, was great my group had fun and the lunch was good. Martin is a very good driver and maneuvered the van really well. All and all, it was a great trip!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great tour experience! Our tour guide, Suzanna, and our driver could not have been better. Suzanna was not only extremely knowledgeable, but also a lot of fun! It would be hard to say what part of the tour we enjoyed best, because every part, from beginning to end, deserves a 5-star rating! The tour began as we were picked up from our hotel exactly on time, and were then given in-depth information on our way to both destinations of the Tulum and Coba ruins. The guided tours were extremely interesting and filled with Suzanna's inside knowledge of the Mayan people. Along with the guided part of the tours we were given time to explore on our own, which included a climb to the top of the tallest pyramid in Coba - what a beautiful view! Before our climb in Coba we enjoyed a swim in the crystal clear waters of a nearby cenote in a small Mayan village, where we were also treated to a delicious buffet lunch. What a wonderful refreshing way to break up the day - a day we will always remember!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Arturo and Julio were superb!
We highly enjoyed our outing with them, seeing the Mayan ruins, to include lunch, along with swimming in Cinotes, and lastly, shopping.
We had a small group of 6 people and it really helped us collectively move through the vast Coba site effectively, using the bicycles. The physical site was amazing. And the walk to the top of the pyramid was the highlight.
Do this journey!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Evangelos P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was really great, exactly what it promised to be. We had enough time to see Tulum and Coba plus climb the pyramid, and time to swim in a cenote. The tour guide, Carlos, was amazing and very knowledgable. Overall, this tour is extremely worth it, if you want to experience both Tulum and Coba on the same day.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

maryellenlaird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

FANTASTIC TOUR! This tour included roundtrip transportation to and from our hotel, making it a great bargain. We loved Tulum and thought Coba was amazing. We were grateful that we were allowed to climb the pyramid in Coba. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We skipped the swim at the cenote, but the people who went swimming loved it. Lunch wasn't bad either. There is a fair amount of walking at both Tulum and Coba. You could pay 10.00 for a pedicab at Coba and save a mile walk and it was well worth it on a hot day for us. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was very nice. Arturo was knowledgeable, I liked that at Coba the bikes were included
The Cenote was really cool. There was a place to change into swim suits
Lunch was good, I think a beverage should have been included. They wouldn't even serve water unless purchased
I would suggest to take 2 waters per person, don't forget your towel, bug spray, money trips shopping
Have fun

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Samantha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

loved this tour.
not only did we see Tulum and Coba but we went to a real Mayan village and saw how they lived, and then swam and ate at the cenote. this was beautiful! the water was so clean and clear. At the Mayan village there was a shaman who gave us a blessing for eternal good luck.
The start of the tour started off badly, the tour guide seemed to speak quietly and babble on but it was because he had to speak english, french and spanish for everyone on the trip. But once he got to Tulum the guide opened up and told us so much history. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The archaeological guide, Ulises. Was excellent. He was soooo knowledgable and friendly. We had a great time. The tour to the coba ruins and the cenote and the buffet were all superb. Thank you ulises!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Carlos was really friendly and smart, and kept us engaged during the tour. The trip to the cenote is a great break in the day because after walking around in the heat at Tulum, the cool waters of the cenote really help refresh you. But I think my favorite part was climbing the pyramid in Coba because of the views that you will see from the top. Great tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was perfect! Carlos, our guide, and Chano, our driver, were excellent and made the whole tour worth it. Carlos is very knowledgeable and was able to provide interesting facts but also keep us all entertained for the long day. He also is completely fluent in English and Spanish. We were a group of 16 people, and everything went smoothly from the pickup in the morning to the drop-off at night. Tulum is gorgeous and you get there right before all the crowds arrive. One really interesting thing is that the cenote visit (which includes lunch) is part of a co-op of families who own it, and part of the proceeds from this tour actually go towards those families and the upkeep of the cenote. Coba is also beautiful, but in a totally different way. Save your energy for climbing the pyramid. It's a long way up, but the view from the top is spectacular. A tip for future customers: it's a long day - there's no getting around that. Make sure to bring a snack for the morning bus ride, and additional water. They did have water on the bus, but it was an extremely hot the day when I went on the tour and extra water is always a good precaution. I'd also recommend a change of clothing, sneakers, flip flops, a towel, bug spray and sunscreen. You can keep things on the bus if needed. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

amy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was awesome! We learned so much about Mayan culture with our guide Irving. At both Tulum and Coba we had the guided tour and then were able to explore by ourselves. In between we went to a Mayan village and then swam and ate at the cenote. At the Mayan village there was a shaman who gave us a blessing. I would highly recommend this tour. Note that it was a very long day, almost 12 hours for us, but well worth it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Irving was amazing! Tulum and Coba were gorgeous. We got to learn a lot about Mayan culture while walking through the ruins. We were given time to ourselves in both locations so we could explore on our own. In Tulum we were able to go to the beach area and at Coba we climbed Nohuch Mul, the highest pyramid in the area. In between Tulum and Coba, we were taken to a Mayan Village where we got to eat lunch and swim in the Cenote. After how hot it was in Tulum, this was a much needed swim in the cool water to refresh ourselves before Coba. Worth every penny.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Joanar.reyes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was amazing to say the least.. Our guide was Carlos. He was great. I love the fact that he was knowledgeable about both Ruins. Tulum was a very beautiful place to visit. As for Coba, wow.. I loved the fact that we were still able to climb to the top of the tallest pyramid in Yucatan. It was a breath taking view. I would so recommend this tour to any of my friends.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Wyndee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fabulous tour... Our guide was of Myan decent and was extreamly knowledgable about the Myan culture and language. His historical account brought the city to life for me, i wasn't just looking at some old ruins, but an actual city, with an understand of they they lived and flourished. Fortunately there was a nice breeze, but it was still very hot so I would highly recommend all to bring hats sun block and comfortable walking shoes.. The senote was nice to do in between coba and Tulum, cause it gave you an opportunity to cool off and relax a bit and this was where we had a nice Mexican buffet style lunch. After the senote and lunch we went to Coba, the walk is about a mile to the ruins but there were bicycle taxies that were available for hire for those that didn't want to walk. For those that do walk, bring plenty of water, especially if you plan to climb the pyramid...... Which I highly recommend if you are able.. The view from the top is incredible, however,It's quite a precarious climb, cause the steps are crude and worn, I would not attempt to climb without athletic shoes.. Overall, this was a very enjoyable and interesting day

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was the absolute best tour we have ever taken on our travels. Irving was our tour guide and was not only incredibly informative about Mayan history and culuture, but being of Mayan descent, was extremely passionate and proud about his work. The ruins are incredible to see and very well preserved. Tulum Tips-wear a hat, sunscreen and leave extra bottles of water in the tour van. Climbing the Coba pyramid was breathtaking. It is the highest point in the Yucantan so you will have an incredible view. The steps are very narrow and steep. Tips Coba-wear shoes with good traction, its a long walk to the actual pyramid but take a bicycle ride on the way back to the parking lot 6 USD. Lastly, the Cenote swim is the perfect refresher! It is an open, above ground Cenote with water as clear as glass. Purchase you souvenirs here as they money goes directly to local Mayan vendors. I purchased very good silver pieces and bargained price. In this park you will also get a chance to be a part of Mayan Shaman ceremony optional. Tips Cenote-bring an underwater camera, have cash on hand for homemade Popsicles and souvenirs. Thank you again to Irving for an amazing day. You truly inspire all of us to learn about Mayan history and have an appreciation for such a fascinating culture.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

krmoore399

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful trip. Our guide was Arturo and the driver was Jacinto. Smooth transfers. Wonderful tour of Coba. Coba is surrounded by jungle, so was different. Also it is the only ruin that you can still climb, which we did. We then went to a cenote. When I heard this was included, I expected just an open pit. Instead this was underground with lots of steps down and included stalagmites and stalactites. A great way to cool off. Had bagged lunch and then back. The early access was great because of the small number of early visitors and the cooler weather. A must see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Crystal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Freddy our tour guide was great and regaled us with all sorts of information about the Mayans on our drive to Coba after letting us have a little nap first, given the early wake up call. Once we arrived we climbed on bikes and started a leisure ride into the site, with pedicabs for those who couldn't ride. We had several stops including the pyramid where we got to climb to the top. The views are spectacular but you will definitely be feeling all those steps later in the week. At the end of the Coba portion you get a little free time to explore and take a few pictures before getting in the bus for the cenote.

The cenote was not quite what I was expecting, it is more of an underground cave than the open sinkholes you sometimes see in pictures. That being said it was very refreshing and had several places from the stairs where you could safely jump into the water. Be ready to deal with some wildlife though as there were some bats flying overhead and some small fish in the water.

The food was great and located over some shops which allowed for a quick shopping opportunity after lunch.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

DavidA United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful time for people age 18 and over. This was a trip that worked for our group, but would not work for under 14 as the Cenote was small and there was a lot of walking at Tulum. Nonetheless, all of our group loved it and Carlos was a great resource. Also, I loved climbing the pyramid structure at COBA and the view of the jungle exterior. All around great day!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the tour with my husband and I and our two kids 10 and 6. We had special early access into Coba and our tour guide, Alberto was so knowledgeable. When we climbed the ruin, because we got there early, our tour of 8 people were the only ones there. The cenote tour was amazing too! Awesome!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Gustavo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Ashley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We got picked up at our hotel and our minds were at ease the entire day! The sites along with cenote swimming were great and we can't say enough good things about our tour guide Ruben! He was knowledgable and fun! Climbing the pyramid at Coba was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

gojurick

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First let me say that if you take this tour ask that Alejandro be your guide. He absolutely made a great day even better. He was a wealth of knowledge about the Maya culture. Fortunately it was his day to escort the English-speaking portion of our group. I cannot say enough good things about him.
This is a very long day, be prepared. Takes snacks for the rides between locations. We started off heading to Tulum, a site I have visited once before, 25 years ago. It is still a very cool place to explore. It was a very hot day so we searched for shade for our informative talks. Carry water.
On to the cenote. We were the first to arrive so we got to swim first. This was nice since several vans and a huge bus showed up later. We weren't there long, but the water is incredibly refreshing and a must-do.
Next it was time to head to Coba and lunch. We had an area set up for us at a restaurant right outside the Coba site. Lunch was a highlight, the food was fantastic. Seconds was in order, and you walk around Coba a lot so you can work it off.
Originally we were going to go to Tulum and Chichen Itza, but a recommended Coba. It was the right choice. While Chichen Itza is larger and a more open space, Coba is set in a forest and at every turn you find something amazing. The smaller ball courts make you picture what used to take place centuries ago. The highlight is the main pyramid which you have no idea is there until you are very close. Climb it now as we were told it will probably be closed in the next year. Not being a big fan of heights, this was a good test. The climb up isn't really difficult, just watch your footing. What you get at the top is worth every pain in your legs. The view is absolutely breathtaking. You can see 360 degrees for miles of nothing but jungle. Imagine what it was like to stand up there before your people. Embrace the feeling. The climb down is a little hairy but use the rope. This is a must-do trip.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Emily T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. A full, varied, well-planned day with an excellent guide. We loved the cenote swim: cool crystal water after very hot ruins was much appreciated. Coba has two major buildings far apart. You can rent bikes or be pedaled for a few pesos, but you can't use US dollars.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message