The Coba Ruins, built long ago—sometime between the years 500 and 900—lie deep in the heart of the Yucatan jungle. Visitors can rent bikes or hire rickshaws to travel among the knobby paths and thick forest that link the groupings of ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yosu A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour. Our tour guide was Luis, who is well informed and helpful. The Tulum site is beautiful. The ruins are not large, but it's right next to the ocean, and it's lovely. Quite crowded. The format is to tour with the guide, who gives an explanation of the different buildings and then you get a short period of time for photographs.

Afterwards, you get back on the bus and go to the lunch location. It's like a campground - there is a small enclosed kitchen with tables where you eat a buffet style lunch of tacos - chicken, and pork, rice and beans, and vegetables. It's a simple meal, but it's good. Afterwards, you can swim in the cenote limestone pool. It's not deep, and the water is very clear. Remember to bring your swimsuit and towels. The site doe not have towels for your use. There is also a small jewelry stand where you can buy silver jewelry made on site. Don't forget to bargain, it's part of the custom.

Afterwards, in the afternoon you go to Coba, which is another site in the jungle. The tour guide once again walks you around several of the main sites, and then the highlight is to climb the pyramid at Coba. This is the tallest pyramid in the Yucatan region and the only one that you can climb. It's not as big as Teotihuacan pyramids, but very enjoyable. The site is large - it's about 2 kilometers 1 mile or so from the entrance of the park to the main pyramid. The choices are walking, renting a bicycle 50 pesos I forget exactly, or renting a rickshaw 75 pesos I think where someone pedals you in a cart. In our group no one walked. We took one of the other 2 options. By the time you get to Coba, it's afternoon, so it probably makes sense to bicycle so that you can get there faster. It's quite hot here, even though there are trees. they have a small store where you can buy soft drinks and cold water. Outside of the park they also have souvenir shops.

All in all, it's a very full day and you will enjoy it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

John C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The guides were very knowledgeable at both sites. At Coba make sure you do take the tricycle to the ruins - with a young fellow doing all the work. It is a bit of a hike and gives you more time to climb the pyramid and explore.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Sourav N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. We were picked from our hotel by Sergio and we drove in a lovely air conditioned van. Sergio has an excellent grasp of Mexican history and enlightened us on the history of Mayan Civilisation along with that Tulum and Coba. The sites are wonderful and different. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our first experience of the Mayan ruins, this was a long day but worth it. It was very hot so and there was not a lot of shad so make sure you take hats and sunscreen. Tulum was amazing to see, our guide spent quite some time explaining things to us. The cenote swim was great a lovely way to cool off and then Coba was great. It is quite a long walk at Coba but you can hire bikes and bike taxis, make the walk and climb the temple. It is quite hard going but worth it when you get to the top.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Arthur G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour picked us up at the Grand Mayan promptly at 7 am and we were very pleased with the entire tour and the guide, Oscar Osorio, who is wonderful. The early access is a wonderful idea and we had no crowds during any part of the tour. This is a tour you need to keep and keep Oscar also !!! The bike ride thru the Coba ruins was really fun and Oscar kept us entertained and educated the entire time. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

Sean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I thought this was a great overview tour. Carlos was one of the best tour guides I've ever had. He gave us so much background information on the Mayan civilization and Mayan language that it was almost a history and linguistics class combined. He's responsible for coordinating so much throughout the day that I have no idea how he maintains such a high level of energy and enthusiasm.

I call it an overview tour because you don't spend a whole lot of time at each stop Tulum, the cenote, and the Coba ruins, but it does give you a great idea of where you might want to explore further. You could probably spend a day at Tulum alone, and with 6,500 ruins to explore, you could make that an entire excursion. This tour is designed to give you a taste of each so you can decide if you want to come back and explore further.

What's not to be missed? Climb the pyramid at Coba! If it's physically possible for you to do so, climb that pyramid and check out the view. Coming down is actually worse than going up, and even if you're afraid of heights like me, the effort and view are worth it. You can make it up and back down in under half an hour, and you won't forget it.

Two other things I don't want to forget to mention. Our driver was Luis, and you may not think having a skilled driver is all that important, but a comfortable ride and a nice rest in between stops is very important so you're ready for the next activity. Luis knew every bump in the road and made it such a smooth, relaxing ride that I couldn't help but almost fall asleep every time we were in the van. Listening to Carlos' stories while being rocked to sleep by Luis was like hearing a bedtime story from my grandfather.

The lunch served at the cenote was also wonderful. It was a relatively simple meal of customary foods, but it was served so graciously and preceded by a Mayan ceremony granting permission to enter the cenote. I have such gratitude and respect for what they provided. Thank you.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Mark S S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Early access is definitely the best way to see these ruins. In both cases, we were finishing up our tours just as the crowds were arriving. Coba was our first tour, and there was only ourselves and one other couple. We arrived just as the gates were opening, and the sun was starting to peek over the trees. It was absolutely magical walking through the ruins with only the birds calling overhead. After our time at Coba was up, we were taken to a local cenote for a swim. This particular cenote was completely underground, and deep enough that platforms were provided at various heights to jump in if you dared. Once our refreshing swim was over, we were taken to a lovely local restaurant in Coba village for a buffet lunch overlooking the lake. A perfect relaxing ending to a perfect day. The next day was our tour of Chichen Itza. Frank, our tour guide, is passionate and knowledgeable about his heritage. Again we arrived before the crowds, a blessing because approximately 12,000 people visit the city every day. Frank made sure that we didn't miss a thing, and answered every question patiently and with good humour. He allowed us a large block of free time to wander the ruins by ourselves, but all too soon, our 3 hours was up. What made it easier to leave were the thousands of sightseers we suddenly realized were now around us, when we had had the entire city to ourselves earlier. We found Amigo Tours the company running the tours to be well organized in picking up their guests and sorting them onto their various buses for various locations for the day. We were well cared for on both tours, and would do this again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Exclusive Chichen Itza and Coba Early Access Tours led by Archaeologist

Jared S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was exactly what we were looking for during our vacation in Playa del Carmen. We wanted a chance to tour Mayan ruins, but didn't want to give up a ton of beach time while we were away from our resort. The tour picked us up at 7am and we were back by 2pm! Never did we feel rushed, and since we only had one other person with us, we could go at our own pace. Climbing Coba was an experience I'll never forget, and you get the opportunity to learn so much history from the archeologist! I was unsure about the cenote swim- but ended up loving it! Even if you aren't a big swimmer, go down into the cenote just to see the views- amazing! The authentic Mexican lunch was very good, too! The only downside we had was that our driver did not speak any English, but he was very resourceful using his phone translator, calling another driver over speaker phone in order to communicate when needed. All our other tour guides in Coba spoke perfect English! Highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Awesome tour. Our Archaeologist, Alberto, was very knowledgeable and interesting. All costs were included, lunch, entrance fees, rickshaw bicycles. Alberto spoke on the history of the Mayan culture as we travelled to the Coba Ruins. It was great being able to climb the ruins before people from the 5 buses did.
Please note....we found out that does not pickup at the lobby of our hotel Blue Bay Grand Esmeralda. There was confusion on whether pickup was at the lobby or gate. We mentioned this to the front desk and valet attendant. The driver, Israel, and Alberto were good enough to contact the hotel when we were not at the gate and then waited for us to walk out.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

jkm1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. I read the reviews of the 2 all-day tours and read quite a few stating they would have preferred 1/2 the time at both. While I agree that 1/2 a day at Coba was sufficient, my husband and I in our 30's with no kids would have preferred a full day at Xel-Ha. There was so much to do at Xel-Ha that we would have loved to have had more time to explore there and time to meet the dolphins and do the zip bikes. We chose the 1/2 day since we more or less thought it was more of a children's park, which it's not. There's plenty to do regardless of age. Both were great!

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We booked the early morning Coba tour with Viator which contracted with -our group was led by archaeologist guide Marco and driver Julio. They were outstanding in every way. We stayed one step ahead of the crowd all day by biking between the different sites at Coba. The cost of the bikes was included in this tour. Marco was friendly and extremely knowledgeable and welcomed questions. He provided great information in a way that engaged the entire group including our youngest son, aged 7. He and the entire group was patient with our slower pace with the 3 kids, but still managed to keep us on schedule and ahead of the crowd. Climbing the pyramid was an amazing experience that we will never forget and the views were breathtaking. After Coba, our group went to a nearby cenote for a quick swim. There were changing rooms and showers to wash off the bug spray before going in the water. The water was clear and cold and very deep--there were two high platforms to jump from that the kids loved. Right after we finished, a huge group arrived while we had the cenote largely to ourselves. We then had a buffet lunch at a Ki-Janal, a restaurant right near the front gates of Coba. The food was authentic Mayan, and quite good. The staff was also amazingly kind to our sons who daringly and foolishly took bites of hot peppers--they provided all sorts of natural remedies--the limes with salt seemed to do the trick. A very worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Kathy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

AMAZING!!!! Alfredo was knowledgable and patient with all of the people on the tour. It was a small group - so we got time to spend looking around the ruins, climbing the pyramid and of course photographing them. He gave us the option of the bicycle taxi as well. We did not take advantage of swimming in the cenote - but did go down to see it and watch the others swim. The buffet lunch was authentic and very good. Israel, the driver was the best one yet!!!

if you want to see Coba the right way - book this tour!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Derek F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour of Coba Ruins. The private, early entry tour was fantastic and well worth the very early morning departure from Cancun. The tour guide Marcos was very knowledgeable and provided a fantastic tour of the ruins at Coba. The added Cenotes pool diving was also well worth the money and was enjoyed by me and my two sons. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

smithjen78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic tour and well worth it. One word of warning- Your first confirmation email will list a 6.30am pick up time. Check your email the day before the tour as they will give you an updated pick up time once they know the locations and number of people in your tour. I didn't realize that, so we waited over an hour in the lobby for pick up. Not the fault of the tour provider at all. There was a driver and a separate tour guide in the van, so he spent a large portion of the drive telling us about Coba, the Mayan civilization and the Yucatan. It was complete with visual aids and very interesting and informative.

We were some of the first people to arrive at Coba, so we enjoyed quiet biking through the jungle on the Mayan roads. The bike rental is included. If you are physically unable to bike, there are people who can transport you via rickshaw. It's quite a way to the pyramids and other ruins.

You only have two stops- the ball court and the big pyramid. They allot you time to climb the pyramid, if you wish. Definitely worth it. By arriving early, there's barely anyone there. At the bike drop off point, there are more ruins and another pyramid to view.

Alberto was very knowledgeable and one of my favorite tour guides I've ever had. It was nice to have an expert scholar on the subject matter.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Adoracion N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed it tremendously. If my knees weren't bothering me that day, I would've enjoyed it even better. Ulysses is a fantastic tour guide. He is knowledgeable, accommodating, courteous, and helpful. The ruins in Tulum, especially in Coba, were amazing. The Cenote swim, even though I didn't swim, was great my group had fun and the lunch was good. Martin is a very good driver and maneuvered the van really well. All and all, it was a great trip!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A great tour experience! Our tour guide, Suzanna, and our driver could not have been better. Suzanna was not only extremely knowledgeable, but also a lot of fun! It would be hard to say what part of the tour we enjoyed best, because every part, from beginning to end, deserves a 5-star rating! The tour began as we were picked up from our hotel exactly on time, and were then given in-depth information on our way to both destinations of the Tulum and Coba ruins. The guided tours were extremely interesting and filled with Suzanna's inside knowledge of the Mayan people. Along with the guided part of the tours we were given time to explore on our own, which included a climb to the top of the tallest pyramid in Coba - what a beautiful view! Before our climb in Coba we enjoyed a swim in the crystal clear waters of a nearby cenote in a small Mayan village, where we were also treated to a delicious buffet lunch. What a wonderful refreshing way to break up the day - a day we will always remember!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Arturo and Julio were superb!
We highly enjoyed our outing with them, seeing the Mayan ruins, to include lunch, along with swimming in Cinotes, and lastly, shopping.
We had a small group of 6 people and it really helped us collectively move through the vast Coba site effectively, using the bicycles. The physical site was amazing. And the walk to the top of the pyramid was the highlight.
Do this journey!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Evangelos P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was really great, exactly what it promised to be. We had enough time to see Tulum and Coba plus climb the pyramid, and time to swim in a cenote. The tour guide, Carlos, was amazing and very knowledgable. Overall, this tour is extremely worth it, if you want to experience both Tulum and Coba on the same day.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

maryellenlaird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

FANTASTIC TOUR! This tour included roundtrip transportation to and from our hotel, making it a great bargain. We loved Tulum and thought Coba was amazing. We were grateful that we were allowed to climb the pyramid in Coba. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We skipped the swim at the cenote, but the people who went swimming loved it. Lunch wasn't bad either. There is a fair amount of walking at both Tulum and Coba. You could pay 10.00 for a pedicab at Coba and save a mile walk and it was well worth it on a hot day for us. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Nancy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was very nice. Arturo was knowledgeable, I liked that at Coba the bikes were included
The Cenote was really cool. There was a place to change into swim suits
Lunch was good, I think a beverage should have been included. They wouldn't even serve water unless purchased
I would suggest to take 2 waters per person, don't forget your towel, bug spray, money trips shopping
Have fun

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Samantha G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

loved this tour.
not only did we see Tulum and Coba but we went to a real Mayan village and saw how they lived, and then swam and ate at the cenote. this was beautiful! the water was so clean and clear. At the Mayan village there was a shaman who gave us a blessing for eternal good luck.
The start of the tour started off badly, the tour guide seemed to speak quietly and babble on but it was because he had to speak english, french and spanish for everyone on the trip. But once he got to Tulum the guide opened up and told us so much history. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The archaeological guide, Ulises. Was excellent. He was soooo knowledgable and friendly. We had a great time. The tour to the coba ruins and the cenote and the buffet were all superb. Thank you ulises!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide Carlos was really friendly and smart, and kept us engaged during the tour. The trip to the cenote is a great break in the day because after walking around in the heat at Tulum, the cool waters of the cenote really help refresh you. But I think my favorite part was climbing the pyramid in Coba because of the views that you will see from the top. Great tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Cat USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was perfect! Carlos, our guide, and Chano, our driver, were excellent and made the whole tour worth it. Carlos is very knowledgeable and was able to provide interesting facts but also keep us all entertained for the long day. He also is completely fluent in English and Spanish. We were a group of 16 people, and everything went smoothly from the pickup in the morning to the drop-off at night. Tulum is gorgeous and you get there right before all the crowds arrive. One really interesting thing is that the cenote visit (which includes lunch) is part of a co-op of families who own it, and part of the proceeds from this tour actually go towards those families and the upkeep of the cenote. Coba is also beautiful, but in a totally different way. Save your energy for climbing the pyramid. It's a long way up, but the view from the top is spectacular. A tip for future customers: it's a long day - there's no getting around that. Make sure to bring a snack for the morning bus ride, and additional water. They did have water on the bus, but it was an extremely hot the day when I went on the tour and extra water is always a good precaution. I'd also recommend a change of clothing, sneakers, flip flops, a towel, bug spray and sunscreen. You can keep things on the bus if needed. Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

amy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was awesome! We learned so much about Mayan culture with our guide Irving. At both Tulum and Coba we had the guided tour and then were able to explore by ourselves. In between we went to a Mayan village and then swam and ate at the cenote. At the Mayan village there was a shaman who gave us a blessing. I would highly recommend this tour. Note that it was a very long day, almost 12 hours for us, but well worth it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message