The Coba Ruins, built long ago—sometime between the years 500 and 900—lie deep in the heart of the Yucatan jungle. Visitors can rent bikes or hire rickshaws to travel among the knobby paths and thick forest that link the groupings of ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful trip. Our guide was Arturo and the driver was Jacinto. Smooth transfers. Wonderful tour of Coba. Coba is surrounded by jungle, so was different. Also it is the only ruin that you can still climb, which we did. We then went to a cenote. When I heard this was included, I expected just an open pit. Instead this was underground with lots of steps down and included stalagmites and stalactites. A great way to cool off. Had bagged lunch and then back. The early access was great because of the small number of early visitors and the cooler weather. A must see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Freddy our tour guide was great and regaled us with all sorts of information about the Mayans on our drive to Coba after letting us have a little nap first, given the early wake up call. Once we arrived we climbed on bikes and started a leisure ride into the site, with pedicabs for those who couldn't ride. We had several stops including the pyramid where we got to climb to the top. The views are spectacular but you will definitely be feeling all those steps later in the week. At the end of the Coba portion you get a little free time to explore and take a few pictures before getting in the bus for the cenote.

The cenote was not quite what I was expecting, it is more of an underground cave than the open sinkholes you sometimes see in pictures. That being said it was very refreshing and had several places from the stairs where you could safely jump into the water. Be ready to deal with some wildlife though as there were some bats flying overhead and some small fish in the water.

The food was great and located over some shops which allowed for a quick shopping opportunity after lunch.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

DavidA
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful time for people age 18 and over. This was a trip that worked for our group, but would not work for under 14 as the Cenote was small and there was a lot of walking at Tulum. Nonetheless, all of our group loved it and Carlos was a great resource. Also, I loved climbing the pyramid structure at COBA and the view of the jungle exterior. All around great day!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We took the tour with my husband and I and our two kids 10 and 6. We had special early access into Coba and our tour guide, Alberto was so knowledgeable. When we climbed the ruin, because we got there early, our tour of 8 people were the only ones there. The cenote tour was amazing too! Awesome!!

Doing what: Best Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa del Carmen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We got picked up at our hotel and our minds were at ease the entire day! The sites along with cenote swimming were great and we can't say enough good things about our tour guide Ruben! He was knowledgable and fun! Climbing the pyramid at Coba was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First let me say that if you take this tour ask that Alejandro be your guide. He absolutely made a great day even better. He was a wealth of knowledge about the Maya culture. Fortunately it was his day to escort the English-speaking portion of our group. I cannot say enough good things about him.
This is a very long day, be prepared. Takes snacks for the rides between locations. We started off heading to Tulum, a site I have visited once before, 25 years ago. It is still a very cool place to explore. It was a very hot day so we searched for shade for our informative talks. Carry water.
On to the cenote. We were the first to arrive so we got to swim first. This was nice since several vans and a huge bus showed up later. We weren't there long, but the water is incredibly refreshing and a must-do.
Next it was time to head to Coba and lunch. We had an area set up for us at a restaurant right outside the Coba site. Lunch was a highlight, the food was fantastic. Seconds was in order, and you walk around Coba a lot so you can work it off.
Originally we were going to go to Tulum and Chichen Itza, but a recommended Coba. It was the right choice. While Chichen Itza is larger and a more open space, Coba is set in a forest and at every turn you find something amazing. The smaller ball courts make you picture what used to take place centuries ago. The highlight is the main pyramid which you have no idea is there until you are very close. Climb it now as we were told it will probably be closed in the next year. Not being a big fan of heights, this was a good test. The climb up isn't really difficult, just watch your footing. What you get at the top is worth every pain in your legs. The view is absolutely breathtaking. You can see 360 degrees for miles of nothing but jungle. Imagine what it was like to stand up there before your people. Embrace the feeling. The climb down is a little hairy but use the rope. This is a must-do trip.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. A full, varied, well-planned day with an excellent guide. We loved the cenote swim: cool crystal water after very hot ruins was much appreciated. Coba has two major buildings far apart. You can rent bikes or be pedaled for a few pesos, but you can't use US dollars.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely awesome! Our tour guide, Saul, was very entertaining and knowledgeable. This tour includes some really unique and personal experiences that I don't believe many tour companies are offering. We were taken into rural Mayan peoples' homes, blessed by a Mayan elder, and allowed to swim in a sacred Cenote sinkhole which was a highlight of the trip. I strongly suggest jumping off of the high ledge into the water because it is one of the most refreshing experiences I've had in my life, and the water is so deep there is nothing to worry about. Lunch was delicious and all you can eat! The Coba ruins are, of course, stunningly awesome as well. Climbing to the top of the tallest pyramid was scarier than I expected because the steps are very steep, but it was totally worth it. Take advantage of the opportunity to climb to the top of this pyramid before they discontinue that option! It is the only Mayan pyramid that still allows it, so there is no telling when they will stop. Overall, this tour is a 10 out of 10. You will really enjoy it if you have any interest in the Mayan culture or just different cultures and customs in general.

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very enjoyable trip, with enough variety to keep the kids ages 5-18 happy. Our wonderful guide Israel was very informed, and shared interesting facts and and history with us. The swim in the cenote was the perfect break from the hot historical sites, and a lot of fun for the kids. Be sure to pack a towel or two to share amongst yourselves. Life vest were mandatory - so no worries if you're not a swimmer. Lunch was plentiful, traditional fare. Our van was clean, comfortable and air conditioned, and our driver was especially friendly and great with the kids. Climbing the pyramid at Coba is not for young children though - a fall could be fatal. We took turns watching the 5 year old at the bottom so we could each climb, as there was plenty of time allowed.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a fantastic day out in Tulum and Coba on the Yucatan peninsula with a stopover at a local cenote for a refreshing swim. Our guide, Carlos, was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. The food was delicious, and the only thing we would do differently is bring a bottle of water on the Coba tour. It's the longest, with lots of walking...but they have bikes to rent if you get tired.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Coba was my favorite my husband and I got to tour the site on bicycles, lots of fun!
Tulums access to the beach was awesome as well heavyly packed with all of us tourists but still worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hotel Pickup was on time. Guide was excellent he spoke very good English, Italian and Spanish. The shuttle vans were clean and with A/C. The Lunch buffet they took us was really good ! We also got to vista a small village a natives to see how they lived. The Ruins of Coba was Amazing.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

"Saul" our tour guide provided a well rounded experience by visiting two Mayan villages, a ceynote and the historic site of Coba. Great combination of physical activity and learning. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is probably the best way to explore not only the amazing Maya ruins of Coba, but also to catch a glimpse into the everyday life of the Maya people living in the low jungle of the Yucatan peninsula. Our driver and guide, Saul, who by the way, is super fun, picked us up at 7 and took us directly to a small Mayan community called Esmeralda. There, the shaman, Don Benjamin, performed a very beautiful and moving purification ceremony, in which he asked the gods for protection and permission, so that we could later swim in the local cenote. This cenote, about 14 meters deep, with clear, amazing water, is in the middle of the village and can be access through a wooden staircase. In is partially covered and partially open, so that the daring ones can choose to jump straight in, from a rock some 15 meters above. We were provided with towels, life vests and swimming floats.

After Esmeralda, we stopped at Laguna Chabela, an even smaller Mayan community, home to maybe 3 families altogether. There, we visited these hospitable people’s houses and kitchen. Dona Aurelia, the matriarch, was making corn tortillas and invited us to try some, which we gladly did, accompanying it with fresh made, spicy salsa.

During our tour of the Mayan communities, young boys kept snapping pictures of us, as part of a project. At the end of this part of the trip, you can purchase all the photos, from both locations, copied on a CD. We did, and are quite happy with our decision: not only did we get some 60 pictures of ourselves, but also amazing snapshots of the local flora, fauna and landscapes. We also got a recording of the purification ceremony.

A word of advice: if you want to buy a genuine piece of Mayan craftsmanship, make sure you visit the modest shops in these villages. What you can find here is not only authentic and cheap, but you know that by buying these objects, you are giving money directly to the community and not to some middlemen.
After this, we stopped for lunch, included in the trip price. We had very tasty local food and refreshments. From there, it was off to Coba, where a guide gave us a tour of the ruins. We left with plenty of time to rent bikes and go to Nohoch Mul. Climbing this very high pyramid is an amazing experience in itself, though not for the faint-hearted.

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

J.J.
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A very nice trip in a small group. It will be good if more then 2 hours visiting time will be provided at Coba (if you want enjoy the view you must walk in the jungle and after climb the pyramide!) The food in the Maya village was very good.

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was good. The guide was informative and funny. Only reason it got 4 stars instead of 5 was the van's a/c stopped working for awhile. They did replace the van, so they are on it, but it was still a hot ride for a little bit. Coba is a must see. Lots to do and see there. Tulum is nice, but it's so hot. No shade anywhere. I would do it again.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was professionally done, but a little hurried. But climbing on top of the Coba pyramid is just amazing. If I had to do it over, I would do an early access tour of Tulum ruins, the time at which this tour gets to Tulum there are simply too many people to enjoy the place since the site is so small.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tulum and Coba ruins were beautiful and our guide was very knowledgeable. The cenote swim was just okay, though it's refreshing after all the walking. We did feel a little rushed because we have two kids and its harder for them to keep up. This is a lot less than the advertised 12 hours.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Chichenitza tour was good.
Coba tour: air conditioning of the shuttle bus did not function, the driver had to open the windows but it was still very hot inside the bus. The tour itself was good.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Exclusive Chichen Itza and Coba Early Access Tours led by Archaeologist

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Worth waking up early for!!! Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. He answered all questions with a smile on his face, and you definitely learn a little bit of Mayan history! We beat the crowd and the rain, and we were able to enjoy both Nohoch Mol and the rest of the Coba ruins and the cenote without having to contend with a large gaggle of tourists for pictures. The lunch buffet wasn't that special.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote Swim from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great, I called the day before to confirm pick up time, our driver was prompt. Our tour guide Isreal was wonderful, he spoke Spanish, English and French! Very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture. Tulum and Coba Ruins are a must. The cenote break was a great cool down. Bring snacks/drinks!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic tour guide, great shopping opportunity with locals, loved cycling through the jungle at Coba and climbing the pyramid there was just incredible. Make sure you take snacks, because it was about 6hrs between breakfast and lunch at Xel-Ha.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Amazing tour, i maybe would have liked more time at Coba itself, but I wouldn't give up the rest of the tour. Brilliant food, interesting culture and facts, lovely people, and some fantastic sights

Doing what: Best Coba Ruins Day Trip from Cancun or Riviera Maya

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message