Just off the coast of tourist-laden Cancun, Isla Mujeres is a small island, only 5 miles long (8 kilometers), with fantastic beaches, shopping, and restaurants. Named after the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine, the "Island of Women" ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great fun trip. Only negative was the golf cart rental, not very good equipment. Other than that, it was first class.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely fantastic! Laura, the captain the crew crew were wonderful! Everything was as promised. We were able to swim 3 times with the sharks and everyone was knowledgeable and looking out for the best interest of the whale sharks which was very important to me. This is a must do! They even had a wonderful vegetarian lunch for me on board. Perfect Day!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our crewman Oscar deserves an Oscar! He did everything! Helped us with our gear and took us out into the water in pairs of two. Served us lunch. Frankly I don't know why we waited almost 2 hours for the naturalist, who was late because of a sinkhole! Not enough information about the sharks themselves, but the experience was amazing. Anchoring off Isla de Mujeres was wonderful. What a color the water is! So we swam and ate ceviche. A great day. I would urge everyone to put on sunscreen after diving with the whales, though, as I got burnt!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Once in a lifetime experience. The guide, captain, and hand were all excellent and accomodating. Lunch was very good and they were able to accommodate my Shrimp allergy. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Would so recommend it! Dolphins are such an amazing part of this world, and they're the sweetest! Loved it so much and would do it again.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fun for the whole family!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I would highly recommend and do again!!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic day trip! We had the Trimaran La Lupita with a great crew, hosted by Angel.
I would highly recommend them, as they took care of the entire group of cruisers and treated us all like VIPs. I like the trimaran, because it was smaller than the huge catamarans. Small group, less crowded on the boat, easier seating. You stop once to snorkel, once to eat and pet a shark, and then off to downtown Isla shopping.
Angel guided us so well in the water while snorkeling, even with other larger groups co-mingling, he kept us together. He gave us great advice for the shopping on Isla Mujeres, and told us where to go, and met us on/off the island and boat to make sure we were informed.
I just wish the Isla shopping was a bit more than an hour, as we were rushed to get to a few stores, and the shop owners really try to get you in at every turn. It was a little overwhelming.
Overall, a great tour. Angel and the crew were fantastic, and really blew away our expectations. They were entertaining, fun, engaging, and really made all the difference. They also took some great photos, and sold them to us at a fair price. Best part towards the end, we got to stop in the middle of the water to jump off and swim, which was amazing.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The experience of a lifetime, swimming right by the side of absolutely gorgeous creatures Very well organized tour, professional and courteous staff, very attentive to customer safety, comfort, and overall satisfaction. 3 thumbs up!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

mary
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

On time pick up at our hotel. 10 people on our boat. Great information about whale sharks en route. We got to go in 3 times. Saw about 15-20 whale sharks. Good to know: you must wear either the life jacket provided OR rent a wetsuit from them at the dock for 15 cash only. Well worth the money for this bucket list must do!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Incredible experince. The tour guide Carlos was exceptional. We will definetely refer your tour to friends and family. Thank you

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip. Start to finish the team looked after our every need. Would thoroughly recommend it

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Ruben and the crew made an amazing atmosphere and outstanding service for this cruise!! This was the highlight of our trip from the dancing, snorkeling, food, and more it was just FUN. I will definitely do this again when I come back hopefully next year. Thank you again HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

DavidA
United States of America

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Very nice day and we snorkled first. This was important, as the lines got long. We had a great time and the food in the VIP area was great. At the VIP food lounge, you are able to get various drinks and also sit outside and enjoy the island breezes. I had a great time and so did the rest of my group.
We would book with Viator again!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

overall the experience was worth checking out. Our guide BARNA was amazing - if you are lucky enough to have him, you will have a great day full of useful information and laughs.

The excursion guarantees 3 interactions with the Whale Sharks - which was not the case for us. Myself, I saw the half the shark once after 4 hours of searching waters for them. You feel rushed throughout the experience just to catch a glimpse of something.

We also need to understand that you cannot control nature, yet alone the ocean sea-world. The experience itself was great, but I expected much more for this tour. Would I do it again, NO, but I am glad I did it. Remember to use PLENTY of sunscreen beforehand as you can not put any once on the boat.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Take a water taxi to Isla instead! In the past we have been very satisfied booking our excursions through Trip Advisor's company Viator.com, but this one was a bust! The only positive was that the crew had a personality and tried their best. I should taken the time to review old faithful Trip Advisor's website reviews where the consensus mirrored ours. Instead of being crammed on a catamaran, with the hot sun beating down for 6 hours mind you we are from California and used to the sun, and the snorkeling being mediocre at best, it would have been a better experience had we toured the island on our own. With 5 young adults along for the ride, we are all in agreement that the free time was the best part. We found a beach with gorgeous crystal clear water, shelter from hot sun and a restaurant offering cheap cervezas. Renting the golf carts would have been fun had we had more time. Isla is an authentic Mexican town with shop owners lining the streets. I am certain we could have found better eats than the lunch we had at the beach club.. if you can call it that. Our boat ,La Lupita followed suit with all the other catamaran excursions to the Island. They boast a pit stop at a relaxing beach club with hammocks which consisted of 4 hammocks for over 200 people. On vacation, we prefer to avoid crowds.... A Wally World experience and that poor shark! Did not get to use the spinnaker sail either.Thirty years ago when I visited Cancun I was in awe of the snorkeling. It was the best I had ever seen. I would try snorkeling in Playa Carmen instead. Very disappointing! I must say the Caribbean waters are so beautiful.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Not cool! Overpaid by 15 USD per person. Paid 23.98 roundtrip per person. When we went to exchange our vouchers for tickets, the price listed on the actual tickets was 146 pesos8.71 USD. I suggest you buy your tickets at Puerto Juarez. No need to worry about them running out as they have multiple boats every half hour.

Doing what: One-Way or Round-Trip Ferry between Cancun and Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was incredible. Our guide Alex, was absolutely the best. He was friendly, knowledgable, and was speaking 3 different languages for all the people in our group. we were impressed. It turned out to be the perfect day.
We were able to find a shark fairly quickly, we heard it can take a while sometimes and our captain and guide let us make a couple rounds so we all got to jump in and swim along side it more than once. It was definitely different than i expected, but it was still tons of fun.
They fed us lunch and let us snorkel a while before taking us back, and it was fanstastic.
Alex is what made this so great, but the whole experience was so much fun.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Chichen itza was a site to definitely see, the tour guide and driver was very good. I love the option to visit the cenote for a little more. The Catamaran sail was great, snorkeling was a lots of fun. They take great care of us on the boat, lots of free drinks.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an incredible experience! Alex, the tour guide was great, he swam along with us and guided us to very close to the whale sharks. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this trip. I unfortunately got sick on the boat and forgot my Dramamine. They do encourage everyone to bring this if you get motion sickness. Chris was attentive and very caring to all of us on the boat. the entire staff was caring and friendly. would definitely go again.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour guides were excellent, friendly, and very informative! We had an amazing experience at a very affordable price.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything was Great!! The food was very good. I was surprised that we were served and not standing in a buffet line. Everyone working on the boat was more than courteous and extremely helpful. I give it 5 stars.

Doing what: Sightseeing, Snorkeling and Dancing Catamaran Cruise from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Snorkeling with the Whale Sharks was amazing. The ride out to the sharks was pretty rough with some members getting sea sick. I would of liked to have had more time in the water with the whale sharks. We had two quick snorkels before the area was swamped with other boats and snorkelers. I would suggest the boat leaving earlier to avoid crowds.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The best experience in Isla Mujeres is by far swimming with the Dolphins! The buffe is very good, swimming with the sharks isnt really special as they are shy and stay at the bottom making very difficult for us to actually see them! I went on the boat included on the tour to the centre of the Island after my swim. You have 1 hr to rent a golf car to get around the Island which, I did but didnt think anything special to see. If staying in the centre all you have is again the usual souveniers shops! Swimming with the Dolphin was trully worth the trip there! They are gentle and strong! Any concerns I had about them living in an enclosed area and being trained for our entertainement were dissipated when I saw how Carlos our Dolphin trainer loved, cared and respected them! I will never forget being kissed, pushed, launched in the air and such close encouter with these amazing creatures!

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message