Just off the coast of tourist-laden Cancun, Isla Mujeres is a small island, only 5 miles long (8 kilometers), with fantastic beaches, shopping, and restaurants. Named after the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine, the "Island of Women" ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 148 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great great great. It's a must if your there. Amazing staff

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Good time. Lunch is ok with limited choice.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We did the Chichen Itza tour and Catamaran combo.
Chichen Itza- got off to a rocky start when we were asked by the transportation company to meet to be picked up at an alternate hotel than our own. We walked over and we were prompt, but the van mistakenlywent to our original hotel and was subsequently 40 minutes late to pick us up. Once this morning debacle was over, we get to Chichen Itza. They boast a cenote, which you do not get to swim in. You overlook it from above while you are eaten alive by mosquitos. The ruins are amazing and live up to expectations. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and informative. The food was great! I recommend the pork tacos with homemade freshly made tortillas with tomatillo sauce and onion, coupled with rice and beans. Also, the dessert selection had an amazing coconut pudding as well as traditional mexican desserts that are amazing. We cooled off in the hotel pool afterwards.
Catamaran sailing- we signed up for this combo because it's the only one with transportation provided. When you get there, they peddle this placebo like sunscreen which they claim is eco-friendly and biodegradable...it costs 20. The few people who bought into this burned severely hello skin cancer. I stuck with my coppertone and did not burn. They provide an open bar which is nice. There is no parasailing. You instead ride on a spinnaker which if you have enough wind, can project you about 20 feet into the air for about 30 seconds. The water was clear and breathtakingly gorgeous!!!! However, the water is too choppy to bring young children for the snorkeling component my son is 7 and we had a tough time. There was a disappointing lack of sealife diversity in the area we snorkeled. The meal provided was again very good and Isla Mujers had the clearest/cleanest beach out of both Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Again, the tour company was prompt in picking us up which was a pleasant surprise. Overall recommend this.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The idea of this trip sounded amazing, but alas, it was not to be. The van pick up was fine, and the boat ride was ok as well. However, the day we went we only saw a single whale shark. Since it was the only shark in the area there were around 40 boats trying to see this fish. We had a few people that were able to get in the water, but they said it was too murky to actually see anything. We did see some dolphins, a manta ray, and had an excellent lunch... The guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, but the cost is pretty high for what we got.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We did not get the trip we purchased. Your offices were closed by the time 9:30 we arrived at Puerto Juarez. We ended up having to purchase tickets with another company. I was not pleased at you stranding us.

Doing what: One-Way or Round-Trip Ferry between Cancun and Isla Mujeres

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Tour took all day but we were in the water with a single whale shark for just a few minutes. There were about 20 boats surrounding one whale shark w 10 tourists on each boat. Operator refused to allow people to apply 100% all natural sunscreen. Most people on the tour were severely sunburned.

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

My family (included 13 and 10 yr old kids) would not do this again. I'll admit the zipline was fun and included even though they don't tell you until we asked. Bike tour is for adults only. Can't get to punta sur from within the park. Snorkeling was mediocre. The food and VIP lounge was OK.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Queue was huge in aquatours get there early! Ferry was good (45 mins) and you get lockers when you get there. We had access to free food and drinks - waiters are very attentive and nice. Dolphin experience was amazing! Pictures are pricey so do your research before you go for the best deal.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

You take turns with about 12 other people petting dolphins, feeling their teeth and taking a few pictures with them. Then you take turns doing a pair of rides with them. It is probably worth the 150 to pet the dolphins and even the extra 62 to pay for the pictures of you with dolphins, but realize that you are not really playing with them or swimming with them. If there are 12 people and you are in the water for about 50 minutes, you are spending roughly four minutes with a dolphin. It seems that the experience is centered around photo ops that will get you to spend an extra 62 and then show your pictures to others that will bring more business. One extra thing: my dolphin experience took place in the smaller pool near the shore. I was told and believe it was the same or better than because I was afforded the opportunity to see the babies up close the experience in the big swimming area, but I can't be sure. One definite benefit of being near the shore was that my girlfriend was able to watch from a nearby balcony the V.I.P. area, which also costs 99.
We ended up staying for a while and trying the free buffets. They were pretty good but not equal with our all-inclusive hotel. There was also a nice area to lay out and look at the sea and some interesting open-faced rooms with chairs to sit in the shade and overlook the ocean. It was 40 for the entire day in addition to the VIP costs but we were leaving in an hour so we didn't do it.
My Royal Swim level also afforded me a swim above nurse sharks. I did this at 3 p.m. and was the only swimmer. The sharks were roughly 15 feet below me and were all huddled in a corner. Perhaps an earlier swim would have allowed me to see them swimming around.
There were boats at 3:30 and 5:30 leaving for Cancun. So after my 10 p.m. Dolphin Swim, we had to find something else to do for a while.

Visited April 2015

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was awesome. I swam with dolphins before and thought it was fun but this tour was amazing. I would defiantly recommend it. The sea lion and Manatees were also fun. We had such a great experience.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome!!! The whole family loved it!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The snorkeling was far too short and limited to an area with very little to see. The trip to the Isla Muhjeres was a waste of time and the "Beach Club" food was poor, the beach far too rocky to enjoy on a hot day and it was way over-populated (too many boats). Don't waste a full day with this.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent. Lots of time in the water with the Dolphins. Great experience. Better to take the earliest time so is not too hot and dolphins are not too tired

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. It was what I had expected and more. I don't believe it was ever said that it was all inclusive but it was! (on the boat at least) and that includes shots! The staff was entertaining and friendly as well. Views were amazing. Only downfall was it seemed a little rushed at times

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

By the best tour. This is on a catarman not a traditional cruise again. It is worth the money and I would repeat it again. The actual ride on the boat was so awesome that I kind of hid just enjoy the water. This is a party boat and I recommend it for adults only. The staff is awesome and you can drink all you want non alcoholic and alcoholic. The food is great and all you can eat once you get to the Island of Mujeres. You will enjoy a spectual show of traditional dances of Mexico and one from Africa. The show is exciting and the clothing beautiful. They put there all into it and just when you think it is over they have a talent show and beware you may be picked because it is made of the actual audience and you win a prize. I had the pleasure of speaking with a young lady off and on before the tour that worked on the boat and she made sure to show me the love returning back to the boat and letting me know she personally missed me.
She was one the girls to keep the boat fun while traveling and as young lady even polite enough to ask a wife before dancing with her husband. I though that was even impressive. This a tour I would repeat and enjoy again. You will return late but it is well worth it and you can relax or party. Any attire is welcome and the main thing is have fun as this is a party boat. However you can relax under the moonlight moving quickly through the ocean. Get ready and cruise away. This does leave from the dock not your hotel but only one bus ride from any hotel in the hotel zone. Don't be silly and take a cab totally not necessary.
YEA for this one , and thumbs up , Adults go for it.

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Chitzen itza is awesome to see! However this tour required a 2.5 hour bus trip from Cancun each way. The catamaran sail (on a different day) was relaxing and included drinks. The buffet on the island was very average but the service and guidance by the kitchen and boat were excellent!

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall it was a good experience. I'd say the price was set accordingly, for what you're getting. Nothing out of this world, yet it was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best service......Beautiful historic area.......Beautiful beaches.....I totally enjoyed the catamaran sailing......The personnel were great, very friendly and funny.......I will surely recommend to friends and family. ......

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We water was beautiful! We thought we would be able to either kayak or snorkel just as the brochure stated but both were closed. We did enjoy the unlimited food and drinks and the private pool. The waiters and cook were nice.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Small boat, could not even stand up and walk. Not walk around, walk. On the way back we hit a squall and had to sit on deck and get soaked. The snorkeling was at best, boring. I have done several "cheesey" snorkeling trips and this one was no different. The depth of the water was around 30 ft so nothing close to see. The coral was, basically not there. Sandy bottom, no reefs. The guides wanted us to stay close to them and gave no real direction or information on direction or communication either before or during the snorkeling. The statues were covered in moss and not interesting at all. Food on the Island was good and plentiful. The drinks were watered down. The crew was excellent and tried to make the best of it.
If you have never tried snorkeling and want to see the island and have a day "sailing" I say that because we were on motor all day, then this is the trip for you. If the reefs were in more shallow and existent, this would have been much better.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic tour great food and entertainment highly recommended staff were great can't fault it

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

Jackie
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

Jackie
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message