Just off the coast of tourist-laden Cancun, Isla Mujeres is a small island, only 5 miles long (8 kilometers), with fantastic beaches, shopping, and restaurants. Named after the Mayan goddess of childbirth and medicine, the "Island of Women" ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Chichen -Love it, really learned a lot and the people are really friendly. The dophin excursion - thought we were going to be just me and my friends but whatever. But the prices for the photos way to much and hard to understand what he meant.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Queue was huge in aquatours get there early! Ferry was good (45 mins) and you get lockers when you get there. We had access to free food and drinks - waiters are very attentive and nice. Dolphin experience was amazing! Pictures are pricey so do your research before you go for the best deal.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

You take turns with about 12 other people petting dolphins, feeling their teeth and taking a few pictures with them. Then you take turns doing a pair of rides with them. It is probably worth the 150 to pet the dolphins and even the extra 62 to pay for the pictures of you with dolphins, but realize that you are not really playing with them or swimming with them. If there are 12 people and you are in the water for about 50 minutes, you are spending roughly four minutes with a dolphin. It seems that the experience is centered around photo ops that will get you to spend an extra 62 and then show your pictures to others that will bring more business. One extra thing: my dolphin experience took place in the smaller pool near the shore. I was told and believe it was the same or better than because I was afforded the opportunity to see the babies up close the experience in the big swimming area, but I can't be sure. One definite benefit of being near the shore was that my girlfriend was able to watch from a nearby balcony the V.I.P. area, which also costs 99.
We ended up staying for a while and trying the free buffets. They were pretty good but not equal with our all-inclusive hotel. There was also a nice area to lay out and look at the sea and some interesting open-faced rooms with chairs to sit in the shade and overlook the ocean. It was 40 for the entire day in addition to the VIP costs but we were leaving in an hour so we didn't do it.
My Royal Swim level also afforded me a swim above nurse sharks. I did this at 3 p.m. and was the only swimmer. The sharks were roughly 15 feet below me and were all huddled in a corner. Perhaps an earlier swim would have allowed me to see them swimming around.
There were boats at 3:30 and 5:30 leaving for Cancun. So after my 10 p.m. Dolphin Swim, we had to find something else to do for a while.

Visited April 2015

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was awesome. I swam with dolphins before and thought it was fun but this tour was amazing. I would defiantly recommend it. The sea lion and Manatees were also fun. We had such a great experience.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome!!! The whole family loved it!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

The snorkeling was far too short and limited to an area with very little to see. The trip to the Isla Muhjeres was a waste of time and the "Beach Club" food was poor, the beach far too rocky to enjoy on a hot day and it was way over-populated (too many boats). Don't waste a full day with this.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent. Lots of time in the water with the Dolphins. Great experience. Better to take the earliest time so is not too hot and dolphins are not too tired

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was amazing. It was what I had expected and more. I don't believe it was ever said that it was all inclusive but it was! (on the boat at least) and that includes shots! The staff was entertaining and friendly as well. Views were amazing. Only downfall was it seemed a little rushed at times

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

By the best tour. This is on a catarman not a traditional cruise again. It is worth the money and I would repeat it again. The actual ride on the boat was so awesome that I kind of hid just enjoy the water. This is a party boat and I recommend it for adults only. The staff is awesome and you can drink all you want non alcoholic and alcoholic. The food is great and all you can eat once you get to the Island of Mujeres. You will enjoy a spectual show of traditional dances of Mexico and one from Africa. The show is exciting and the clothing beautiful. They put there all into it and just when you think it is over they have a talent show and beware you may be picked because it is made of the actual audience and you win a prize. I had the pleasure of speaking with a young lady off and on before the tour that worked on the boat and she made sure to show me the love returning back to the boat and letting me know she personally missed me.
She was one the girls to keep the boat fun while traveling and as young lady even polite enough to ask a wife before dancing with her husband. I though that was even impressive. This a tour I would repeat and enjoy again. You will return late but it is well worth it and you can relax or party. Any attire is welcome and the main thing is have fun as this is a party boat. However you can relax under the moonlight moving quickly through the ocean. Get ready and cruise away. This does leave from the dock not your hotel but only one bus ride from any hotel in the hotel zone. Don't be silly and take a cab totally not necessary.
YEA for this one , and thumbs up , Adults go for it.

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Chitzen itza is awesome to see! However this tour required a 2.5 hour bus trip from Cancun each way. The catamaran sail (on a different day) was relaxing and included drinks. The buffet on the island was very average but the service and guidance by the kitchen and boat were excellent!

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall it was a good experience. I'd say the price was set accordingly, for what you're getting. Nothing out of this world, yet it was an unforgettable experience.

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best service......Beautiful historic area.......Beautiful beaches.....I totally enjoyed the catamaran sailing......The personnel were great, very friendly and funny.......I will surely recommend to friends and family. ......

Doing what: Cancun Combo: Chichen Itza Tour plus Isla Mujeres Dolphin Encounter or Catamaran Sail with Snorkeling

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

We water was beautiful! We thought we would be able to either kayak or snorkel just as the brochure stated but both were closed. We did enjoy the unlimited food and drinks and the private pool. The waiters and cook were nice.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Garrafon Natural Reef Park VIP Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Small boat, could not even stand up and walk. Not walk around, walk. On the way back we hit a squall and had to sit on deck and get soaked. The snorkeling was at best, boring. I have done several "cheesey" snorkeling trips and this one was no different. The depth of the water was around 30 ft so nothing close to see. The coral was, basically not there. Sandy bottom, no reefs. The guides wanted us to stay close to them and gave no real direction or information on direction or communication either before or during the snorkeling. The statues were covered in moss and not interesting at all. Food on the Island was good and plentiful. The drinks were watered down. The crew was excellent and tried to make the best of it.
If you have never tried snorkeling and want to see the island and have a day "sailing" I say that because we were on motor all day, then this is the trip for you. If the reefs were in more shallow and existent, this would have been much better.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A fantastic tour great food and entertainment highly recommended staff were great can't fault it

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

Jackie
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

Jackie
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The process of getting on the trip almost ruined the experience. After printing our vouchers and following the Viator instructions the local tour operators completely mishandled our ticketing situation. They made the process very difficult and several steps beyond "calling to confirm" and "printing the vouchers" were required. By the time we boarded the boat we were all frustrated. We had a good time in the end but it was a headache in the beginning. I have used Viator several times and this is the first time I have given less than 4 stars on anything. The operating company was not professional.

Doing what: Caribbean Carnival

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This experience was absolutely amazing. We hugely enjoyed the entire experience from the ferry ride to the island and the awesome swim with the dolphins to the all inclusive food and beverages. An amazing day! Would absolutely recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful trip.....The dock fee is not $7 per person like the ad says but $10 per person.

Doing what: Isla Mujeres Trimaran Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Swimming with the dolphins was amazing! Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an unbelievable experience, better than I could ever express in words! I highly recommend purchasing a good, underwater camera. This is the only thing I regret about this experience - not having photos and video of our own to look back with. The tour guide did record the entire trip, but I did not want to spend $80 on a video with seven other people in it. Also - The lunch was great, wading in beautiful clear water while eating. We even came across wild dolphins and sea turtles!

Doing what: Swim with Whale Sharks in Cancun: Small-Group Snorkeling Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I've done dolphin swims and encounters is different places and this one is by far the most fun and organized... It is a must do here... I cannot wait to go back and do it one more time...

Doing what: Cancun Dolphin Royal Swim on Isla Mujeres

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message