Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 541 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emily C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and the company itself is great. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

latoryahill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Paco was awesome and the tour was organized, prompt, and so much fun! I recommend for anyone vacationing here!!

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

linda w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

AWESOME! Marco Antonio was a first class scholar - so knowledgeable and insightful! Such a joy to have a truly educated and enlightened guide! Early access is the only way to go! We were the 2nd bus in the lot and by the time we came out there was not en empty space to be had - Kudos to Jacinto the driver - smooth, smooth, smooth all the way down and then back up the highway! GREAT TRIP!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were greeted buy our guide Euri and taken to the archaeological site in Tulum. Its a great place to see ancient temple ruins. We then drove to the adventure park and entered the jungle on the 4x4 monster truck that takes you deep into the jungle. Following that we had to repel deep inside a cave and then swim out, then climb up the zip line tower. After zip lining from tower to tower we enter the big cenote cave. Amazing clear water and deep canyons to explore while snorkelling, something I have never experienced before. Then we took part in a tradition smoke ritual followed buy a great Mexican Lunch. Then we finished off with some more zip lines. Amazing day and great staff!! 10/10

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

caroline f Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour is FANTASTIC! I wasn’t sure what to expect but it blew me away. Highlights were the rappelling into a beautiful cenote and then snorkelling though the underground river. Absolutely amazing! The Zip lines were a lot of fun, the temples at Tulum were beautiful, you have plenty of time to take it in and take lots of pics. The food for lunch was really good- traditional Mayan food Yum! The guide - Euri, well I can't say enough about how great she was. The whole day she joked, was informative in a very funny way & friendly. Possibly the best tour I've ever done.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Kaytee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great deal. The cenote was pretty and cool. Our tour guide Carol was AWESOME! We had a blast.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Yosu A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great tour. Our tour guide was Luis, who is well informed and helpful. The Tulum site is beautiful. The ruins are not large, but it's right next to the ocean, and it's lovely. Quite crowded. The format is to tour with the guide, who gives an explanation of the different buildings and then you get a short period of time for photographs.

Afterwards, you get back on the bus and go to the lunch location. It's like a campground - there is a small enclosed kitchen with tables where you eat a buffet style lunch of tacos - chicken, and pork, rice and beans, and vegetables. It's a simple meal, but it's good. Afterwards, you can swim in the cenote limestone pool. It's not deep, and the water is very clear. Remember to bring your swimsuit and towels. The site doe not have towels for your use. There is also a small jewelry stand where you can buy silver jewelry made on site. Don't forget to bargain, it's part of the custom.

Afterwards, in the afternoon you go to Coba, which is another site in the jungle. The tour guide once again walks you around several of the main sites, and then the highlight is to climb the pyramid at Coba. This is the tallest pyramid in the Yucatan region and the only one that you can climb. It's not as big as Teotihuacan pyramids, but very enjoyable. The site is large - it's about 2 kilometers 1 mile or so from the entrance of the park to the main pyramid. The choices are walking, renting a bicycle 50 pesos I forget exactly, or renting a rickshaw 75 pesos I think where someone pedals you in a cart. In our group no one walked. We took one of the other 2 options. By the time you get to Coba, it's afternoon, so it probably makes sense to bicycle so that you can get there faster. It's quite hot here, even though there are trees. they have a small store where you can buy soft drinks and cold water. Outside of the park they also have souvenir shops.

All in all, it's a very full day and you will enjoy it.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Kayla A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was amazing!!! Sam is the best tour guide I ever had. I highly recommend

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Eliazar Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

had fun on this tour, the info was great. thanks to Luis and our Driver. I really liked swimming in the cenote.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

lannalicious89

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing ! The tour guide was helpful and knowledgeable. The food was amazing and I would it all over again! It was the highlight of my trip to cancun. I learned so much.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

huntfamily54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing!Our guide, Marco, was excellent - extremely knowlegable and very interesting to listen to. Site is beyond gorgeous! !
Only downside was a bit of a late start, due to other travelers not being ready for pickup-however Carlos still got us there in a timely manor, great driver

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Dave A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

One of the first tours we did when getting to Cancun. We met a lovely guide, named Carlos Moo, who was basically an encyclopedia on everything Mayan. He showed us different buildings, explained what was what and made the whole trip a lot more entertaining. Would love to get him as a guide on our next trips :D

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful place to see with some great ocean views!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best time swimming in the cave
Are tour guide was outstanding you can tell she loved her job
At the ruins I wish it would have been at less 1 hour longer
Over all was I would Highly Recommend it
Bill from NJ

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Alexander K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pick up was on-time. Driver operated the van safely. Guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer our question. Lunch that was provided was very good. Cenote was not busy at all and was fun to swim in.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

tsmith_79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

van picked us up at hotel and took us to where we transferred to a bus for the trip to Tulum. We were the second group into the ruins and had ample time to sight see before the crowds arrived. By the time we were done at the site there was free time for the provided lunch and for shopping. Guide was great and tour was a great way to see Tulum. Especially enjoyed the early entry time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Darcy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tulum was a pretty cool site. Freddy was knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

John C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The guides were very knowledgeable at both sites. At Coba make sure you do take the tricycle to the ruins - with a young fellow doing all the work. It is a bit of a hike and gives you more time to climb the pyramid and explore.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Donald U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the early tours and was well worth the early start. It was just getting warn and busy when we left.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Lorell T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Freddie and Ramone were very friendly, they made the early pick up so much easier! Great information about the Tulum sight and loved the Mayan language lessons on the bus ride to the site. Recommend this tour and these staff members for sure.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins from Playa del Carmen with Archeologist

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did this tour in April 2016 and had a great time. Another family we know joined us with their teenage kids and everyone seemed to enjoy it. About a 2 1/2 hour trip to Tulum, unlimited beverages great margaritas included plus lunch. Snorkeling portion was very average, but it was nice to get in the water! Catamaran was huge, like 80 long and made for a smooth ride. At Tulum, our guide, Eric, who was also on the boat trip, was great and engaging with everyone.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise from Riviera Maya to Tulum Ruins with Lunch and Snorkeling

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, only thing I would change is a little longer swimming in caves. Pictures are expensive and you can't take your own unless a go pro mounted to head our chest.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, excellent guide with great information. Well informed and answered all of our questions. Frank made our tour enjoyable , fun, and informative.

The begging transportation was a bit confusing but once we got there our group of 10 had fun. Well worth the value.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Genevieve Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Martin was our driver and Carlos was our tour guide. I cannot say enough about them. Martin was a great driver. Carlos was the best tour guide we could ask for. He was funny and informative. A genuinely nice person.We had an amazing day with them :)

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message