Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 476 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful place to see with some great ocean views!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had the best time swimming in the cave
Are tour guide was outstanding you can tell she loved her job
At the ruins I wish it would have been at less 1 hour longer
Over all was I would Highly Recommend it
Bill from NJ

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Alexander K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pick up was on-time. Driver operated the van safely. Guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer our question. Lunch that was provided was very good. Cenote was not busy at all and was fun to swim in.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Darcy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tulum was a pretty cool site. Freddy was knowledgeable and gave a great tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

John C M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful time. The guides were very knowledgeable at both sites. At Coba make sure you do take the tricycle to the ruins - with a young fellow doing all the work. It is a bit of a hike and gives you more time to climb the pyramid and explore.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Donald U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved the early tours and was well worth the early start. It was just getting warn and busy when we left.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We did this tour in April 2016 and had a great time. Another family we know joined us with their teenage kids and everyone seemed to enjoy it. About a 2 1/2 hour trip to Tulum, unlimited beverages great margaritas included plus lunch. Snorkeling portion was very average, but it was nice to get in the water! Catamaran was huge, like 80 long and made for a smooth ride. At Tulum, our guide, Eric, who was also on the boat trip, was great and engaging with everyone.

Doing what: Catamaran Cruise from Riviera Maya to Tulum Ruins with Lunch and Snorkeling

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, only thing I would change is a little longer swimming in caves. Pictures are expensive and you can't take your own unless a go pro mounted to head our chest.

Doing what: Playa del Carmen Jungle Tour: Tulum, Cenote Snorkeling, 4x4 Ride and Ziplining

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, excellent guide with great information. Well informed and answered all of our questions. Frank made our tour enjoyable , fun, and informative.

The begging transportation was a bit confusing but once we got there our group of 10 had fun. Well worth the value.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Genevieve Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Martin was our driver and Carlos was our tour guide. I cannot say enough about them. Martin was a great driver. Carlos was the best tour guide we could ask for. He was funny and informative. A genuinely nice person.We had an amazing day with them :)

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

martinmcleanlit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We totally enjoyed this tour to Tulum, and we were so glad we picked the early access tour. It was well worth the 5:10 a.m. pickup because we were there before it got too hot and it wasn't at all crowded. We were back at the hotel in time for lunch 1:00 p.m. and time on the beach. Our tour guide, Freddie, was terrific! He gave us background info about the ruins the last 45 minutes of our bus ride to Tulum, and he was full of interesting info and stories during the tour. He was of Mayan decent and obviously very proud of his heritage. He loved talking about the Mayan history and his love of the Tulum ruins was contagious. We learned so much from him and appreciated the attention he gave to everyone in the group. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this early access tour to the Tulum ruins! THANK YOU.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Sourav N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant tour. We were picked from our hotel by Sergio and we drove in a lovely air conditioned van. Sergio has an excellent grasp of Mexican history and enlightened us on the history of Mayan Civilisation along with that Tulum and Coba. The sites are wonderful and different. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

Angela N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our first experience of the Mayan ruins, this was a long day but worth it. It was very hot so and there was not a lot of shad so make sure you take hats and sunscreen. Tulum was amazing to see, our guide spent quite some time explaining things to us. The cenote swim was great a lovely way to cool off and then Coba was great. It is quite a long walk at Coba but you can hire bikes and bike taxis, make the walk and climb the temple. It is quite hard going but worth it when you get to the top.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Aaron R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very knowledgeable and animated guide. This site has been on my list for a long time. It is worth the trip, even for cruise ship passengers.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Daniel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly reccomended. Susanna was a great tour guide. The cenote swim was very refreshing. Enough time to explore on your own

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Marilyn T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very interesting and beautiful. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Judith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a wonderful time and our guide was great. Not to long and not to short just a nice time with lots of wonderful sights to see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Sean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I thought this was a great overview tour. Carlos was one of the best tour guides I've ever had. He gave us so much background information on the Mayan civilization and Mayan language that it was almost a history and linguistics class combined. He's responsible for coordinating so much throughout the day that I have no idea how he maintains such a high level of energy and enthusiasm.

I call it an overview tour because you don't spend a whole lot of time at each stop Tulum, the cenote, and the Coba ruins, but it does give you a great idea of where you might want to explore further. You could probably spend a day at Tulum alone, and with 6,500 ruins to explore, you could make that an entire excursion. This tour is designed to give you a taste of each so you can decide if you want to come back and explore further.

What's not to be missed? Climb the pyramid at Coba! If it's physically possible for you to do so, climb that pyramid and check out the view. Coming down is actually worse than going up, and even if you're afraid of heights like me, the effort and view are worth it. You can make it up and back down in under half an hour, and you won't forget it.

Two other things I don't want to forget to mention. Our driver was Luis, and you may not think having a skilled driver is all that important, but a comfortable ride and a nice rest in between stops is very important so you're ready for the next activity. Luis knew every bump in the road and made it such a smooth, relaxing ride that I couldn't help but almost fall asleep every time we were in the van. Listening to Carlos' stories while being rocked to sleep by Luis was like hearing a bedtime story from my grandfather.

The lunch served at the cenote was also wonderful. It was a relatively simple meal of customary foods, but it was served so graciously and preceded by a Mayan ceremony granting permission to enter the cenote. I have such gratitude and respect for what they provided. Thank you.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Holly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide Hector was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. The scenery was breath taking. Tulum beach was incredible. Would have loved to spend more time there. The underground River Swim was quite the experience, as someone who does not swim well - Hector made the experience enjoyable and memorable as he remained by my side during the entire swim. Thank you so much to the crew that helped make this experience memorable for my family and I.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

Sujatha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent but a tiring trip. Very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Craig Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour and excellent guide with Marco

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Josefina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The best and inexpensive we had a great informative men

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Jacob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tulum is worth seeing. Xel-Ha is the main attraction. I swam from the sea, upstream, for what seemed to be a mile. Beautiful experience. Saw many fish and a stingray.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Alexandra A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The combination itinerary was just right and the driver Julio and guide Carlos were top notch. We enjoyed and learned a lot.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

Taiwo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a wonderful time. Our guide was very engaging and had a wealth of knowledge about the Mayan Ruins, culture, and surrounding cenotes. The meal prepared by the Mayan family was amazing!

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message