Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 213 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!!!! Our guide was very well informed and really took a lot of time and care in our education , happiness, and safety. He showed a great amount of caution and reverence to our surrounding environment and to the underground river as well. Our accompanying group photographer was top notch providing us with pictures we were able to purchase that we will treasure forever. This is one of the five major excursions my new bride and I were able to enjoy while on our Honeymoon in Cancun and I were able to experience ...this being our favorite BY FAR!!

The trip was affordable, safe, and the large tour bus taking us to the perimeter of the site, had the most legroom of any of the tour buses we were on for the 10 days we were visiting.

Rio Secreto ROCKS!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Delio took us to the Tankah park where we experienced the real jungle with the Jeep. Then we walked to the beautiful cenote for the zip lining, kayaking and swimming. The Mayan lunch at the village was amazing.Tulum was very hot, but guide took care of us with umbrella and water.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I scheduled this tour for the last activity and it was the highlight of the trip to cancun. All equipment and lunch was included and it was amazing to be underground and swim through the cave. If a person has walking problem, small children, or claustrophobia it is not the best activity.

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Early access to Tulum Ruins is one of a must see tours in Mexico. Where you will see a beautiful Mayan city located on the amazing cliff. Also, there you can see that the sea line is bending, that fact helped Mayan to understand that the World is Round. This is one of the things that we learned from our guide and archeologist Freddy. He was very knowledgeable, interactive and funny. He will teach you a lot about Mayan civilization and ruins, and you will hear the most accurate translation of Mayan expressions, since he is a true Mayan descendant! He is the best guide in Mexico! It was a great tour! Besides, it is the best time to visit Tulum! I know it’s a little early, but it gets really crowded later on. Great tour for pictures as well! We had an amazing time and want to go back!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip that we booked with Amigo Tours was the best of our vacation. Not only were we among the first to arrive to the archaeological site and managed thus to take the best pictures of the Maya ruins, but we also had one amazing guide, Freddy Hoil, and one awesome driver, Saul. Freddy is of Mayan descent and an expert in Maya civilization. On our way to Tulum, he gave us a detailed and informative presentation on the Maya, their history and belief systems, their calendars and their numbering system. He taught us how to write Mayan numbers and a few very handy words in Mayan. Once we got to our destination, he gave us enough time to take some great pictures of the almost empty archaeological site, then gave us a tour of the place, continuing to provide fascinating explanations of the buildings, sculptures and bas-reliefs we saw.

Unfortunately, some tourists tend to be late for the pick-up time (we were 10 minutes late ourselves on our first day, because of the jet-lag), which can affect the entire trip. Amigo Tours promises early access to the ruins, but if people are late and the guide and driver have to wait for them, then the estimated time of arrival is obviously pushed back. So, the least you can do in such cases, is compensate your guide and driver for waiting for you. You will want to do that anyway, since the services they provide are excellent. In our case, both Freddy and Saul proved to be awesome people and we are glad we got to meet them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Fiona S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent tour (the best of our holiday). I would highly recommend this trip, and I would also do it again. The pre-tour arrangements were well organised, and we were picked up on time, by our guide Freddy, and driver Saul, both of whom were friendly, attentive and looked after us well. Freddy was very knowledgable and also kindly took photo's of us at Tulum. We also hada good amount of free time to explore ourselves or to go to the beach. Early access is essential to beat the crowds and to better appreciate the surroundings. Our trip was made all the more special as we were the only couple on the trip, so we couldn't have asked for a better, or more personal service. Notwithstanding, I am sure the trip would still be great even if there were a few more, the mini-bus could probably accommodate 10-12 people. Thanks guys!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After reading tens of reviews on line, we decided to go with Viator. Tulum is a beautiful place and being there early in the morning before everyone else (and the heat) arrived, was great. We had enough time to see everything and take pictures. Freddy was a great tour guide - he seemed so passionate about the place and history. We found out lots of interesting facts about Mayan culture. Because that day there were only two of us, Freddie was able to answer all our questions, even the silly ones. Thanks Freddie and Oscar! We would definitely recommend them as a tour company.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour beat Chichen Itza to us! It was just so pretty. Freddy was an awesome tour guide. He gave us a ton of information, really rounded out the info we got in Chichen Itza the day before. He was great about helping get great pictures. Getting there early was key. Fills up fast!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour of Tulum was Great! This was our second tour with Viator. We were picked up right on time. As we mentioned, on our tour to Chichen Itza, the best way to do this tours is early! Unless you like to be in the
hot sun with many, many, many people. You are able to take the best pictures, when you are the only tour
group at the site. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. It is also great, because you are finished early and can enjoy the rest of your day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tulman, non-refublished. but, it's wonderful with Chichen Itza and Uxmal.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time on this tour, with our archeologist-guide Freddie and our driver Saul (hope I spelled your names right, guys!). It was just us and another couple on the tour. We got to Tulum very early (many thanks to Saul and Freddie for stopping at Starbucks for us along the way), beating the crowds, and got a wonderful evidence-based explanation of the ruins. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I'm not one to brag on things or people much, but this trip was by far the best I've done in Mexico! While I didn't plan on being educated in Mayan culture, Freddie, our private Archeologist/tour guide gave us a two hour class on the way which not only taught us about his culture, but also better prepared us to view and understand Tulum City and what it might have been like during those times. And all done before the crowds and heat. Well done Freddie. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Freddie, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable, and Raul, our driver, was great also. With this early tour, we were the first ones to enter the site before the big crowd. As a result, we were able to take pictures of the entire place with practically no other people on site, and we enjoyed the beautiful beach with less crowd. By the time we were done around 9 am, waves and waves of tourists came in and the sun was getting very hot. We were also able to leave early right before the afternoon rain shower began. This tour is a must-have to avoid the big crowds (when I say big crowds, I mean, literally, several hundred people) from the mainstream tours to the Tulum Ruins. You have to get up very early to get there by 8 am, but you will not regret it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Freddie and Oscar were on time at 620pm to pick us up at the hotel. Our van was the first one to arrive at the parking lot. It took about 30 mins+ walking from the parking lot to the ruins and this could be challenging to those who have limited walking mobility. Freddie gave us plenty of time to take photos before he shared with us the history and gave us the guided tour. It was a perfect start as there were hardly any other visitors and no one was blocking us. By the time we were done with the tour, there were many many other visitors and the place got so crowded. If you are an early bird and prefer tranquility, you should consider this tour. We were given an hour and half to either swim or walk around the ruins. Remember to bring your swimsuit if you would like to swim.
Freddie, who is a Mayan descendant, is very passionate about his history and culture. Our box lunch included a ham/cheese sandwich, honey graham cracker, boxed juice and water.
This is our second tour with the same company and we were very satisfied. Unlike many other tours we have joined in the past, there was NO shopping trip and NO sidekick for this one so no time was wasted. We were back to the hotel before 130pm and still could enjoy the rest of the afternoon. Thank you Freddie!
PS. It is better to call Viator customer service hotline directly if you have any issue.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great trip and our guide Frank was very knowledgable. I will recommend it to everyone i know.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message