• USD ($)
  • English
Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour with a great guide. Lots of fun. Five star experience. A definite must if you're anywhere in the Cancun, Cozumel region.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was fantastic. Umbrellas supplied to ward off the heat, free bottled water supplied, the driver was personable and a great person as was the guide who was also very knowledgeable! Top ranks here, also after the tour, the van was already air conditioned, bottled water supplied, and get this, treats if you were inclined, but to top it all off was the welcomed cooled wet towlette for everyone! superb people and a superb historic attraction highly recommended.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Akumal Beach Snorkeling and Lunch from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Frank and Oscar were awesome!!
Highly recommend doing the early entry as you were able to see and hear things before the large crowds arrived. Thanks guys great job!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Organized, efficient; tour guide was extremely personable and informative. Would recommended Viator.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha from Riviera Maya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly enjoyed my one week in the Yucatan, especially after putting up with 3 months of one of the coldest and snowiest winters in a long time in Boston. My guide, Victor Gonzales was very knowledgeable about the sites that we saw and very attentive to my requests . He seemed to exhibit a real sense of pride in his part of the world and this made the experience all the more enjoyable. Having had an interest in the Mayan civilization for many years, I was very impressed with all the Mayan sites that we visited and learned a great deal on the tour. Besides the ruins we visited beautiful colonial towns, colorful market places, an incredible cave (Lol Tun) and saw some exotic animals on the boat ride on Rio Lagartos.
The two hotels I stayed in were both beautiful and well situated for visiting Chichen Itza and Uxmal. My only real complaint is that Internet and WiFi access was spotty at best.
We modified the itinerary a little and spent the last night in Chichen Itza instead of Uxmal and in retrospect this made a lot more sense since my guide told me that the ride from Uxmal to the Cancun airport would have been close to 4 hours and this would have been much too long on my last day of vacation.
Overall, a fantastic tour that I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Doing what: 8-Day Yucatan Peninsula: Small-Group Tour from Cancun Including Chichen Itza, Uxmal, Ek Balam and Tulum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Miguel did a great job as our tour guide. Well worth the price. The experiences were terrific and the food was delicious!

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Exactly one week ago, I had the most amazing experience visiting Tulum Ruins (half-day tour) with Viator. I was picked up in prompt fashion, a two hour drive from Club Med-Cancun to Tulum, and rode in a comfortable and air conditioned van. I was accompanied by 9 guests and our friendly and good driver, Francisco. After 45 minutes, we arrived to Playa del Carmen, where we picked up our fabulous tour guide, Patricia. She brought iced bottled waters and fresh bananas and large umbrellas for our tour. We had another 45 minute drive from Playa del Carmen to Cancun, and during that duration, Patricia was very engaging and shared with us her knowledge about Mayan culture and her passion for Tulum and the Yucatan. Once we arrived to Tulum, we entered through a less crowded area and we were handed the waters and umbrellas, a nice perk to walk amidst the sun! We made a stop first at the toilets since there are none inside the walled city. We then walked together and enjoyed the illuminating tour by Patricia, which lasted close to an hour. We witnessed the incredible constructions of the Mayas that are still holding today and in great shape, some from as early as 900bc, and set against a magnificent view of the ocean. There's a nice breeze and surrounded by tall tress for shading. We then had 50 more minutes to walk on our own, photograph the beautiful scenery and swim in the beach. We all met again and walked back to the toilets for our last stop and then we were given more bottled water and the best tasting bananas and some crackers too, which was very generous! This tour was very well timed. Do note, that it's close to 6 hrs duration since the van will pick up/drop off guests at their hotel resorts, so take that into consideration. Tulum is a must see! Nice meeting you all! and Thank you Patricia! :)

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Akumal Beach Snorkeling and Lunch from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well worth the cost. And yo udo get there before the crowds (they showed up about mid way through our tour). Tulum is smaller than Chitzen Itza, but still a wonder. Especially the setting, on a bluff overlooking the sea. Francisco is passionate about the history of his people, the Maya, and he answered all the questions we could throw at him. Make sure you leave a little time for a cold one before you get back on the van!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had a fantastic day starting with the Tulum ruins tour. Our guide was very informative and entertaining. The ziplining was so much fun and the cenotes were breathtaking. The park staff made our day one of the most enjoyable experiences we had on our holiday in Mexico.

Doing what: Yucatan Adventure: Snorkel, Zipline and Tulum Ruins Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was an absolutely fascinating tour with emphasis on Mayan culture and sites, however, without leaving other aspects like the colonial towns of Mérida and Campeche, or the natural reserve at Rio Lagartos. Our guide was well informed, spoke Mayan himself and could tell us a lot about the history of his people.

Doing what: 8-Day Yucatan Peninsula: Small-Group Tour from Cancun Including Chichen Itza, Uxmal, Ek Balam and Tulum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My friend and I found this tour online before we even headed out to Mexico and we had a fabulous time. Great staff who really went out of their way to be informative about local culture and environment and were very safety conscious. Did some crazy things like sky cycling, ziplining through canopies, splash ziplining into cenotes and even a roller coaster zipling (no, that is not a typo!!). The swim / snorkel through the cenote was fantastic - a great experience. Highly recommended. Please note this is not one of those overly commercialised, polished, white washed tours - its real, gritty, dirty, fun and raw - and that's why we loved it.

Doing what: 4-in-1 Tulum Adventure: Zipline, Cavern Rappel, Cave Snorkel and Skycycle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a great tour with four different activities. I appreciated the limited intrusion on the natural habitat. Our guide, Cheeta, was fabulous. He has a great sense of humor; has so many stories about his life adventures from training dolphins, to horses to his present position. The group is 10 or less, a nice size. We had a great group...young teens, early twenties, adults (40s and 50s). Before jumping into the water in the Cave for snorkeling I asked, "is the water very cold?". One of the young folks said, "it's like a sauna". Joke was on me and we laughed about it the whole day. Bring a rugged, water proof camera, such as a "one time use" camera. You wouldn't want to chance bringing your phone to take pics. It's a must do adventure.

Doing what: 4-in-1 Tulum Adventure: Zipline, Cavern Rappel, Cave Snorkel and Skycycle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip; however I would recommend booking the trip directly through the company that actually handles the tour- Cancun Adventures. They were exceptional, and very knowledgeable, and really made the trip a great success.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Akumal Beach Snorkeling and Lunch from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus picked us up on time and the guides were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was me and my husband favorite tour and we practically did everything! This trip was to the HIDDEN WORLDS park.. They take you into the jungle In a buggie, very off road like. Then you get to zipline and bicycle above the jungle...which was awesome! You even Have a zipline that is like a roller coaster ride and one that takes you strait in to the water in the cave and you begin your snorkel tour from there. Just remeber to bring your waterproof camera! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!

Doing what: 4-in-1 Tulum Adventure: Zipline, Cavern Rappel, Cave Snorkel and Skycycle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message