Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 225 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an excellent tour and Frank, our guide, was great. I would highly recommend it. It is a real plus to get there early -- before the crowds. The pickup is early, though. It would be great if you could provide a bottle of juice and a breakfast pastry (or even coffee, although I don't know how you would arrange that logistically) because it is too early to get breakfast at most hotels before the tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Viator delivered on each of its promises. Timely pickups, informative and professional guide, plus memorable free time to wander Tulum's cliff trails and beach. We wish we had booked more of our time with this company.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Hotel Pickup was on time. Guide was excellent he spoke very good English, Italian and Spanish. The shuttle vans were clean and with A/C. The Lunch buffet they took us was really good ! We also got to vista a small village a natives to see how they lived. The Ruins of Coba was Amazing.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Very educational... Guide and Driver were very helpful and provided excellent service!!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great experience! Walk a lot, but well worth it! I recommend you bring walking shoes!! Insect repellant! I enjoyed it! Eat a small meal, we are a bit later on in the day... Tour guides were great! Thanks Israel and Augustine!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip to beautiful Tulum. Our guide Frank, was excellent. We were picked up at hotel around 6.40am and returned at 1pm. Frank gave us a brief history on the bus ride, then guided us through the ruins with educational information for 1.5hrs followed by 1.5 hours of free time. I would suggest a hat, camera and sunscreen. Also, be sure to buy a fresh coconut outside the park for a refreshing drink on the way home.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite the early pickup (5:45 am), by the time we reached the site there were already a significant number of groups. By the time we left it was crowded. The tour guide was amazing, and knew her subject well. This spot has an interesting maritime history of how ships navigated into the port and the use of the buildings in this regard.
Would have been better had the bus left at least an hour later so we could have had time to explore the beaches. It was a bit hurried in that respect.
As to the food, take your own sandwich....and snacks. The sandwich was one small slice of ham and cheese, and was warm. Juice box, small snack bar, water.
I suggest a better schedule for pickups in the morning. Much of early morning time we should have been at the site had been taken up with pickups from far out places and waiting for sandwich delivery, making our arrival later than it should have been.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've been to Tulum twice before, but this excursion was excellent. My 2 sons and I very much enjoyed the trip and all the fantastic information provided by our tour guide. The pick-up at our Cancun hotel was right on time and along the way the tour guide started with the information on the Mayans and Tulum itself. Although I have informally studied a bit, much of the information was new and his passion for the subject was obvious. Good thing getting there early because the crowds really started pouring in once it got to mid-morning. Even as the guided part of the tour was over, my sons and I continued our discussion with the tour guide and really enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

If you're on vacation, time is a luxury and it well worth booking a small group tour like this in order to save a couple of hours of transit time. Ursula and Saul were great. The key here is that they were on time for the pickup in the morning. I've been on big group tours before and other tours and they've always been late for some reason or another. This tour in my experience has been very punctual.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Berney
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with knowledgable guide. Getting there before the crowds is a HUGE plus. It's also not as hot in the early morning. Pickup from our condo was on time. We've already recommended this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience.
Very friendly and knowledgeable guide.
A well organised trip with enough time at each stop to explore and take photos.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I highly recommend this tour to those who want to enjoy the ruins without the crowds and touristy feel. Freddy, our archeologist and tour guide, was very knowledgable and friendly. His guidance made the tour interesting and entertaining. Our driver was also very good and kept us safe and on time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Victor Bermudez
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My tour was great in part due to Freddy and our driver. Freddy is a true Archeologist Mayan who made the trip worth while. His English is perfect. our tour was with Amigo Tours they picked us up at the hotel on time. I loved Tulum I recommended it. At the end of the tour they drop you off upfront where you can eat buy things take awesome pictures. We loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddy was our guide and Saul was our driver, and both did an excellent job. It was tough getting up so early, but well worth it to miss the crowds and heat. Freddy provided great information on the Maya past and present, and his passion for the Mayan people was very evident. The tour was just the right length.The box lunch was very basic (sandwich, fruit, juice box, water and cereal bar), but hit the spot for an early light lunch. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message