Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 352 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great trip. Guide was great and added to the experience. He pointed out local fruit trees during the tour and stopped on the way home at a local roadside market to but fry it for the party to sample.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, the guide was very nice, friendly and informative. It poured rain on us and he managed to keep the group happy and upbeat. The sites were beautiful and it felt as if we took a one day archeology class.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our experience with Sergio excellent gude and Javier very safe, efficient driver was exceptional! The air conditioned van was fabulous, and since it was just the guide, the driver, my husband and I, we learned a lot and had a great interactive experience. The lunch was delicious at the buffet between monuments! The only down side was, due to the sargasso problem in the sea currently, a swim at Tulum was not a fun option, so we instead chose a cold drink, and a cool ride back to our hotel pool. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Coba and Tulum Ruins from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We travelled as a family of 4 on this brilliant day out.
We had a fantastic and knowledgeable guide, Martin, who was on hand at all times to answer anything from historical to local and national questions.
It is a full days trip so bear that in mind. But it is FAR from boring at any point.
A DEFFINATE MUST DO!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Surreal! Gorgeous Mayan city by the ocean

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

DavidA
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful time for people age 18 and over. This was a trip that worked for our group, but would not work for under 14 as the Cenote was small and there was a lot of walking at Tulum. Nonetheless, all of our group loved it and Carlos was a great resource. Also, I loved climbing the pyramid structure at COBA and the view of the jungle exterior. All around great day!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, great staff and a magical place. Definitely go!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide and drivers were lovely and overall had a lovely day.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins with Optional Underground River Swim and Lunch from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour was very enjoyable and informative! Our guide was an archaeologist named Ursula. She was extremely knowledgeable and explained everything in both English and Spanish. We were picked up promptly at 6:00 a.m. by our driver, Jacinto. The early start time was perfect to beat the high temperatures. We would highly recommend this tour, and both Ursula and Jacinto.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Is my favorite place in Mexico. Here you got the rare opportunity to see how a Mayan city was structured and sometimes you got the feeling that they are still there... waiting to fix the roof or so...
I learn interesting things from the guides really well prepared.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic trip. The early access was a great choice as we were able to get great shots of all the major sites long before it was over-run. Freddy was an awesome guide, very knowledgeable and helped to make sense of the historical significance of the various buildings. The beach access was not advisable this year due to the bad seaweed problem, but frankly, there is so much to see and do at Tulum, we did not miss it at all. By the time we left, just before noon, the place was crawling with hundreds of tourists and locals alike. Do yourself a favor and book the early access tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent 1 service was amazing the best...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This Tour was absolutely amazing and beautifully done with a wonderful tour guide. The best part of the whole trip was the fact that not one tip was asked for and that was so refreshing. Especially loved the blessing by the Mayan Priest at the Cenote swim before we entered the water - even for one who isn't so spiritual, it was very moving. Would highly recommend over and over!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a great tour! Freddie is awesome. He has a lot of information to share. He truly wants to explain everything about Tulum. It is an early tour, but it's worth getting up that early as there are no people and when you get there is not too hot. We practically had the entire site for ourselves. Great for taking pictures. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I didn't ask, but I seriously doubt that our guide was trained as an archeologist, but that didn't stop my family and I from enjoying the efforts of our tour guide, Freddie, and our driver, Guido. They were both warm and friendly, and Freddie was very entertaining. He offered a lot of information and details about the Mayan history and culture, and provided loads of information about the ruins. It was very tough getting up early the day of the tour, but it was worth it to beat the crowds and the heat. I think lots of other tour groups have caught on, though, so be prepared to see lots of other people. Oh, and bring lots of mosquito repellent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Everything was organized very smoothly: great communication from the travel agent, on time pick up, comfortable new buses, professional and knowledgeable guide and the icing on the cake is that you get to go inside before the big crowds turn up. Bring anti mosquito spray :-)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonder tour with a wonderful, polite, and very knowledgable tourguide.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Javier was extremely knowledgeable. Tulum was amazing. Swimming in the cenote was such a cool relief from the heat and my personal favorite portion of the trip. The lunch provided was the best out of all of the excursions we planned. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing tour. Went in late May. Perfect weather. Great guide. Going early is the only way to go. Book it. You may hate getting up early but you will be so glad you did. Did I say great guide?!?! Yes

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We got picked up at our hotel and our minds were at ease the entire day! The sites along with cenote swimming were great and we can't say enough good things about our tour guide Ruben! He was knowledgable and fun! Climbing the pyramid at Coba was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love it. I recommend taking the bikes to the beginning of the river. Great smirking! Service was very nice. All kinds of activities while cruising down the
River. Tulum was very interesting. Love all the history behind it. Our tour guide was very informative when we were
There.but slept on the drive

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really hate mornings so it was tough for me to get up this early, but it was absolutely with it! We were the first group to arrive and had the whole place to ourselves, plus we beat the heat. Our guide, Freddie, was animated and engaging and had great information. The site was beautiful and we even had some tasty tacos before we got back on the bus not included with the tour. Overall, a wonderful and memorable experience. My only complaint would be the stairs leading down to the beach. They were killer! I highly recommend this tour and, should we ever be in the area again, would certainly book another tour with the tour operator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message