Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 215 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite the early pickup (5:45 am), by the time we reached the site there were already a significant number of groups. By the time we left it was crowded. The tour guide was amazing, and knew her subject well. This spot has an interesting maritime history of how ships navigated into the port and the use of the buildings in this regard.
Would have been better had the bus left at least an hour later so we could have had time to explore the beaches. It was a bit hurried in that respect.
As to the food, take your own sandwich....and snacks. The sandwich was one small slice of ham and cheese, and was warm. Juice box, small snack bar, water.
I suggest a better schedule for pickups in the morning. Much of early morning time we should have been at the site had been taken up with pickups from far out places and waiting for sandwich delivery, making our arrival later than it should have been.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Despite the early pickup (5:45 am), by the time we reached the site there were already a significant number of groups. By the time we left it was crowded. The tour guide was amazing, and knew her subject well. This spot has an interesting maritime history of how ships navigated into the port and the use of the buildings in this regard.
Would have been better had the bus left at least an hour later so we could have had time to explore the beaches. It was a bit hurried in that respect.
As to the food, take your own sandwich....and snacks. The sandwich was one small slice of ham and cheese, and was warm. Juice box, small snack bar, water.
I suggest a better schedule for pickups in the morning. Much of early morning time we should have been at the site had been taken up with pickups from far out places and waiting for sandwich delivery, making our arrival later than it should have been.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I've been to Tulum twice before, but this excursion was excellent. My 2 sons and I very much enjoyed the trip and all the fantastic information provided by our tour guide. The pick-up at our Cancun hotel was right on time and along the way the tour guide started with the information on the Mayans and Tulum itself. Although I have informally studied a bit, much of the information was new and his passion for the subject was obvious. Good thing getting there early because the crowds really started pouring in once it got to mid-morning. Even as the guided part of the tour was over, my sons and I continued our discussion with the tour guide and really enjoyed our time there. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

If you're on vacation, time is a luxury and it well worth booking a small group tour like this in order to save a couple of hours of transit time. Ursula and Saul were great. The key here is that they were on time for the pickup in the morning. I've been on big group tours before and other tours and they've always been late for some reason or another. This tour in my experience has been very punctual.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Berney
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with knowledgable guide. Getting there before the crowds is a HUGE plus. It's also not as hot in the early morning. Pickup from our condo was on time. We've already recommended this tour to our friends.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing experience.
Very friendly and knowledgeable guide.
A well organised trip with enough time at each stop to explore and take photos.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I highly recommend this tour to those who want to enjoy the ruins without the crowds and touristy feel. Freddy, our archeologist and tour guide, was very knowledgable and friendly. His guidance made the tour interesting and entertaining. Our driver was also very good and kept us safe and on time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Victor Bermudez
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My tour was great in part due to Freddy and our driver. Freddy is a true Archeologist Mayan who made the trip worth while. His English is perfect. our tour was with Amigo Tours they picked us up at the hotel on time. I loved Tulum I recommended it. At the end of the tour they drop you off upfront where you can eat buy things take awesome pictures. We loved it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddy was our guide and Saul was our driver, and both did an excellent job. It was tough getting up so early, but well worth it to miss the crowds and heat. Freddy provided great information on the Maya past and present, and his passion for the Mayan people was very evident. The tour was just the right length.The box lunch was very basic (sandwich, fruit, juice box, water and cereal bar), but hit the spot for an early light lunch. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddie was awesome! Along with Achilles. I recommend this tour to all. Full of info

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the tour and it was small and private. What a great tour guide. He was so knowledgable and was able to get us into the parks efficiently. His information on Tulum and the Mayan Culture awed all of us. We met special friends on the tour also. We LOVED Xel-Ha and would spend the whole day there with our snorkels and vests just swimming, eating and drinking. Anyone taking this tour just know that the bus picks you up but takes you to a central destination before you board your private van. Just a bit more time FYI.
we loved our tour guide!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is an excellent tour. The early arrival is great for pictures. Freddy the Archeoligist/Tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Mayans and the Tulum ruins. The information and pictures that he shared greatly increased our understanding and appreciation of the Mayan culture and the ruins at Tulum. We learned much, much more from Freddy on this trip then we did on a previous tour to Tulum with another tour company. This tour is well worth the time and money. Highly recommend Freddy and this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic! Thoroughly recommend this tour as Freddie is so knowledgeable and passionate about his Mayan heritage.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fast and convenient way to see Tulum. Half of the time was a guided tour and the half if your time leaving plenty of time to enjoy the beaching or shopping. Like others said we were back at our resort in time to hit a late lunch buffet. The views were breathtaking. Freddie did a great job leading the tour and proving information about the ruins and Mayan culture. Make sure you confirm your tour by email before leaving home. Internet and phone service may be problematic depending on your resort. My wife and I don’t regret this tour and highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message