Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic trip. The early access was a great choice as we were able to get great shots of all the major sites long before it was over-run. Freddy was an awesome guide, very knowledgeable and helped to make sense of the historical significance of the various buildings. The beach access was not advisable this year due to the bad seaweed problem, but frankly, there is so much to see and do at Tulum, we did not miss it at all. By the time we left, just before noon, the place was crawling with hundreds of tourists and locals alike. Do yourself a favor and book the early access tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent 1 service was amazing the best...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This Tour was absolutely amazing and beautifully done with a wonderful tour guide. The best part of the whole trip was the fact that not one tip was asked for and that was so refreshing. Especially loved the blessing by the Mayan Priest at the Cenote swim before we entered the water - even for one who isn't so spiritual, it was very moving. Would highly recommend over and over!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a great tour! Freddie is awesome. He has a lot of information to share. He truly wants to explain everything about Tulum. It is an early tour, but it's worth getting up that early as there are no people and when you get there is not too hot. We practically had the entire site for ourselves. Great for taking pictures. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I didn't ask, but I seriously doubt that our guide was trained as an archeologist, but that didn't stop my family and I from enjoying the efforts of our tour guide, Freddie, and our driver, Guido. They were both warm and friendly, and Freddie was very entertaining. He offered a lot of information and details about the Mayan history and culture, and provided loads of information about the ruins. It was very tough getting up early the day of the tour, but it was worth it to beat the crowds and the heat. I think lots of other tour groups have caught on, though, so be prepared to see lots of other people. Oh, and bring lots of mosquito repellent!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. Everything was organized very smoothly: great communication from the travel agent, on time pick up, comfortable new buses, professional and knowledgeable guide and the icing on the cake is that you get to go inside before the big crowds turn up. Bring anti mosquito spray :-)

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Informative tour guide and excellent bus driver. Tulum was breathtakingly beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins on our own after the informative guided tour. The visit to the cenote included an interesting, spiritual Mayan cleansing ceremony as well as an enjoyable, refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters of the cenote, whose natural beauty was marred by a few plastic bags and bottles that were littering the area and should have been removed prior to our arrival. Cobá was amazing with its Mayan roads, temples and ball court. Delicious Mayan buffet lunch prior to walking to the Coba ruins, with its ancient limestone Mayan roads and ruins. Climbing up the Cobá pyramid was challenging and coming down was even more so, due to the uneven steep and narrow steps, but the view from the top was well worth it!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonder tour with a wonderful, polite, and very knowledgable tourguide.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Javier was extremely knowledgeable. Tulum was amazing. Swimming in the cenote was such a cool relief from the heat and my personal favorite portion of the trip. The lunch provided was the best out of all of the excursions we planned. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing tour. Went in late May. Perfect weather. Great guide. Going early is the only way to go. Book it. You may hate getting up early but you will be so glad you did. Did I say great guide?!?! Yes

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We got picked up at our hotel and our minds were at ease the entire day! The sites along with cenote swimming were great and we can't say enough good things about our tour guide Ruben! He was knowledgable and fun! Climbing the pyramid at Coba was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love it. I recommend taking the bikes to the beginning of the river. Great smirking! Service was very nice. All kinds of activities while cruising down the
River. Tulum was very interesting. Love all the history behind it. Our tour guide was very informative when we were
There.but slept on the drive

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really hate mornings so it was tough for me to get up this early, but it was absolutely with it! We were the first group to arrive and had the whole place to ourselves, plus we beat the heat. Our guide, Freddie, was animated and engaging and had great information. The site was beautiful and we even had some tasty tacos before we got back on the bus not included with the tour. Overall, a wonderful and memorable experience. My only complaint would be the stairs leading down to the beach. They were killer! I highly recommend this tour and, should we ever be in the area again, would certainly book another tour with the tour operator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was nice drive to Tulum. We had Freddi and francisco and oscar as our driver. They were fabulous! A job well done.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great trip, lots sights to see. the guide was very informative about the Mayan culture and history. a great day climbing the ruins, spotting iguanas and coatis, having a refreshing swim in a crystal clear cenote and a lovely buffet lunch

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great addition to our vacation. Ursula was super knowledgeable and shared tons of interesting information, and Seoul was a good driver. The best part was learning insider information about an indigenous culture - they seemed really well-schooled in Mayan history. I liked going early, beating some of the heat, that we had a little bit of time to explore on our own, and we were back to our hotel by 1:30 - in time to enjoy a late lunch and the rest of the day. There were so many people entering the ruins when we left - I'm glad we beat the crowds. The box lunch is basic, but gets the job done. Cold water after a hot tour was great. Affordable, too. I would book again if I return to Mexico. The only tiny change I might suggest is to increase air flow in the vans - they turned the AC as high as it would go, but you can't feel it at all in the very back seat, which is elevated. If you get car sick, do take some medicine beforehand if you end up in the back seat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tulum and Xel -Ha all inclusive trip was one of the best excursions if you are staying in Cancun, Riviera Maya or Playa Del Carmen. You cant beat that it all inclusive and round trip transportation from your hotel is included. Tulum was our first stop and it was impressive to see how well preserved the Mayan ruins have been kept. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable on the Mayan People and how they lived. He even quizzed out group on certain aspects of history. I do recommend taking bug spray, sunsceen and an umbrella because there is very little shade and a lot of walking. David did provide us with water at the beginning of our tour. Of course people are selling all of these items once you get there for a nice price but you will need the bug spray. After Tulum, our next stop was to Xel- Ha. This was truly a lot of fun in the sun. The staff, food and drinks were awesome. Lockers, towels and snorkel gear was all included. Snorkeling was so much fun and just floating in the river was really relaxing. We hopped on the bikes feeling like a kid again and met Deer on the trail. That was an eye opener. It was really breathtaking to see some people swim with the dolphins and with the stingrays. The tour through the cenote was adventurous. If this is your first time visiting I do recommend both trips to get the experience and history of the Mayans. If you just want the fun and adventure, then just book the all inclusive Xel-Ha trip. You will not regret the fun and food that you will have while there.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First let me say that if you take this tour ask that Alejandro be your guide. He absolutely made a great day even better. He was a wealth of knowledge about the Maya culture. Fortunately it was his day to escort the English-speaking portion of our group. I cannot say enough good things about him.
This is a very long day, be prepared. Takes snacks for the rides between locations. We started off heading to Tulum, a site I have visited once before, 25 years ago. It is still a very cool place to explore. It was a very hot day so we searched for shade for our informative talks. Carry water.
On to the cenote. We were the first to arrive so we got to swim first. This was nice since several vans and a huge bus showed up later. We weren't there long, but the water is incredibly refreshing and a must-do.
Next it was time to head to Coba and lunch. We had an area set up for us at a restaurant right outside the Coba site. Lunch was a highlight, the food was fantastic. Seconds was in order, and you walk around Coba a lot so you can work it off.
Originally we were going to go to Tulum and Chichen Itza, but a recommended Coba. It was the right choice. While Chichen Itza is larger and a more open space, Coba is set in a forest and at every turn you find something amazing. The smaller ball courts make you picture what used to take place centuries ago. The highlight is the main pyramid which you have no idea is there until you are very close. Climb it now as we were told it will probably be closed in the next year. Not being a big fan of heights, this was a good test. The climb up isn't really difficult, just watch your footing. What you get at the top is worth every pain in your legs. The view is absolutely breathtaking. You can see 360 degrees for miles of nothing but jungle. Imagine what it was like to stand up there before your people. Embrace the feeling. The climb down is a little hairy but use the rope. This is a must-do trip.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. A full, varied, well-planned day with an excellent guide. We loved the cenote swim: cool crystal water after very hot ruins was much appreciated. Coba has two major buildings far apart. You can rent bikes or be pedaled for a few pesos, but you can't use US dollars.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was our guide and he was great, very knowledgable! I recommend doing the early access into Tulum. We were the first people there and were able to get great pictures without people in the background!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great! Well worth it for the price. Tour guide Freddie was extremely knowledgeable and did a fantastic job! You won't regret it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour! Although it's not the greatest to get up early, it is worth it to get to Tulum right when it opens - you beat the heat and the crowds. Tulum isn't very big and when we left at 10:30 it was packed. It was so nice to get there right when it opened and get pictures with no one else in them. I travel a lot and have been on a lot of tours and Freddy was one of the best tour guides I have ever met! He was very entertaining and informative. He provided a lot of background information on the bus and then spent an hour and a half with taking us through the site. The logistics were also really good - picked up and dropped off at the hotel and the driver Saul was also excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message