Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 319 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonder tour with a wonderful, polite, and very knowledgable tourguide.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Javier was extremely knowledgeable. Tulum was amazing. Swimming in the cenote was such a cool relief from the heat and my personal favorite portion of the trip. The lunch provided was the best out of all of the excursions we planned. I highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing tour. Went in late May. Perfect weather. Great guide. Going early is the only way to go. Book it. You may hate getting up early but you will be so glad you did. Did I say great guide?!?! Yes

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic! We got picked up at our hotel and our minds were at ease the entire day! The sites along with cenote swimming were great and we can't say enough good things about our tour guide Ruben! He was knowledgable and fun! Climbing the pyramid at Coba was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love it. I recommend taking the bikes to the beginning of the river. Great smirking! Service was very nice. All kinds of activities while cruising down the
River. Tulum was very interesting. Love all the history behind it. Our tour guide was very informative when we were
There.but slept on the drive

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really hate mornings so it was tough for me to get up this early, but it was absolutely with it! We were the first group to arrive and had the whole place to ourselves, plus we beat the heat. Our guide, Freddie, was animated and engaging and had great information. The site was beautiful and we even had some tasty tacos before we got back on the bus not included with the tour. Overall, a wonderful and memorable experience. My only complaint would be the stairs leading down to the beach. They were killer! I highly recommend this tour and, should we ever be in the area again, would certainly book another tour with the tour operator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was nice drive to Tulum. We had Freddi and francisco and oscar as our driver. They were fabulous! A job well done.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

great trip, lots sights to see. the guide was very informative about the Mayan culture and history. a great day climbing the ruins, spotting iguanas and coatis, having a refreshing swim in a crystal clear cenote and a lovely buffet lunch

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great addition to our vacation. Ursula was super knowledgeable and shared tons of interesting information, and Seoul was a good driver. The best part was learning insider information about an indigenous culture - they seemed really well-schooled in Mayan history. I liked going early, beating some of the heat, that we had a little bit of time to explore on our own, and we were back to our hotel by 1:30 - in time to enjoy a late lunch and the rest of the day. There were so many people entering the ruins when we left - I'm glad we beat the crowds. The box lunch is basic, but gets the job done. Cold water after a hot tour was great. Affordable, too. I would book again if I return to Mexico. The only tiny change I might suggest is to increase air flow in the vans - they turned the AC as high as it would go, but you can't feel it at all in the very back seat, which is elevated. If you get car sick, do take some medicine beforehand if you end up in the back seat.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tulum and Xel -Ha all inclusive trip was one of the best excursions if you are staying in Cancun, Riviera Maya or Playa Del Carmen. You cant beat that it all inclusive and round trip transportation from your hotel is included. Tulum was our first stop and it was impressive to see how well preserved the Mayan ruins have been kept. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable on the Mayan People and how they lived. He even quizzed out group on certain aspects of history. I do recommend taking bug spray, sunsceen and an umbrella because there is very little shade and a lot of walking. David did provide us with water at the beginning of our tour. Of course people are selling all of these items once you get there for a nice price but you will need the bug spray. After Tulum, our next stop was to Xel- Ha. This was truly a lot of fun in the sun. The staff, food and drinks were awesome. Lockers, towels and snorkel gear was all included. Snorkeling was so much fun and just floating in the river was really relaxing. We hopped on the bikes feeling like a kid again and met Deer on the trail. That was an eye opener. It was really breathtaking to see some people swim with the dolphins and with the stingrays. The tour through the cenote was adventurous. If this is your first time visiting I do recommend both trips to get the experience and history of the Mayans. If you just want the fun and adventure, then just book the all inclusive Xel-Ha trip. You will not regret the fun and food that you will have while there.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

First let me say that if you take this tour ask that Alejandro be your guide. He absolutely made a great day even better. He was a wealth of knowledge about the Maya culture. Fortunately it was his day to escort the English-speaking portion of our group. I cannot say enough good things about him.
This is a very long day, be prepared. Takes snacks for the rides between locations. We started off heading to Tulum, a site I have visited once before, 25 years ago. It is still a very cool place to explore. It was a very hot day so we searched for shade for our informative talks. Carry water.
On to the cenote. We were the first to arrive so we got to swim first. This was nice since several vans and a huge bus showed up later. We weren't there long, but the water is incredibly refreshing and a must-do.
Next it was time to head to Coba and lunch. We had an area set up for us at a restaurant right outside the Coba site. Lunch was a highlight, the food was fantastic. Seconds was in order, and you walk around Coba a lot so you can work it off.
Originally we were going to go to Tulum and Chichen Itza, but a recommended Coba. It was the right choice. While Chichen Itza is larger and a more open space, Coba is set in a forest and at every turn you find something amazing. The smaller ball courts make you picture what used to take place centuries ago. The highlight is the main pyramid which you have no idea is there until you are very close. Climb it now as we were told it will probably be closed in the next year. Not being a big fan of heights, this was a good test. The climb up isn't really difficult, just watch your footing. What you get at the top is worth every pain in your legs. The view is absolutely breathtaking. You can see 360 degrees for miles of nothing but jungle. Imagine what it was like to stand up there before your people. Embrace the feeling. The climb down is a little hairy but use the rope. This is a must-do trip.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was great. A full, varied, well-planned day with an excellent guide. We loved the cenote swim: cool crystal water after very hot ruins was much appreciated. Coba has two major buildings far apart. You can rent bikes or be pedaled for a few pesos, but you can't use US dollars.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie was our guide and he was great, very knowledgable! I recommend doing the early access into Tulum. We were the first people there and were able to get great pictures without people in the background!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great! Well worth it for the price. Tour guide Freddie was extremely knowledgeable and did a fantastic job! You won't regret it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would highly recommend this tour! Although it's not the greatest to get up early, it is worth it to get to Tulum right when it opens - you beat the heat and the crowds. Tulum isn't very big and when we left at 10:30 it was packed. It was so nice to get there right when it opened and get pictures with no one else in them. I travel a lot and have been on a lot of tours and Freddy was one of the best tour guides I have ever met! He was very entertaining and informative. He provided a lot of background information on the bus and then spent an hour and a half with taking us through the site. The logistics were also really good - picked up and dropped off at the hotel and the driver Saul was also excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddi, Oscar and Francisco were such a live animated group of archeologists ... The facts they had and the humor is what made Thai trip outstanding !!! I would recommend it to anyone

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Frank was a FANTASTIC guide and his knowledge was endless. Freddie also provided the background information on the Mayans which was crucial to understanding life at the time the Mayans lived in Tulum. The early access is a must to avoid the heat and the crowds. Oscar also did a great job getting us to and from safely. Tulum is a bit too commercial these days but still worth the trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Paul T
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very informative. Friendly and fun guides. Freddy, Frank. and Oscar great job!,

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Freddie, Freddie, Freddie!!
My family and I decided to take this early morning tour and we're glad that we did. The main reason is that Freddie was our tour guide. You see, I have a recently recovered broken leg and couldn't keep up with the pace of the rest of the group. Freddie realized this very quickly and rearranged the group so that he could stay with my family at the pace I could walk. We did catch up with the rest of the group and got to see the breath taking views of the ruins and learn about the Mayan buildings and people all the while Freddie kept making sure that I was okay. He really went above and beyond to make our tour quite a success. Our advice is to go early with Viator, as it get s hot very quickly, and you really have the ruins to yourself bring water and wear very comfortable shoes, as there is a lot of walking. There is a cart that for 2 a person, can bring you up to the main entrance, which is helpful when you are tired. There is a little time for touristy souvenirs and remember to haggle.The box lunch had the freshest fruit, a sandwich, cookies and juice and a water. Going back to Freddie, it was so nice to find a guide with that kind of compassion, and really great sense of humor. Thank you, Freddie for helping make our tour that much more enjoyable! And Viator, please give Freddie a tour bus with his picture on the side of it, he so deserves it!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour got us around the crowds. Freddy, our guide, had the knowledge and was fluent in English and Spanish. Even though it rained, we still had a very good time. Took great pics without there being other tourists in the way due to the early entrance. It's worth the early pick-up time.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was worth every penny!! Our guide Carlos was excellent!! He was so knowledgeable about the Mayan history which made this all day tour enjoyable. Swimming in a cenote was a blast too.

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tulum guide was highly knowledgeable and spoke English very well. He allowed for stopping in shade. Learned a lot about the Mayans. Xel-ha was awesome. Good food and drinks. Bring shoes for Tulum! Only con is that our transportation ran 30 minutes late on what we were told. A bit annoying.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message