Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddy was our guide and Saul was our driver, and both did an excellent job. It was tough getting up so early, but well worth it to miss the crowds and heat. Freddy provided great information on the Maya past and present, and his passion for the Mayan people was very evident. The tour was just the right length.The box lunch was very basic (sandwich, fruit, juice box, water and cereal bar), but hit the spot for an early light lunch. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddie was awesome! Along with Achilles. I recommend this tour to all. Full of info

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved the tour and it was small and private. What a great tour guide. He was so knowledgable and was able to get us into the parks efficiently. His information on Tulum and the Mayan Culture awed all of us. We met special friends on the tour also. We LOVED Xel-Ha and would spend the whole day there with our snorkels and vests just swimming, eating and drinking. Anyone taking this tour just know that the bus picks you up but takes you to a central destination before you board your private van. Just a bit more time FYI.
we loved our tour guide!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is an excellent tour. The early arrival is great for pictures. Freddy the Archeoligist/Tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Mayans and the Tulum ruins. The information and pictures that he shared greatly increased our understanding and appreciation of the Mayan culture and the ruins at Tulum. We learned much, much more from Freddy on this trip then we did on a previous tour to Tulum with another tour company. This tour is well worth the time and money. Highly recommend Freddy and this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic! Thoroughly recommend this tour as Freddie is so knowledgeable and passionate about his Mayan heritage.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fast and convenient way to see Tulum. Half of the time was a guided tour and the half if your time leaving plenty of time to enjoy the beaching or shopping. Like others said we were back at our resort in time to hit a late lunch buffet. The views were breathtaking. Freddie did a great job leading the tour and proving information about the ruins and Mayan culture. Make sure you confirm your tour by email before leaving home. Internet and phone service may be problematic depending on your resort. My wife and I don’t regret this tour and highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My friend and I had a great time. All the sites we visited on the tour were beautiful and we had plenty of time to explore the sites. Our guide, Alfredo, was very nice and full of information on each place we visited. The lunch included on the tour was very good. We were also given bottles of water during the trip and extra water at the end before heading back to the hotels, which was very nice. I would absolutely do this tour again!!

Doing what: Cancun Super Saver: Tulum and Coba Ruins Including Cenote Swim and Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best service ......Beautiful areas........The tour personnel was on time, knowledgeable and most importantly very friendly and very funny......I will definitely recommend this tour to all my friends and family

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is fantastic and definitely worth getting up early. Fredie's knowledge of the site and Mayan culture definitely changed the experience. Instead of just repeating memorized information he sought our questions of the life and history of the Mayan civilization. Saul's attention and service was equally impressive. We practically had the site to ourselves, but as we were leaving is was getting crowded with buses lined up to get in. Our pictures were much better without strangers and crowds. If you want to visit Tulum, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Richard B
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour we have taken from Cancun! "Freddy" and "Achilles" we're an excellent team! Freddy's passion for the history of the Mayan people was obvious as he also shared with us some personal photos of his family in traditional dress. Very informative and the early access made picture taking of this beautiful sight much better than when the crowds arrived later. Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was amazing! Our guide, Freddie, was funny and knowledgeable. Going so early was so nice. We got photos of the site-not other tourists. The communication was amazing-we knew where to be when. It was very smooth-well organized-informative-but mostly really fun!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Jiaxi L
China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Freddy and Saul are very helpful and give me a perfect tour to Tulum Ruins. Freddy introduced many information about Mayan culture and history. I learnt a lot from this tour. Also, the early access gave us a very wonderful view to take a best pictures of Tulum Ruins.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We very much enjoyed our experience with archaeologist Ursula and driver Saul. Both were very personable. Our tour was only a group of 5 and everyone was running a little bit late that day, but no worries. We still arrived at the site well before other visitors and enjoyed the site with only a few other groups. Ursula presented us with a very good base while in the van (a very comfortable ride by the way) on the way to Tulum and then even more specific information while at the site. Lunch was simple but tasty (ham and cheese sandwich, fruit bar, banana, water and juice) and refreshing. There was plenty of free time at the site to take photos, swim or shop.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide (Freddie) with Amigo Tours was the best we've ever had. Very personal, incredibly knowledgable, very funny! I'd definitely recommend Freddie with Amigo Tours!!! Early access to Tulum was huge! We were literally the first people on site and had great photo ops without crowds.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Awesome experience! Going first in the morning to have the place basically for us and an archeologist leading the tour was outstanding. It was worth to start the adventure at 6 am. You are back at your hotel by 2 pm and have the rest of the afternoon available for other activities in Cancun. It was a bus for only 18 passengers, so it facilitated the discussion on the bus about the maya culture in general. Freddy made the discussion interesting and used an ipad to ilustrate details. We also learned some maya words. Freddy and Saul were always ahead to provide an excelente service. I strongly recomend this option for Tulum.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message