Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Saw the ruins on 8/25/14. Freddie and Saul were terrific and they did a great job getting us there early before the crowds They gave us ample time to take pictures and swim in the beautiful ocean and provided a light lunch afterwards. I highly recommend them.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early morning is a must. You miss the crowds and still get back in time to enjoy a half day doing something else. Freddy and Saul were amazing. Great knowledge of the myan culture and were just excellent overall.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour, I highly recommend it! Freddy and Saul were fantastic tour guides. The group was much smaller than I expected, just right of us. We were picked up promptly at our hotel and Freddy kept us occupied on the drive with a very informative, interesting talk about the Mayans. Early entry is the only way to visit! There were hardly any other tourists there, ensuring we got the best photos. We even had plenty of time to swim in the turquoise ocean! We left promptly and had a great lunch on the bus. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was great, the scenery unrivaled, and Xel-Ha a great way to relax in the water after our hot tour of the Tulum ruins. Well worth it!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tulum is beautiful, we loved this tour. Our Archaeologist was Frank, he was very informative and friendly, as was the driver. You will leave early, but this allows you to beat the crowds and the heat. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this was a great tour specially the part where you get a personal archaeologist who explains to you the history behind it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Freddy was awesome! My husband and I were the only ones on the tour that day so it was extra personalized. Freddy was extremely knowledgable and we definitely learned so much. Tulum gets hot so I'm glad we left early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

These two tours are great combo. First you visit Tulum were you get to see a great archeological park with one incredible view. After a walk you visit Tankah park. There you can relax or take park of all activity which I totally recommend. Adventure and a good feast awaits...

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

After some confusion in getting the tour booked and the time set, the tour was wonderful. Freddie arrived promptly, and we discovered that we had a private tour with him. The ride down was informative, with a great presentation and prep about the Mayan culture. Upon arrival, we had about 10 minutes for some great shots of Tulum in the sun before a rain cloud rolled in and over us. Freddie was game to keep the tour going in the rain if we were, so we plunged on with the tour to avoid the later crowds. The information he provided was extremely useful to understanding Tulum, and I noticed other tourists on their own seemed envious that we had someone with so much information. :) On our way out, we were astounded to see hundreds of people streaming towards the gate, while we had maybe 35 people in Tulum while we walked around. This made us VERY grateful for the early access tour. Afterwards, we retreated to a coffee shop to dry off a bit before our ride back and box lunch. I would highly recommend the early access tour, and specifically Freddie for his detailed knowledge and his conscientiousness.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are all four Deaf Couples and other people have a wonderful time in there. Everything is beautiful. Thank you !!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A need to see. Going with a guide, archeologists, is worth it. The explanations are very good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tulum is a beautiful site and there is a lot of shade available if the heat gets too much. Freddie our archeologist made the tour really interesting, explaining aspects of the buildings really well and in such a way that you could really imagine what life was like for the ancient Mayans. Added bonus was that we saw a humming bird, lots of male and female iguanas and even a coatimundi snuffling in the undergrowth. What also helps is if you are tired at the end of your tour you can take a trolley back to the start point for a small fee.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour highly reccommened for anyone who wants the history of the ruins and also wants to be early and beat the crowds. The lunch not so great but overall great experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to tour- small group,2 couples,before the heat and crowds. Freddy is the best kind of teacher- knowledgable,personable and informative. We had fun,learned a great deal, and topped it off with a refreshing swim and a boxed lunch.
Thanks Freddy and Saul!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message