Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, great tour guide.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed the tour of Tulum but wish we had more time at the site. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told us a lot about the culture of the Mayans.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Freddie (tour guide) and Saol (driver) assisted the group with the tour. The early morning pickup was important, we got to Tulum by 8:30am and we were one of the first in there, the key to this was getting good access for pictures without a lot of people around. Within 90 minutes of our arrival, the place was mobbed. The tour information was particularly interesting, with a history of the Mayans on the way there and Freddie's extensive knowledge of the site itself and the culture. I am not a hardcore history buff, but Freddie's information made this tour extremely interesting. I would highly recommend it. Logistics were solid as well, they picked us up at our hotel and dropped off. they called the day before to give us our time. The one drawback is the further away from Tulum you are, the more likely you will be first/last picked up/dropped off. That said, we were still back into the hotel zone in Cancun by 2pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a very compact trip without a lot of frills - just what we wanted. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the Tulum and the history of the Mayans. Half of the tour was with the guide explaining the ruins and readily answering questions. The rest of the tour allowed time for you to explore on your own. I liked that it was an early morning tour and that we had time to visit the ruins before large crowds arrived. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Freddie, our Mayan archeologist, seemed extremely knowledgeable in the Mayan history and had a wonderful presentation throughout the site. We would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was excellent! Fredi was very knowledgable and did great a great job of covering the history of the Mayan civilisation. The trip's logistics were good. The pickup and early arrival were great and important for pictures.
We highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Early arrival means...not as hot...postcard perfect photos and back to your resort early enough to enjoy your day...

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was great!! I went on this trip by myself and really enjoyed it. Saul and Freddy are super nice. It's worth waking up early because when we got there we were the only ones . About an hr later the place was packed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fantastic excursion, but remember to take sun cream and a hat as it gets very hot!! The views are amazing over the ocean, we booked the early access to Tulum so we beat the crowds and managed to get lovely photos with just us in them!! Our archaeologist and tour guided Freddy was so friendly and professional he really made the trip pleasurable. He smiled all day long and made us feel really welcome.
The bus driver Saul was also so friendly and made the bus ride enjoyable. All in all an excellent excursion if you are interested in the history of Mexico. 10 out of 10...thanks Freddy!!
Colette and Stephen Cox, Carlisle, England UK

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour with Tour Guide Freddy. He was very knowledgeable about the Ruins and the Mayans culture and history. The information that Freddy shared began shortly after we were picked up at our hotel. He has researched and gathered pictures and other visual information, which he shared with us.The whole group were very interested. The group was small, five people, very few other people had early access so there we no crowds and he also provided us with a little lunch to eat on the way back. Super!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was amazing as was the tour guide Freddie and driver Saul. Only suggestion- it rained on our tour, having available umbrellas or plastic jackets with hoods like other tours offered would have been helpful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There was lots of great information relayed to us on the trip. Our Archeologist and driver were amazing.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Tulum was a big surprise for us; we decided to visit after a strong recommendation from a friend, and we loved every second of the trip. Our tour guide Freddy and our driver Oscar picked us up right on time (a few minutes early in fact!), and we had a fantastic 1.5 hour tour of the site. Tulum is picturesque and an interesting contrast to Chichen Itza, so consider both trips and don't pass this one up in favor of the more popular ruins. Freddy provides a great deal of information, both from a historical perspective and from a personal one as a Mayan himself. He also prides himself on providing only the facts; he even carries a history book with him in case someone asks a question and he needs to look up an answer. His dedication to demystifying Mayan culture and history and making it accessible to us really made the trip for us.

Beating the crowds was a huge highlight for us (the ticket line was very lengthy when we were leaving- and it was much, much hotter!). We had 1.5 hours to tour on our own, which we used to check out some ruins in-depth and to watch the numerous iguanas running throughout the complex. The drive from Cancun isn't too long (not even two hours- and Oscar is a great driver!), and we were back by 1:30 PM. Take some water with you- they don't sell it after you get your ticket- and don't miss this experience!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message