Tulum, the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city and a port for Cobá, is one of the best preserved coastal Maya sites in the Yucatan. Highlights of these ruins include the Temple of the Frescoes which has spectacular figurines of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The early morning is a must. You miss the crowds and still get back in time to enjoy a half day doing something else. Freddy and Saul were amazing. Great knowledge of the myan culture and were just excellent overall.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

An excellent tour, I highly recommend it! Freddy and Saul were fantastic tour guides. The group was much smaller than I expected, just right of us. We were picked up promptly at our hotel and Freddy kept us occupied on the drive with a very informative, interesting talk about the Mayans. Early entry is the only way to visit! There were hardly any other tourists there, ensuring we got the best photos. We even had plenty of time to swim in the turquoise ocean! We left promptly and had a great lunch on the bus. We couldn't have asked for anything more!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was great, the scenery unrivaled, and Xel-Ha a great way to relax in the water after our hot tour of the Tulum ruins. Well worth it!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tulum is beautiful, we loved this tour. Our Archaeologist was Frank, he was very informative and friendly, as was the driver. You will leave early, but this allows you to beat the crowds and the heat. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

this was a great tour specially the part where you get a personal archaeologist who explains to you the history behind it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Freddy was awesome! My husband and I were the only ones on the tour that day so it was extra personalized. Freddy was extremely knowledgable and we definitely learned so much. Tulum gets hot so I'm glad we left early.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

These two tours are great combo. First you visit Tulum were you get to see a great archeological park with one incredible view. After a walk you visit Tankah park. There you can relax or take park of all activity which I totally recommend. Adventure and a good feast awaits...

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

After some confusion in getting the tour booked and the time set, the tour was wonderful. Freddie arrived promptly, and we discovered that we had a private tour with him. The ride down was informative, with a great presentation and prep about the Mayan culture. Upon arrival, we had about 10 minutes for some great shots of Tulum in the sun before a rain cloud rolled in and over us. Freddie was game to keep the tour going in the rain if we were, so we plunged on with the tour to avoid the later crowds. The information he provided was extremely useful to understanding Tulum, and I noticed other tourists on their own seemed envious that we had someone with so much information. :) On our way out, we were astounded to see hundreds of people streaming towards the gate, while we had maybe 35 people in Tulum while we walked around. This made us VERY grateful for the early access tour. Afterwards, we retreated to a coffee shop to dry off a bit before our ride back and box lunch. I would highly recommend the early access tour, and specifically Freddie for his detailed knowledge and his conscientiousness.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We are all four Deaf Couples and other people have a wonderful time in there. Everything is beautiful. Thank you !!!

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A need to see. Going with a guide, archeologists, is worth it. The explanations are very good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tulum is a beautiful site and there is a lot of shade available if the heat gets too much. Freddie our archeologist made the tour really interesting, explaining aspects of the buildings really well and in such a way that you could really imagine what life was like for the ancient Mayans. Added bonus was that we saw a humming bird, lots of male and female iguanas and even a coatimundi snuffling in the undergrowth. What also helps is if you are tired at the end of your tour you can take a trolley back to the start point for a small fee.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour highly reccommened for anyone who wants the history of the ruins and also wants to be early and beat the crowds. The lunch not so great but overall great experience.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The only way to tour- small group,2 couples,before the heat and crowds. Freddy is the best kind of teacher- knowledgable,personable and informative. We had fun,learned a great deal, and topped it off with a refreshing swim and a boxed lunch.
Thanks Freddy and Saul!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was amazing!!!! Our guide was very well informed and really took a lot of time and care in our education , happiness, and safety. He showed a great amount of caution and reverence to our surrounding environment and to the underground river as well. Our accompanying group photographer was top notch providing us with pictures we were able to purchase that we will treasure forever. This is one of the five major excursions my new bride and I were able to enjoy while on our Honeymoon in Cancun and I were able to experience ...this being our favorite BY FAR!!

The trip was affordable, safe, and the large tour bus taking us to the perimeter of the site, had the most legroom of any of the tour buses we were on for the 10 days we were visiting.

Rio Secreto ROCKS!

Doing what: Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide, Delio took us to the Tankah park where we experienced the real jungle with the Jeep. Then we walked to the beautiful cenote for the zip lining, kayaking and swimming. The Mayan lunch at the village was amazing.Tulum was very hot, but guide took care of us with umbrella and water.

Doing what: Tulum Ruins and Tankah Park Eco-Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message