A theme park that can be equaled to Mexico's "eco-park" version of Disneyland, Xcaret has natural and cultural attractions for visitors to the Riviera Maya region. The river that flows through the Mayan ruins and the subterranean river in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did Chichen Itza and Xel-ha combination. Both tours were amazing and well worth the money. The tour company picked us up on time if not early for both trips and really looked after us for both days. Despite the heavy rain at Chichen Itza we really enjoyed it. Would definately recommend.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

markvandeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Xel-Ha was fantastic! Well worth the money in my opinion. We loved that you could purchase a photo package as we didn't bring any water proof cameras. Photos were wonderful and great color too! Food was great and having all you can drink beverages helped on the very hot day we were there. Loved the interaction with the dolphin but the trainer did seem a bit rude at times. Kids loved the snuba dive with the fish. Overall a great park to visit, but you have to love the water and swimming, otherwise you might get bored. Not able to go to Xcaret this visit, but hoping our next trip we will be able to make it. Xplor was wonderful too! I could have spent all day doing their awesome zip lines. The cave or under ground swimming was quite relaxing. Rafts were a struggle at times as those hand paddles are hard to use, but it was fun. This park also had the picture package available for purchase which was nice, but unlike Xel-Ha, we had a lot of photos of people who were not part of our group. That was disappointing. Xel-Ha scanned a bracelet before a picture was taken, Xplor used some type of sensor in the helmet you wore in the park, so I guess if someone was close to you, your photo ended up in their package and vice versa. Anyway, the food was fantastic! Both parks were all you could eat. Overall I think well worth the price of admission to both parks. Disney has nothing on these parks! They could learn a thing or two from Xel-Ha and Xplor. Thank you for a wonderful time. I only wish I lived closer so I could go more often.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Ciara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Xcaret was the best part of our cancun trip! IT's just so fun and amazing to experience both water activities and cultural exploration in one place. HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

olivia m United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I did swimming in the underground river twice! You don and #39;t need to know how to swim to do this. The traditional Maya dance was really good and the show at the end was truly knowledgeable as it told you about the Mexican history in an interesting way. Even the horse in the show was dancing lol.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

Lourdes A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved both tours, xcaret was my personal favorite because I love water, so we swam all day and we walked the entire park. Chichenitza was very educational but it was a very hot day, all in all it was well worth it, the people that were in charge of the tours were great, friendly and helpful!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

lotus.hearts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

SO much to do and explore! We saw so many animals and learned a lot about the Mayan and Mexican Culture. We also enjoyed the underground river swim!

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Ian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent day out and there was far too much to see in one day. It was also blessed with cool spots and shade which was very welcome. The jungle boat ride and swim through the underground river were amazing. The Sea Trek was less good as the reef was dead - I'd suggest snorkeling might be the better experience. Do NOT miss the spectacular show in the evening - truly phenomenal. The trip could have been improved if they'd used the coach ride to give you an idea of the 'extras' available swimming with dolphins etc and their prices as that delayed at the start and we found out that one thing was sold out - although we then spoke to our guide and he fixed for us to do it.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Graciela Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you go to Cancun and don't experience Xcaret is like you did not go to Cancun. I would have like to spend two days in this place and experience all of the activities and shows they have. Here, the food was also delicious. Swimming in the underground river was like a dream. The 7:00 o'clock show was amazing. They tell you with music and dances the history of Mexico and how the culture became so rich. The show is included in the entrance, but we decided to upgrade it so that it would include dinner. The dinner was a seven course gourmet meal absolutely delicious. This trip is a MUST DO!

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

sdl80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

it was truly a wonderful trip,my wife and I felt we were literally in PARADISE!!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Cheryl A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a fun, but costly day! We brought too much stuff books and extra clothes but at least there were lockers. It was good to have at least one towel. We didn't bring our I-phones, dummies that we are, but should have. We found out we could have borrowed an underwater camera from our Royal Holiday hosts. We would have booked through Royal Holiday if we had known better but this tour was fine.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Yin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very organized, informative pre trip before arriving. Excellent place to spend the day. The night show is simply spectacular I reccomend to reserve ahead of time and book with dinner.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Khoi N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Prompt service and timely departure and arrival.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Lynnette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of our favourite days out. So much to see and do, we did not manage to do everything we had hoped to do. We particularly liked the butterfly house and aviary. We were disappointed with the 'Mexico Spectacular show' which we felt was aimed at the Mexican tourists who already knew the area and traditions.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

Soumya deep D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

well arranged and proper care taken. family friendly also.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Joanar.reyes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Xcaret was amazing to say the least!! I highly recommend booking this tour.. Our ride/guide was there at the hotel at the time we were told. Our Guide was Fabian. He is such a funny guys. It was a pleasure to meet him. He made our ride there fun. He was very knowledgeable about the park and helpful enough that he recommended certain attractions depending on our interest. I will definitely be booking this tour again when I return with the whole family.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Tiffany T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We got the xcaret plus ticket which was worthwhile. I thought that it included drinks throughout the day but it was only with your meal. I We ate at the yucantan restaurant, which was good. Rafael was an excellent waiter who looked after us. The evening show was amazing. Fantastic day out.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

Naomi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Raul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well coordinated with schedules!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Alfonso F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing !!

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Cancun

Erika A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall both trips well organized. Buffet that came included in the Chichén Itzá trip was not impressive, but not completely terrible. Only other thing that could have made it better was for the tour company to allow guests to sit in the front row of the bus rather than use them for guide's bags.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up at 7am and taken by tour bus to the Xcaret Xperiencas transfer center, then took another tour bus to the parks Xcaret and Xplor are right next to each other, which are another hour away, so it was almost 10:30 by the time we got into the parks.
Xcaret is like a small zoo with some activities. We swam the 50/50 swim half caves, half outside and it was beautiful, but crowded. I didn't bring a towel, but luckily you can rent one at the park. There are several different shows, both during the day and later in the evening if you want to stay we took the 4:30 bus back to the hotel, but you can stay until 9:30 if you want to catch the shows. It is a LOT of walking but not as much as Xplor, so wear the most comfortable shoes you own. The best part of the day was the shark swim, where we snorkeled with nurse sharks. You learn about them and get to pet them, then you swim with them for about a half hour.
Xplor was much more active. I probably shouldn't have done most of the activities since I have back problems, but I did them anyway because I'm stubborn. We did all 14 ziplines, including one waterslide and three ziplines into waterfalls/cenotes, so be prepared to get wet! Also, be prepared to walk and climb stairs until you can't move. We also did the rafting and the ATVs, which are really just golf carts the track is incredibly bumpy and they don't go very fast, but it was fun all the same. Admission includes all day access to the buffet, which was not bad.
General notes for both parks: The other tourists were really inconsiderate, but that's just people being people - from pushing through lines to smoking in covered common areas. Both parks have RFID-triggered cameras everywhere, so if you like to pose, this is your chance you can buy a USB with your pics on it for about 75. The bus home takes you directly to your hotel, so it's a much shorter trip than the morning ride.
Overall we had a great time both days. Enjoy!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

Jeremy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a lot of fun. Food was good at both places. Transportation was good but long. I didn't realize we would have to pay more to do other activities in Xel-ha, as I thought everything was covered in the voucher.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

angierecendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is a must see! You cant go to to Cancun/playa del carmen without going to Xcaret.

My hotel was so close to Xcaret and if I had done my research ahead of time I would have taken a cab back for lunch to my hotel which was all inclusive instead of paying $250 dollars to pay for lunch for my family of 5 at the park.

Doing what: Xcaret Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message