Xel-Há Park is a large aquatic theme park south of Cancún with 22 acres (8.9 hectares) of lagoons and underwater caves for swimming and snorkeling. Named after the Mayan archeological site of Xelha, the theme park offers a variety of land ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing day! So much to do that we ran out of time to see everything. We wanted to swim with dolphin but by time we got there all extra activities had sold out so if you are thinking of booking one of these maybe book with rep at hotel instead to prebook as we arrived at 10:30. All reasonably priced I think they were between 1000-1500 pesos. Definitely buy the photo package 1200 pesos for 2 people and throughout the site their are photographers and cameras where you can take your own photos unlimited and at the end of day they are put on a pen stick, its all very clever using the barcode on your wrist band! Food and drink unlimited very nice! Lazy river to snorkel or tube down, zip wire, rope courses over water, cliff jumping and lots of fish! Shop around for cheapest price as everyone is picked up by the parks coaches regardless of who they book with. Everyone leaves at 6 so get a full day of fun.

Doing what: Best Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a beautiful experience for our family of six including four teenaged boys. The trip from start to finish was highly organized and efficient. We were picked up promptly at our hotel in the morning. Travel to Xel-Ha was easy with a brief video on the bus trip about 90 minutes from the Hotel Zone in Cancun to inform what the park offered. The park was absolutely beautiful - very natural but well organized so we could find our way around. Aquatic sealife was everywhere - you could see gorgeous tropical fish as you crossed bridges to get to the different portions of the park. The park was well marked with different colored trails to identify where different activities were. We purchased the all inclusive package which included breakfast, lunch, and snacks and drinks of course. The food was absolutely delicious and well beyond our initial expectations. The service was terrific. The best part of course was the snorkeling. We took the Stingray SeaTrek tour, and it was great. I was able to wear my glasses, and we were able to touch several stingrays that swam into the area. There were divers with our group who helped direct us into the water, through the walk, and back out again. Truly something I never thought I'd try but it was a great memory for all of us and we felt more comfortable snorkeling later in the day as stingrays came through the area we were swimming in. We also did the zipline bike tour which was fun. We probably would have been happier just doing the stingray tour and snorkeling the rest of the day as having a schedule of activities kind of broke up the relaxing rhythm of the day. My suggestion would be either to just snorkel as there are a TON of places to do that and see many types of fish OR pick one tour and get that done as early as you can to allow yourself more time to relax. We also bought waterproof cameras and reef proof sunscreen on Amazon.com before we came and saved that way. Highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Best Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Really disappointed with this trip it's basically a water park with 1000s of people milling about. No where near as tranquil as the description leads you to believe. Idea for a kids day out but that's it. Also didn't approve of the captive dolphins and manatee kept in small cages so you can swim with then about 30 stolen from the wild. I wouldn't of gone if I'd know that as I don't support anminal cruelty. Never worth the money.

Doing what: Best Xel-Ha All-Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

So, in the Important Info tab/section it is stated Departure time
7am hotel pickup between 6:30am and 7am. I asked Viator to be picked up last from our groupbut instead, the night before the trip, I got scheduled to be picked up at 6:15am! Anyway, I missed the tour. :-

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

transportation was very comfortable

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PICKED UP ON TIME, ENJOYABLE DAY WITH LOTS TO DO

Doing what: Xel-Há All-Inclusive Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tulum and Xel-Ha are both excellent sights that are well worth seeing, however I wouldn't recommend doing them in this tour.

The transportation was a complete shambles. We were picked up from our hotel in a small van and two of us were crammed into the front seat along with the driver with no explanation of where we were going. They took us to a nearby processing centre where all the different tours were being assembled. We were then allocated out to another bus, which we assumed would take us to Tulum and then Xel-Ha. Sadly not - first it dropped some people off at Xcaret Park, then it went to Xel-Ha to drop others, hung around there for a while, and finally went on to Tulum. Overall I would say we wasted 1.5-2 hours with all of this.

By the time we had done Tulum and then got to Xel-Ha, we only had about 4.5 hours to enjoy the park which wasn't nearly enough to see all the attractions and make use of all the included food and drink options. Go to both these attractions but if you're going to do them in the same day then find a better tour than this one.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The transportation never showed up to our hotel. We had confirmed with them the morning before our trip and let them know what hotel we were staying at. The excaret experience team with the red shirts took us there after calling the company that we had paid. The mix up was the name of the hotel. Our transportation showed up at the oasis cancun, not the grand oasis Palm. This was the second time nobody showed up at our hotel to take us to the planned excursion site. Very unhappy.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our Tulum guide was highly knowledgeable and spoke English very well. He allowed for stopping in shade. Learned a lot about the Mayans. Xel-ha was awesome. Good food and drinks. Bring shoes for Tulum! Only con is that our transportation ran 30 minutes late on what we were told. A bit annoying.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour to Tulum was great with Enrique the guide who was extremely knowledgeable. It was balance of guided tour and free time. Xel-Ha was lots fun with so many things and natural attractions to keep you entertained as well as in awe of nature.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Há All-Inclusive Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour and excellent guides. Tulum was a nice spot to visit and Xel-Ha was great. Limited fish in the river at Xel-Ha, however, the Dolphin encounter was fantastic.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Há All-Inclusive Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tulum and Xel -Ha all inclusive trip was one of the best excursions if you are staying in Cancun, Riviera Maya or Playa Del Carmen. You cant beat that it all inclusive and round trip transportation from your hotel is included. Tulum was our first stop and it was impressive to see how well preserved the Mayan ruins have been kept. Our tour guide David was very knowledgeable on the Mayan People and how they lived. He even quizzed out group on certain aspects of history. I do recommend taking bug spray, sunsceen and an umbrella because there is very little shade and a lot of walking. David did provide us with water at the beginning of our tour. Of course people are selling all of these items once you get there for a nice price but you will need the bug spray. After Tulum, our next stop was to Xel- Ha. This was truly a lot of fun in the sun. The staff, food and drinks were awesome. Lockers, towels and snorkel gear was all included. Snorkeling was so much fun and just floating in the river was really relaxing. We hopped on the bikes feeling like a kid again and met Deer on the trail. That was an eye opener. It was really breathtaking to see some people swim with the dolphins and with the stingrays. The tour through the cenote was adventurous. If this is your first time visiting I do recommend both trips to get the experience and history of the Mayans. If you just want the fun and adventure, then just book the all inclusive Xel-Ha trip. You will not regret the fun and food that you will have while there.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Overall both trips well organized. Buffet that came included in the Chichén Itzá trip was not impressive, but not completely terrible. Only other thing that could have made it better was for the tour company to allow guests to sit in the front row of the bus rather than use them for guide's bags.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were picked up at 7am and taken by tour bus to the Xcaret Xperiencas transfer center, then took another tour bus to the parks Xcaret and Xplor are right next to each other, which are another hour away, so it was almost 10:30 by the time we got into the parks.
Xcaret is like a small zoo with some activities. We swam the 50/50 swim half caves, half outside and it was beautiful, but crowded. I didn't bring a towel, but luckily you can rent one at the park. There are several different shows, both during the day and later in the evening if you want to stay we took the 4:30 bus back to the hotel, but you can stay until 9:30 if you want to catch the shows. It is a LOT of walking but not as much as Xplor, so wear the most comfortable shoes you own. The best part of the day was the shark swim, where we snorkeled with nurse sharks. You learn about them and get to pet them, then you swim with them for about a half hour.
Xplor was much more active. I probably shouldn't have done most of the activities since I have back problems, but I did them anyway because I'm stubborn. We did all 14 ziplines, including one waterslide and three ziplines into waterfalls/cenotes, so be prepared to get wet! Also, be prepared to walk and climb stairs until you can't move. We also did the rafting and the ATVs, which are really just golf carts the track is incredibly bumpy and they don't go very fast, but it was fun all the same. Admission includes all day access to the buffet, which was not bad.
General notes for both parks: The other tourists were really inconsiderate, but that's just people being people - from pushing through lines to smoking in covered common areas. Both parks have RFID-triggered cameras everywhere, so if you like to pose, this is your chance you can buy a USB with your pics on it for about 75. The bus home takes you directly to your hotel, so it's a much shorter trip than the morning ride.
Overall we had a great time both days. Enjoy!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love it. I recommend taking the bikes to the beginning of the river. Great smirking! Service was very nice. All kinds of activities while cruising down the
River. Tulum was very interesting. Love all the history behind it. Our tour guide was very informative when we were
There.but slept on the drive

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very well coordinated with schedules!!

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour of Tulum was very cool and our tour guide was great and new his history. It was very hot and you should bring a bottle of water with you. I did not Xei-Ha it just was not my thing. The tour along for half day would have been just fine.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent. Good choices on food. Enjoyed.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

After writing an extensive review I clicked Submit and it asked me to log on and then everything was gone. So you get the abridged version. This trip was great, love Xel-Ha. Make sure you take a jump off the Cliff of Courage. Food was fairly average, but adequate and you can eat as much as you want. Make sure to bring your bio-degradable sunscreen, be kind to the fish and reef.

Doing what: Xel-Há All-Inclusive Day Trip from Playa del Carmen

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We did the Xcaret and Xplor excursions and both were amazing. It would have been better if we got there earlier though because we didn't get to do everything both places had to offer. Still we had a blast.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Family thought this trip was great too. Francisco was our guide and would recommend him to others. Snorkeling was way better here than at Garrafon. If you do Tulum which I would recommend if you came there to see history this will reduce time spent on activities at Xel-ha so keep that in mind.

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This tour was amazing I loved every second of it. However it was all of the confirming that was an inconvenience. I purchased it before my trip and called to confirm a few times. No one was able to find my information, all while having to call international. Emailed viator never received response.

Doing what: Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and Chichen Itza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tulum- amazing, but it was hot. Tour guide was really informative.
Xelhal - GO ! Fun place but lost my waterproof disposable camera :( lots to do and really good food

Doing what: Tulum and Xel-Ha All Inclusive Day Trip from Cancun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message